Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Who'd live in a house like this? Part 2

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,383 Mod ✭✭✭✭HildaOgdenx

This is another old schoolhouse for sales. It's fairly renovated.

https://www.myhome.ie/residential/brochure/barconny-schoolhouse-ballyjamesduff-cavan/4484652

That's very nicely done.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,303 ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

Great, another shot for one "lucky" person to experience life on the landing.

Form an orderly queue people!

• Registered Users Posts: 30,144 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

That's very nicely done.

I saw it a while and it's one of those houses I'd like to buy if I won the Lotto but moving Cavan might be a stretch!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,383 Mod ✭✭✭✭HildaOgdenx

I saw it a while and it's one of those houses I'd like to buy if I won the Lotto but moving Cavan might be a stretch!

If you won the euromillions, maybe you could get the house uprooted and moved to your preferred location. :D

I sincerely hope nobody rents it. It's shocking.
    I wonder what it was about the last year of restrictions that made the previous occupier want to move?

Imagine being stuck in there for another Lockdown.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭KevRossi

Munich is often cited as the most expensive city in Germany.

This is what a one room apartment looks like there. This one is €760. €40 a month cheaper than the stairs in Phibsboro.
    It's the first one that popped up on the list. I know the area, it's perfectly safe, a decent place to live. Great public transport too. Distance wise the same as Phibsboro from the city centre.

33m2 in total. Big room, a balcony and you can't hear the next door neighbour farting on the jacks in the morning.

https://www.immonet.de/angebot/44163038

I wonder what it was about the last year of restrictions that made the previous occupier want to move?

Imagine being stuck in there for another Lockdown.

I hope there never was an occupier and never will be.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,863 ✭✭✭mikhail

fvp4 wrote: »
    Where’s the toilet? Beside some wardrobe in some room? But not the landing.
    Down the stairs, was the consensus the last time this was up.

I don't see any button on daft to report an ad. Poor form.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 11,971 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

mikhail wrote: »
    Down the stairs, was the consensus the last time this was up.

I don't see any button on daft to report an ad. Poor form.

The option to report is down at the bottom on desktop version, I've just reported it myself.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,546 ✭✭✭Mollyb60

Surely there are standards for a minimum permitted size of a habitable space? Or is that asking too much?

• Registered Users Posts: 16,106 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

KevRossi wrote: »
    Munich is often cited as the most expensive city in Germany.

This is what a one room apartment looks like there. This one is €760. €40 a month cheaper than the stairs in Phibsboro.
    It's the first one that popped up on the list. I know the area, it's perfectly safe, a decent place to live. Great public transport too. Distance wise the same as Phibsboro from the city centre.

33m2 in total. Big room, a balcony and you can't hear the next door neighbour farting on the jacks in the morning.

https://www.immonet.de/angebot/44163038

I'm applying for a job in Dusseldorf at the moment. The pay is better and they sent me this link for properties. 2 rooms minimum. at least 60m and less than 700 euro a month.
    The catch is that a lot of apartments there don't have kitchens fitted. The previous occupant takes them when they move.

https://www.immobilienscout24.de/Suche/de/nordrhein-westfalen/duesseldorf/wohnung-mieten?numberofrooms=2.0-&price=-700.0&livingspace=60.0-&pricetype=rentpermonth&sorting=4

But there's still a load available with kitchens.

https://www.immobilienscout24.de/Suche/de/nordrhein-westfalen/duesseldorf/wohnung-mit-einbaukueche-mieten?numberofrooms=2.0-&price=-700.0&livingspace=60.0-&pricetype=rentpermonth&sorting=4&enteredFrom=result_list

take this one. One bed, fully furnished. 550 a month or 690 if you include heating.
    https://www.immobilienscout24.de/expose/127819505?utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter&utm_campaign=expose_sharing&utm_content=expose_contactbox

• Registered Users Posts: 12,781 ✭✭✭✭flazio

Mollyb60 wrote: »
    Surely there are standards for a minimum permitted size of a habitable space? Or is that asking too much?
    Well, canal boats are getting popular in places like London and Amsterdam, then of course you have caravans in various places, and then there's Japan.

• Registered Users Posts: 537 ✭✭✭SupaCat95

flazio wrote: »
    Well, canal boats are getting popular in places like London and Amsterdam, then of course you have caravans in various places, and then there's Japan.

Yeah they are. I am addicted to "cruising the cut" and "Foxesafloat" on youtube. Ireland doesnt have the same infrastructure for barges and narrowboats as the other countries. Narrowboats dont do well on open water like lakes and they dont have a network in Ireland like they do in the other European cities. Saying that I would love to live in one of them especially come lockdown.

Grayson wrote: »
    I'm applying for a job in Dusseldorf at the moment. The pay is better and they sent me this link for properties. 2 rooms minimum. at least 60m and less than 700 euro a month.
    The catch is that a lot of apartments there don't have kitchens fitted. The previous occupant takes them when they move.

https://www.immobilienscout24.de/Suche/de/nordrhein-westfalen/duesseldorf/wohnung-mieten?numberofrooms=2.0-&price=-700.0&livingspace=60.0-&pricetype=rentpermonth&sorting=4

But there's still a load available with kitchens.
    Still far cheaper than Dublin, after a few months of rent-cost savings, to buy your own kitchen and furniture (assuming approximately equivalent salary of course).

As a renter, I always felt it was a pity we didnt/ don't have a tradition of bringing our own furniture to rental properties. I suppose it's a result of tenancy insecurity?

I remember when IKEA first came to Ireland, trying to persuade our landlord that we would buy a new couch, bookcase, tables etc but would he please take away the old stuff. He could keep the furniture when we moved out. He was having none of it.

It's bad enough renting in Dublin, you'd like to at least sit in your own IKEA crýïng-chåir.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,782 ✭✭✭Odelay

https://www.thejournal.ie/readme/ireland-investment-housing-5428746-May2021/

Thought this was an interesting article now that we are discussing how property is done these days. Is the author reputable?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,750 ✭✭✭LillySV

Odelay wrote: »

Thought this was an interesting article now that we are discussing how property is done these days. Is the author reputable?

its is the best and most comprehensive description of whats happened in this country since the late noughties....they countries gone to s*it thanks to ff/Fg

There is nothing extra ordinary about this article, if you have been following conspiracy theorists and the market for years. It is just a more detailed explanation of the Great Reset plan that has enfolded from the World Economic Forum. It is just manifesting itself now.

Imagine if someone took it a step further and thought the governments wanted to control the populations food, water, medicine, education and transport through a single global government?

LillySV wrote: »
    they countries gone to s*it thanks to ff/Fg

Think much much bigger and ask who is pulling all these strings and who is controlling the puppeteer? Fianna Fail/Fine Gael are just the organ grinders monkey, the central banks and Civil Servants think they are the smart ones when they are the fleas on the monkey and are not aware of what they are doing in the greater scheme of things

• Registered Users Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭Cilldara_2000

Ah Jaysus. Conspiracy forum is that way --->.

I believe he is but even if he wasn't, his claims as to what happened in the past are backed up by the historical record.

I would say yes, given that one of the pillars of his argument is a direct quote from the Minister for Finance who welcomed REITs and institutional property owners

In 2012 the new Fine Gael Minister for Finance, Michael Noonan, said that the REIT framework was intended to “facilitate the attraction of foreign investment capital to the Irish property market”.

He further argued that “the acquisition and management of properties by professional REITs is part of a more sustainable, long-term property rental market for both investors and property tenants”.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,041 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

I would say yes, given that one of the pillars of his argument is a direct quote from the Minister for Finance who welcomed REITs and institutional property owners

In 2012 the new Fine Gael Minister for Finance, Michael Noonan, said that the REIT framework was intended to “facilitate the attraction of foreign investment capital to the Irish property market”.

He further argued that “the acquisition and management of properties by professional REITs is part of a more sustainable, long-term property rental market for both investors and property tenants”.

There is a difference between bringing in institutional investors and the government having a policy of not wanting people to be able to afford to buy or rent a home which he claims in the article. Just because they want the former, does not mean they want the latter.

He said "an affordable home", obviously nobody believes it is a policy to prevent everyone from purchasing a home. The headline is misleading, but Hearne won't have written the headline.

What is noticeable from Noonan's statement is that his policy facilitating acquisition of property by REITs is a "more sustainable" approach.

I would read that — in light of the date — as referring to shoring-up property prices, which collapse was one of the main causes of the banking collapse, obviously. A central priority at the time was to restore the banks' balance sheets.

• Registered Users Posts: 228 ✭✭Navy blue

The exterior is stunning, but my god, they've removed every single original feature in it. It's a crying shame. Soulless box inside, you could be in a new build anywhere in the country.

Navy blue wrote: »
    The exterior is stunning, but my god, they've removed every single original feature in it. It's a crying shame. Soulless box inside, you could be in a new build anywhere in the country.

I hadnt really looked at it, (the pictures I mean :D) tbh.

It just caught my eye. I played the euromillions anyway, just in case!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭Baybay

It’s doesn’t look like a very comfortable looking house to linger in. More like a gallery to pass through. But gorgeous exterior.
    I didn’t read the description but if he takes all his furniture, it could be made much more snug & cosy.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,700 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

Feck that - end of terrace house for €4m,

Have this (or these, including the gate lodge) - and keep a million in your pocket

https://www.myhome.ie/residential/brochure/barrettstown-house-newbridge-kildare/4497747

• Registered Users Posts: 228 ✭✭Navy blue

Cheensbo wrote: »

Have this (or these, including the gate lodge) - and keep a million in your pocket

https://www.myhome.ie/residential/brochure/barrettstown-house-newbridge-kildare/4497747
    Wow! Now that is a lotto house!

Navy blue wrote: »
    Wow! Now that is a lotto house!

A bit too fancy for me,but at least there is color in the rooms.Instead of white/magnolia all over the place.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 11,971 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

Cheensbo wrote: »

That's a stunner!

This is a bit more worn than that Newbridge one but it's like a step back in time including the furnishings: https://www.daft.ie/for-sale/detached-house-the-rectory-glebe-fahan-co-donegal/2522737