Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2021 Swim Log - Anti Chlorine brigade

• 04-01-2021 9:44am

Happy New Year everyone
    Didnt realise I couldn't amend the thread title :(

Name|Distance (km)|--Pool--|--OW--|last session|# of swims
    bazwraf|.86||3|260m in 4 degrees sea water yesterday|3

bazwraf|1.55||5|Managed 400m in the sea yesterday in skins. Definitely in too long for me|5

• Registered Users Posts: 989 ✭✭✭martin6651

bazwraf|1.55||5|Managed 400m in the sea yesterday in skins. Definitely in too long for me|5
    Martin|6.01|0|100%|

bazwraf|2.08||2.08|Quick 6minute sea swim|7
    Martin|6.01|0|100%|

Martin|9.16|0|100%|

Martin|13.64|0|100%|

Martin|17.42|0|100%|

More distance than Jan 2020.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 376 ✭✭Kurt_Godel.

Martin|17.42|0|100%|
    Kurt Godel|17.2|100%|0|

Fair play lads for getting in the OW in January. Martin, in particular, that's very impressive volume. All of my swimming has been in the warmer fastlane (swim treadmill), I'm 20k from the sea and while I'd like to say that's what's keeping me away, I'm happy enough not to test that theory! But hopefully soon enough.

bazwraf|2.3||2.3|Quick dip|8
    Martin|17.42|0|100%|
    Kurt Godel|17.2|100%|0|

Struggling with the lack of changing facilities where I swim.
    It's fine when it's dry, but trying to get changed into warm clothes in the rain is next to impossible

Thanks Kurt glad you are getting some swimming in. We had a 3.6 water temp. mid month thank god it was only for one day.

bazwraf|4.2|0|4.2||14
    Martin|17.42|0|100%|
    Kurt Godel|17.2|100%|0|

Managed 6 sea swims this week. Never in more than 10 minutes. Trying to force myself to swim everyday this month

bazwraf|4.2|0|4.2||14
    Martin|22.73|0|100%|
    Kurt Godel|17.2|100%|0|

Baz Are you still getting in a swim daily. With the wind from the East cold enough to freeze the whatsit off you. No shelter from it on this side of the bay blows straight into the shelter in Blackrock.

martin6651 wrote: »
    Baz Are you still getting in a swim daily. With the wind from the East cold enough to freeze the whatsit off you. No shelter from it on this side of the bay blows straight into the shelter in Blackrock.

Yeah, still getting in each day. Yesterday was tough though. I'm swimming out in Renville, so we have no changing facilities or protection really, so trying to get into dry clothes asap. I was home from my swim yesterday at around 9:40, and I was still warming up two hours later.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,000 ✭✭✭mad m

FairPlay lads, sea is outside my 5klm limit. Swam in sea all year round for few years. Remember doing 200m in Sandy cove and sea temp was 6 degrees. While getting out hail stones rained on us.

Keep safe lads

Mad m I have had the hail shower while swimming and it stings on the back. Water Temp. was 4.9 yesterday but that was warmer than the air when changing afterwards.

bazwraf|7.6|0|7.6||21
    Martin|22.73|0|100%|
    Kurt Godel|17.2|100%|0|

7 swims this week. Delighted with that. Was very bouncy this morning. Great fun, but hard to do much distance

bazwraf|7.6|0|7.6||21
    Martin|24.55|0|100%|
    Kurt Godel|17.2|100%|0|

Same here with the strong East winds I could not get in any good distance swims
    this week.

Got in today. Did around 300m. Lantern lovin jaysus. Very sharp, arms like lead 10m from getting out, but once out happy days. Great to get a dip in. Don’t rat me out lads

You didn't travel outside the limit ???? did you. tut tut

Marto

Plead the 5th.

Have you managed to get in for another swim. what part of county are you in.

No, Dublin Southside. Few friends got out. First time I’ve heard them say it was tough. Must of been that chilly wind

• Closed Accounts Posts: 376 ✭✭Kurt_Godel.

mad m wrote: »
    Got in today. Did around 300m. Lantern lovin jaysus. Very sharp, arms like lead 10m from getting out, but once out happy days. Great to get a dip in. Don’t rat me out lads

Fair play to you, life is for living and getting your dose of Vitamin Sea is an essential purpose. I got in twice myself this week but only managed a minute at a time. Its life affirming.

Well done guys water temp rising slowly here. I'm lucky I'm 3k walking distance from sea so I can do my daily swim. The walk warms me up going both ways.

bazwraf|12.92|0|12.92||28
    Martin|24.55|0|100%|
    Kurt Godel|17.2|100%|0|

Another successful week. Swam each day, increasing the time in the water each day. 16minutes last Monday, 23 minutes today. 1 more week of Freezbury.

bazwraf|12.92|0|12.92||28
    Martin|28.80|0|100%|
    Kurt Godel|17.2|100%|0|

That was some week Martin :D
    Your transition from man to machine must be complete

Yup I had a good following wind.

Yeah lucky to get in again yesterday before this latest storm. Did 2 buoys , temp was much better. I literally got there, togs on, straight in and out. 400m.

bazwraf|20.07|0|20.07||35
    Martin|28.80|0|100%|
    Kurt Godel|17.2|100%|0|

7 more swims this week to complete Freezbury.
    Will aim to keep swimming each day, but dont need to worry about times anymore thankfully