Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

People referring to you as 'him' or 'her' while present

• 16-06-2019 1:31am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 386 ✭✭

Does it annoy you when people refer to you this way when you're are present? Sometimes it can seem more rude than others. I came across this a few times recently and it's kind of annoying.

You can see Russell Brand calling someone out about this from 5:04 onwards. I know it's Russell Brand, but just watch that part. He later corrects her on this at 6:07.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ynUjo99Gzbk

• Registered Users Posts: 24,647 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Does it annoy you when people refer to you this way when you're are present? Sometimes it can seem more rude than others. I came across this a few times recently and it's kind of annoying.

You can see Russell Brand calling someone out about this from 5:04 onwards. I know it's Russell Brand, but just watch that part. He later corrects her on this at 6:07.

Are you him or her?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,407 ✭✭✭Wailin

Ffs

• Registered Users Posts: 4,421 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

When human relations gets like this its time to withdraw in spirit and head on to your happy place.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

"I helped him"

"Rude fecker..."

"Wut?!"

• Registered Users Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭Mrcaramelchoc

Russell brand........HIM HES a cu nt.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,065 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

tumblr_lvl222f4KU1qkafjfo1_400.jpg

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,776 ✭✭✭up for anything

It was drummed into us as children that it's very rude not to use someone's name when they are present. If I heard, "Who is she/he? The cat's mother?" once, I heard it a million times.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,468 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

People need to relax, if I wanted to be rude about you, saying “him or her” wouldn’t be my approach.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭RWCNT

I like that thing blokey English blokes do when their friend turns up somewhere and they say "Here he is!".

You're too delicate for this world, it might be time to inhabit another one. Godspeed.

• Registered Users Posts: 204 ✭✭wetlandsboy

I’ve noticed a lot of Americans tend to have this habit. Very rude and disrespectful.

• Registered Users Posts: 82 ✭✭budgie412

Ah, it's yourself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭Sonny noggs

More workplace problems, OP? Did yer one who smokes or yer man that drinks Pepsi or yer one who talked about the radio do this? Or an entirely new person?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 386 ✭✭Problem Of Motivation

_Brian wrote: »
    if I wanted to be rude about you, saying “him or her” wouldn’t be my approach.
    I never said it was deliberate rudeness.

More workplace problems, OP? Did yer one who smokes or yer man that drinks Pepsi or yer one who talked about the radio do this? Or an entirely new person?
    An entirely new person.

_Brian wrote: »
    People need to relax
    Then how come no one acted as if Russell Brand was over-reacting?? In fact, she completely backed down.

Wibbs wrote: »
    tumblr_lvl222f4KU1qkafjfo1_400.jpg
    Troll and a bully you are.

Can we expect a long winded rant about your testosterone levels now.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,354 ✭✭✭corner of hells

What do you work at ?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

It seems a trivial thing to get worked up about. Just as long as they've stopped pushing that ze bolloxs.

ze bolloxs.
    What?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,400 ✭✭✭TheChizler

How did I guess that you were the person who started the thread on the canteen comments...

• Registered Users Posts: 81,223 ✭✭✭✭biko

Misplaced accusations are like antibiotics.
    Eventually they stop working and whose fault was it?
    The person using it when it wasn't necessary.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

What?

A non gender specific pronoun, ze.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn II

They/Them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭Sonny noggs

An entirely new person.

At work?

At work?
    No

• Registered Users Posts: 445 ✭✭Garibaldi?

The kids who were repeatedly corrected for this are now grandparents. Old habits die hard. They instantly notice when another breaches this old and strange taboo, whatever its origin. There is no inherent offence in the practice.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,065 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Ohhh nerve touched and yet another rereg with it. BTW calling "troll" and "bully" just because someone reckons you come across as odd as two left feet hardly cuts it, but it's a handy little victim call, if stupendously clunky. Both show even less normal social calibration.

I'd have once called "troll" myself, but you just come across as an unsocialised adult, with seemingly no idea about how social interactions work and get angry about it rather than y'know getting out of your solipsistic headspace and letting these non events go. Then again that seems to be your problem, discerning the difference between non events and real.

Opening posts like yours just come across as odd and WTF? when read by Relatively normal people™ and because of that Relatively normal people™ aren't going to be able to give you much useful advice. It's a different more developed social language they work with and they'll likely respond with the lulz. At best you might get sympathy from others who are similar to you, but that tends to lead to reinforcing the existing worldview. Neither types of reply are much use in navigating this into the future.

Therapy might be an option?

There you go, long winded rant. And I can hear my beard growing. Happy?

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Garibaldi? wrote: »
    The kids who were repeatedly corrected for this are now grandparents. Old habits die hard. They instantly notice when another breaches this old and strange taboo, whatever its origin. There is no inherent offence in the practice.
    Russell Brand is not from that generation.

His reaction at 5:07 is quite extreme. And it's quite extreme for a reason. Would he have come across as charismatic if he just sat there and nothing while she started talking about him as if he wasn't there? Unless of course you're saying Russell Brand has poor social skills?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Oh sweet....

Here we go again.

I-feel-so-awkward.gif?resize=894%2C463&ssl=1