Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Travelling to America for a UFC Event - Advice, Tips, Costs etc

• Registered Users Posts: 7,066 ✭✭✭MarkY91

Problem is the bars in the casinos trend to be beside gaming areas, even if it's just slots. I wouldn't be counting it to be honest.

Yeah wouldn't be worth the risk. Thanks lads. I think we will scrap the whole idea.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

MarkY91 wrote: »
    Problem is the bars in the casinos trend to be beside gaming areas, even if it's just slots. I wouldn't be counting it to be honest.

Yeah wouldn't be worth the risk. Thanks lads. I think we will scrap the whole idea.
    Just leave him behind and go off and have a brilliant time yourselves! As I said, I think 750 is a pretty class deal all round for 5 nights. You'll have an unreal time.

• Registered Users Posts: 746 ✭✭✭Thegalwayman

considering carry on only flight deal

• Registered Users Posts: 3,663 ✭✭✭JoeyJJ

Ive seen people taken off casino floor etc not worth it.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 11,139 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr. Manager

People thinking of Excalibur; stayed there in December. Grand hotel. The rooms are pretty recently renovated so it's not what it used to be

Having said that, for 2nd - 11th Excalibur is $1,400 and Planet Hollywood is $1,600. If you can spare the extra $200 it's definitely worth it

Also the Excalibur has a popeyes chicken so you might bump into Derrick Lewis :)

9 days in Vegas is a bit extreme also...

• Registered Users Posts: 17,917 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Ya I was going to say 9 days in vegas is overkill. 3/4 is loads in my experience.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,795 ✭✭✭dulux99

Jesus 9 days is insanity. I remember walking down the strip on my final night after 194 and I couldn't even look up at the bright lights anymore as they were giving me such a headache. I stared at my shoes for about two hours

• Registered Users Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭kwestfan08

Was there for 5 nights in June and it near killed me. Between the jet lag, excessive drinking and getting maybe 3/4 hours sleep a night was ready to collapse in the airport on the way home. Now in fairness it was my second time there. First was for 194 and didn't have that experience at all so maybe it's just an age thing. But defienetly wouldn't go for more than 5 you just don't need it.

Also just for the poster asking about buying beer for his under 21 friend. We had a group of 6, all in our late 20's early 30's. Went to the bar beside the sportsbook in the MGM. Asked for six beers and got asked for six ids. The oldest lad didn't have his on him. Was clearly over 21 and the barman even said as much but because he had no proof of age he couldn't sell it to him or we couldn't buy it and give it to him either. Maybe everywhere won't be like that but I wouldn't go on the off chance that I might get served.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,808 ✭✭✭✭mailburner

kwestfan08 wrote: »
    Was there for 5 nights in June and it near killed me. Between the jet lag, excessive drinking and getting maybe 3/4 hours sleep a night was ready to collapse in the airport on the way home. Now in fairness it was my second time there. First was for 194 and didn't have that experience at all so maybe it's just an age thing. But defienetly wouldn't go for more than 5 you just don't need it.

I'm a good bit older than you so I'd call that a good head ups for me which probably means three days max.

thinking of going even though I'd probably be ticketless, would rather watch in a bar than be up at the top where I'd see feck all anyway and wouldn't be willing to pay 500+ on the strength of that card so far

• Registered Users Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭kwestfan08

mailburner wrote: »
    I'm a good bit older than you so I'd call that a good head ups for me which probably means three days max.

thinking of going even though I'd probably be ticketless, would rather watch in a bar than be up at the top where I'd see feck all anyway and wouldn't be willing to pay 500+ on the strength of that card so far

Just depends how much touristy stuff you want to do. The reason we went back this year is because the first time we did nothing but fight related activities. Landed Thursday night, weigh-ins Friday, fights Saturday, walked around a bit Sunday and home Monday. Four nights seems to be the sweet spot in my experience for not burning out.

And just in my opinion you're not paying for a decent viewing experience when you go to a Vegas fight like that, you're paying for the atmosphere. I'll never forget the chills I had when the Foggy Dew started up or the deafening roar when he knocked Aldo out. Was well worth the money for that alone and I was about 10 rows back from the roof.

For anyone that's been to the tmobile, what's the situation with booze in there? For 189 in the mgm grand they allowed people to bring cans into the arena and basically stockpile them without opening them, it was dead handy. Meant basically one or two trips to the bar for the whole night. By the time 194 rolled around they changed all that (understandably)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,078 ✭✭✭The Ayatolla

I was at UFC 200, didnt drink too much but I do remember buying a few cans at once and bringing them in. It's the usual Bud Light / Lime from memory.

That's good news. I'd never been to a sports event before where they let you bring closed drinks into your seats. I fear they may change the ruling based on the Irish fans though.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,066 ✭✭✭MarkY91

They really allow you to bring your own cans in? Sounds fairly hillbilly, doesn't sound like a major sporting event in Las Vegas. You'll see nothing but grates of bud everywhere lol

• Registered Users Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

MarkY91 wrote: »
    They really allow you to bring your own cans in? Sounds fairly hillbilly, doesn't sound like a major sporting event in Las Vegas. You'll see nothing but grates of bud everywhere lol

I think he meant buying them at the bar at the arena and then bringing them into the seats.

So it looks as if axs are the main ticket sellers for 229, has anyone dealt with them before? Is it fairly straight forward like it is with ticketmaster to have an Irish address etc? Want to have all of my ducks in a row before Wednesday

• Registered Users Posts: 4,078 ✭✭✭The Ayatolla

Tickets priced at $200, $250, $300, $350, $400, $550, $750, $1000, $1500, $2000 and $2500.

Anyone with a spare fight club pass happy to sort out a tshirt or fight programme in return.

had a look at that site selling tickets, looks ok. couldn't find where to store credit card, so well to pretend to buy some other tickets and autofill on chrome lets me load in cc and address quick smart so should be ok for that.

Hopefully we all get sorted.

Don't don't have checkboxes for price ranges which is gonna hurt. damn it that is handy for ticketmaster.

JoeyJJ wrote: »
    had a look at that site selling tickets, looks ok. couldn't find where to store credit card, so well to pretend to buy some other tickets and autofill on chrome lets me load in cc and address quick smart so should be ok for that.

Hopefully we all get sorted.

Don't don't have checkboxes for price ranges which is gonna hurt. damn it that is handy for ticketmaster.
    I went onto the website there and turns out I have an account but I don't remember using this site for 189 or 194 - did the same site provide tickets for UFC 204 by any chance?

I'm sure we will be sorted, bigger arena, there won't be the influx of Irish J1 students, and so on. I wonder how many will travel?

189 was ticketmaster for sure.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Tickets priced at $200, $250, $300, $350, $400, $550, $750, $1000, $1500, $2000 and $2500.

Get a Fight Club membership and go for the $750 tickets and whoever wants to go will get sorted IMO.

$550 has a chance but $200-$400 will be very risky.

• Registered Users Posts: 746 ✭✭✭Thegalwayman

Paully D wrote: »
    Get a Fight Club membership and go for the $750 tickets and whoever wants to go will get sorted IMO.

$550 has a chance but $200-$400 will be very risky.

With ticketmaster there was option to buy tickets and membership in Presale in one transaction meaning you didn’t waste 75dollars on a T shirt and letter from Dana unless you secured tickets

• Registered Users Posts: 399 ✭✭BigMo1

Am I right in saying there's been no official confirmation from UFC on 229 ticket prices, even though they're on sale tomorrow?

Not a lot of action on this or the mcgregor thread. Wonder how many are intending to travel

• Registered Users Posts: 802 ✭✭✭KingJamsie

BigMo1 wrote: »
    Am I right in saying there's been no official confirmation from UFC on 229 ticket prices, even though they're on sale tomorrow?

See attached

Ticket day, if anyone has a presale code they willing to share happy to buy programme or tshirt etc as a thank you. Otherwise I'll buy one as part of the presale.

• Registered Users Posts: 584 ✭✭✭Burkie7

Any tips for this lads?

I have fight club membership. Will have me and a few of my mates on different laptops and phones ready to go. Going to try from lowest price up to $500.

Thanks.

• Registered Users Posts: 399 ✭✭BigMo1

I seen in the press release they are recommending using AXS for tickets. That site is nailed on to crash right?