Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Irish tourist scratches his name into the wall at Auschwitz

• 09-10-2018 4:51pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 84 ✭✭

Wow. Just wow.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭Foweva Awone

I did Nazi that coming.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,526 ✭✭✭Allinall

That’s gas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 84 ✭✭MagicThree18

I did Nazi that coming.

What are you Waffen on about?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

Allinall wrote: »
    That’s gas.

Give it a while, someone will come along and tell us there was none.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭CinemaGuy45

Wow. Just wow.

What an idiot and 38 years old.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭JohnMc1

Wow. Just wow.

What a moron. 38 years old. Sorry sunnyshine, you don't have the stupidity of youth on your side anymore.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭funk-you

I did Nazi that coming.
    That’s gas.

The fuck lads? They were people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭i71jskz5xu42pb

I thought it'd be a dumb kid on a school tour.

Nope
    Earlier the Polish press agency PAP reported that the tourist is a 38-year-old Irish man who scratched his name onto a wall after he saw other names written on the wall.

funk-you wrote: »

"The fuck?"

Do you mean What the fuck?

I'd rather a little blackly-humoured punnery over your transatlantic-drift grammar any day of the week.

• Registered Users Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

They weren't very nice people though. They killed millions of Jews and tried to take over Europe.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,415 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

Just report them let the Mods deal with them!

• Registered Users Posts: 614 ✭✭✭heretothere

I can't believe he was 38! I visited when I was 18, on a drink fuelled inter-railing holiday. We were silent the place just felt awful (still worth a visit). The whole atmosphere of the place 'demanded' respect.

Just report them let the Mods deal with them!

I'm gonna report you for back-seat modding.

Oh, the irony.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

Earlier the Polish press agency PAP reported that the tourist is a 38-year-old Irish man who scratched his name onto a wall after he saw other names written on the wall.

I had to look up what that meant. I thought maybe the people kept in the camp had scratched their names on the wall. It turns out though that writing your name there is a popular tourist activity. I did a Google search and found a few blogs by people talking about how shocked they were to see graffiti all over a wall.

Some people are fucking weird. It kind of reminds me of the gobshites that write their names on Jim Morrisons grave because they're such massive 'fans'.

• Registered Users Posts: 669 ✭✭✭idnkph

Goes to show that a lot of men don't grow up... They just get bigger.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,158 ✭✭✭frag420

I did Nazi that coming.
    That’s gas.

I think this kind of childish behaviour its atrocious, Anne Frankly I hope I never have to read it again on these boards!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Kevin Finnerty

He'll be lucky to get away with his life. His life Martin!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭CinemaGuy45

idnkph wrote: »

He is going clubbing on his next holiday.

To the North Pole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 796 ✭✭✭Sycamore Tree

This is AH.

And they were funny responses!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 827 ✭✭✭pxdf9i5cmoavkz

idnkph wrote: »

This has got nothing to do with gender and everything to do with upbringing. It's the type of behaviour I would expect from the underclass.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,050 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

This is AH.

And they were funny responses!

Ah let's not get ahead of ourselves, they weren't that original or funny. I am not offended nor do I give a cr*p if eegits want to make jokes out of a pretty serious historical event but sure whatever keeps you amused.

I think you have to visit one of these camps to acknowledge how horribly disrespectful someone doing this is.

Germans take this **** very seriously

• Registered Users Posts: 31,816 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Getting what he deserves horrible thing to do, it's a really heartbreaking place to go.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,965 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

make jokes out of a pretty serious historical event ...
    To be fair, what he did, while grossly insensitive, is hardly "historical".

Zulu wrote: »
    To be fair, what he did, while grossly insensitive, is hardly "historical".

Christ.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭removed2

you can dress us up but you can't let us out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 796 ✭✭✭Sycamore Tree

Ah let's not get ahead of ourselves, they weren't that original or funny. I am not offended nor do I give a cr*p if eegits want to make jokes out of a pretty serious historical event but sure whatever keeps you amused.

I think you have to visit one of these camps to acknowledge how horribly disrespectful someone doing this is.

Germans take this **** very seriously

Ok so are you offended or not? Do you give a crap or not?

I believe they are making jokes about the Irish person who defaced the wall at Auschwitz.

• Registered Users Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Christ.

Nah. That was a couple of thousand years ago. Well before Hitler showed up.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

Christ.
    That's incredibly disrespectful. Have a word with your blasphemous self.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭PandaPoo

Ok so are you offended or not? Do you give a crap or not?
    z.

He thinks it's disrespectful but isn't personally offended by it, nor does he give a crap about it.

The words were right there in the post you quoted.

Ok so are you offended or not?

What he done wasn't a personal insult to me so no I am not offended. There is a difference between pointing out how disrespectful his actions have been than letting it offend me.

I anticipate it will offend many though and hopefully the punishment will fit the crime.

I certainly amn't offended by silly pun jokes about the Holocaust by little boys on there lap top! Just find it childish, cheap and humourless!

I think you need to acknowledge what the word offence means!