Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Which town woud you recommend?

• 05-02-2018 3:28pm
    Registered Users Posts: 87 ✭✭

My partner and I will be moving out of Dublin at the end of this year or early next year. We have a 3 year old son and wish to live in a more rural location but not totally off the beaten track. I was thinking of wexford at first. I know many dubliners relocate to wexford and there are some nice beaches but house prices have gone up a bit so we wouldn't be able to buy outright. I happened to be watching Maura and Daithi a few weeks back and saw an interview where the local community in Kiltyclogher were looking for families to relocate there in order to keep from losing a school teacher or the school closing and it sounded interesting. That's what got me into looking into Leitrim. We don't want to be in the middle of a town but not too far away either. A good school is a must for my son who will be starting Sep 2019 and as for jobs, we can transfer but we would probably lose hours which means a lower income but if we buy outright, we won't have a mortgage to worry about. We do need to be somewhere where there is decent broadband as I'm studying online and we would like to be able to do family activities and be involved in the community.

So does any town spring to mind? I guess a town that is a bit closer to Sligo might be good for us in terms of our jobs or should I keep looking in Wexford? Thanks

• Registered Users Posts: 432 ✭✭Glenalla

Carrick On Shannon is buzzing and has all you will need.
    fifigogo wrote: »
    My partner and I will be moving out of Dublin at the end of this year or early next year. We have a 3 year old son and wish to live in a more rural location but not totally off the beaten track. I was thinking of wexford at first. I know many dubliners relocate to wexford and there are some nice beaches but house prices have gone up a bit so we wouldn't be able to buy outright. I happened to be watching Maura and Daithi a few weeks back and saw an interview where the local community in Kiltyclogher were looking for families to relocate there in order to keep from losing a school teacher or the school closing and it sounded interesting. That's what got me into looking into Leitrim. We don't want to be in the middle of a town but not too far away either. A good school is a must for my son who will be starting Sep 2019 and as for jobs, we can transfer but we would probably lose hours which means a lower income but if we buy outright, we won't have a mortgage to worry about. We do need to be somewhere where there is decent broadband as I'm studying online and we would like to be able to do family activities and be involved in the community.

So does any town spring to mind? I guess a town that is a bit closer to Sligo might be good for us in terms of our jobs or should I keep looking in Wexford? Thanks

• Registered Users Posts: 106 ✭✭Black Bart

Carrick-on-Shannon is buzzing alright, a lot of hen and stag parties at the weekends, a lot of 'locals' socialise during the week rather at the weekends, can be a rough enough place at the weekends.

• Registered Users Posts: 45,810 ✭✭✭✭muffler

Black Bart wrote: »
    Carrick-on-Shannon is buzzing alright, a lot of hen and stag parties at the weekends, a lot of 'locals' socialise during the week rather at the weekends, can be a rough enough place at the weekends.
    very helpful :rolleyes:

Im sure there are lots more things happening around Carrick the same as any other town such as businesses, shopping, schools, sports etc etc etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 87 ✭✭fifigogo

muffler wrote: »
    very helpful :rolleyes:

Im sure there are lots more things happening around Carrick the same as any other town such as businesses, shopping, schools, sports etc etc etc.
    Black Bart wrote: »

We don't really want to be in the middle of the hustle and bustle but within reasonable distance. Doing a bit more research on some areas, Drumshanbo, Dromod and Mohil seem nice.

In not from the county myself so cant really comment but Im sure others will post a few suggestions when they read this thread

• Registered Users Posts: 432 ✭✭Glenalla

Currently living in Dromod and love it. Carrick can get a little busy on a Saturday night but most of the hens and stags are well behaved. The locals welcome them as the bring a huge amount of business to the town.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,408 ✭✭✭Stigura

Drumshanbo, Dromod and Mohil seem nice.

Drumshanbo has the monthly Horse Sales.

Dromod has the train stop.

Mohill has Hugh Logan; Best Butchers ye'll ever find.

In truth though? Mohill has the schools. It's a lovely, peaceful little town. Everything else is available within a stones throw.

And, there's no shortage of built and never bought, properties satelliting it ;)

What is it about Leitrim that makes people "Pfft....Leitrim, ha!". As soon as I mention that I'm thinking of buying in Leitrim that's exactly their remark. The county was getting a slaggin' on the radio this morning too.

It's just a national sport, ripping the rise out of Leitrim. We have webbed feet. We're stuck in a time warp. Medieval. Everybody knows the place doesn't even exist! :D

Heard it all. Truth is; It's a lovely place and the people are grand. The people knocking the place will be people of elsewhere. They're just repeating what they've heard. Nonsense, virtually passed down through generations.

Mohill's my local town. I live outside of it. Ye most welcome to ask what ever ye like about the place. I'll answer honestly. Feel free to PM me too, if ye want to really hunker down and get the jin. I don't mind at all :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭Peatys

Dromod is nice and being bypassed, little traffic. They're mad into football, so your young lad will be playing for Annaduff. Cox's does nice food and has a good atmosphere, nice walk down to the marina or up to the copper still, train station is handy, and short spin to carrick or Longford. 45 mins to Sligo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 518 ✭✭✭mjv2ydratu679c

Peatys wrote: »
    Dromod is nice and being bypassed, little traffic. They're mad into football, so your young lad will be playing for Annaduff. Cox's does nice food and has a good atmosphere, nice walk down to the marina or up to the copper still, train station is handy, and short spin to carrick or Longford. 45 mins to Sligo.

Dromod is already bypassed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭Peatys

Dromod is already bypassed

Yeah, that's what i meant. Sorry, i was bit vague

Stigura wrote: »
    It's just a national sport, ripping the rise out of Leitrim. We have webbed feet. We're stuck in a time warp. Medieval. Everybody knows the place doesn't even exist! :D

Heard it all. Truth is; It's a lovely place and the people are grand. The people knocking the place will be people of elsewhere. They're just repeating what they've heard. Nonsense, virtually passed down through generations.

Mohill's my local town. I live outside of it. Ye most welcome to ask what ever ye like about the place. I'll answer honestly. Feel free to PM me too, if ye want to really hunker down and get the jin. I don't mind at all :)

That’s exactly the kind of thing I’ve been hearing but tbh, it’s kind of what we’re after. I lived in the Philippines for 5 years and spent about two years in a little fishing village very off the beaten track. As long as we have decent enough broadband and amenities are a reasonable distance then I think we’ll be happy. Little fella is priority so decent schools, sports and the like are a must.

Any areas to avoid? Any areas with anti social behavior? We’re going to Leitrim next weekend to have s look around.

I have 3 Broadband. Little modem sits in the drawer here. It's brilliant! I had Vodafone, originally, years and years back. That was dire! Many a long night spent glaring at a dead screen!

3 have really got it sorted now though. I honestly remember only about two occasions, over the years, when they've broken down. I've rang them and they've been aware of it and had their boys onto it. Seldom lasted more than an hour or two. Can't remember the last time it happened either. Years ago.

My mate lives right down, next to Mohill itself. Outside though. He's got the lot. Sky. Broadband with so many MB it makes my head spin. I think he's running a NASA relay station or something there.

Power cuts are very much a reality, out here. As I've had occasion to explain to city slickers before now: This is The Countryside. We have Trees. And, comes around the start of the years, the Wind gets up and the odd tree might come down.

Trees and overhead lines don't mix. So, probably a few times, each year, yeah. We get power cuts. Just know that a local man is on stand by and, as soon as ye lights go out, so He'll go out, in his truck. Usually takes him little more than an hour to sort it out.

One bit of inside track I can offer ye then; Get an APC box! I now sit here with a smug smile on my face, when the power dies. Finish what I was doing and power off my machine :cool:

There's two schools, in Mohill. I think the little one's COI? So, presumably, the big one's RC? Dunno. Got no kids and don't have anything to do with them. I know there's school buses, to get them home, out here.

There's a proper football pitch, in Mohill. I don't know what they do with it as I'm not into that sort of thing. They have a town team though. " GAA ", is it? Dunno.

Plenty of fishing around. Rowen Lough is a stocked trout fishery, I know that. Lot of waters here. Other than that; A very popular sport, round here, is cruising along, eyeing up other mens fields and cattle :D

" Any areas to avoid? Any areas with anti social behavior? " PM incoming! :cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 5,181 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

Am also near Mohill here but know most of south leitrim very well, am the opposite side to Stigura though- Cloone direction.
    There is a CoI (the Hunt NS) and RC in Mohill, also have no kids so not really my area of expertise but the secondary school is fantastic since they amalgamated the two old schools. Also plenty of creche and childcare folks.
    Cloone has a lovely little school, three teacher one, adored my time in it. But reception in the village is cat as it's in a bit of a hollow.

My mother is from Drumshanbo and have loads of cousins there and they grew up loving it, again reception out the dowra/L Allen road can be a bit hit & miss with hills & low areas.

Let us know how you get on this weekend and if you've any specific questions we can try & answer them. Personally i've always liked both Dromod & Ballinamore, just seem like nice dinky sort of towns.

Lady H; One of my best mates lives in Cloone! :D What I've never yet been able to fathom is that, if we head out to his place, from Mohill? We go north. Towards Ballinamore, before turning right / east?

And yet, everyone else refers to " The Cloone Road " as somewhere ~ as far as I can make out ~ more to the south east of town?! :confused: Sounds like you're there too.

How does this work?

Lady H; One of my best mates lives in Cloone! :D What I've never yet been able to fathom is that, if we head out to his place, from Mohill? We go north. Towards Ballinamore, before turning right / east?

And yet, everyone else refers to " The Cloone Road " as somewhere ~ as far as I can make out ~ more to the south east of town?! :confused: Sounds like you're there too.

How does this work?

Do ye take the side road out past the vets? The road that's known as the Cloone Rd is the left fork on the way out to Rinn Castle.
    So you continue on past Crowes sawmill. Then you have the option at Mahon's place to go left, bringing you around the back way to Cloone village (past Mee's stables) or by the pitch/carrigallen road.

Apologies fifigogo :D:D But you won't get lost near Mohill with me around!

Do ye take the side road out past the vets?

Yes! Spot on!
    The road that's known as the Cloone Rd is the left fork on the way out to Rinn Castle.

That'd be it!

Still absolutely none the wiser on how that all pans out though. It's almost as if they named " The Cloone Road " as a way, from the south, to Cloone. Ignoring the fact that it leads straight through the ~ considerably bigger ~ Mohill.

I don't drive, see? So, I only get anywhere as a passenger. " Cloone ", to me, = my mates farm. I was once taken to a job I was told was " Out the Cloone Road ", and wondered where the hell we were going! :D

Yes! Spot on!
    That'd be it!

Still absolutely none the wiser on how that all pans out though. It's almost as if they named " The Cloone Road " as a way, from the south, to Cloone. Ignoring the fact that it leads straight through the ~ considerably bigger ~ Mohill.

I don't drive, see? So, I only get anywhere as a passenger. " Cloone ", to me, = my mates farm. I was once taken to a job I was told was " Out the Cloone Road ", and wondered where the hell we were going! :D

I think it's the Cloone road because it's named from the middle of town, so the Carrick (or main road as we call it) road is out past the church, Ballinamore road is towards Fenagh & the Dromod road speaks for itself!

Or maybe it's because Cloone is awesome and has no new-build housing estates which is very rare these days.:D

Am also near Mohill here but know most of south leitrim very well, am the opposite side to Stigura though- Cloone direction.
    There is a CoI (the Hunt NS) and RC in Mohill, also have no kids so not really my area of expertise but the secondary school is fantastic since they amalgamated the two old schools. Also plenty of creche and childcare folks.
    Cloone has a lovely little school, three teacher one, adored my time in it. But reception in the village is cat as it's in a bit of a hollow.

My mother is from Drumshanbo and have loads of cousins there and they grew up loving it, again reception out the dowra/L Allen road can be a bit hit & miss with hills & low areas.

Let us know how you get on this weekend and if you've any specific questions we can try & answer them. Personally i've always liked both Dromod & Ballinamore, just seem like nice dinky sort of towns.

Thanks. There aren't many properties on the market (within our price range) and even fewer rentals. We'll be looking in Eslin bridge and drumbshanbo at the weekend. I've seen a few houses in estates but I'm not sure if it's what we're looking for. Macraghnail Court, Crofton Court, Clements Court - from what I've read these estates are used as rentals?? Also looking at Dristernan which is in the town. We're hoping my partner can get a trasnfer in his job to carrick.

• Registered Users Posts: 55 ✭✭Carina

Other villages to consider are Drumsna and Jamestown, they are close enough to both Carrick and Mohill. Eslin Bridge is a rural area just 3 miles outside Mohill.
    Loads going on for kids, you name it, it’s avaialble.
    I have sky broadband and rarely had a problem with it.
    Moved back to Leitrim last year after being abroad for 12.

Fifigogo; Perhaps, if ye gave us a ball park, we could keep our ears to the ground for ye? Plenty of stuff estate agents don't get a look in on ;)

Thanks. There aren't many properties on the market (within our price range) and even fewer rentals. We'll be looking in Eslin bridge and drumbshanbo at the weekend. I've seen a few houses in estates but I'm not sure if it's what we're looking for. Macraghnail Court, Crofton Court, Clements Court - from what I've read these estates are used as rentals?? Also looking at Dristernan which is in the town. We're hoping my partner can get a trasnfer in his job to carrick.

Yeasome of those are used as rentals. Just be cautious around the river as it flooded all the apartments on the Roscommon side (and SuperValu & the cinema etc!) back in 2010 or around that time anyway.
    What kind of price range are you looking in? (If you don't want to disclose no worries:)) If you're planning on renting for a while, perhaps try Airbnb and see if anything on it suited or if anyone would do a long term rental off it.
    See the thing is I even know two or three houses around here that would be up for rental or sale but they're not being advertised anywhere, so it pays to sorta ask around if you get me.

H everyone! Just want to give you an update. We took a drive to Leitrim on Saturday to view some properties. We went to Eslinbridge and Drumshanbo. The first property is a stone built 2 bed cottage in eslinbridge. It was lovely inside,very quaint, not much work required. The only issue for us was that it is quite far from a town.However there is a church,school and gaa pitch close by. The second property was a few minutes drive from drumshanbo town and Lough Allen. It was a spacious extended 2 bed 2 story house but required some completion works and the older part of the house looked like it had some structural issues but it was situated nicely. After the viewings we took a walk around drumshanbo town and then went to a dinky little restaurant for lunch where the food was delicious. The people seemed very friendly and overall we got a good feel from the town. We then took a drive to carrick for a quick look around and then drove back to Dublin. We only passed through Mohill but over the next few weekends we hope to see more of Leitrim and we will check out a few more properties.

I'm enjoying this! :D

In Mohill, I'd guess it'd be John James' ye'd be looking for. Or, there's a little eatery place, on the left at the cross roads, as ye head up Main Street ;)

I'm enjoying this! :D

In Mohill, I'd guess it'd be John James' ye'd be looking for. Or, there's a little eatery place, on the left at the cross roads, as ye head up Main Street ;)

We're going to Leitrim again this Saturday. Hopefully we can take a drive around Mohill and try John James :)

Or maybe it's because Cloone is awesome and has no new-build housing estates which is very rare these days.:D

We may take a look in Cloone next time.

I am having to chase up with estate agents which surprises me. Some just don't bother getting back to me when they say they will.Another deterred me from viewing two small properties in Dromod??

We're going to Leitrim again this Saturday. Hopefully we can take a drive around Mohill and try John James :)

From the south; Come past the Creamery, straight through the cross roads and up Glebe Street. JJ's is at the end. On the left. Swing right though, into Water Street. (Coming from the north? No choice but to turn left, into Water Street) That'll bring ye down to the start of Main St.

Hugh Logan, The Butchers, is across to ye right. There's the Centra supermarket, round to the left. Nothing else up there ~ except 'The Cloone Road' :pac:

Main Street starts with the COI church and finishes with the RC church. Mohill will take less time, to view, than a drink and a bite in JJ's.

Then, why not kill two birds with one stone, by swinging back down Water Street, after JJ's. This time taking the left and heading out to Cloone? Be mad to be in that ball park and miss one or the other out.

See? No rivalry here. I don't even drink in JJ's ;)

Hi Guys, I have a further update for you. The last few saturdays we have made trips to Leitrim viewing properties in Mohill and Drumshanbo. I have to say I do like the towns and the people seem very friendly. Thank you Stigura for receommending 'johnjames'. The food was delish!!!

So my partner and I have viewed a house we are very interested in. It is a few minutes drive from Mohill and close to Gortletteragh.The primary school is a 5 minute drive away and the school provides a bus pick up. There's also a gaa club 5 minutes drive from the house. Mohill is approx a 10 minute drive and ck is around 25 to 30 minutes drive (my gosh we've spent so much time in the car the last few weeks!). There is an option to purchase an additional 13 acres of land around the property but we're not interested in that and we don't have to funds to purchase 13 acres, maybe an additional 1 acre depending on the vendor. Anyway, the house is a fixer-upper but it has a lot of potential and would make a lovely family home with lots of tlc. It's also within our budget. It just went on the market and we were the first to view the property. I just have a question. I want to make an offer and when I spoke to the EA, I told him we liked the property and were considering making an offer but he said to me "there's no rush" which I thought was a little odd. Is it an odd thing to say? Maybe I'm just used to pushy dublin estate agents or maybe this estate agent wants to find a buyer who will buy the house and the 13 acres together. Obviously I want a surveyor to assess the house as it does require some work but should I just go ahead and make an offer? I'm a little confused by the EA's comment.

I think I know that house, you wouldn't be too far from me at all there! I'm just beside keeldra :pac:
    Had dealings with an estate agent myself not long back about some land and they are very slow to do much in the hopes that more offers would come in- I suspect in your case they might be looking for a second bidder in order to bring the price up more. Though he's fairly fecking hopeful as rural Leitrim has it's fair share of empty houses.

I suspect in your case they might be looking for a second bidder in order to bring the price up more.
    Yeah, normal practice for these people