Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
06-10-2011, 17:09   #1
muirsheen
Registered User
 
muirsheen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: in my house
Posts: 112
Problem with 4od player

Hi

everytime I try to watch a programme on 4od I get this error message


''an error has occured while trying to play this item''

using google chrome, rang eircom they were no help what so ever.


Anyone ever have this problem?


thanks
muirsheen is online now  
Advertisement
07-10-2011, 19:14   #2
burkey87
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 3
I'm having the same problem. I decided to try it on my smartphone while connected to the eircom wireless and it didnt work. I then tried while connected to the 3g network and it worked so the problem is definitely with Eircom. I called them and they instructed me to reduce the modem firewall from medium to low. Needless to say it didnt work. I know other eircom customers are still able to use 4od.

Really desperate to get 4od back. Any help would be hugely appreciated.
burkey87 is offline  
Thanks from:
07-10-2011, 19:28   #3
muirsheen
Registered User
 
muirsheen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: in my house
Posts: 112
Hi burkey87

I did exactly the same as you, rang eircom, told me to lower the firewall setting and turn off and on my modem.

Still no success, only way I think is to change ISP

m
muirsheen is online now  
07-10-2011, 19:53   #4
burkey87
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 3
Ok, decided to contact them again. Dealt with another guy. He got me to go into the expert settings and change the dns and secondary dns addresses. I cant remember exactly what he got me to do but he said that he thought that the broadband speed wasn't very fast. Maybe try calling them again and telling them what I just said and they'll advise you accordingly.

Hope that helps

P
burkey87 is offline  
07-10-2011, 19:58   #5
muirsheen
Registered User
 
muirsheen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: in my house
Posts: 112
Did it work after you changed the settings?
muirsheen is online now  
Advertisement
07-10-2011, 19:59   #6
burkey87
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 3
Yeah, its working perfectly now.
burkey87 is offline  
08-10-2011, 16:07   #7
colly10
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,456
I cant get this working over the last few days through Eircom, how did you change the settings to get it working?
colly10 is offline  
08-10-2011, 19:48   #8
FastFullBack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 373
Quote:
Originally Posted by burkey87 View Post
Ok, decided to contact them again. Dealt with another guy. He got me to go into the expert settings and change the dns and secondary dns addresses. I cant remember exactly what he got me to do but he said that he thought that the broadband speed wasn't very fast. Maybe try calling them again and telling them what I just said and they'll advise you accordingly.

Hope that helps

P
What do you have as your primary and secondary dns now?

This is what I have. Having issues with 4OD as well:

Primary DNS Server
159.134.0.1
dns1.eircom.net
Secondary DNS Server
159.134.0.2
dns2.eircom.net
FastFullBack is offline  
09-10-2011, 10:08   #9
muirsheen
Registered User
 
muirsheen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: in my house
Posts: 112
I had to ring 4 times before I could get it fixed. I had to threaten to leave eircom before he put me on hold and came back with the solution.

I had to change a load of settings on the primary dns and secondary dns and then had to change settings in the router.

Must have been on the phone for about 20 mins but got it eventually to work.

m
muirsheen is online now  
Advertisement
09-10-2011, 10:14   #10
colly10
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,456
Quote:
Originally Posted by muirsheen View Post
I had to ring 4 times before I could get it fixed. I had to threaten to leave eircom before he put me on hold and came back with the solution.

I had to change a load of settings on the primary dns and secondary dns and then had to change settings in the router.

Must have been on the phone for about 20 mins but got it eventually to work.

m
Do you know what you changed and to what?
colly10 is offline  
09-10-2011, 11:18   #11
Auvers
Closed Account
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,938
change your primary DNS to 8.8.8.8 & 8.8.4.4 as your secondary

this is Google's public DNS and its way faster that Eircoms


Quote:
Originally Posted by colly10 View Post
Do you know what you changed and to what?
type CMD into the run box
type ipconfig /all
and you DNS settings will be listed

Last edited by Auvers; 09-10-2011 at 11:25.
Auvers is offline  
Thanks from:
09-10-2011, 12:11   #12
colly10
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,456
Quote:
Originally Posted by Auvers View Post
change your primary DNS to 8.8.8.8 & 8.8.4.4 as your secondary

this is Google's public DNS and its way faster that Eircoms




type CMD into the run box
type ipconfig /all
and you DNS settings will be listed
Thanks, changing the DNS settings on the router fixed the problem
colly10 is offline  
13-01-2012, 18:56   #13
V6DEC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 25
This is NOT at problem with the Eircom DNS Servers. The problem is actually the DNS-Proxy built into some old Netopia Modems and those Modems are blocking some DNS packets when you try to access the 4OD Service. By default, when you connect your PC/Laptop/Smart-phone to most Home Routers / DSL Modems you will be assigned via DHCP a private IP Address, and also a defauly Gateway of for e.g. 192.168.1.254 i.e. The DSL Modem itself. You will notice too that you are also assigned (also via DNCP) a single DNS Server IP Address which is that of the modem i.e. 192.168.1.254. In turn, the modem then uses the DNS Servers assigned to it by the Eircom BRAS but what's important to note here is that by default all local DNS requests are just proxied to the Modem and this often causes some issue's like what you may experience with 40D. There are many solutions e.g. Obtain a newer modem but the easiest is to just assign the Eircom DNS Servers directly on your local Network configuration on PC/Laptop/Ipad or whatever. I disagree with the above comment that Google DNS is faster that Eircom's - Download some DNS test tools and run them against both - Eircom will always be your closest/nearest DNS Server and will nearly always reply back quicker than any other DNS Server. Hope this help sort issue's for anyone using an old Modem and trying to access the 4OD Service.
V6DEC is offline  
Thanks from:
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet