Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Share Picks 2020

• Registered Users Posts: 194 ✭✭outonawing

bcklschaps wrote: »
    But on a side note : Jaysus, €7 in charges between Degiro, Stamp duty etc. LSE are Feckin robbers.

I only bought €400 worth.
    You have the option of eliminating the DeGiro charge.

• Registered Users Posts: 54 ✭✭ShareShare

outonawing wrote: »
    You have the option of eliminating the DeGiro charge.

Could you elaborate? Do you mean switch broker?

ShareShare wrote: »
    Do you mean switch broker?

I do

• outonawing wrote: »
    I do

Setting up his own brokerage is an option I suppose. ;) BTW, do you charge per word. :pac:

Who is cheaper than DeGiro?

The biggest pain is the stamp duty, which will be the same regardless.

Setting up his own brokerage is an option I suppose. ;) BTW, do you charge per word. :pac:

Who is cheaper than DeGiro?

The biggest pain is the stamp duty, which will be the same regardless.

I always admired Albert Reynold's back of an envelope approach :-)

I've recently started using Trading 212 as well as DeGiro. Now, I resent paying DeGiro's fees.

• Registered Users Posts: 201 ✭✭plasmin

I always admired Albert Reynold's back of an envelope approach :-)

I've recently started using Trading 212 as well as DeGiro. Now, I resent paying DeGiro's fees.

Is premarket and after hours available in Trading 212?

plasmin wrote: »
    Is premarket and after hours available in Trading 212?

Fraid not :-(

• Registered Users Posts: 3,757 ✭✭✭One More Toy

What podcasts do you guys listen to?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,268 ✭✭✭roosterman71

Blindboy and Dadcast

• Registered Users Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭Valhallapt

Anything from motley fool

• Registered Users Posts: 10,905 ✭✭✭✭Bob24

Are you happy with Trading 212 and would you you us it as your main broker.

I find them tempting and besides the savings their app seems nice, but I always tend to wonder what I am exchanging for a free service.

One particular thing I am wondering about is why some shares are not available on the platform by default and need to be requested (for exemple some super mainstream U.K. investment trusts aren’t there). I.e. is there something different in the way they process transactions or hold shares compared to other online brokers which always had the mainstream stuff I was looking for?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,905 ✭✭✭✭Bob24

Macrovoices and The Grant Williams Podcast (in that order of preference).

But I guess it depends on what you are looking for: the above will educate someone in terms of understanding finance and macroeconomics (as well as giving a weekly high level update on financial markets for Macrovoices), but won’t give any specific trade ideas.

Bob24 wrote: »
    Are you happy with Trading 212 and would you you us it as your main broker.

I find them tempting and besides the savings their app seems nice, but I always tend to wonder what I am exchanging for a free service.

One particular thing I am wondering about is why some shares are not available on the platform by default and need to be requested (for exemple some super mainstream U.K. investment trusts aren’t there). I.e. is there something different in the way they process transactions or hold shares compared to other online brokers which always had the mainstream stuff I was looking for?

Hi Bob,

My experience with T212 is limited to a little over a month. Nearly all my purchases in that time have been with them. I only buy individual company shares, mostly US and using limit orders. Thus far all has been trouble free.

They say that clients shares are held in custody with Interactive Brokers. Apparently, their profits come from CFD trading.

I'm not promoting them, just one of their many clients.

Hi Bob,

My experience with T212 is limited to a little over a month. Nearly all my purchases in that time have been with them. I only buy individual company shares, mostly US and using limit orders. Thus far all has been trouble free.

They say that clients shares are held in custody with Interactive Brokers. Apparently, their profits come from CFD trading.

I'm not promoting them, just one of their many clients.

Mostly laziness on my part but I can't be bothered opening another broker account, I'm happy with degiro I think the interface is sleek

• Mostly laziness on my part but I can't be bothered opening another broker account, I'm happy with degiro I think the interface is sleek

Same, despite their recent shenanigans.

I opened a Trade 212 account and could work their platform, and I didnt like it compared to DeGiro's.

As it turned out they couldn't verify my documents after several attempts. At that stage my DeGiro was back up trading and I simply closed my Trade 212 account.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,342 ✭✭✭Shedite27

Stock Club, Pivot, Rule Braking Investing

Anyone making any moves this week?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭AmberGold

Anyone making any moves this week?

Might exit some slow movers to get more Fastly on the dip.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭Kilboor

Aussie stock up 20% overnight (Finally in the money after 4 years, my first ever stock purchase). Crypto up 91% in 7 days (Again finally in the money but up about 60%)

Looks like the beginning of a week that can only go down from here!

• Kilboor wrote: »
    Aussie stock up 20% overnight (Finally in the money after 4 years, my first ever stock purchase).

Did you sell immediately like you always promised yourself you would ;)

Not a fecking chance, holding that stock is like having another brother at this stage! I set a price target back in 2016 for it and I intend to stick to my guns :D
    No but seriously it's a gold and cobalt miner so I'm happy to hold longer while gold is booming and they are yet to announce open pit mining results/aussie resources board approval

• Registered Users Posts: 812 ✭✭✭Jesper

I like the 'MyWallSt' guys. Easy to listen to and Dublin based. They have one free podcast a month and one stock pick 'members only' one per month.
    I may or may not follow them but over the past few months I do like the following stocks (some which took a hammering last Friday).
    Coupa Software/Sea/Datadog/Etsy/Pinterest

Talking about hammering
    Alteryx, Inc. (AYX) took a beating last Friday even though the results sounded ok. Definitely not the beating I was expecting so perhaps a good point to enter at now?
    121.38-47.62 (-28.18%)

For good or bad my trading strategy is to find a professional organisation that has a good track record and in general take their advice. This will be for about 50% of my portfolio. The other 50% will be large cap 'anchor' stocks and perhaps a small bit of some 'gut' feeling/gambling :)

• Registered Users Posts: 467 ✭✭Dave1711

Debating picking up a few stocks in the airline industry a lot of the american airlines are at close to have their value pre covid, long term id imagine some of them will rebound to strong numbers again.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,342 ✭✭✭Shedite27

Jesper wrote: »

I like the 'MyWallSt' guys. Easy to listen to and Dublin based. They have one free podcast a month and one stock pick 'members only' one per month.
    I may or may not follow them but over the past few months I do like the following stocks (some which took a hammering last Friday).
    Coupa Software/Sea/Datadog/Etsy/Pinterest

Talking about hammering
    Alteryx, Inc. (AYX) took a beating last Friday even though the results sounded ok. Definitely not the beating I was expecting so perhaps a good point to enter at now?
    121.38-47.62 (-28.18%)

For good or bad my trading strategy is to find a professional organisation that has a good track record and in general take their advice. This will be for about 50% of my portfolio. The other 50% will be large cap 'anchor' stocks and perhaps a small bit of some 'gut' feeling/gambling :)
    Yeah I have about 5% of my Portfolio in that, heck of a beating. I think they're an example of what happens to these big growth companies. They've brought huge returns over the past few months, so owe me nothing. That said, all those SAAS companies, Fastly, Datadog, Docusign, Alteryx, Crowdstrike, Okta (I own them all), are inflated now to the point where their share price is only justified if they have pretty much 70-100% growth each quarter. Obviously that's impossible to do forever, Alteryx were the first to falter last Thursday, and you see the results. It's grand for those that saw it go up 130% TYD before the Friday, but it shows that it's risky buying into them now.

As for Alteryx specifically, it's a quiet company, you're not going to hear big soundbites that will blow up the stock price until next results day, so I don't see it recovering that 28% dip for a while.

Your portfolio plan is sound, my problem is when you see the solid side growing at 10% per annum, while your other 50% doubles in 3 months (as we say Arpil-June this year), it's awfully tempting to make it 60/40, 70/30, 80/20 etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,952 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Sold off some some of my holdings in LSE at ~10% profits (SDRY & DDDD), going to buy some more WORK and TEAM with the weak dollar.
    I see a buy order for MONC from a few weeks back got filled as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,040 ✭✭✭bcklschaps

Shedite27 wrote: »
    I “bought the dip” at $35 on Thursday (down from $42 Monday)

Dip went lower :(

I hold DKNG and GAN (someone on here opened my eyes to them), but am liking what I see in PENN. Big casino presence, looking to move into sports betting. Bought a big stake in Barstool Sports (big US sports brand) and are lunching betting app through that soon, to tie in with the return of sports. Their casinos and bars will all have big Barstool branding, pushing the biggest gamblers to their online platform.

They’re somehow currently valued at $4bn compared to Draftkings $12bn. Draftkings has revenue of 300m and made a loss last year (doing sports gambling). Penn has revenue of 5.3BILLION before you add the sports gambling. How does that market cap make sense?

Probably enough room for both to be successful but definitely a lot more room for PENN to grow I feel.

I’m certainly considering jumping ship

Fair play buddy, your recommendation prompted me to pick up PENN at $30 ... its been my best performing stock over the last few weeks. up 50% :D whereas GAN & DKNG have basically just threaded water.

PENN down 3% today, however ... soo hopefully this post doesn't precipitate a nasty downward spiral... :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 5,268 ✭✭✭roosterman71

4d Pharma, which were tipped here a couple of months back, up 30% today at time of writing. Whats happening there?

Edit: +44% now

• Registered Users Posts: 6,405 ✭✭✭weemcd

4d Pharma, which were tipped here a couple of months back, up 30% today at time of writing. Whats happening there?

About time. I've been waiting for them to do something.

Draftkings down 9%, send thoughts and prayers

I had a look at draftkings yesterday, I hadn't a clue what they actually do but when I went to search it every suggestion was about its stock price. That was a warning enough for me !

That and the video on their website explaining what they do is extremely low quality. Who ever recorded it forgot to turn off notifications and they get a spotify song playing notification mid recording.....