Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Tiger Woods comeback story

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Anyone ever see Tiger's Divorce Settlement.

Christ.:eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 18,193 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Anyone ever see Tiger's Divorce Settlement.

Christ.:eek:

Ah he can afford it.

NET WORTH:

https://www.celebritynetworth.com/richest-athletes/richest-golfers/tiger-woods-net-worth/

https://heavy.com/money/2019/04/tiger-woods-net-worth-2019/

DIVORCE SETTLEMENT:

https://www.thoughtco.com/tiger-woods-divorce-settlement-1566361

He can rake it in now by going the repentant angle and how he followed the teachings of Buddha again.
    Which made him a stronger person as he lived through the bad times etc etc etc

He is basically an honest sportsman version of Lance Armstrong now, which is an even more valuable marketable commodity.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,638 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper

He is basically an honest sportsman version of Lance Armstrong now, which is an even more valuable marketable commodity.

I can't believe how long it took for L'Armstrong ( as the French called him) to come up here. The truth will out with T'Woods too.

If something seems too good to be true...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 262 ✭✭TomasMacR

You read this and know it's an Irish person a mile a way.

Was it my TomásMacR username that gave it away?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

valoren wrote: »
    So in summation, he's a helluva golfer but don't buy into the media hype about "the greatest comeback ever".

No, the hype is correct. Its an even greater comeback than the greatest comeback ever.

Mister Hogan's was might impressive, but as you say, was 16 months later. The time element in the whole Tiger major-gap is epic. And Tiger as a global phenomenon in the glare of the media all his life, the money, the adulation, the skin colour issue, and all the modern prurient media scrutiny of some elements during the hiatus, ramps up the comeback myth to an unprecedented level.

People seem to link shagging cocktail waitress as the cause of the drought, and for some, even with a hint of 'good enough for him, the rat'. Its very arguable that that didnt derail his golf at all. It was simply the injury sequence, a consequence of the over training, overplaying, excessive strength work, the navy seal obsession, too many early efforts to return, from Torey Pines in 08 onwards that took him out.

Eldrick played 18 majors in the year 2009 - 2013 and had 9 top tens.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭Fusitive

FFS, I'm a huge Tiger fan but this greatest comeback of all-time stuff is way over the top compared to some other people's comebacks. A few off the top of my head:

Gary O'Hanlon

A near fatal accident where he was hit by a car out running at 17 years old where he sustained serious spinal and brain injuries and ended up in a Coma. Had to learn to walk and move again. Now in his 40's, he's won some of the biggest Marathon Majors in the World in his age group and reguraly places top-20 overall. Won the Irish National Marathon title at 42 and ran 2:17:10 at 43.

Greg LeMond

Won the Tour De France and was out hunting when he got hit in the chest by a stray shotgun cartridge hitting him in the heart lung and liver. He almost died and still has 40 or 50 pellets in his body. Cameback and won the tour twice more and a World Championship.

Betthany Hamilton

Was one of the top junior surfers in the World at 14 when she got attacked by a shark that bit her arm off at the shoulder, she came back and finished second in the World Junior championships and won a National title before becoming one of the top pro surfers in the World.

Rocky Bleier

Got shot in the leg and then blown up by a grenade while in Vietnam losing part of his foot and getting covered in Shrapnel and was told he would never play American Football again. He went on to get the purple heart, won 4 Superbowls and caught the game winning pass in one those and also recovered the onside kick in the dying seconds of the game to ensure they won.

George Foreman

Winning the World title at 45 years old 20 years after the Rumble in the Jungle

I'm probably only skinning the surface here:

Other miracles are the likes of Wilma Rudolph getting diagnosed with incurable polio at 6 years of age and been told she would have to wear leg braces for the rest of her life. She went on to win 3 Olympic Golds and a bronze in Sprinting . Pretty sure that influenced the Forrest Gump story but it would've been so unbelievable even for Gump to do that so they just had him run across America a few times instead:pac:

Tiger's comeback is great, I wasn't sure it would ever happen but greatest comeback or sporting miracle of all-time is a bit much tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 502 ✭✭✭Pero_Bueno

Did ye see the texts he was sending that porn star ?
    F*cking hell ... surprised the meToo crowd aren't up in arms

• Registered Users Posts: 3,488 ✭✭✭Killinator

Fusitive wrote: »
    FFS, I'm a huge Tiger fan but this greatest comeback of all-time stuff is way over the top compared to some other people's comebacks. A few off the top of my head:

Gary O'Hanlon

A near fatal accident where he was hit by a car out running at 17 years old where he sustained serious spinal and brain injuries and ended up in a Coma. Had to learn to walk and move again. Now in his 40's, he's won some of the biggest Marathon Majors in the World in his age group and reguraly places top-20 overall. Won the Irish National Marathon title at 42 and ran 2:17:10 at 43.

Greg LeMond

Won the Tour De France and was out hunting when he got hit in the chest by a stray shotgun cartridge hitting him in the heart lung and liver. He almost died and still has 40 or 50 pellets in his body. Cameback and won the tour twice more and a World Championship.

Betthany Hamilton

Was one of the top junior surfers in the World at 14 when she got attacked by a shark that bit her arm off at the shoulder, she came back and finished second in the World Junior championships and won a National title before becoming one of the top pro surfers in the World.

Rocky Bleier

Got shot in the leg and then blown up by a grenade while in Vietnam losing part of his foot and getting covered in Shrapnel and was told he would never play American Football again. He went on to get the purple heart, won 4 Superbowls and caught the game winning pass in one those and also recovered the onside kick in the dying seconds of the game to ensure they won.

George Foreman

Winning the World title at 45 years old 20 years after the Rumble in the Jungle

I'm probably only skinning the surface here:

Other miracles are the likes of Wilma Rudolph getting diagnosed with incurable polio at 6 years of age and been told she would have to wear leg braces for the rest of her life. She went on to win 3 Olympic Golds and a bronze in Sprinting . Pretty sure that influenced the Forrest Gump story but it would've been so unbelievable even for Gump to do that so they just had him run across America a few times instead:pac:

Tiger's comeback is great, I wasn't sure it would ever happen but greatest comeback or sporting miracle of all-time is a bit much tbh.

Add Nikki Lauda (F1) to that list!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

In an individual event, Greg Louganis going on to win a diving gold medal in Seoul 1988 after smacking his head off the diving board in the preliminary round of the event.

Or gymnast Kerri Strug executing a vault on a broken ankle at Atlanta 1996. Turns out the Americans would have won the team gold anyway but she didn’t know that at the time.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,319 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Me getting onto that 7AM bus from Dublin that one time in 2014 after drinking myself to oblivion a few hours earlier.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,739 ✭✭✭Motivator

Sorry this is ridiculous. He's not the only good sportsman in the world. Lionel Messi, Roger Federer, Rafael Nadal, Lebron James, Tom Brady etc. All excel in their professions too.

He's been a very good golfer for a the past year or so and was one of the favourites prior to the tournament started and so some of the hyperbole is nauseating.

Clearly you have very little knowledge of anything to do with the sport of golf if this is your attitude towards what Woods has achieved.

I’ve followed him since I was 8 years old and he’s the sole reason I play golf now. He’s the sole reason why the sport of golf is what it is today. Without Woods there’d be no McIlroy et. al in the game and hundreds of professional golfers around the world wouldn’t be anywhere near as rich without him. He changed the entire sport forever and his achievements for me will never be surpassed. I don’t care if he doesn’t win 18 majors, that won’t define him or his career.

To come back and do what he has done is hands down the best sporting achievement I’ve ever seen or ever will see. Anyone that takes more than a passing interest in the sport will agree. He is a legend and we’ll never see the like of him again.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭Laois_Man

Fusitive wrote: »

Personally, Monica Selles winning a major after being stabbed during a match was my favorite comeback!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭SharpshooterTom

Motivator wrote: »
    Clearly you have very little knowledge of anything to do with the sport of golf if this is your attitude towards what Woods has achieved.

I’ve followed him since I was 8 years old and he’s the sole reason I play golf now. He’s the sole reason why the sport of golf is what it is today. Without Woods there’d be no McIlroy et. al in the game and hundreds of professional golfers around the world wouldn’t be anywhere near as rich without him. He changed the entire sport forever and his achievements for me will never be surpassed. I don’t care if he doesn’t win 18 majors, that won’t define him or his career.

To come back and do what he has done is hands down the best sporting achievement I’ve ever seen or ever will see. Anyone that takes more than a passing interest in the sport will agree. He is a legend and we’ll never see the like of him again.

Sorry but this post screams fanboy alert, I see these posts with regards to Messi, Federer, Bolt, Ali, but Tiger Woods fans take biscuit when it comes to this sort of hyperbole.

I'm aware of Woods is enormous contribution to golf, yes he's an absolute icon for the sport. But its incredibly ignorant to suggest that only Woods has had impact on a particular sport and that no one else has done anything similar.

Roger Federer has completely obliterated all records in mens tennis, in a sport with a historically short lifespan that has been a death sentence previously for people aged 30 and above. He is currently leading the world number 1 race for 2019 and aged nearly 38. He's SMASHED Sampras total, the previous record, Woods still hasn't surpassed Nicklaus and may never will.

To say McIlroy wouldn't be there without Woods is a bit of stretch. Sure his bank balance might not be, but would Woods be there if there was no Nicklaus? Would there be a Usain Bolt without a Michael Johnson? A Lebron James without a Michael Jordan? A Tom Brady without a Joe Montana?

Woods is not the only 'great' sportsman in this world. There are plenty of other sports which far far more physically demanding than Golf for as Woods achievements are.

Woods is not the only 'great' sportsman in this world.

True, but he is the 'great'-est.

Roger Federer has completely obliterated all records in mens tennis, in a sport with a historically short lifespan that has been a death sentence previously for people aged 30 and above.

He is superb. But things have fallen well for the Big Three and their longevity and number of titles, in that the competition from younger generation (generations at this stage) is pathetic. Tennis has long been a young persons game. But the conveyor belt of new kids just stopped at the right time for them.

True, but he is the 'great'-est.

He's not even the undisputed greatest at his own frigging sport.

Undisputably, he is.

He is superb. But things have fallen well for the Big Three and their longevity and number of titles, in that the competition from younger generation (generations at this stage) is pathetic. Tennis has long been a young persons game. But the conveyor belt of new kids just stopped at the right time for them.

No its because those three tennis players are so good that no young players can't break though, they are blocking them, not necessarily young players fault.

Federer, Nadal and Djokovic's level has barely fallen whilst entering their 30s, they're just too good.

Had just one of them not been around, two of them would've likely hit near 30 Grand Slams.

Undisputably, he is.

You can make a claim for him being the greatest, but there is no way Woods will ever the undisputed greatest ever until he surpasses Nicklaus tally. 18-15 will ALWAYS be held against him. I hold that opinion for Ronnie O'Sullivan for not surpassing Hendry, at the worlds, and for Leo Messi due his lack of international success.

And I would have said that Federer had he been stuck on 13 Grand Slams. But Federer has broken almost all records for mens professional tennis. Wayne Gretzky is the undisputed GOAT of Ice Hockey, Michael Jordan is probably the undisputed GOAT of Basketball (although Lebron is pushing him), Tom Brady is probably the undisputed GOAT quarterback.

You can make a claim for him being the greatest, but there is no way Woods will ever the undisputed greatest ever until he surpasses Nicklaus tally.

Nicklaus barely knocked if off the tee on Thursday. He isnt a factor any more.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

Michael Jordan is probably the undisputed GOAT of Basketball (although Lebron is pushing him)

Ah will you stop. LBJ is nowhere near as good as MJ. MJ was a machine. Best player ever, by far.

Gwynplaine wrote: »
    Ah will you stop. LBJ is nowhere near as good as MJ. MJ was a machine. Best player ever, by far.

I don't hold that opinion, but plenty of others do as you know, particularly younger people. Some even think its Kobe Bryant. :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 5,552 ✭✭✭Slutmonkey57b

Nikki lauda had a horrific high speed crash, the car burst into flame around him, other cars then crashed into him. He gets pulled out of the wreckage, gets his lungs hoovered out, loses his ears and refuses to be put into a coma to recuperate in case he never wakes up, then a month later he's driving the car again in the sort of pain most humans couldn't endure, finishes fourth with a helmet soaked in blood from all the burnt flesh falling off him and then only loses out on a world title because he *chose* not to finish a race. A few years after he retired he came back and won another title.

This golfing dude was good, then wasn't very good, had an operation, and eventually got OK again. Colour me impressed.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 262 ✭✭TomasMacR

Nikki lauda had a horrific high speed crash, the car burst into flame around him, other cars then crashed into him. He gets pulled out of the wreckage, gets his lungs hoovered out, loses his ears and refuses to be put into a coma to recuperate in case he never wakes up, then a month later he's driving the car again in the sort of pain most humans couldn't endure, finishes fourth with a helmet soaked in blood from all the burnt flesh falling off him and then only loses out on a world title because he *chose* not to finish a race. A few years after he retired he came back and won another title.

This golfing dude was good, then wasn't very good, had an operation, and eventually got OK again. Colour me impressed.

This guy sounds like a f*cking idiot more than anything.

• Registered Users Posts: 847 ✭✭✭ollkiller

TomasMacR wrote: »
    This guy sounds like a f*cking idiot more than anything.

Niki Lauda is a god. The film Rush about his F1 battle with James Hunt is fantastic. Watch that and see how much of an idiot he is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭orourkeda1977

TomasMacR wrote: »
    Apparently he was mad for getting his arsehole eaten out according to one of the tarts he was getting up on during that expose a few years back.

Cracking tee shot on the 16th.

I'd say he was up to his hole in rimjobs last night

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 2,176 ✭✭✭ToBeFrank123

Diego Maradona, 1994 World Cup. Fat, drug addled, etc. Got himself in shape and into the Argentinian squad. Ok sure he had a bit of help, but could have been if he wasn't randomly sampled.

You can make a claim for him being the greatest, but there is no way Woods will ever the undisputed greatest ever until he surpasses Nicklaus tally. 18-15 will ALWAYS be held against him. I hold that opinion for Ronnie O'Sullivan for not surpassing Hendry, at the worlds, and for Leo Messi due his lack of international success.

And I would have said that Federer had he been stuck on 13 Grand Slams. But Federer has broken almost all records for mens professional tennis. Wayne Gretzky is the undisputed GOAT of Ice Hockey, Michael Jordan is probably the undisputed GOAT of Basketball (although Lebron is pushing him), Tom Brady is probably the undisputed GOAT quarterback.

I find these arguments to be rather tedious.

Success in sport, like life, is relative.

To my mind, winning the most majors doesnt automatically make you the greatest golfer of all time. It makes you the player that has won the most major championships.

I believe that there is no such thing as the greatest of all time. Perhaps you have the greatest player of their generation. To compare players from different generations is a futile exercise. There are so many things that will change from generation to generation that will render comparisons meaningless.

Harry Vardon has won 6 Open Championships. There's a record that is unlikely ever to be beaten. Your argument would be that Harry Vardon is the greatest british open player. My argument is that to compare this feat to any feat in modern golf is futile as the circumstance of his wins will differ from those of the modern era

• Registered Users Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭magic_murph

Its the sporting drama story of the century.
    You just wont see anything more extraordinary for the rest of your lives.
    For mastery of a sporting skill, competitive drive, and iron will to rise above the ordinary and be a superman, Tiger is it. We saw it today. All other sports human interest stories pale to nothing in comparison.

Conor McGregor comes out of Retirement
    Beats Kahabib
    Beats Tony Ferguson
    Beats Mayweather
    Retires.

Greatest Sports man and sporting achievement of all time. Simple

Diego Maradona, 1994 World Cup. Fat, drug addled, etc. Got himself in shape and into the Argentinian squad. Ok sure he had a bit of help, but could have been if he wasn't randomly sampled.

There seems to be a line of thinking that Lionel Messi will never be a better player that Diego Maradona just because he doesnt have a world cup winners medal.

Jack Charlton has a world cup winners medal, Does that make him a better player than Lionel Messi?

Depending on who you talk to Lionel messi is either the greatest, joint greatest or the second best player of his era. Anything else is unprovable.

I dont get the logic of these arguments.

Again, I find that comparisons of this nature are foolish and irrelevant.

We will never know for sure. Any suggestion to the contrary is merely opinion.