Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dee Forbes banging the RTE TV licence drum again 60m uncollected fee *poll not working - pl ignore*

• Registered Users Posts: 24,758 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Increase the charges aimed at advertisers…

rte is the only show in town… virgin media one viewership has plummeted according to TAM ratings..and is on a severe downward trend…

rte is owned by the state.. I’d like it be funded by the state, the entire population contributing.

the argument…’ I don’t watch tv ‘… forget it… some people are never sick and in hospital… should they get a tax break based on that ?

tv license inspectors, that’s a cost footed by the taxpayers 13 euros an hour is paid to each inspector …. that money would be better spent elsewhere.

• Registered Users Posts: 39 Just Some Young Lad

I’m in the 18-30 bracket. I don’t know anyone that watches RTE for anything other than the news and sport, maybe some watch the Tommy Tiernan Show.

Love/Hate was the last really good show that they put out.

I have no interest in paying a licence charge for a service that I get very little use out of in the grand scheme of things. I’d prefer to pay BT or Sky an extra €20 for the sport. At least their pundits know what they’re talking about.

The future of state media should be meeting the desires of those that will be funding it… but it’s not. And it seems it can’t. So I think it’s time to bin it.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,226 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

I pay taxes so everyone has health care and a better standard of living for the whole population and for when I need it as well.

I don't want to fund a TV station that throws constant misery down peoples throats making them depressed whilst lining the pockets of a minority

And this baloney about 14% licence evasion is just an excuse to get more money off the government - the numbers not using a TV increase year on year

Even the LLS show which used to be prime Friday night entertainment is one long misery fest, followed by Tubs doing a week long misery fest radio show, followed by Duffy's obsession with death and stuff that happened decades ago (to fund new books he may be writing) followed by the totally inept and banal hospital radio quality D'arcy. Three of the highest paid "stars" in RTE - I challenge anyone to tell me that is value for money!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,783 ✭✭✭10000maniacs

I find it irritating that the only stations in HD on Saorview are RTE ones.

This is because RTE charge exorbitant rates for HD, and of course RTE carriage on Saorview is subsidised by the license payer and the independents are not. They need to level out the playing field in this area, allow the others switch to HD for a more reasonable rate.

This is the type of thing I would expect the license fee to be spent on. Improving the Saorview platform for all stations. If somebody only watched Virgin Media, they still have to pay the license fee, so it's only fair.

• Registered Users Posts: 35 Tidyboii

I pay my licence fee, watch very little actual tv. maybe 3 hours of netflix a week. Can't justify why I'm still paying when the last thing I actually watched regularly was Hell week. Rte show F all worthwhile. A lot of the scheduling is for mid/late life viewers who have routines set in stone. Imagine asking a teen/young adult to start watching Fair City???

• Registered Users Posts: 670 ✭✭✭GSBellew

Because I am forced to pay for it, regardless of if I want to use it or not.

The scenario you refer to would be applicable to a private company, where you can opt in or out, not to the TV license.

There should be a fee to cover limited PSO such as basic news, beyond that stick it behind a paywall on a subscription basis, let people decide if they want to subscribe or not, the market will then set the budget to pay for accounting officer to work within.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,362 ✭✭✭Real Donald Trump

Just look at this shite that we have to look forward to in the new year

https://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/irish-cnn-reporter-donie-osullivan-25788476

• Registered Users Posts: 17,226 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Christ - some self serving in the right place at the right time talentless individual that RTE wanna pick up again

I'm confused how he ever got a job at CNN????

Note he's not a journalist but a correspondent with a very specialised conspiracy field

• Registered Users Posts: 3,349 ✭✭✭StevenToast

"Hailed as a national treasure"...

Jesus Fùcking Christ

"Don't piss down my back and tell me it's raining." - Fletcher

• Registered Users Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭rolling boh

We seem to have this desperation to be loved everywhere a typical programme put out about someone doing a job but of course it will to have him loved by all and sundry he's a correspondent doing his job he's not running the country .

• Registered Users Posts: 7,119 ✭✭✭plodder

How come nobody in the Dáil supports funding RTE from general taxation? I find it hard to believe that the "left" would object to abolishing a regressive charge like the TV license.

• Registered Users Posts: 40 rocjohn

Freedom of expression and Freedom to ignore that expression are two sides of the same coin.

Refusal to pay for RTE's right to Freedom of expression is a form of Political Dissidence.Even if you ignore the message you still must pay for it or face imprisonment.

I have nothing against donie o'sullivan....good luck to him........but calling him a "national treasure" nearly gave me a stroke....

By that same metric, what would that rag of a tabloid refer to Ryan Tubridy as........a national God?!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 14,174 ✭✭✭✭elperello

On a more upbeat note you can relax about facing imprisonment.

You can't be jailed for not having a TV licence.

However if having been fined in court you refuse to pay the fine you may have to pack a bag.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭silver2020

This boring chestnut comes up time and time again.

The top 20 all pull in substantial profits for rte.

The biggest loss making cost is live gaa coverage.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

They've scheduled the lunchtime news all week but have shown clips of John Creedon instead,

• Registered Users Posts: 16,245 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Any stats to back up the second line of your post?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,833 ✭✭✭daheff

It's not though. License is only one part of their income. Advertising revenue and sponsorship has increased since 2008.

• Registered Users Posts: 381 ✭✭Ballycommon Mast

In fairness it's very hard to see how Ray Darcy could be covering his costs since his TV show got canned over 2 years ago. If you listen to his radio show, the only ads you hear are TV licence reminders and covid advertising. Volkswagen pulled their sponsorship from the show after a short time for whatever reason.

At least they are trying to find a new sponsor for Darcy's showhttps://mediasales.rte.ie/opportunities/the-ray-darcy-show-radio-sponsorship/

I would consider paying the licence fee.....once Ryan Tubridy, Ray D'arcy and Joe Duffy are relieved of their services......

Major restructuring required at RTE...salaries should be capped....around 150k is plenty...

If Noel Kelly can get his "talent" paid better elsewhere......then off with them. .

Absolutely agree. There was wholesome viewing last night for the new years, just for one example.

Thoroughly enjoyable television for a steal at €160.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,929 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 90,656 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

The rates on Saorview are artificially loaded because TV3 took a court battle to avoid paying for their share of the unused bandwidth. This is why TG4 isn't in HD even though it would only mean the state paying the state and require no additional equipment, maintenance or electricity.

RTE should have just bought out one MUX for themselves and leave TV3 & Co. to pay for the commercial one, which was the original plan for DTT here. BAI delayed DTT and required Saorview to follow a different spec to the UK just so non-existent commercial channels could use subscription cards for encrypted channels.

Or the state should left TV3 high and dry instead of writing off debt. Instead commercial channels mean a second MUX has to be kept running which is a massive subsidy for them. The only reason they are on Saorview is so they can acquire some sports rights to show on their subscription TV in HD.

A single non-commercial MUX would mean we'd have more than two HD channels. eg: Divis Mux BBCB/PSB3 has BBC1, BB2, UTV, Channel 4, Channel 5 and CBBC all in HD ( and there's a shopping channel too) So we could have had RTE1, RTE2, TG4, RTEJr , News Now and Oireachtais all in HD for half of our current transmission costs. PS If anyone knows what PSB3 could possibly mean could they please inform Comreg, the BAI and our politicians.

/RANT

There seems to be an awful lot of wasted bandwidth on Saorview, surely One MUX would be enough for everything on there? It's not like we need those +1 channels in this day in age

• Registered Users Posts: 4,354 ✭✭✭Arthur Daley

• Registered Users Posts: 6,729 ✭✭✭ebbsy

Correct.

It is like An Post, huge price increases and absolutely **** service.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,427 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

The licence should be discontinued and an equivalent amount added to property tax. This would eliminate collection issues and would so bring in more at no extra cost to regular people. Part of the increased income should be allocated to transmission, allowing Saorview and Saorsat coverage everywhere. All Irish stations should be obliged to broadcast in HD on these platforms, but the licence fee money should ensure that the cost of this is modest. Part of the licence fee should explicitly be used to provide certain public interest objectives and the likes of Virgin should be able to receive some of this if they take part in the coverage.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,078 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

John Creedon talking to some lad along the road in the back ar* of nowhere is more informative than what passes for RTE News these days.

RTE News and current affairs have become so one sided Goebbels would be proud.

Bullshyte. RTE have long given up on having balanced debates.

The last presidential election highlighted how anyone with conflicting views to the RTE narrative are going to be targeted.

Watch any debate on migrants/refugees, NGOs, etc and you won't find any dissenting views.

And bringing in either of the aforementioned eejits above, including the long connected Waters, is not meant to offer a contrasting view but the view of someone unhinged.

It is to make one side look like deranged halfwits, rather than offer anything constructive as an opposing viewpoint.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,078 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Jaysus H on a bke.

Tubhead, Brendan O'Connor, D'Arcy, Duffy, McInerney ... talentless shytes.

God be with the days when you had actual talent in the place like Gaybo, Murphy, Farrell, O'Leary.

People that actually could get a job elsewhere because they had ability and talent.