Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
23-06-2012, 04:13   #1
Allyall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 10,295
Mele A1000 TV box - Allwinner A10 hackable device €68 + €72

I have seen this over and over again when looking at the Android driven PC's..
And for the first time, i looked it up on Boards tonight, and realised this isn't posted anywhere (By using search function) on boards.ie..

A bit shocked, as i think this is one of the best TV boxes available, especially for this price.




LINK

The links in the description get you started, Definitely based on the Raspberry Pi.

Quote:
Of course, the Mele A1000 costs twice what the newly shipped Raspberry Pi Model B does.
Still, with that extra money you get a case along with a faster processor--the Raspberry Pi sports an ARM1176JZFS running at 700MHz--


More RAM, and more audio and video connection possibilities.
LINK IN DESCRIPTION

and

Ubuntu 10.04 Running on Mele A1000 Internet TV Set Top Box


Quote:
The box SPEC.

1. Video output - HDMI, CVBS, VGA .
2. Audio output - R+L, SPDIF
3. Usb host port + SDCard slot.
4. External SATA port (real SATA not from usb)
5. Ethernet.

Internal board has
1. UART port connector.
2. USB device port connector
3. MIC pin
4. CVBS-IN pin.

--------------------------------------------
Maybe you also need the all-in-one "air mouse + wireless mouse and keyboard + remote".
http: //goo.gl/SPbjv

or the debug board
http: //goo.gl/ge3GY
---------------------------------------------
LINK From that quote



It also has an "Older Brother" - The Mele A2000 for €72



and


http://www.cnx-software.com/

Quote:
CPU: ARM Cortex A8 AllWinner A10 @ 1 GHz (It can be apparently be overclocked up to @ 1.5GHz)
GPU: Mali 4000
Memory: DDR3 512MB RAM / 4GB Nand Flash
OS System: Android 2.3.4 (Upgradable to Android 4.0)
External Storage: Supports SD card up to 32GB, supports 2.5″ SATA HDD up to 1TB, Supports max 16GB USB flash disk
Video codecs: HD MPEG-1/2/4. H.264. HD AVC/VC-1, RM/RMVB, Xvid/DviX 4/5/6, RealVideo 8/9/10, VP6
Video Formats: ts, m2ts, tp, trp, mkv, mp4, mov, avi, rm/rmvb, wmv, vob, asf, flv, dat, mpf and mpeg. NB: ISO format is not supported.
Maximum bitrate: 40Mpbs, maximum resolution 2160p (3840×2160)
Audio Formats: MP1、MP2、MP3、WMA、OGG、APE、FLAC、WAV、AC3、AAC、AMR、DTS、RA、M4A
Subtitle Format: SRT/SMI/SSA/rear end
Network interface: RJ45(10/100Mbps)
Wireless: WiFi 802.11b/g and support for external 3G card (WCDMA 3.5G)
Video Output: HDMI 1.4 (1080p) / VGA / Composite
Audio Output: HDMI / Optical Out / Stereo
Interfaces: SD/SDHC + 3 x USB HOST + LAN
Features: Internet TV box, Software application supported, 1080P media player, QQ/MSN/Skype etc.
Language: Simplified Chinese/Traditional Chinese/English


I ordered one 3 days ago, as i haven't had the cash before. I ordered the Mele A1000.

Last edited by Allyall; 23-06-2012 at 04:21.
Allyall is offline  
(2) thanks from:
Advertisement
23-06-2012, 08:08   #2
vicwatson
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 25,793
Ok, might be a bargain alert, but what is it exactly? What can it do? I looked at the youtube video but it's in chinese or... and am none the wiser.

Cheep Op
vicwatson is offline  
23-06-2012, 09:15   #3
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,259
It's a media player/HTPC.
nice1franko is offline  
Thanks from:
23-06-2012, 10:37   #4
ei9go
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 901
Does'nt seem to support AAC
ei9go is offline  
23-06-2012, 14:46   #5
keithclancy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 9,174
I built my whole media center for around 300 euros, I have HD Satellite (Freesat) all my movies, DTS and HDMI out to the surround sound system, all capped off with a Logitech Harmony remote.

These android based yokes suck and will continue sucking until theres a PVR Build of XBMC available for ARM

Just the media center, not including the Telly and Surround system of course

Last edited by keithclancy; 23-06-2012 at 15:44.
keithclancy is offline  
Thanks from:
Advertisement
23-06-2012, 17:24   #6
Adyx
Registered User
 
Adyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,710
Send a message via Yahoo to Adyx
Quote:
Originally Posted by keithclancy View Post
I built my whole media center for around 300 euros, I have HD Satellite (Freesat) all my movies, DTS and HDMI out to the surround sound system, all capped off with a Logitech Harmony remote.

These android based yokes suck and will continue sucking until theres a PVR Build of XBMC available for ARM

Just the media center, not including the Telly and Surround system of course
So why don't you post a bargain alert about your media centre set up instead of ragging on other peoples threads?
Adyx is offline  
24-06-2012, 01:10   #7
Etnies
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,090
Prefer the Raspberry PI, RaspBMC has had some good updated in RC3 version it's gonna be a winner when it's up to speed. But that looks good for people that just want to plug something in and have it work right away.
Etnies is offline  
24-06-2012, 13:52   #8
Zardoz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 3,761
Quote:
Originally Posted by Etnies View Post
Prefer the Raspberry PI, RaspBMC has had some good updated in RC3 version it's gonna be a winner when it's up to speed. But that looks good for people that just want to plug something in and have it work right away.
While Raspberry PI's are great ,they are as scarce as hens teeth .
Zardoz is offline  
24-06-2012, 14:40   #9
carbsy
Registered User
 
carbsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,814
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zardoz View Post
While Raspberry PI's are great ,they are as scarce as hens teeth .
Finally got 'invited' to order mine with Radionics.6+ weeks waiting time now!
carbsy is offline  
Advertisement
24-06-2012, 16:53   #10
mp3ireland2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,235
Quote:
Originally Posted by carbsy View Post
Finally got 'invited' to order mine with Radionics.6+ weeks waiting time now!
yeah me too, hoping by the time we get them that the smart people have everything optimised and XMBC working on it! Plenty of time to look for accessories at least! like a box and a remote etc.
mp3ireland2 is offline  
24-06-2012, 17:07   #11
keithclancy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 9,174
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adyx View Post
So why don't you post a bargain alert about your media centre set up instead of ragging on other peoples threads?
HP DX2300 - 40 euros second hand
Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-4000 - 110 euros
64GB SSD - 80 euros
700gb HDD - 75 euros
Nvidia Geforce GT520 - 40 Euros

Mediaportal - Free:
http://www.team-mediaportal.com/

The SSD is optional really, increases the performance when querying the EPG, theres about 900 channels after all.

Works pretty much like a Sky box (EPG, Series Records etc, if not better, plays all my online content (RTE Player/iPlayer etc) and all my local stuff too

Not the point though, I'm not saying that those ARM boxes are bad, simply that at the moment there is no port for XMBC PVR, so for me its useless.

If there was i'd be tie wrapping it on the back of a telly in my bedroom and using a power over ethernet adapter to watch HD telly

I've had it for almost 5 years now and added the nvidia card last year, plays 1080p content just fine and all the HD stuff on DVB-S great too, plus passes DTS over HDMI to the surround sound system too.

Also, since Mediaportal is based on a Server/Client system you can just install the front end on an Atom based box and stream HD Content over power over ethernet to anywhere in your house.

Last edited by keithclancy; 24-06-2012 at 17:19.
keithclancy is offline  
24-06-2012, 21:21   #12
zom
Registered User
 
zom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1,434
Quote:
Originally Posted by keithclancy View Post
HP DX2300 - 40 euros second hand
link?
zom is offline  
24-06-2012, 22:28   #13
Adyx
Registered User
 
Adyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,710
Send a message via Yahoo to Adyx
Quote:
Originally Posted by keithclancy View Post
HP DX2300 - 40 euros second hand
Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-4000 - 110 euros
64GB SSD - 80 euros
700gb HDD - 75 euros
Nvidia Geforce GT520 - 40 Euros

Mediaportal - Free:
http://www.team-mediaportal.com/

The SSD is optional really, increases the performance when querying the EPG, theres about 900 channels after all.

Works pretty much like a Sky box (EPG, Series Records etc, if not better, plays all my online content (RTE Player/iPlayer etc) and all my local stuff too

Not the point though, I'm not saying that those ARM boxes are bad, simply that at the moment there is no port for XMBC PVR, so for me its useless.

If there was i'd be tie wrapping it on the back of a telly in my bedroom and using a power over ethernet adapter to watch HD telly

I've had it for almost 5 years now and added the nvidia card last year, plays 1080p content just fine and all the HD stuff on DVB-S great too, plus passes DTS over HDMI to the surround sound system too.

Also, since Mediaportal is based on a Server/Client system you can just install the front end on an Atom based box and stream HD Content over power over ethernet to anywhere in your house.
That's all very nice but you're not really comparing like for like. I myself have a very sweet media centre pc (~ size of a Wii, 300GB hd, built in digital tuner etc) that I got on eBay for less than €200. This BA is for nothing like that though. It's a cheap as chips Chinese Android TV box that costs €68. Anyway, enough off-topicness.
Adyx is offline  
24-06-2012, 23:02   #14
Access
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,293
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adyx View Post
I myself have a very sweet media centre pc (~ size of a Wii, 300GB hd, built in digital tuner etc) that I got on eBay for less than €200.
Do you have a link for that adyx... sounds like its worth checking out as am in the market.
Access is offline  
24-06-2012, 23:56   #15
Adyx
Registered User
 
Adyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,710
Send a message via Yahoo to Adyx
Quote:
Originally Posted by Access View Post
Do you have a link for that adyx... sounds like its worth checking out as am in the market.
I'm sorry I don't. I don't have the pc nearby at the moment and I can't even remember the make. I do know that it's actually a pretty old model, possibly discontinued but it does have a dual core processor and I swapped out the ram for a 1GB stick. It's all laptop parts inside. I should have it to hand tomorrow evening so I'll let you know then. I got a good deal because the owner was upgrading to an Apple TV or something. He had put Ubuntu on it but it came with Windows XP Media Centre discs.


Edit: This is it. Except mine is all black and I'm pretty sure it says Hewlett-Packard on it too. Probably rebranded. Holy shít 2006! -I think I've had mine about 4 years.

Last edited by Adyx; 25-06-2012 at 00:13.
Adyx is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet