I thought this was just in a bunker? I cant find it in the rules though, can you send it on please? I love a good read of the rules.
(1) When Touching Sand Results in Penalty. Before making a stroke at a ball in a bunker, a player must not:
Deliberately touch sand in the bunker with a hand, club, rake or other object to test the condition of the sand to learn information for the next stroke, or
Touch sand in the bunker with a club:
- In the area right in front of or right behind the ball (except as allowed under Rule 7.1a in fairly searching for a ball or under Rule 12.2a in removing a loose impediment or movable obstruction),
- In making a practice swing, or
- In making the backswing for a stroke.
Penalty for Breach of Rule 12.2: General Penalty. Which is Loss of hole in match play or two penalty strokes in stroke play.