Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Popular movies you've never seen

• 21-02-2007 9:24pm
    Registered Users Posts: 4,475 ✭✭✭

Inspired by a piece in the tv-cream film guide mail, what popular movies have you never seen? From any era, any genre. Not through any sort of movie snobbery or anything like thing, just felt from watching clips or reading reviews that it wouldn't be your cup of tea, or missed it completely in the cinema and in the video shop and just can't be bothered.

Myself, I've never seen The Matrix movies (although I have played the game), any of the Star Warseses, and managed to miss Lord of the Rings trilogy until last Xmas when a friend of mine brought them around to my house and sat me down to watch them. I've also never seen an 80s brat pack movie (St Elmo's Fire, Breakfast Club, etc) and somehow events have colluded against me ever having seen a Police Academy movie.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭qwertplaywert

Gladiator
    Reserivour Dogs
    Pulp Fiction
    Any of the Harry Potter movies

• Registered Users Posts: 9,810 ✭✭✭Charlie

Interesting thread. Funnily enough I was thinking about this very idea only a few days ago when I saw Taxi Driver for the first time. I'm a really big DeNiro fan but was too young when it was first released and they never seem to show it on tv. I never really bothered to rent it because I had a feeling I wouldn't like it because it is put on such a pedestal. However, I really enjoyed it and was totally different to what i expected.

A film everyone seems to go on about is Usual Suspects, whenever its on tv its 45 mins or so into it by the time I realise its on. A film I always mean to see though. Another would be the Aliens Series.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,015 ✭✭✭bennyx_o

Gladiator
    Reserivour Dogs
    The Matrix trilogy

I'm sure theres more that I can't think of ATM

• Registered Users Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

One's I haven't seen yet:

Reserivour Dogs
    The Matrix trilogy
    Lord of the Rings
    Star Wars - not really into it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

godfather, goodfellas

i walked out of the third lotr so I suppose that would count too

• Registered Users Posts: 5,493 ✭✭✭Fuzzy_Dunlop

Mordeth wrote:
    godfather, goodfellas
    was gonna say these too. Plus taxi driver actually, and the Great Escape

• Registered Users Posts: 17,398 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

There's something about Mary,
    Zoolander

Just never got to see them, not any kind of film snobbery...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭cashback

Mordeth wrote:
    godfather, goodfellas

Goodfellas was on tg4 last night. Pointless bit of information at this stage.

I've never seen:

-Original Star Wars trilogy( Kinda saw the first one on a bus but it was a tiny tv and I was down the back so not counting it!)
    -Indiana Jones (Don't recall seeing a full one)
    -Casablanca
    -Citizen kane
    -Apocalypse Now
    -Raging Bull (Have it on dvd but haven't watched it yet)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Apologies in advance..Scarface. *covers head*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

Blasphemy!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Registered Users Posts: 654 ✭✭✭DS

Reserivour Dogs
    bennyx_o wrote:
    Reserivour Dogs
    Kojak wrote:
    Reserivour Dogs

Copycat spellers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

A Wonderful Life. So many people go on and on about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭Petey2006

Ruu wrote:

You're not missing anything.

The Matrix Revolutions
    Kill Bill 2

Mostly because The Matrix Reloaded was pants compared to The Matrix (which, let's face it, really is fantastic) and Kill Bill was possibly the most over-hyped film of all time and just kind of sucked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 697 ✭✭✭gent9662

Kramer V Kramer

• Registered Users Posts: 2,943 ✭✭✭Burning Eclipse

ET....

*slowly walks away* :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 697 ✭✭✭gent9662

Saving Ryans Privates (The Porno version)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

Godfather 1,2,3
    Donnie Brasco
    Goodfellas (Bought it the other day so I will get around to watching it)
    Fight Club
    Its a wonderful life

Theres tonnes more, ill probably remember some more later.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Petey2006 wrote:
    You're not missing anything.

The Matrix Revolutions
    Kill Bill 2

Mostly because The Matrix Reloaded was pants compared to The Matrix (which, let's face it, really is fantastic) and Kill Bill was possibly the most over-hyped film of all time and just kind of sucked.

Kill Bill was as awful pile of crap, to be honest, I know few movies live up to the huge levels of hype that precedes them but that movie wasn't just disappointing, it was outright useless.

But I can tell you, thankfully, the second movie is actually quite decent. I wouldn't go so far as to say it's great, but at worst, not a bad one by any stretch.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,398 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Just remembered some more:

Whitnail and I
    The Big Lebowski
    Fight Club... The first rule about fight club is...don't know, never saw it :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,987 ✭✭✭Auvers

Forest Gump
    Titanic
    Da Vinci Code
    Dances With Wolves
    Brokeback Mountain
    there is a lot more but cant think of them now.

I cant believe how many people have not seen Goodfellas!!!! FFS lads its a masterpiece of modern cinema.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

r3nu4l wrote:
    Just remembered some more:

Whitnail and I
    The Big Lebowski
    Fight Club... The first rule about fight club is...don't know, never saw it :(

Thanks, you just reminded me I havent seen The Big Lebowski either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 334 ✭✭zeusnero

Goodfellas,
    Brokeback Mountain
    Scarface
    Casablanca

Can't believe some people haven't seen Indiana Jones though, ye don't know what ye're missing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Contary to popular belief I really don't think anybody is missing out by not having seen Scarface or Goodfellas. I found them surprisingly average upon viewing.

Now, the Big Lebowski - you are definately missing out there.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

zeusnero wrote:
    Can't believe some people haven't seen Indiana Jones though, ye don't know what ye're missing!

This coming from someone who hasn't seen Casablanca? :D

• Registered Users Posts: 199 ✭✭Trix

ET....

*slowly walks away* :o
    me too.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,739 ✭✭✭Jello

Resevoir Dogs
    Godfather trilogy (though I got a lend of them on DVD so I'll probably watch them soon)
    Scarface
    Kill Bill

• Registered Users Posts: 9,810 ✭✭✭Charlie

HavoK wrote:
    Contrary to popular belief I really don't think anybody is missing out by not having seen Scarface or Goodfellas. I found them surprisingly average upon viewing.

Scarface is overrated, if you want to see a truly great Pacino performance watch Carlito's Way.

However, Goodfella's, imho, is superb and would be one of my all time favourite films. So many good things about this film; DeNiro and Pecci's performances are top class, Liotta's narration, the way some of the scenes are shot (the famous walking into the nightclub scene), I could ramble about its greatness for hours. I would agree with you that Scarface is over-hyped, still worth a watch mind you.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,535 ✭✭✭Raekwon

Titanic
    Da Vinci Code
    Shrek 1 & 2
    and all the Harry Potter films.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

Ruu wrote:

Missing feck all one of the most overrated films ever. Not Pacinos fault but the script is rambling and pointless at best.

Citizen Kane
    Casino (never seen it full)

Prob a good few of the recent ones but they don't really count as I haven't really missed them