Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Things Cat Trialvilly Annoy You (part whatever) *MOD WARNING IN OP*

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 76,316 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

Manx, I'll bet. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,445 ✭✭✭Rodney Bathgate

Nope, a bit closer to home Rodders.

Welsh?

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 76,316 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

I bey it was a Brit.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,762 ✭✭✭✭dubstarr

There was an old comedy film on about this perfect village in England. It had 99.9% employment. There was only one unemployed man who was also a beggar, a drunk and a tealeaf. Can you guess what nationality he was? :rolleyes:

Irish:eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 10,520 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

dubstarr wrote: »

But from outside Dublin, right?

The tide is turning…

• Registered Users Posts: 8,901 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

That my office colleague has decided to take up whistling. Bad enough but its the same fcuking tune over and over!

My dad did that for 45 years (probably more). He used to whistle the melody of that song “Please release me, let me go” over and over and over. which was probably a not-so-subtle message to us all.

I remember one day his brother-in-law came to visit. He was telling my dad some long, drawn out story. My dad was sitting in the sofa in front of him, with his eyes closed, pinching the bridge of his nose whistling “Please release me, let me go“ as loud as he could. Yer man didn’t get the message and just kept telling the story.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

dubstarr wrote: »
    Maithú Dubstarr. Come up to the desk and take a sweet :)
    The rest of you messers can stay behind and see me after class :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 40,102 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

That my office colleague has decided to take up whistling. Bad enough but its the same fcuking tune over and over!

Professionally? is there much money in that?

But from outside Dublin, right?
    No an auld Dub homeless alco bum he was. Begob and Saints preserve us all the way :rolleyes:

I saw a boy racer mobile earler with a black curtain on the driver's side window :eek: WTF
    Even with it pulled back it was totally obscuring his blind spot.
    How do twats go round with idiotic stuff like this on their cars and not get stopped by the guards?
    Especially with all the checkpoints lately.

The people who have L and N plates outside their car in the wrong places have left them out so long that they have faded away completely, so they must have passed through checkpoints in the last few months :confused:

Professionally? is there much money in that?
    No, you usually have to sing for your supper.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,612 ✭✭✭Gamer Bhoy 89

Still waiting on this package that I ordered on the 23rd. They had it on hold for days because they thought my address and postcode were invalid. They wanted 5 digits, and my postcode has 7, and they kept telling me to check and make sure the address is correct.

Then they shipped it on Monday and they still got my postcode wrong.

Now it has been given two false delivery dates, Wednesday and Friday, obviously it still hasn't showed up as it's the end of Friday and I'm still without said package.

It's been in Germany since yesterday evening.

I've sent an email asking them what the issue is and I'm going to flip my lid if they even dare have the gall to come back to me and blame it on COVID-f*cking-19

Still waiting on this package that I ordered on the 23rd. They had it on hold for days because they thought my address and postcode were invalid. They wanted 5 digits, and my postcode has 7, and they kept telling me to check and make sure the address is correct.

Then they shipped it on Monday and they still got my postcode wrong.

Now it has been given two false delivery dates, Wednesday and Friday, obviously it still hasn't showed up as it's the end of Friday and I'm still without said package.

It's been in Germany since yesterday evening.

I've sent an email asking them what the issue is and I'm going to flip my lid if they even dare have the gall to come back to me and blame it on COVID-f*cking-19

If I were you I'd ask for a refund on the express delivery, 'cause it's anything but. :mad:

New Home wrote: »
    If I were you I'd ask for a refund on the express delivery, 'cause it's anything but. :mad:

I checked their policy regarding it, unfortunately this is what it says:

Any dates quoted by Seller for the delivery of Product(s) are estimates only and shall not form part of the contract. Seller aims to deliver promptly, however, delays are occasionally inevitable due to unforeseen factors. Seller shall be under no liability for any delay or failure to deliver the Product(s) within the estimated delivery time.

They'll use COVID19 as their excuse, and there will be nothing I can do about it.

"Hey, we charge you extra for the fast delivery, but we'll deliver it whevever and you can do f#ck all about it", basically?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

Some manky fecker leaving their mask in a trolley.

I was visiting family graves today and something small and handmade by my youngest is gone from one of the graves :(

• Registered Users Posts: 6,208 ✭✭✭bonzodog2

Facemask makes my glasses steam up.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

bonzodog2 wrote: »

Me too :(

New Home wrote: »
    "Hey, we charge you extra for the fast delivery, but we'll deliver it whevever and you can do f#ck all about it", basically?

Yeah. I'm not one for slandering but sure they have their own share of negative reviews on TrustPilot so I don't care.

PlayAsia are the store. They specialise in selling imported DVDs, video games, gaming accessories etc. They're usually very affordable and they make importing media very easy. They're based in Hong Kong, and usually they take 2-3 months if you select the cheapest delivery option.

Their express delivery option with UPS takes 3-5 days from dispatch-date, and they are pretty f*cking proud of this as well. UPS even says on their own website that an Express Saver Option is 3-5 working days, so they both gave that promise.

I ordered a pretty rare-ish game console that's rather difficult to get locally. And despite the one I ordered being the European iteration it's still hard to get. Right now, since I ordered it, it's no longer available to buy, so I found myself pretty fortunate in that regard.

I paid out the hole for this thing, and I really wanted it. I'm a collector at heart. So I went for the express delivery option, thinking it would be here within 7 days at the latest.

The rest is what you know now.

I have a pretty expensive hobby, so this is very much a huge frustration for me.

I have two concerns. One being it getting stolen on its way to me, and the other it being damaged when it arrives. The longer it takes, the more concerned I get.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 79,961 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

Yeah. I'm not one for slandering but sure they have their own share of negative reviews on TrustPilot so I don't care.

PlayAsia are the store. They specialise in selling imported DVDs, video games, gaming accessories etc. They're usually very affordable and they make importing media very easy. They're based in Hong Kong, and usually they take 2-3 months if you select the cheapest delivery option.

Their express delivery option with UPS takes 3-5 days from dispatch-date, and they are pretty f*cking proud of this as well. UPS even says on their own website that an Express Saver Option is 3-5 working days, so they both gave that promise.

I ordered a pretty rare-ish game console that's rather difficult to get locally. And despite the one I ordered being the European iteration it's still hard to get. Right now, since I ordered it, it's no longer available to buy, so I found myself pretty fortunate in that regard.

I paid out the hole for this thing, and I really wanted it. I'm a collector at heart. So I went for the express delivery option, thinking it would be here within 7 days at the latest.

The rest is what you know now.

I have a pretty expensive hobby, so this is very much a huge frustration for me.

I have two concerns. One being it getting stolen on its way to me, and the other it being damaged when it arrives. The longer it takes, the more concerned I get.

Ps vita ?

Bitter coffee :(

• Registered Users Posts: 8,901 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

I’m seriously considering getting a custom 3D printed mask for that very reason. https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/technology-53432848

Ps vita ?

Bitter coffee :(

coregrafx mini.

i didn't wanna buy it off ebay because i didn't trust half the sellers.

Rubberlegs wrote: »
    Me too :(
    I’m seriously considering getting a custom 3D printed mask for that very reason. https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/technology-53432848

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=114119958&postcount=3933

• Registered Users Posts: 21,817 ✭✭✭✭Mam of 4

It's as annoying as feck isn't it ?
    I fold up a tissue into a rectangular shape , and place it up near the top of the mask when putting it on , (underneath it) then put glasses on top . Usually works if I've positioned it right tbh , or if I remember to bring tissues!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,374 ✭✭✭twirlagig

Mam of 4 wrote: »
    It's as annoying as feck isn't it ?
    I fold up a tissue into a rectangular shape , and place it up near the top of the mask when putting it on , (underneath it) then put glasses on top . Usually works if I've positioned it right tbh , or if I remember to bring tissues!

+1 for that Mam. Can’t remember where I saw a video of someone doing it but it really does work... the tissue does need to be in a certain spot though :)

• Registered Users Posts: 21,817 ✭✭✭✭Mam of 4

twirlagig wrote: »
    +1 for that Mam. Can’t remember where I saw a video of someone doing it but it really does work... the tissue does need to be in a certain spot though :)

Very true , nothing as bad as thinking you have it right and then you can feel the tissue start to slide and the glasses start to fog up... nope, didn't happen to me :o

• Registered Users Posts: 2,668 ✭✭✭4Ad

Rang a local physio twice, left a message, no reply.
    Rang a Physio in Ennis, got an appointment, great, hiw much 45 Euro. Great...
    45 euro for half an hour !!
    Pinpointed cause of my pain, fair enough, gave me afew exercises...call back...will I F##k....

• Registered Users Posts: 323 ✭✭Phoenix32

The people in the flat above me. I wake at 1am to hear them walk around like they're Irish dancing, the same at 3am and 8am. Do these people ever sleep and why are they always stomping?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,103 ✭✭✭Living Off The Splash

Phoenix32 wrote: »
    The people in the flat above me. I wake at 1am to hear them walk around like they're Irish dancing, the same at 3am and 8am. Do these people ever sleep and why are they always stomping?

Are they very small people who dress in green and wear funny hats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭Wayne Jarvis

My glasses fogged up too wearing face masks so I bought one of these https://www.pharmhealth.com/product/resusable-adult-face-mask-kn95-with-replacement-filters/

They are out of stock there now but you'd get them elsewhere too. They have a filter on them and my glasses do fog up a tiny bit now occasionally but mostly it doesn't happen at all and it is a reusable mask too. Give your glasses a clean as well before you wear a mask too, that should help.

My TA is that I really want to wear my favourite comfy jumper today but it's still wet from being washed so I have to slum it with my second favourite comfy jumper.