Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
06-03-2012, 12:40   #1
WYSIWYG
Registered User
 
WYSIWYG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 3
Will an Eircom router work with UPC?

I'm ordering UPC TV and Broadband in my apartment and I was wondering if an Eircom router (1 year old) that my friend gave me would work with UPC? The UPC router costs 51 euros, I know it's not much but just thought it worth looking into seeing as I have the Eircom router already. Any help advice greatly appreciated. Thanks.
WYSIWYG is offline  
Advertisement
06-03-2012, 12:48   #2
Nothingbetter2d
Closed Account
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,961
no UPC routers are cable not dsl

Eircom uses adsl.

order at least 25mb/s & use the free upc router they give ya.

Last edited by Nothingbetter2d; 06-03-2012 at 12:50.
Nothingbetter2d is offline  
06-03-2012, 12:51   #3
WYSIWYG
Registered User
 
WYSIWYG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 3
Thanks

I'll just get the UPC router then Thanks a mill for your help.
WYSIWYG is offline  
06-03-2012, 16:15   #4
lucernarian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 6,678
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nothingbetter2d View Post
no UPC routers are cable not dsl

Eircom uses adsl.

order at least 25mb/s & use the free upc router they give ya.
DSL routers can also work as cable routers nowadays so do check your facts on this before recommending more expensive or needless options. So long as the UPC modem or device can assign IP addresses, it should work fine if a cable's plugged in from the modem to an ethernet port of the eircom router. In the case of the Zyxels eircom use, they all have an "ethernet WAN" setting where the UPC modem is plugged into ethernet port 1 and that's pretty much all that needs to be done.

Netopia 2247s (the silver modem) have that option in firmware upgrades and older firmwares can be made to work with cable/other modems with ethernet if the DCHP server is turned off the Netopia. However that means the modem must also have some "gateway" or routing function and devices like the scientific atlanta 2203 modem won't work in that case.
lucernarian is offline  
06-03-2012, 19:04   #5
coylemj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Dublin
Posts: 11,270
Quote:
Originally Posted by To_be_confirmed View Post
DSL routers can also work as cable routers nowadays so do check your facts on this before recommending more expensive or needless options. So long as the UPC modem or device can assign IP addresses, it should work fine if a cable's plugged in from the modem to an ethernet port of the eircom router. In the case of the Zyxels eircom use, they all have an "ethernet WAN" setting where the UPC modem is plugged into ethernet port 1 and that's pretty much all that needs to be done.

Netopia 2247s (the silver modem) have that option in firmware upgrades and older firmwares can be made to work with cable/other modems with ethernet if the DCHP server is turned off the Netopia. However that means the modem must also have some "gateway" or routing function and devices like the scientific atlanta 2203 modem won't work in that case.
So are you saying the OP doesn't need a UPC router? You refer several times above to a 'modem' and a 'UPC modem' - where is the OP supposed to get this box if he to avoid 'more expensive or needless options'?

Last edited by coylemj; 06-03-2012 at 19:06.
coylemj is offline  
Advertisement
06-03-2012, 19:13   #6
lucernarian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 6,678
Quote:
Originally Posted by coylemj View Post
So are you saying the OP doesn't need a UPC router? You refer several times above to a 'modem' and a 'UPC modem' - where is the OP supposed to get this box if he to avoid 'more expensive or needless options'?
Yes, I am saying that, depending on what eircom modem he or she has. If you order the entry level broadband from UPC then a wifi router is optional and costs the extra €50. Otherwise you get a the EPC2203 I think. I.e. rather than going to the 25 Meg bundle which is more expensive just to get an included router, I got 20Mbs and the basic phone package and then used a leftover Zyxel wireless router with it. Set to Ethernet WAN, not G.dmt WAN.

Last edited by lucernarian; 06-03-2012 at 19:23.
lucernarian is offline  
07-03-2012, 02:21   #7
johnciall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Dublin
Posts: 338
To Be confirmed
I hate to be a complete pedant [kinda] your mostly right but not quite,

Any DSL router is capable of what your discribing you just need to disable the DHCP on it, However it's no longer working as a router it becomes a Switch with a wireless AP
johnciall is offline  
07-03-2012, 09:15   #8
mark17j
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 471
just use there's less complicated. They're even disabling bridge mode on all their routers now, except the epc2203 which is just a modem, but it's old, I wouldn't want it. it can't handle super fast speeds.
mark17j is offline  
07-03-2012, 09:51   #9
jor el
Closed Account
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 16,421
ftp://ftp2.zyxel.com/P-660HW-D3/user_guide/P-660HW-D3_3.40_Ed1.pdf
The P660HW user manual makes no mention of this "Ethernet WAN" capability, so perhaps you could explain a bit more about it. I've never seen a DSL modem/router with the capability to route on the Ethernet port, only ever have I seen them route from the DSL port to the Ethernet/Wifi ports. If such a possibility exists, then more information is needed. Otherwise it would appear that the DSL modem is just a switch when you disable and bypass it's DSL interface, in which case it's not really suited to being used as a "router".

If your modem has a router built in, then you could use the P660 as a wireless switch to add Wifi access to your home network, assuming there's no wireless feature on your modem/router already.
jor el is offline  
Advertisement
07-03-2012, 11:42   #10
lucernarian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 6,678
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnciall View Post
To Be confirmed
I hate to be a complete pedant [kinda] your mostly right but not quite,

Any DSL router is capable of what your discribing you just need to disable the DHCP on it, However it's no longer working as a router it becomes a Switch with a wireless AP
I did point out the issue with DCHP already. That applies to DSL routers which don't have an option to behave entirely as a router (sending WAN data through ethernet). E.g. where they behave like a switch, DCHP is turned off and the ISP-provided modem-router is to handle DCHP. That method is useful to get a second router and use it as an access point to extend range for example. Or give wireless capability to an old Zyxel modem with DCHP which doesn't have wifi etc..

Quote:
Originally Posted by jor el
I've never seen a DSL modem/router with the capability to route on the Ethernet port, only ever have I seen them route from the DSL port to the Ethernet/Wifi ports. If such a possibility exists, then more information is needed. Otherwise it would appear that the DSL modem is just a switch when you disable and bypass it's DSL interface, in which case it's not really suited to being used as a "router".
The Zyxel P660-HW3 or whatever the exact model eircom provide for DSL nowadays, has such a mode and acts as a genuine ethernet router except with only 3 available ethernet ports for LAN. The EPC2203 has no DCHP capability and I'm not sure what would happen if the Zyxel was used as a switch but possibly only one device would work at a time?? I have two machines working simultaneously off the current setup. I can also provide photographs of this if required.

On the WAN menu of the Zyxel, the type has to be changed to Ethernet(ETH1) and the encapsulation changed to Ethernet in most cases, e.g. with using UPC.
lucernarian is offline  
13-03-2012, 16:14   #11
Nothingbetter2d
Closed Account
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,961
Quote:
Originally Posted by To_be_confirmed View Post
DSL routers can also work as cable routers nowadays so do check your facts on this before recommending more expensive or needless options. So long as the UPC modem or device can assign IP addresses, it should work fine if a cable's plugged in from the modem to an ethernet port of the eircom router. In the case of the Zyxels eircom use, they all have an "ethernet WAN" setting where the UPC modem is plugged into ethernet port 1 and that's pretty much all that needs to be done.

Netopia 2247s (the silver modem) have that option in firmware upgrades and older firmwares can be made to work with cable/other modems with ethernet if the DCHP server is turned off the Netopia. However that means the modem must also have some "gateway" or routing function and devices like the scientific atlanta 2203 modem won't work in that case.
upc's router comes free with 25mb/s or better connection

the 20mb/s is pointless cos it has such a low cap limit compared to the 25mb/s option. and you only save about €4 a month on the 20mb/s.

your option only makes more configuring work for the OP than he probably needs to and a higher likelihood that he will cross his cap limit and get charged a fortune. if he sticks with the cheapest package.

for the sake of less hassle in setup and not have to worry about crossing the cap limit... the €4 extra for the 25mb/s with FREE router & much larger cap limit is the better option.
Nothingbetter2d is offline  
13-03-2012, 21:13   #12
colm_mcm
rotaredoM
 
colm_mcm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 30,919
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nothingbetter2d View Post
upc's router comes free with 25mb/s or better connection

the 20mb/s is pointless cos it has such a low cap limit compared to the 25mb/s option. and you only save about €4 a month on the 20mb/s.

your option only makes more configuring work for the OP than he probably needs to and a higher likelihood that he will cross his cap limit and get charged a fortune. if he sticks with the cheapest package.

for the sake of less hassle in setup and not have to worry about crossing the cap limit... the €4 extra for the 25mb/s with FREE router & much larger cap limit is the better option.
The cap is the same on all speeds, outside of a bundle there's €10 a month between 20 and 25mb
colm_mcm is offline  
15-03-2012, 11:48   #13
lucernarian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 6,678
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nothingbetter2d View Post
upc's router comes free with 25mb/s or better connection

the 20mb/s is pointless cos it has such a low cap limit compared to the 25mb/s option. and you only save about €4 a month on the 20mb/s.

your option only makes more configuring work for the OP than he probably needs to and a higher likelihood that he will cross his cap limit and get charged a fortune. if he sticks with the cheapest package.

for the sake of less hassle in setup and not have to worry about crossing the cap limit... the €4 extra for the 25mb/s with FREE router & much larger cap limit is the better option.
I've the 20mb package and the T&Cs say the cap is 500GB. And the amount of configuring work to make the Zyxel work was minimal. 5 minutes work and an ethernet cable to save €50?? Yes please. Anyway you've already said that eircom's routers are DSL-only when that's not true. You should double-check your facts before posting them...
lucernarian is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet