Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish Rail jobs

• Registered Users Posts: 10 Gaz2212

Went for this myself had the interview was told id hear before Christmas still nothing yet. Just want the wait to be over to hear the news be it good or bad just so I know!.

I'm also 22 for your man wondering the ages.

• Registered Users Posts: 61 ✭✭brianp20

Ye're both young lads, I'm 33!

brianp20 wrote: »
    Ye're both young lads, I'm 33!

Ah sure look at the end of the day we would have just as much experience as yourself. I cant see age making a huge difference in this sure they would have known your age before the interviews so why ask you for an interview if they think youre too old? Best of luck anyway.

Gaz2212 wrote: »
    Ah sure look at the end of the day we would have just as much experience as yourself. I cant see age making a huge difference in this sure they would have known your age before the interviews so why ask you for an interview if they think youre too old? Best of luck anyway.

I was only joking, seeing as Waestrel thought 32 was perhaps too old for an apprenticeship, I'm older. I'd agree about it not having much relevance, they're looking for competent people, regardless of age.

• Registered Users Posts: 74 ✭✭liv1892

Exactly they know what they want so there's no age restrictions!

• Registered Users Posts: 437 ✭✭wobzilla1

I'm 28. Was told at the start of the interview that a lot of the questions were aimed at people just out of school so they'd skip them. They just told me there was a medical after this round. You'd want to make sure you're not colour blind, I'd a mate who wanted to be a pilot his whole life only to be told he was colour blind when he went for the job

• Registered Users Posts: 557 ✭✭✭Waestrel

so seems to be a nice spread of ages. Best of luck to us all, I'm sure they'll be in contact soon in any case.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,858 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

Anyone know what the money is like?

Maybe we will hear word this word fellas

Well, any one hear anything?

• Registered Users Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

I'd written it off at this stage. Maybe not seeing as no one seems to heard back. Fingers crossed.

I was in for mechanic and I'm 34 , do I win? :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 182 ✭✭bruno1x

Thargor wrote: »
    Anyone know what the money is like?

The conventional wisdom of boards would suggests huge sums of money, buts thats not all, the job has perks too numerous to list, sufficient to say you will be drinking a lot of tea and chatting away to your colleagues for at least 80% of the day.

I'd written it off at this stage. Maybe not seeing as no one seems to heard back. Fingers crossed.

I was in for mechanic and I'm 34 , do I win? :)

you're officially an Irish rail Wizard!

Also, does anyone know when the actual job would start? Mid this year?

Waestrel wrote: »
    Also, does anyone know when the actual job would start? Mid this year?

God knows, we were told we'd be contacted about the interview results before Christmas

Emails out there lads. Was in my spam folder. No luck for me unfortunately

Still nothing for me what time did you get it?

liv1892 wrote: »
    Still nothing for me what time did you get it?

17:08

Got my email at 17:10 , bad news for me too I'm afraid

When I was going for the gardai they emailed everyone telling them they failed the 3rd Round and then realised their mistake a few hours later and loads of us had actually passed

Hard luck lads. Best of luck in the future

wobzilla1 wrote: »
    When I was going for the gardai they emailed everyone telling them they failed the 3rd Round and then realised their mistake a few hours later and loads of us had actually passed

Wall fingers crossed this happened again

Considering we got emailed at different times, it's probably not an automatic email to all of us so probably not going to happen.
    We might get lucky and someone will fail medical

Hard luck, lads.

Do ye mind me asking what were ye going for?

I haven't heard anything back yet.

Hard luck, lads.

Do ye mind me asking what were ye going for?

I haven't heard anything back yet.

I went for the electrician apprenticeship

I'm in for electrician, heard nothing yet.

liv1892 wrote: »
    I'm in for electrician, heard nothing yet.

Same here. Best of luck.

Thanks. Same to you.
    It's nerve racking now.

No luck for me, rejection email at 17:13

If you have no word yet, I suspect you're in

Waestrel wrote: »
    No luck for me, rejection email at 17:13

If you have no word yet, I suspect you're in

Sorry to hear, Waestrel. What were you going for?