Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Irish deer society puts its foot in it!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,629 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

bibio wrote: »
    Lest anyone be in any doubt about poaching in Wicklow:
    This morning I went for a stalk in a coillte letting in Wicklow. I had a real job getitng the four by four as far as the entrance. Pal who lives beside the wood told me that last night was the first time any vehicles could get up that road. I put up my signs, and right beside the entrance and beside the road, I sawa lot of blood and drag marks (one poached deer), I stalked the wood, saw planey of deer but didnt get a safe shot. I decided to cut down on to the road and walk back to the jeep that way. Where I met the road another blood trail and drag marks down to the road (two poached deer). Walked back to the vehilce and half way back with national park on one side and coillte let on the other, a deer had been obvoiusly shot ont the road itself, lots of blood and no drag marks nearby, so shot on the road (third poached deer)
    It is a matter of time before someone is shot. NPWS need to start to look closely at the records of deer left into Game dealers. No one would begrudge people selling the odd few deer during the season, but this is getting ridiculous.
    If someone gets shot, you will see all forms of lamping beng made illegal.:mad:

The sh*t will hit the fan big time for sure if that happens:( - the thought of not being able to enjoy a bit of lamping is depressing to say the least:(

• Registered Users Posts: 395 ✭✭welsummer

bibio wrote: »
    Lest anyone be in any doubt about poaching in Wicklow:
    This morning I went for a stalk in a coillte letting in Wicklow. (third poached deer).

Could it of been someone that has the deer letting of the wood with you.

• Registered Users Posts: 127 ✭✭bibio

definately not Welsummer. Also we cna check who was booked out with forrester. One of the deer was shot on the road!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 rocketman3

so you mean people that take leases dont poach deer??? :confused::confused:

to be honest thats a laugh:rolleyes::rolleyes:

p.s im a fully paid member of the irish deer society..

also i have stalked coillte leases this year with friends..

and i no what im talking about..

• Registered Users Posts: 395 ✭✭welsummer

>[. Also we cna check who was booked out with forrester. One of the deer was shot .

And!!!.

whats to stop you not ringing the forester or telling your fellow lease holders.

All i am saying is look closer to home..

• Registered Users Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

One of todays editorial in the IT.

The Irish Times - Monday, December 6, 2010
    Poaching menace

THE POACHING of deer, salmon and other wild species by selfish, greedy individuals has grown to epidemic proportions over the past two years as the recession worsened and personal incomes fell. But poaching on such a scale could not exist without the involvement of unscrupulous game and fish dealers who take most of the profits and sometimes export the produce. Efforts by the Garda Síochána and Inland Fisheries Ireland to crack down on these illegal activities should address both ends of that supply chain.

Irish people have a poor record in valuing and protecting wildlife. Red deer were shot out of existence over large tracts of the country in the mid-1800s and eagles disappeared. Since then, salmon numbers have crashed below sustainable levels on many rivers. And efforts by wildlife authorities to reintroduce golden and sea eagles to traditional nesting sites have been met by wilful ignorance and deliberate obstruction. Wildlife is an extremely valuable resource, not just in terms of legitimate angling/hunting activity and domestic outdoor pursuits, but as an important tourist attraction. If jobs and wealth are to be created, then tourism and countryside activities will have to play their part.
    Last spring, when the country froze, a carnival of slaughter took place in Co Wicklow when deer herds moved to low ground. Poachers with high-powered rifles, some with silencers, drove into the area, dazzled the animals with searchlights and shot them from their cars. Because of the extreme weather, the deer had lost their fear of humans. Liam McGarry of the Irish Deer Society talked of “wholesale slaughter” and of a lack of care by poachers that put lives at risk. Cattle and horses had been shot and at least one house had been hit.
    That situation is in danger of being repeated. Heavy falls of snow have driven deer herds down from the mountains while game birds and other wild animals are under severe stress because of a shortage of food. The situation is so fraught that hunting organisations such as the Wild Deer Association and the Countryside Alliance have appealed to members not to engage in any shooting at all until after the weather improves.
    At this time of year, salmon are in spawning grounds and easy prey for poachers. Trout, pike and other species are also at risk. Inland Fisheries Ireland has urged the public to report suspicious activity to a manned, 24-hour phone line. Details of car registrations, locations and identities should be given, as is done with the Garda confidential phone line and deer poaching.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

Grizzly 45 wrote: »

Poaching menace

THE POACHING of deer, salmon and other wild species by selfish, greedy individuals has grown to epidemic proportions over the past two years as the recession worsened and personal incomes fell. But poaching on such a scale could not exist without the involvement of unscrupulous game and fish dealers who take most of the profits and sometimes export the produce. Efforts by the Garda Síochána and Inland Fisheries Ireland to crack down on these illegal activities should address both ends of that supply chain.

Irish people have a poor record in valuing and protecting wildlife. Red deer were shot out of existence over large tracts of the country in the mid-1800s and eagles disappeared. Since then, salmon numbers have crashed below sustainable levels on many rivers. And efforts by wildlife authorities to reintroduce golden and sea eagles to traditional nesting sites have been met by wilful ignorance and deliberate obstruction. Wildlife is an extremely valuable resource, not just in terms of legitimate angling/hunting activity and domestic outdoor pursuits, but as an important tourist attraction. If jobs and wealth are to be created, then tourism and countryside activities will have to play their part.
    Last spring, when the country froze, a carnival of slaughter took place in Co Wicklow when deer herds moved to low ground. Poachers with high-powered rifles, some with silencers, drove into the area, dazzled the animals with searchlights and shot them from their cars. Because of the extreme weather, the deer had lost their fear of humans. Liam McGarry of the Irish Deer Society talked of “wholesale slaughter” and of a lack of care by poachers that put lives at risk. Cattle and horses had been shot and at least one house had been hit.
    That situation is in danger of being repeated. Heavy falls of snow have driven deer herds down from the mountains while game birds and other wild animals are under severe stress because of a shortage of food. The situation is so fraught that hunting organisations such as the Wild Deer Association and the Countryside Alliance have appealed to members not to engage in any shooting at all until after the weather improves.
    At this time of year, salmon are in spawning grounds and easy prey for poachers. Trout, pike and other species are also at risk. Inland Fisheries Ireland has urged the public to report suspicious activity to a manned, 24-hour phone line. Details of car registrations, locations and identities should be given, as is done with the Garda confidential phone line and deer poaching.

So how come this is just a wicklow problem?
    Or are dublin criminals with Illegal "Glocks" out shooting deer in the hills out side the Tallaghban?:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Feargal as Luimneach

Poaching menace

The truth hurts...........

BULLSHT does more damage!

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users Posts: 64 ✭✭lofty95

wouldnt it be great to get balanced informed unbiased reporting for once

Talk about milking the subject ....:rolleyes:

'Epidemic' of deer poaching in west

SEÁN Mac CONNELL Agriculture Correspondent

VENISON FROM poached deer in the west of Ireland is being illegally exported to Scotland and from there to the continent, the chairman of the Irish Deer Society in Connacht has claimed.
    Paul Wood, deer manager at Screebe House in Connemara, said poaching had reached “epidemic proportions” and was endangering the fragile red deer population in the west.
    “Illegal poaching at night has always been a problem. Poachers drive into deer habitat and dazzle the deer with high-powered lights before shooting them from the window of their car. However, normally the deer that are poached are the big trophy stags, which are shot for their antlers. I normally find these deer with their heads removed and the rest of the body abandoned where they are shot.
    “Over the past year this pattern has changed dramatically. Whereas before we had a small number of stags poached, this year the poaching has reached epidemic proportions,” said Mr Wood. “There is no discernment between stag, hind or calf. All these poachers are after is the animal’s flesh, which will be traded with unscrupulous game dealers for cash.
    “In many cases these deer will be illegally exported to Scotland and then on to the continent. Venison is now fetching record prices and this has caused morally deficient poachers to massacre the fragile red deer population of Connemara in order to supplement their lower levels of income caused by the recession.”
    Mr Wood said it may be argued in these tough times one should be entitled to harvest the countryside’s natural resources for profit. “But as Connemara’s main industry is tourism, I contend these deer are more valuable alive than as victims of short-term profiteering by a very few.”
    He said it had taken 15 years to reintroduce red deer to Connemara, and it would be a shame if they were wiped out in a year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

He said it had taken 15 years to reintroduce red deer to Connemara

It took about five minutes, from when the second deer saw the first deer jump the National Parks fence :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 40,055 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

Not to say that the IDS shouldn't be taking PR courses for a while after that clanger, but the upside is that no-body will care as of 1545h today...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭landkeeper

mr macconnell should be made aware the revered gentleman who is giving him all this to print has himself a conviction fine and suspended prison sentence for dumping deer carcasses in a watercourse
    there was a very long thread on the subject here last year or so
    what a hipocrit

http://www.galwayindependent.com/local-news/local-news/deer-hunter-fined-for-dumping-carcasses-in-wood-/

• Registered Users Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭BryanL

Fliiping heck, it sounds like there's so much money to be made from all these deer, I wan't to hand in my notice at work and make serious money.

we should have told the IMF to feck off, there's so much money to be made poaching it could bail the country out?

There is no discernment between stag, hind or calf

Do these guys know your are meant to shoot calves and hinds? or do they think the whole thing is about producing Trophies for customers.
    Easiest way to stop poaching is shoot deer on your permission and keep the population down, rather than taking an occassional stag.

Bryan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

BryanL wrote: »
    or do they think the whole thing is about producing Trophies for customers.

Hammer, nail, head Bryan.