Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Smoking on the street and bus stop

• 05-06-2019 7:43pm
    Registered Users Posts: 6

I think smoking is a choice for individual. But, ... here , in Ireland, some (or, most of, perhaps) smokers are very rude , and like uneducated people. How it can be possible to smoke on the bus stop, even though there are kids and other people, in this rainy day, in 21th century ?
    It:s like ... I'm back to the 1080's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭Sonny noggs

Disgusting habit.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,871 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

I'm a reformed smoker. 30 / 40 years ago you'd spark up in someone's home without asking. Homeowners were afraid to ask you not to smoke. You could smoke in hospital, doctors waiting rooms, hair salon, pub, cinema, bus & DART. We have come a long way. It's legal (for now) to smoke at bus stops. Some smokers will hold on to the right smoke at the bus stop regardless of children as long as they can.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,223 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Ex smoker here.

Outside is the only place left for the lads. Stand upwind and get over it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,876 ✭✭✭micar

yeomkw wrote: »
    I think smoking is a choice for individual. But, ... here , in Ireland, some (or, most of, perhaps) smokers are very rude , and like uneducated people. How it can be possible to smoke on the bus stop, even though there are kids and other people, in this rainy day, in 21th century ?
    It:s like ... I'm back to the 1080's.

Cos smokers are selfish €nuts.......let them destroy their own body but they don't give a sh1t about those around them.

A pack should be put up to €20 and only available in limited places.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,865 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Smoking outside is perfectly legal. Or just wear a tobacco free mask.

I suppose the diesel and other fumes from the traffic at your bus stop doesn't bother you at all.

Feck off now.

• Registered Users Posts: 6 yeomkw

Smoking outside is perfectly legal. Or just wear a tobacco free mask.

I suppose the diesel and other fumes from the traffic at your bus stop doesn't bother you at all.

Feck off now.

How selfish ! What's different between you and smoking monkey !!

• Registered Users Posts: 312 ✭✭Abba987

Legal but disgusting. We regularly have to queue up outside the gp before opening in the hope of being seen and the amount of people who think it's ok to light up a fag around prams and sick people. Selfish assxxles

Should be banned inside and out. Just give up. From an ex smoker

Sleeper12 wrote: »
    I'm a reformed smoker. 30 / 40 years ago you'd spark up in someone's home without asking. Homeowners were afraid to ask you not to smoke. You could smoke in hospital, doctors waiting rooms, hair salon, pub, cinema, bus & DART. We have come a long way. It's legal (for now) to smoke at bus stops. Some smokers will hold on to the right smoke at the bus stop regardless of children as long as they can.

This is not about to break smoker's right. I'm also smoking sometimes. But, I wanted to talk about thinking others right too. Somkers can smoke at outside without harming to others, in open area ... not in bus stop and a narrow

• Registered Users Posts: 15,865 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Abba987 wrote: »
    Legal but disgusting. We regularly have to queue up outside the gp before opening in the hope of being seen and the amount of people who think it's ok to light up a fag around prams and sick people. Selfish assxxles

Oh do get a life dear. I do not smoke, but I am tolerant.

Must be great to be so belligerent. Well I suppose it comes naturally to some to be holier than thou.

Get a life love. Or change GP.

yeomkw wrote: »
    This is not about to break smoker's right. I'm also smoking sometimes. But, I wanted to talk about thinking others right too. Somkers can smoke at outside without harming to others, in open area ... not in bus stop and a narrow

middle of aidewalk ... like many other country people is doing (even though there is no ban at there.)

Oh do get a life dear. I do not smoke, but I am tolerant.

Must be great to be so belligerant. Well I suppose it comes naturally to some to be holier than thou.

Get a life love.

I am above those disgusting creatures

• Registered Users Posts: 14,190 ✭✭✭✭elperello

I wouldn't begrudge a smoker an open air cigarette provided they are not blowing it into peoples faces.
    I quite enjoy the whiff of smoke from a bit of a distance and I'm not a smoker.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Ah one of the militant types. Live and let live I say. I just step out of the smoke. I feel it's a more tolerant approach from an ex-smoker who should appreciate how hard it is to pack it in. Focus your aggression on discouraging people from starting in the first place.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,231 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

They say ex smokers are the worst as they are only one ciggy away from being a smoker again...

is_that_so wrote: »
    Ah one of the militant types. Live and let live I say. I just step out of the smoke. I feel it's a more tolerant approach from an ex-smoker who should appreciate how hard it is to pack it in. Focus your aggression on discouraging people from starting in the first place.

Ah ok I come across like a matron. But seriously sick child outside gp queing and these selfish dicwads are blowing smoke all over her. Just no consideration for anyone else. Even when smoking was highly fashionable ye would give consideration to lighting up beside a child

Yes it was hard to give up. Long time now but I don't envy anyone starting.

It is something we would all be better off without.

fritzelly wrote: »
    They say ex smokers are the worst as they are only one ciggy away from being a smoker again...

Yep absolute worst . I gave up so can you attitude.
    Would never pick up the one to end up back on them. I can say that in complete confidence. I've been bereaved. I've been drunk. Nothing makes me want to go back to that habit.

Ah ok I come across like a matron. But seriously sick child outside gp queing and these selfish dicwads are blowing smoke all over her. Just no consideration for anyone else. Even when smoking was highly fashionable ye would give consideration to lighting up beside a child

Yes it was hard to give up. Long time now but I don't envy anyone starting.

It is something we would all be better off without.

And more likely to catch something inside the GP's office than from a billow of a smoker

The child already has something. That's why we're there. Regardless of the rest of the world around her do you honestly believe she should be exposed to cigarette smoke? Do you not think maybe the adult who chooses to smoke should be the one to move away ?

Who was there first - if it bothers you then move a few feet the other way
    When you walk down the street do you expect every smoker to give you 6 foot clearance because you have a sign around your kids neck saying "I'm ill"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭The Specialist

Take our 10 packs and force us to buy 20 a day for habit, then keep winding the price up and up and up. Yeah forgive me but I couldn’t give a flying **** what non smokers think, you don’t like people smoking outside then **** off somewhere else. Simple.

Who was there first - if it bothers you then move a few feet the other way
    When you walk down the street do you expect every smoker to give you 6 foot clearance because you have a sign around your kids neck saying "I'm ill"

Yes. Quite honestly I would do that if I was the one smoking

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,776 Mod ✭✭✭✭BeerNut

The Smoking Forum isn't for non-smokers to complain about smokers. This angry and pointless thread is a good illustration of why.

Always read the Charter before posting.