Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

do you remember limewire

• Registered Users Posts: 22,209 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

Ah good old Bebo :D I still have lime wire on the laptop I sometimes open it and remember the good old days of seeing is something fully downloaded :D

• Registered Users Posts: 12,268 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Slsk - Soul Seek, I still use this from time to time, still works too. Either that or torrents, tried Limewire and got viruses as well.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users Posts: 8,486 ✭✭✭shmeee

VW 1 wrote: »
    Yup, setting albums to download overnight and hoping they'd be done by morning.

Downloaded an Oasis album, probably cost more on the internet cost than actually going out and buying the CD.

To be honest, didn't end up downloading too much poor quality stuff.

I've a folder on my external hard drive tilted; limewire music, some gems in it :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,859 ✭✭✭donspeekinglesh

Vela wrote: »
    Ahh the good oul Creative Zen....

I had Limewire but I also had this other one called Bear-something?

Bearshare. I used them all to fill my Zen.

Still have all the music I downloaded too, uploaded to my Google Music account.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,695 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

I spent a day downloading a batman film on it when I was about 13. Went to watch it but it turned out to be a porno where the women started puking on each other. Those were the Internet's wild west days.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,780 ✭✭✭KungPao

Used Morpheus, Kazaa (which was good then became riddled with ads and all sorts), then Kazaa lite which was great. Tried one called emule, which was painful, even on a decent connection.

• Registered Users Posts: 37,553 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Remember downloading songs from it and burning then onto mixed Cds. In 2005 got an iPod and my life changed no more burning songs to cds. Editing and getting album artwork was both fun and frustrsting . Only discovered torrents in the late 2000s

Anyone remember burning videos too Cds and getting frustrated as only some DVD players would play them ???

Dvd recorders are another amazing thing from the past. So revolutary in there day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭Twenty Grand

I used Ares and Limewire.

Downloading 1 song took 45 mins.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,303 ✭✭✭patrickbrophy18

At the height of their popularity, the standard internet was either a 56K Dial-up Modem or a 64/128K ISDN Connection. The latter was prohibitively expensive. However, if my memory serves me correctly, a 7 minute song would take roughly 13 minutes to download at maximum speed.

To think that Napster started it all and was followed by Morpheus, Limewire, Kazaa and WinMX.

There was also another service called Audiogalaxy. Who remembers that?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,131 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

Wow, some serious memories in here. Probably still have some of those albums from Napster, WinMX, Limewire, etc. Was great using them in college and leaving them run all night and day when the IT department didn't know anything.

Fcuk Putin. Glory to Ukraine!

• I remember not knowing the difference between an MP3 file and a WMA file. Fair enough if you're as big an idiot as I am but I also remember the head of the IT department in the factory I was working in (a close friend) being absolutely baffled why some songs were going from my computer to my player while most other songs were rejected.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

At the height of their popularity, the standard internet was either a 56K Dial-up Modem or a 64/128K ISDN Connection. The latter was prohibitively expensive. However, if my memory serves me correctly, a 7 minute song would take roughly 13 minutes to download at maximum speed.

To think that Napster started it all and was followed by Morpheus, Limewire, Kazaa and WinMX.

There was also another service called Audiogalaxy. Who remembers that?

Yep, as stated earlier in the thread, audiogalaxy was great, could only download 1 file at a time, but was always reliable.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,400 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

cisk wrote: »
    Downloading Limewire Pro with Limewire free

This. Very much this.

Limwire, Kazaa and Kazaa Lite and eMule were my go to ones.

Kazaa Lite gave my computer AIDS. Can't remember which one of them gave me the blaster virus.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,647 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

My tower was riddled by these sites.

It would shoot porn and all sorts of **** up onto the screen..,

Oh wait that was just my viewing history....

• Registered Users Posts: 13,076 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

Used bascially all the software already mentioned in the thread at some point!

Memories!

Spend hour or two downloading one song only to find out its a fecking loop of the same ten seconds over the over!

Or porn always porn!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

I remember downloading a particular song. At then end it had a radio cut in where the DJ started to speak so it was obviously recorded direct from the station.

A few months later a friend from school played the same song which had the exact radio cut in at the end which he had recorded himself.

Bizarre that I downloaded it directly from him unknowingly.

Limewire was a haven for viruses though. My PC looked like Tom Hanks in Philadelphia at the end.

Good times.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,237 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

I used edonkey, emule and kazaa. Thinking back, they were fairly shíte. Torrents were the end of those, especially the pirate bay where the comments let you know that you were downloading what you thought you were downloading.

I just had a look online and it looks like emule is still around. I might give it a try later but first I'll have to boot into my kubuntu partition and launch another kubuntu instance in a VM to launch another kubuntu VM. You can't be too careful out there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 302 ✭✭RFOLEY1990

introduced me to a load of songs I never would have known otherwise cause it was a complete lottery when you're downloading what artist would come through

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,717 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Still waiting for a couple of mp3's to finish downloading from 16 years ago

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    Still waiting for a couple of mp3's to finish downloading from 16 years ago

You should download that program that speeds up your downloads and increases your RAM first. F*cking n00b.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,494 ✭✭✭Beta Ray Bill

Jesus I remember Limewire well!!!

It was like having unprotected sex with the Internet!!!!!
    And not the classy Internet, I'm talking about the village bicycle internet!

Mcafee used to go Joe 90 when I started downloading!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

I'll go and make a cup of tea and a sandwich. Hopefully, when I get back, the song will have downloaded.

grahambo wrote: »

It was like having unprotected sex with the Internet!!!!!
    And not the classy Internet, I'm talking about the village bicycle internet!

That's exactly what it was. I should have been a bit more suspicious downloading Crazy_Frog_Motorcycle_Song_EMusic_Exclusive.exe.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,151 ✭✭✭limnam

Esat no limits. Auto dialer at 18:01 disconnect at 07:59.....soul seek...bliss...

Back when songs you downloaded were actually listened to.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,038 ✭✭✭✭blade1

I use to use speed.cd
    If you shared it sped up your downloading.
    Only problem was 02 only gave me 7.5gb of data for the month! :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

Remember NO CD cracks for games.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,341 ✭✭✭cml387

How the download graph would start off heroically high and then relentlessly tail off to something like 1 millibyte per hour.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,630 ✭✭✭hynesie08

Jaysus the random titles some songs would have made you think you'd hit the jackpot.... Enter sandman- Metallica Megadeth Slash U2 Pearl Jam live rare unplugged.....

Download, open, it's the ****ing Pina colada song.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 437 ✭✭Charmeleon

I’m friends with someone on Facebook from Holland and was chatting a couple of years ago about how we know each other. They said we started chatting on Napster in 2000. I don’t remember it having a chat function but they are adamant I was downloading a fairly obscure song from them and we started a chat that moved to email and then Facebook. Anyone remember Napster chat?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,139 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

Remember NO CD cracks for games.

And the beautiful installers for the rips of games. And the demo scene....