Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Tommy Robinson jailed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

AllForIt wrote: »
    Were the perpetrators protected because of their white ethnicity?

Well it's been going on and known about for years, so in the interests of consistency, I'm sure the Tommy Robinson supporters are of the opinion that, yes they were.

https://www.bbc.com/news/uk-wales-29009500

• Registered Users Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭SnakePlissken

seamus wrote: »
    I don't know why I'm so surprised when these guys are revealed to be kiddy fiddlers. Racism, domestic abuse and child abuse all go hand-in-hand. You rarely find one without one of the other two.

I'd love to hear how you've formulated such a conclusion, any research papers or empirical evidence you'd like to share?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Found this list on Reddit:

The usual noisemakers seem to be fine with for some odd reason while man of the people Tommy Robinson/Stephen Yaxley-Lennon/Andrew McMaster/Paul Harris buys a house for nearly a million pounds. I thought he needed donations for legal fees but it just looks like a new incarnation of his mortgage scam.

Absolutely brilliant. He receives over a million bucks in donations and what does he do? Invest it in a women's shelter for the abused? Help the victims of grooming get set up? Pour it into a political vehicle to fight for the cause?

Nah he spunks it on a mansion for himself and throws money into a company selling designer casual gear. What a f*cking grifter. The man is out for nobody but himself.

And the usual shower of spastics here falling for it hook line and sinker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭emptyhouse2222

OH TOMMY TOMMY

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,543 ✭✭✭Dante7

Tommy Robinson acted in contempt of court by jeopardising a trial and was jailed and certain quarters cheered. The Indo did exactly the same, but I don't see any calls for imprisonment from the same people.

FTA69 wrote: »
    Hard to say they 'fall for it' when so many of them are not for one moment concerned about the victims they claim to care about, on full display as they only offer a mixture of deafening silence and even victim blaming when there is a scandal like the one with priests in the US a few months back, or EDL members and other Tommy Robinson affiliates engaging in child porn and molesting children.

Sure some do actually care about that, but for the rest just they're hiding behind the same cowardly mask as Tommy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭emptyhouse2222

OH TOMMY TOMMY
    TOMMY TOMMY TOMMY ROBINSON

• Registered Users Posts: 3,193 ✭✭✭Eircom_Sucks

Personally think he is a legend

He is saying what 99.9% are thinking

Pc brigade afraid to say it as it is

So any thoughts on his silence about Cardiff, or of his EDL mates also being pedos? Sounds like Tommy's afraid to say it like it is.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,395 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Would love to see your well thought out research for this?

Absolutely brilliant. He receives over a million bucks in donations and what does he do?...
    Nah he spunks it on a mansion for himself and throws money into a company selling designer casual gear. What a f*cking grifter. The man is out for nobody but himself.

The only "evidence" I can find online of this fabled mansion is a single Times report which is hidden behind a paywall, would you like to point me in the direction of the reputable source which has you so convinced? I'd be incredibly disappointed if this is indeed true so do please enlighten me.

I do find it ironic how those who denounce Tommy Robinson as a foul scumbag, do themselves, act in the most reprehensible manner with foul scumbagesque rhetoric as the above, thanked of course by the usual suspects. Please don't use that word again, it does you no favours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭WinnyThePoo

Do love the term spastics. Fitting aswell.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,165 ✭✭✭Captain Obvious

Dante7 wrote: »
    Tommy Robinson acted in contempt of court by jeopardising a trial and was jailed and certain quarters cheered. The Indo did exactly the same, but I don't see any calls for imprisonment from the same people.

His wasn't a first offence. That's why he was jailed.

The only "evidence" I can find online of this fabled mansion is a single Times report which is hidden behind a paywall, would you like to point me in the direction of the reputable source which has you so convinced? I'd be incredibly disappointed if this is indeed true so do please enlighten me

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/debate/article-6049325/GUY-ADAMS-asks-British-hatemonger-Tommy-Robinson-funded-American-billionaires.html

There's a few media outlets that have covered his affluence, ranging from the Guardian to the Times to the right-leaning Daily Mail.

I do find it ironic how those who denounce Tommy Robinson as a foul scumbag, do themselves, act in the most reprehensible manner with foul scumbagesque rhetoric as the above, thanked of course by the usual suspects. Please don't use that word again, it does you no favours

Oh sorry mate I didn't take you of all people as a politically correct snowflake. Tommy used to be a member of the BNP and pals around with white supremacists today, funny enough I've never heard you jumping up and down about the way they refer to people.

You've just discredited your claim completely. You stated;

Absolutely brilliant. He receives over a million bucks in donations and what does he do? ... he spunks it on a mansion for himself and throws money into a company selling designer casual gear.

I asked you quite amicably what evidence you have that he has misappropriated funds to purchase said mansion, and what do you provide as your "proof"?

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/debate/article-6049325/GUY-ADAMS-asks-British-hatemonger-Tommy-Robinson-funded-American-billionaires.html

There's a few media outlets that have covered his affluence, ranging from the Guardian to the Times to the right-leaning Daily Mail.

Absolutely no where in this report does it state he used campaign funds to purchase a "mansion" in fact the only quote in this report which even references his residence states;

Robinson reportedly has a £500,000, four-bedroom home in an upmarket Bedfordshire village

Reportedly? Besides which, I'm sure he does have a relatively comfortable home, why wouldn't he? He owns several profitable businesses which he has always been open about. That you a claim his lifestyle is funded by campaign funds solely and not these businesses is incredibly disingenuous, that you have come to this conclusion via an opinion piece in the Daily Mail of all places is bafflingly ludicrous.

Oh sorry mate I didn't take you of all people as a politically correct snowflake. .

I'm not a politically-correct snowflake by any stretch, but you calling out posters you disagree with as "Spastics" is a level of immaturity I would expect better from you.

I've quoted an article from a reputable news source stating that he has bought a gaff for 900k, now is the Times capable of lying? Absolutely, in which case we can expect Yaxley to challenge them on it. I posted an article above about his current gaff and living standards because it betrays the myth that he's some ordinary working class chap as opposed to some grifter living it up by carving a political niche out for himself and using it to make money.

As for my use of language, Tommy has come out with such comments as "people from your country, Somalia, are backward savages", "a Syrian refugee wouldn't even rape her" and also described ordinary Muslims in a housing estate as "enemy combatants" but here you are lauding him constantly as some sort of noble chap speaking the truth.

As for the use of the term spastic etc, people say stuff in the vernacular mate. I'm no mor interested in this pearl clutching nonsense about ableism etc from right wing people than I am from the student lefty brigade.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,106 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

I do find it ironic how those who denounce Tommy Robinson as a foul scumbag, do themselves, act in the most reprehensible manner with foul scumbagesque rhetoric as the above, thanked of course by the usual suspects. Please don't use that word again, it does you no favours.

Howe about idiots, morons, halfwits, harebrained, imbeciles, numbskulls, eejits or just plain fcuking stupid racist cnuts?

Yaxley-Lennon is a scumbag. He's racist. He's a thug, a fraudster and has tried to disrupt the trials of child abusers.

Anyone who supports him falls into either misguided at best or one of the above.

Grayson wrote: »
    Howe about idiots, morons, halfwits, harebrained, imbeciles, numbskulls, eejits or just plain fcuking stupid racist cnuts?

Yaxley-Lennon is a scumbag. He's racist. He's a thug, a fraudster and has tried to disrupt the trials of child abusers.

Anyone who supports him falls into either misguided at best or one of the above.

Don't forget he defended a child abuser too.

I've quoted an article from a reputable news source stating that he has bought a gaff for 900k, now is the Times capable of lying?

You did not, you posted an opinion piece from The Daily Mail, one that contains no reference to Tommy Robinson misappropriating donations to purchase a mansion as you claimed in your earlier post.

Another poster did link to a Times article, but as it's hidden behind a paywall I can't comment on it, please do feel free to quote the passage which was your basis for your claim of Tommy Robinson's home being funded from campaign donations.
    I posted an article above about his current gaff and living standards because it betrays the myth that he's some ordinary working class chap

I know a great many people from working class backgrounds who live in homes worth over €500,000 and, quell surprise, own cars substantially more luxurious than the BMW 1 Series Tommy Robinson drives. That to you, his car and home is evidence of the misappropriating of donations, when the reality is he funds his lifestyle through a number of successful businesses only betrays your own bias.
    Tommy has come out with such comments as "people from your country, Somalia, are backward savages", "a Syrian refugee wouldn't even rape her"

As you've put quote tags on both these statements, is it too much to ask that you provide some source for same, I must admit I have not once heard or read of Tommy Robinson stating either so would certainly be open to being educated on these statements.

Don't forget he defended a child abuser too.

Are you referring to Richard Price, he who was convicted of possessing child pornography, and who was openly and harshly condemned by Tommy Robinson as soon as the facts of the case became known?

In your opinion, and this is fine, we're allowed opposing viewpoints. Just as, in my opinion, anyone who remains so close-minded to hearing what Tommy Robinson has to say after his sterling work exposing the racist grooming gangs who decimated his hometown with impunity deserves any one of the following adjectives;
    idiots, morons, halfwits, harebrained, imbeciles, numbskulls, eejits or just plain fcuking stupid cnuts?

Are you referring to Richard Price, he who was convicted of possessing child pornography, and who was openly and harshly condemned by Tommy Robinson as soon as the facts of the case became known?

As soon as the facts were known? They supported him after his conviction.

You did not, you posted an opinion piece from The Daily Mail, one that contains no reference to Tommy Robinson misappropriating donations to purchase a mansion as you claimed in your earlier post.

Another poster did link to a Times article, but as it's hidden behind a paywall I can't comment on it, please do feel free to quote the passage which was your basis for your claim of Tommy Robinson's home being funded from campaign donations.

I know a great many people from working class backgrounds who live in homes worth over €500,000 and, quell surprise, own cars substantially more luxurious than the BMW 1 Series Tommy Robinson drives. That to you, his car and home is evidence of the misappropriating of donations, when the reality is he funds his lifestyle through a number of successful businesses only betrays your own bias.

As you've put quote tags on both these statements, is it too much to ask that you provide some source for same, I must admit I have not once heard or read of Tommy Robinson stating either so would certainly be open to being educated on these statements.

https://m.facebook.com/PeoplesMomentum/video_grid/?ref=content_filter

First of all the quotes, if you look at the above list of videos and pick the Tommy one near the top it has him, on video, saying the above statements and more besides.

I’ll come back to the rest of your post later.

In your opinion, and this is fine, we're allowed opposing viewpoints. Just as, in my opinion, anyone who remains so close-minded to hearing what Tommy Robinson has to say after his sterling work exposing the racist grooming gangs who decimated his hometown with impunity deserves any one of the following adjectives;

He didn't expose them. The police exposed them. The victims who went to the police exposed them. The journalists who covered the story exposed them.

He did no investigative work, he created no new material. He just took what was already publicly known and he just shouted loudly and angrily after everyone already knew what was going on. He was the last person to that party.

As soon as the facts were known? They supported him after his conviction.

Who's they? Tommy Robinson certainly didn't lend any support following his conviction.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,078 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Billy Mays wrote: »
    Underage rape and sex trafficking trial involving girls from a care home going on in Cardiff recently

I presume are Tommy has been all over this. Perhaps one of his fans on here can confirm?

https://www.dailypost.co.uk/news/north-wales-news/jury-delivers-verdicts-rape-sex-15510431.amp?utm_source=twitter.com&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=sharebar&__twitter_impression=true

So you drag out a case with two guilty verdicts as opposed to say the hundreds from muslim background grooming gangs.

And yes they are muslim, they come from a muslim background be it Pakistani, Bangladeshi, Afghani and in Newcastle's case also including Indian, Iranian, Iraqi, Kurdish, Turkish, Albanian.
    Now riddle me what do all bar one of those countries have in common.

The one overriding common theme is they come from muslim Asian background.

How many was in Rochdale ? 9 convicted and 1 fled to Pakistan
    How many was in Rotherham ? 2010 5 convicted, 2015 6, 2016 8,
    How many in Newcastle? 112 convictioned I believe.
    How many in Huddersfield ? 20 convicted.
    How many Telford? 7 convicted.
    How many Oxford? 8 convicted.

And just by me highlighting all of those does not in any way excuse or condone what the pri**s in Wales or anywhere else were at.
    You notice none of his defenders are coming back to defend his actions?

Just because you can agree with him on some issues does that mean you have to agree and defend all of his actions ?
    And just because you agree with some of his points doesn't mean you have to like him.
    Or is everything black and white in your world ?

And by downplaying the assault on a poor kid he is being a gobshyte.
    It doesn't matter the background of the poor kid or it doesn't matter that the usual pro migrant pro muslim groups are using it to make a point.
    It was still very wrong what was done to that kid.
    AllForIt wrote: »
    Were the perpetrators protected because of their white ethnicity?

Muslim grooming gangs are in there with the catholic church when it comes to long term sustained abuse and the authorities turning a blind eye to it.
    But the same fookers that have no problem rightly calling out the catholic church as paedo protectors have a fooking conniption when the same is done about gangs operating within the muslim communities across Britain.
    Fooking bunch of hypocrites.
    And then you label Robinson that because he isn't outside of every paedo trial in the country or commenting on it.

And I bet the same ones would be labeling him anti traveller anti gypsy if he was outside the one in Cardiff.
    Billy86 wrote: »
    Well it's been going on and known about for years, so in the interests of consistency, I'm sure the Tommy Robinson supporters are of the opinion that, yes they were.

https://www.bbc.com/news/uk-wales-29009500

Are we really going to go down that avenue.
    The one where muslim grooming gangs were operating for decades, and when people confronted them they were targeted by authorities.
    FFS.
    The only ones probably operating longer has been the catholic church.

And we all know you have no problem calling them out.
    Do love the term spastics. Fitting aswell.

Says more about you than any of his so called supporters.

He didn't expose them. The police exposed them.

You are misinformed, these are the same Police Force who were found negligent by the Jay Inquiry and proven as grossly incompetent in their duties to protect the victims of these grooming gangs?

From the Jay Inquiry;

The police had shown a lack of respect for the victims in the early 2000s, according to the report, deeming them "undesirables" unworthy of police protection. The concerns of Jayne Senior, the former youth worker, were met with "indifference and scorn". Because most of the perpetrators were of Pakistani heritage, several council staff described themselves as being nervous about identifying the ethnic origins of perpetrators for fear of being thought racist; others, the report noted, "remembered clear direction from their managers" not to make such identification. The report noted the experience of Adele Weir, the Home Office researcher, who attempted to raise concerns about the abuse with senior police officers in 2002; she was told not to do so again, and was subsequently sidelined.

As highlighted by the Jay Inquire, there are many persons in positions of authority who have failed/continue to fail some of the UK's most vulnerable for fear of being labelled "Racist" by those same dullards who throw out such a term far too liberally. I do not agree with all his rhetoric, but I do openly commend Tommy Robinson's bravery against daily death threats to help continue to expose these vile gangs.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,102 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

You are misinformed, these are the same Police Force who were found negligent by the Jay Inquiry and proven as grossly incompetent in their duties to protect the victims of these grooming gangs?

From the Jay Inquiry;

The police had shown a lack of respect for the victims in the early 2000s, according to the report, deeming them "undesirables" unworthy of police protection. The concerns of Jayne Senior, the former youth worker, were met with "indifference and scorn". Because most of the perpetrators were of Pakistani heritage, several council staff described themselves as being nervous about identifying the ethnic origins of perpetrators for fear of being thought racist; others, the report noted, "remembered clear direction from their managers" not to make such identification. The report noted the experience of Adele Weir, the Home Office researcher, who attempted to raise concerns about the abuse with senior police officers in 2002; she was told not to do so again, and was subsequently sidelined.

As highlighted by the Jay Inquire, there are many persons in positions of authority who have failed/continue to fail some of the UK's most vulnerable for fear of being labelled "Racist" by those same dullards who throw out such a term far too liberally. I do not agree with all his rhetoric, but I do openly commend Tommy Robinson's bravery against daily death threats to help continue to expose these vile gangs.

Can you tell us what page in the interim report Tommy is mentioned as exposing this scandal?

From the Jay Inquiry;

He didn't expose them. Yes, police and social services made mistakes but the only reason we know about this is because the system eventually worked. It was not a system that Robinson is part of. We had all heard about it in the news before Robinson got on board. To claim that he exposed something is to claim that it was hidden before he came along. It wasn't.