Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
06-05-2009, 21:05   #1
jk2001
Registered User
 
jk2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Dublin
Posts: 187
Laptop to TV (HDMI) - how to transfer sound to TV?

Hiya,

Right, so I am no expert in terms of HDMI but I plan to work it out. Got myself a HDMI cable today, connected my laptop to my TV via HDMI and the TV now works fine as an extra monitor, and I can view movies from my laptop on the TV.

However, I can't for the life of me work out how to transfer the sound to the TV as well... anyone got any ideas? I use Vista Business on a Dell XPS laptop, if that is any help?

Cheers
-jayo
jk2001 is offline  
Advertisement
12-05-2009, 14:05   #2
fat-tony
Registered User
 
fat-tony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,480
I'm not familiar with your PC model, but HDMI carries sound and video, so you should be able to go into your video card setup and see if there is a check box to enable sound on the HDMI port - or it may be in your sound settings if you have a particularly sophisticated sound card with SPDIF port as well as HDMI. It may be defaulting to the internal speakers on the laptop. The other possibility may be that you have the sound disabled on the HDMI port on the TV - this might have analogue/digital options for the sound.
fat-tony is offline  
12-05-2009, 14:09   #3
enda1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 3,839
You computer probably only outputs video to the hdmi port. So what you'll need is a cable which at one end is hdmi and at the other hdmi + 3.5mm audio. That should work.
enda1 is offline  
12-05-2009, 14:11   #4
jk2001
Registered User
 
jk2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Dublin
Posts: 187
Thanks for the advice... I shall try it later

-jayo
jk2001 is offline  
12-05-2009, 15:08   #5
fat-tony
Registered User
 
fat-tony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,480
Unlikely they would provide you with an HDMI port that didn't support sound.
Try this youtube video which shows you how to set the default sound output to HDMI.... which is what I was hinting you should try yourself
Google is your friend - took about 5 seconds to find this!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7xHoZSPFS88
fat-tony is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet