Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
25-02-2019, 20:42   #1
Danno
Registered User
 
Danno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 4,838
Davis Anemometer

Hi All,

Unfortunately my Davis Anemometer has died. It's the bog-standard cabled version.

Anyone recommend a good place to purchase a replacement?

Warmest Regards,
Danno.
Danno is offline  
Advertisement
25-02-2019, 20:59   #2
RobertKK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 29,867
https://www.weathershop.co.uk/shop/c...emometer+davis

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Davis-Instr...emometer+davis

Amazon cheapest of the two.
RobertKK is offline  
(2) thanks from:
25-02-2019, 22:56   #3
Meteorite58
Moderator
 
Meteorite58's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 6,568
Thanks for that RobertKK, you know I might just relocate my Anemometer to a better location and the transmitter looks the best option for me.

Might also find these useful.

https://www.weatherspares.co.uk/pro2...nents-25-c.asp


http://www.davisweather.co.uk/where-to-buy
Meteorite58 is offline  
Thanks from:
26-02-2019, 08:46   #4
Oneiric 3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 2,831
'Scaled Instruments' is a pretty decent online shop for DV2 parts, and generally offer good value for money.

https://www.scaledinstruments.com/sh...2-vantage-pro/
Oneiric 3 is offline  
Thanks from:
26-02-2019, 14:01   #5
mickger844posts
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 3,409
I know Villian got his Davis station from this company in Germany.

https://forster-grosshandel.de/6410-...ter-p-300.html
mickger844posts is offline  
Advertisement
26-04-2019, 22:44   #6
Danno
Registered User
 
Danno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 4,838
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oneiric 3 View Post
'Scaled Instruments' is a pretty decent online shop for DV2 parts, and generally offer good value for money.

https://www.scaledinstruments.com/sh...2-vantage-pro/
Hannah made me do it!
Danno is offline  
09-05-2019, 22:25   #7
Danno
Registered User
 
Danno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 4,838
https://twitter.com/LaoisWeather/sta...97484149649408

Back up and running.

Discovered it was actually a broken cable all along, but hey - it's a new anemometer anyways!
Danno is offline  
09-05-2019, 23:22   #8
Meteorite58
Moderator
 
Meteorite58's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 6,568
Well done Danno. Hoping to get a transmitter shortly and relocate the anemometer away from the main station so as to get cleaner air. Need to do a bit of maintenance on the anemometer also as the direction is sticking now and again, been working fine since Storm Hannah sorted it out though !
Meteorite58 is offline  
10-05-2019, 23:21   #9
Discodog
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 12,427
I am thinking about getting a basic weather station. How do you install the anemometer high enough for clean air but allow access to replace the batteries?
Discodog is offline  
Advertisement
12-05-2019, 10:07   #10
Meteorite58
Moderator
 
Meteorite58's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 6,568
Quote:
Originally Posted by Discodog View Post
I am thinking about getting a basic weather station. How do you install the anemometer high enough for clean air but allow access to replace the batteries?
Not sure. As far as I know a lot of the basic stations dont allow you to separate the anemometers, usually they come as one unit. Normally air temperature is measured at 2m at above the ground and winds at 10m so bit of a tradeoff on how to site your station. Some useful info in the thread below.



https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/show...p?t=2057106322
Meteorite58 is offline  
Thanks from:
12-05-2019, 11:41   #11
Discodog
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 12,427
Quote:
Originally Posted by Meteorite58 View Post
Not sure. As far as I know a lot of the basic stations dont allow you to separate the anemometers, usually they come as one unit. Normally air temperature is measured at 2m at above the ground and winds at 10m so bit of a tradeoff on how to site your station. Some useful info in the thread below.



https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/show...p?t=2057106322
I think the best way around the battery problem is solder a lead onto the battery contacts & have a battery box at ground level.
Discodog is offline  
13-05-2019, 11:42   #12
gozunda
Registered User
 
gozunda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 9,877
Any recommendations for a good outdoor robust weather station to use with a laptop et?

Last edited by gozunda; 13-05-2019 at 12:48.
gozunda is offline  
14-05-2019, 20:05   #13
Meteorite58
Moderator
 
Meteorite58's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 6,568
Quote:
Originally Posted by gozunda View Post
Any recommendations for a good outdoor robust weather station to use with a laptop et?
Only ever had a Davis which has held up fairly well here in Kerry over a number of years although did need to get a new Temp / humidity sensor and needed to calibrate the rain sensor.

I think most would say that the least expensive stations can give a lot of trouble but then the likes of Davis can go wrong also and the parts are expensive.

There is a fair bit of discussion on this thread https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/show...p?t=2057106322 , worth a read through and you can weigh up cost and reliability etc.
Meteorite58 is offline  
Thanks from:
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet