Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How bad is Mountjoy?

Pulp - common people lyrics
    (music starts) And still you'll never get it right
    Cos when you're laying in your cell at night,
    Watching roaches climb the wall,
    If you called your brief he could stop it all yeah/

• Registered Users Posts: 16,862 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

eagle eye wrote:
    Whitey was no saint as everybody knows but he didn't get a death sentence but somebody who is not a judge decided to give him the death penalty. That guy should be jailed for life. If something like that happened in this country a lot of jobs would be lost.

Inmates get stabbed on a weekly basis in Ireland. We also have had murders in prison and sadly suicide is common enough too

Good luck with that, would need to rack up at least 150 charges before they will even let you into prison here

That & not paying the TV licence :)

• Registered Users Posts: 37,453 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Sleeper12 wrote:
    Inmates get stabbed on a weekly basis in Ireland. We also have had murders in prison and sadly suicide is common enough too
    Yes but nobody has been purposely placed in harm's way to the best of my knowledge.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

I dont think I'm alone in saying I'd love a stint in prison. Pure curiosity, like. Are you locked up all day?

Nah. You're out more than you're in if you're on a normal regime i.e. not segregated.
    Is there a library, are there games, Is the soap thing true?

There is a library. There are games such as chess and poker. Some inmates have video games in their cells, nothing beyond a PS2 is allowed.
    Are phones and wifi allowed for prisoners?

Standard prisoners are allowed to use prison landlines for 6 minutes a day to declared and confirmed numbers. No wifi. There are contraband phones, most of which are capable of accessing the internet.
    I am guessing that staff can have phones but must use 3 or 4g at their own expense.

Staff aren't allowed their phones within the prison. Can potentially be done for it if found in their possession.
    Sleeper12 wrote: »
    That & not paying the TV licence :)

Ah the TV license one :) Reality is that you're jailed for non payment of the fine. Also, you just get turned around at the gate more or less to be honest, you wouldn't even see another prisoner.

Omackeral wrote:
    Ah the TV license one Reality is that you're jailed for non payment of the fine. Also, you just get turned around at the gate more or less to be honest, you wouldn't even see another prisoner.

A friend did the TV licence thing a few times. Collected by appointment by the Gardai and driven in to Mountjoy. Exactly as you described. He was there long enough for dinner once but didn't eat the food. Sent home after a few hours

Have they stopped sending them for TV licence now? They were talking about stopping this practice around two years ago if memory serves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

Sleeper12 wrote: »
    A friend did the TV licence thing a few times. Collected by appointment by the Gardai and driven in to Mountjoy. Exactly as you described. He was there long enough for dinner once but didn't eat the food. Sent home after a few hours

That sounds like standard practice for not paying any court fine, many people do it even if they can afford the fine.
    You can get a bus ticket on the way out which is handy!
    Is it true that if you are unlucky enough to go in on a Friday there is a chance they will keep you in for the weekend?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

this says that in 5 years (2012-17) there were 9 suicides, 4 drug deaths and 2 murders, with an average of 800 prisoners there at any one time. That seems fairly low, lower than I would have thought anyway

http://newslab.ie/ddjucd/irish-prisons-a-look-at-life-and-death-behind-bars/

Apart from a few head cases I'd say most people just want to do their time and get it over with.
    People here voting have never read up on the mental health consequences of solitary confinement.
    It's probably best to keep yourself as busy as possible, socialise by playing card games and board games.
    Stay away from drugs as I'd say most violence is over drug debts. You might even end up getting on well with the other inmates, you'd be surprised.

goose2005 wrote:
    this says that in 5 years (2012-17) there were 9 suicides, 4 drug deaths and 2 murders, with an average of 800 prisoners there at any one time. That seems fairly low, lower than I would have thought anyway

I'm not sure those figures are correct tbh. There's been two drug deaths this week alone in, I think, the Midlands. I think two murders is shocking considering prisoners are locked in a cell for 18 or 19 hours a day & they are supervised 24/7. I'd love to see figures for stabbings and attacks. These happen weekly and never seem to be reported in the papers. I'd be surprised if an ambulance wasn't needed at least once a week.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 991 ✭✭✭The Crowman

A guy I know who’d have been no stranger to Irish prison got locked up in Australia shortly after arriving for dealing.
    He’d have no shame in admitting he cried like a baby. He said you couldn’t even imagine how awful it was. Wasn’t long about putting a bit of manners on him all the same

If Aussie prisons are anything like in this then I can't blame him.

• Registered Users Posts: 253 ✭✭noubliezjamais

tuxy wrote: »
    Apart from a few head cases I'd say most people just want to do their time and get it over with.
    People here voting have never read up on the mental health consequences of solitary confinement.
    It's probably best to keep yourself as busy as possible, socialise by playing card games and board games.
    Stay away from drugs as I'd say most violence is over drug debts. You might even end up getting on well with the other inmates, you'd be surprised.

What about Keith hall, the guy who had boiling sugar water poured down his throat? Sound brutal to be fair

Omackeral wrote: »
    Nah. You're out more than you're in if you're on a normal regime i.e. not segregated.

There is a library. There are games such as chess and poker. Some inmates have video games in their cells, nothing beyond a PS2 is allowed.

Standard prisoners are allowed to use prison landlines for 6 minutes a day to declared and confirmed numbers. No wifi. There are contraband phones, most of which are capable of accessing the internet.

Staff aren't allowed their phones within the prison. Can potentially be done for it if found in their possession.

Ah the TV license one :) Reality is that you're jailed for non payment of the fine. Also, you just get turned around at the gate more or less to be honest, you wouldn't even see another prisoner.
    You sound like you know what you're talking about.

Is there alcohol? Are there really drugs? And what kind of money do prisoners get? Is it like pocket money, where you get to spend a limited amount of money in a sort of tuck shop?

Also, how many people are there to a cell? And could you be locked inside with just about anyone?

Sorry, just morbidly curious.

What about Keith hall, the guy who had boiling sugar water poured down his throat? Sound brutal to be fair

If I was in for murdering a young traveller woman I'd be worried however he didn't have it poured down his throat but poured on top of him.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,430 ✭✭✭touts

Mountjoy is nothing compared to the prisons in Venezuela.

alvaro-ybarra-zavala-venezuela-prison-3.jpg

Don't let the Irish Penal Reform Thrust and the Irish Council for Criminal Liberties hear you say that. They are making a nice living going onto the Irish media and telling everyone Irish prisons are the worst hell holes imaginable. Sort of like the pit Brice Wayne got thrown into in the Dark Knight Rises. And of course the only way to fix it is to donate to their charity so they can afford to go on the Last Word every couple of days to condemn the brutality of the medieval Irish justice system..

touts wrote: »
    Don't let the Irish Penal Reform Thrust and the Irish Council for Criminal Liberties hear you say that. They are making a nice living going onto the Irish media and telling everyone Irish prisons are the worst hell holes imaginable.
    [Citation Needed]

Spoiler: Nobody ever said this.

You sound like you know what you're talking about.

Is there alcohol? Are there really drugs? And what kind of money do prisoners get? Is it like pocket money, where you get to spend a limited amount of money in a sort of tuck shop?

Also, how many people are there to a cell? And could you be locked inside with just about anyone?

Sorry, just morbidly curious.

There is home made alcohol known as ''hooch''. It's made from fruit, sugar, and raising agents from the bakery. It's vile. Like a really crude wine smoothie. The guys from Eastern Europe make a home made vodka type drink called ''white lightening''. There's probably a minuscule amount of outside contraband in some places too.

Drugs are rampant. Anything you want. Weed to beat the band. Heroin is everywhere although thankfully needles are not used widely for it. It's smoked off foil. Cocaine, benzos and other stuff widely found too.

They get a weekly allowance known as ''grat'' that amounts to about 18 euro a week for workers. Non workers get a smaller amount, bout 2 euro a day or so. Family can leave money in for their loved ones too. No physical cash is on a prisoner's person though, all done through a moneyless system.

There is home made alcohol known as ''hooch''. It's made from fruit, sugar, and raising agents from the bakery. It's vile. Like a really crude wine smoothie. The guys from Eastern Europe make a home made vodka type drink called ''white lightening''. There's probably a minuscule amount of outside contraband in some places too.

Drugs are rampant. Anything you want. Weed to beat the band. Heroin is everywhere although thankfully needles are not used widely for it. It's smoked off foil. Cocaine, benzos and other stuff widely found too.

They get a weekly allowance known as ''grat'' that amounts to about 18 euro a week for workers. Non workers get a smaller amount, bout 2 euro a day or so. Family can leave money in for their loved ones too. No physical cash is on a prisoner's person though, all done through a moneyless system.

This is fascinating. Thanks, if you have anything else to say about the practicalities of prison life, I'm sure I wouldn't be the only one interested to read it. Much appreciated man.

He did an AMA someone already linked to it
    https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057333310

I did an Ask Me Anything on here a few years ago actually. Few good questions in that. I'm sure some things have changed since but here's the link anyway;

Now Ye're Talking - to a Prison Officer

• Registered Users Posts: 33 Jane_Dough

A friend of mine was in Mountjoy at the same time as Sean Quinn. He said they all used to play cards with Sean Quinn and they all had a great laugh with him.

When he speaks about his time there (2 years) the only negative thing he says is that he missed his family and friends. The ironic part is, his accommodation now is far worse than his accommodation in Mountjoy he said. I'd imagine if he went back in it wouldn't be a big deal to him. Very sad.

I did an Ask Me Anything on here a few years ago actually. Few good questions in that. I'm sure some things have changed since but here's the link anyway;

Now Ye're Talking - to a Prison Officer
    just finished reading this, really interesting stuff. You should consider doing an article on it, if you're interested it writing. Not a career I think I could do meself, but fair play !

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 67,503 Mod ✭✭✭✭L1011

But it seems like anglophone first world nations (particularly us, uk and ireland) have the worst prisons.

I would assume the absolute opposite

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Carandiru_(film) may be worth watching, semi-fictional admittedly.

Partner's father did a while for contempt, due to the specifics of the scenario he was met by the Governor on the first day (who possibly agreed with the thrust of the events that lead to the contempt) and moved to Shelton Abbey within days rather than the usual time in the training unit etc etc. Still not a nice environment to be in or visit from what I've heard

I also used to work for an IT supplier to Castlerea and had to do a service call once. Got no impression that it was somewhere I wanted to be.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭italodisco

Been there, done that.

Not bad at all, keep the head down and ride it out.

• Registered Users Posts: 65 ✭✭The pink killer

italodisco wrote: »
    Been there, done that.

Not bad at all, keep the head down and ride it out.

did ta do a long stretch ? Few mates were in it now out and seem to be better men now not in trouble.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭FanadMan

When I was a kid, my dad said I'd be in Mountjoy by the time I was 18. I put a £20 bet on with him.......25 years later he still hasn't paid me!

• Registered Users Posts: 131 ✭✭Mark25

I'm out of there a few years now but did two sentences there. First was just a few months and the second was longer. I had heard horror stories about it but by the time I was there slopping out was gone and I had a single cell so that was much better than it used to be.
    The Joy isn't as bad as it was was 8 or 9 years ago. They all have their own cells now and they all have functioning toilets and running water etc. Before that, it was 2 and 3 people to a confined cell with no toilet facilities, it was a horrendous spot. Single cells with a basic tv, small kettle and a bit of head space is better than what came before it, for everyone.

Good to hear an Officer say that too because you just hear so many people give out about prisoners having it easy but it is better for everyone that conditions are decent enough.

You are locked up for the night at about 7.30pm before the night Officers come on and are in your cell till the next morning so its a long time if you didnt have a TV and it was only the basic channels. There's not much to do in your cell apart from watch TV, read a bit. smoke so having the TV is a big thing to keep everybody happy.
    I have a nephew the same age as me locked up in Canada for some forgery. It definitely "sucks" but for him he says the fears were overexaggerated. So long as you respected the inmates, didn't get involved in any gang things, and didn't say stupid sh*t, you would be "okay" (not get assaulted). Prison rape is also not as common.

But it seems like anglophone first world nations (particularly us, uk and ireland) have the worst prisons. Obviously prison isn't good anywhere you go but I can imagine that the prison brevik is in might be more comfortable than Arbour Hill or Mountjoy.

Is it true inmates care only about "crimes against the weak" (women, children, elderly involving sex crimes or murder). Also true that few people with college degrees are in there or just bs?

Wonder how many in AH would choose solitary or general if you went to the joy.

Yeah respect is a big thing. Don't go in thinking you are better or harder than anyone else and dont bull**** about who you are or you get found out. One of the first things I got asked was if I was fighting with anybody as they dont want more trouble on the landings and try to keep some people apart.

There was trouble and fights but not as much as people think and you can pretty much stay away from getting involved with all that. Most of the trouble is brought in from the outside or from running up debts or drugs or phones. Its much asier if you know people in there and I did as prison is no place for a loner but if you dont go pissing people off most people I think would get on all right. Depends what you are in for too I suppose.

Like what was said before I think it is all single cells in Mountjoy now so you sorta have solitary without having solitary. There are protection prisoners who are locked up 22 hours a day but I never had that but from what I know solitary can mess up your head.

For regular prisoners you get unlocked around 9 and go to work or training or education, then get dinner and locked back up to et that. then back to work or education in the afternoon and then back again to get tea and locked back up for that and then back out on the wing after that until after 7 and then locked up for the night. It was good to have time to yourself and you could just chill out and didnt have to keep up the "prison face" if you get me.

True there are not too many with college degrees but there are some. I had done a year in college but dropped out but had my Leaving but not sure if even half would have had that.

There are courses and training you can do if you want. I did because I thought it was easier to keep busy and you get a few extra euro for doing it too. Some lads though just dont do anything and just stay on the wing or go out to the yard. First time I was there for only a few months so didnt get to do much but the second time was there for longer I did more. It was the second sentence where I decided I wasnt going to come back again and was going to get help and change and thats what I did. i ended up going back to college adter I got out and just finished a 3 year degree course last Summer.

tuxy wrote: »

Agree with all that. Most of the other lads I was in with were OK. Definitely some to keep your distance from but at the end of the day you are all in the same situation and just have to make the best of it.

Jane_Dough wrote: »
    A friend of mine was in Mountjoy at the same time as Sean Quinn. He said they all used to play cards with Sean Quinn and they all had a great laugh with him.

When he speaks about his time there (2 years) the only negative thing he says is that he missed his family and friends. The ironic part is, his accommodation now is far worse than his accommodation in Mountjoy he said. I'd imagine if he went back in it wouldn't be a big deal to him. Very sad.

Think he was in the Training Unit.

Missing family and friends is the worst for everybody especially for lads with kids. Sometimes you just feel the world is going on and you are not part of it. visits can be hard too. You get an hour of normal life but then its back to your cell. Christmas is real hard and then other times like birthdays, family events and all that. I was lucky that when i got released I had my family to go back to and a place to live but not everybody has that and plenty are back in trouble within a few weeks or maybe sooner

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

It would be great if they made the Dochas Centre like Mountjoy.

Men and women are equal.