Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Insufferable beer snobs.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,423 ✭✭✭jackboy

Strumms wrote: »
    It’s true....the pour, the temperature, clean glasses, with no residue of anything..,... I know the best pubs for Guinness and some of the worst too. Best Guinness I’ve ever had... the Gravediggers Glasnevin, the temperature, consistency, head, it’s yummy.

The pour is irrelevant.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,799 Mod ✭✭✭✭iamstop

It's funny how the new being a beer snob is 'I can't stand beer snobs'.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,388 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Any craft beer drinker is a ***** imo, and I stay away from pubs that promote it, but each to their own

Why would somebody who doesn't like standard brewery p1ss like Heineken be an arsehole.

It's just different taste and none of it is compulsary.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,388 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

What's wrong with calling someone "dude"? The hipster type chap isn't exactly averse
    to using this American slang himself. Hardly derogatory when one is conversing to a bloke
    in the service industry, especially if he's young. If he called him "mate" or "friend" the OP
    would have suffered more "hounding" perhaps.

We're not in America. Hipsters don't all speak American either.

Mate is not normal in Ireland either.

• Registered Users Posts: 887 ✭✭✭Abel Ruiz

No ordering at the bar these days, so some dork with a ginger beard

'No you're grand, dude', I answered back.

The Guinness was lovely btw, and I polished off 8 of them within the time we were allowed stay in the pub.

You sound like the dork.

murpho999 wrote: »
    We're not in America. Hipsters don't all speak American either.

Mate is not normal in Ireland either.

Would "Shcan", "Sham", or "Boss" be okay?

Maybe "Bud" or "Buddy"

• Registered Users Posts: 11,461 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

Zebra3 wrote: »
    Question for Guinness drinkers.

What does Guinness taste like?

Like farts, coffee and an ashtray but that some how tastes grand.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,328 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

I fcking want a Guinness reading this.

Guinness is all about balance.

The taste of it is not something I think about too frequently; It tastes like Guinness.

I'm in love with the texture, the way it hits the back of your throat, the velvety quality of a really good and cold brand new pint.

Guinness strikes, for me, the perfect balance between some heaviness and some smoothness. Other stouts are either too heavy or too light, or too stuffed with out of place flavourings, designed to give some personality. Guinness is just right.

The whole good v bad pint debate isn't really about taste in my eyes. A bad pint is just alright, a good pint is creamy, refreshing and delicous and goes down before you even know it's happened.

Though, I must confess to have never drunk Guiness from a can. Doesn't feel right to me.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Still waters

Can't say I've ever met any beer snobs, I've met plenty pricks that talk out their holes about good and bad porter though

I’d definitely be one that drinks little other than small Irish brewery stuff these days. That said, someone who tells you what you should and should not want to drink is a pain in the flute.
    If you want some Belgian monk stuff, grand. If you want Peroni or Coors then grand too. Enjoy.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭Eggs For Dinner

I love beer

Guinness, but not Craft Stout
    Heineken but not Craft Lager
    IPAs, but not DIPAs
    Citra Beers, but not Saison
    Pale Ale but not Red Ale

There is no right or wrong, only what you like and what you don't

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,257 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

Guinness is the least stouty stout.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

I dont drink much as I said 2 pints and im drunk. nice way to save money.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,328 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

I love beer

Guinness, but not Craft Stout
    Heineken but not Craft Lager
    IPAs, but not DIPAs
    Citra Beers, but not Saison
    Pale Ale but not Red Ale

There is no right or wrong, only what you like and what you don't

Red ale is a funny one. I've drank some that were really tasty and then others that were terrible. Like genuinely terrible, vaguely tasted like vomit.

Whos drinking for the taste?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Deagol

I got into the IPA's a few years ago and I love to try them all - but most are ****e beyond measure. I'm partial to a local one and I keep a few bottles in the fridge but!!! I'm perfectly happy with me Carlsberg on a night out and I'd go for a Harpic if I could get it, had it up the North a few years ago and I can't figure out why it stopped going down this way.

Each to his own is my thing but definitely there are way too many gob****es who look down their noses at any of the established brews and will dull the ear of you talking rubbish about craft beers.

My question always is, if Guinness / Heineken / Carlsberg etc. etc. are crap and rubbish, how is that they've been around for 200-300 years??? Is it reasonable to surmise that the better breweries go bust while the cr@p one's survived?

Of course, Budweiser (IMO) may be the proof that that hypothesis is true :D

• Registered Users Posts: 24,800 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

jackboy wrote: »
    The pour is irrelevant.

Not according to Guinness,

• Registered Users Posts: 7,737 ✭✭✭saabsaab

It's the people you are with that makes a session in the pub interesting. Modern bars with their TVs and loud music are designed to stifle conversation so you drink more.

If you get bored in a conversation bar it says more about the company you're keeping tbh.

Hate them in a pub I never get bored in a pub, talking. Not too sure of those with me though.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭Feisar

Guinness is the least stouty stout.

Fullers London Porter, now there’s a stout.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 4,423 ✭✭✭jackboy

Strumms wrote: »
    Not according to Guinness,

Yeah the pour thing is great marketing stuff.

Also the nitrogen gas in the pubs to cause the settling effect. People looking at it like it’s amazing. If Budweiser was put on the Guinness system it would settle just like a pint of Guinness.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,848 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Whos drinking for the taste?

Adults.

I dont drink much as I said 2 pints and im drunk. nice way to save money.

Handy. What do you do after the first twenty minutes in the pub?

saabsaab wrote: »

**** that I'm home.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭rje66

saabsaab wrote: »

Becomes the OP...........WINK WINK

**** that I'm home.

Ah Ha!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,761 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

crying in my Belgian fruit lambic reading this thread

• Registered Users Posts: 8,975 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

Is the two part pour not because Guinness contracts slightly after its poured? Thus allowing it to contract, pour again and you get a nice head and slightly more beer than you would have if it was poured straight?

• Registered Users Posts: 698 ✭✭✭Cushtie

Ah jasus, I didn't go near a pint in nearly 10 years and ye have me gasping for one now!!

Arghus wrote: »
    I fcking want a Guinness reading this.

Guinness is all about balance.

The taste of it is not something I think about too frequently; It tastes like Guinness.

I'm in love with the texture, the way it hits the back of your throat, the velvety quality of a really good and cold brand new pint.

Guinness strikes, for me, the perfect balance between some heaviness and some smoothness. Other stouts are either too heavy or too light, or too stuffed with out of place flavourings, designed to give some personality. Guinness is just right.

John B Keane described it better than anyone

Cushtie wrote: »
    Ah jasus, I didn't go near a pint in nearly 10 years and ye have me gasping for one now!!

It was about the same for me before tonight.