Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Things you want to say to husband/boyf/ex's/friends/family/people *MOD NOTE POST #1*

• Registered Users Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Dear R,

You were the first friend of mine to ever pass away. Regardless of the couple of fights we had were you slapped me about, we were kids at the time and the very next day all was forgiven. For over a decade now I've been unsure of how to feel about your passing but it's become clear in the past couple of weeks/months that it was a pure selfish choice on your behalf to not be where you were supposed to. Had you been there with the rest of us, you'd more then likely still be here today and regardless of our dwindling friendship I'd still be there for you whenever you called. I've taken a lot of positives away from your accident and writing this has cleared out a backlog of tears that I badly needed released.

Dear E,

You treated your subordinates like dirt on the bottom of your shoe. Your inability to cope with pressure & lack of people skills cost many people their job. Making a complaint against you, cost me mine. It took me a long time to get over the depression of suffering the loss of my job and the friends whom I worked with. Being blacklisted in an industry was not something I was prepared for but I'm stronger these days and nothing will hold me back from being a success. I'm not sure what I'd say or do if I met you again, all I know is you're too ignorant to see the pain you caused everyone.

Dear some of my friends,

I don't come around too often because your cocaine & pill usage is not something I want to get involved with. I worry like **** what is going to happen to you because I know only a few of you will have the strength to actually put this phase behind you. Please stop, I miss you a lot.

Dear parents & gf,

You are the 3 most amazing people in my life. Your constant support is what keeps me going every day of the week. Never leave me.

• Registered Users Posts: 875 ✭✭✭jaded_pause

Dear Fiancee,

It's a shame that we've been having such terrible rows lately, as it stresses me out..then that leads to no sex...which makes me frustrated, anxious and feeling like a total ****. (Let's not even mention the shower incedent..)

Having said that though, you're still the most amazing, loving, generous, kind hearted person I've ever met and I can't wait until we can start the rest of our lives together. I knew I loved you the day I met you, and I can honestly say, without a shadow of a doubt that I will love you until the last breath leaves my body...and who knows, maybe longer?

I know things are ****ty lately but I promise that they'll get get better. I promise.

You've been the best, worst, happiest and saddest parts of my life and I wouldn't change a minute of the time that I've known and loved you.

Please don't ever stop.

Your babes x

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,438 Mod ✭✭✭✭XxMCRxBabyxX

Dear every single person who has made me feel like I'm not worth anything,

Look at me know. I've survived cancer and facial paralysis. I ****ed up my leaving because of the depression and lack of self-worth that you all gave me but look at me now I'm studying Law like I always wanted to and am kicking ass at it. I bet you all didn't think I could get a boyfriend either, I have one nearly 4 years thanks.

Some of you were meant to be my friends, some of you still are, yet you all made me feel like I wasn't good enough. Small thing happened that you implied were all my fault or I ****ed everything up. Half that stuff wasn't even me, it was down to you. You knew how ****ed up I was but you never cared enough.

I sometimes wonder why I stay friends with you but sometimes I just need to have people. Just let me feel included please, let me feel like I mean something. Is that too much to ask?

I'm sick of not feeling good enough. I deserve better. I'm worth more
    XxMCRxBabyxX

P.S. I know I may not be the most average or normal person but that doesn't mean that there's something wrong with me. Can you not accept me as I am?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,441 ✭✭✭pampootie

Dear Ex-boss,

I handed in my notice. I would have thought when you run four companies, resignation happens every so often, no? Anyway, when I did quit, and you called me a homewrecking slut who didn't care about anyone else, a whore, and a lot worse besides, instead of standing there blinking back tears and opening and shutting my mouth like a goldfish, what I meant to say was "F*ck you, you utter gob****e." Toodles!

Thanks, tLL, very cathartic!

Kablamo! wrote: »
    Dear Mammy,
    I have tried so hard to love you as best I can.
    My father always told me you had a sickness; but now I'm older, I realise that despite common thought it is not a sickness- it is a greed.
    I have followed you to the shops asking if I am not more important to you than the drink is... and despite your answers you always end up drunk.
    You have said the most unimaginable, hurtful things to me- "Rot in hell with your father" would be one, but I know that somewhere inside you, you understand what you're doing and don't like it. How you can choose whiskey above our family life is beyond me, but sadly I respect it. You have your own issues and you don't know how to deal with them. If you ever opened up there is a mass of people waiting with open arms to heal your hurt.
    I have an awful lot of anger, and I suppose issues would be the most appropriate word, involving you, but;
    Guess what?
    It's just me and you now, and Dad never gave up on you. I won't either.
    Love you no matter what,
    Kablamo!

I've been there Kablamo. I understand every word of that.
    Hopefully one day your mum will see exactly what damage she's doing and will try get herself help. Until then all you can do is try stick with her through because one day she will turn around and appreciate it.

I still watch my mum and am petrified she'll have a bad day and give up on all she's done for herself but my mother is amazing and has gotten through a lot of stuff including her fathers death soon after treatment and her daughter having cancer and she did it with such strength that I can only admire her.

Keep smiling Kablamo and I really hope that one day you can say the same about your mother as I just have about mine :)

• Registered Users Posts: 834 ✭✭✭The Agogo

I've only known one grandparent and it was my Nana, who passed away in June:

Dear Gran,

You are such a brave woman. During the last months of your life you didn't make so much as a groan of the amount of pain you are in, saving us from so much sadness.

How the doctors didn't detect Lung Cancer is beyond me, especially since you tried to get out for a smoke as often as possible! How the negligence of your nurses managing to break your fragile little neck is something I'll find very hard to forgive, but I know you wouldn't even say a bad word against them for it ever.

I hope your courage, bravery and kindness runs through my blood too.

Thanks for getting me my first job. I'll try give up the ciggies for you soon.

C

• Closed Accounts Posts: 100 ✭✭Emmsy

Dear S,

I cannot put into words the immense satisfaction it has given me to see karma kick the **** out of you.

Sincerely,
    E

• Registered Users Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

Dear Grandad,

You died when I was 10.
    I remember the night you died like it was yesterday.
    We were in the hospital...you had been there for a while and I was flitting back and forth from your room and the waiting room.
    I'm sorry Grandad, I didn't know how bad it was.
    I had been buying you mint Aeros from the hospital shop.
    I thought you'd be okay.
    Being a 10 year old I started complaining one night that I wanted to go home and sleep.
    My mother, your daughter resisted and I started to get cross.
    Eventually she gave in and we went home.
    At 6am the following morning we got the phone call saying you had passed away.
    I hate myself for preventing my mother from being there when you did.
    I should have stayed the night like she suggested.
    I am sorry.
    I want you to know that I will never forget you.
    You have been a part of my life long after you left us.
    You inspire me on a daily basis and the biggest compliment anyone has given me is that I have your wit.
    I love you so much, and I hope you are happy where you are.
    The next take is for you Grandad.
    I'll never forget you.

dear P,

i have known you half my life and it was so hard to leave you .Felt physically sick the day i decided enough was enough .But in all honesty how much more do you think i could take ? The constant put downs ( your fat stupid a bad mother etc etc ) the cheating ? the first time i found out i felt my heart break it was never the same after that you know that and so do I .

The final straw ? being punched in the face by you and tasting my own blood, not the first time you hit me but certainly the worst . So thank you for that because in all honesty even with all the other things you put me through i probably would of stayed as i was blinded by loyalty and what i thought was love .

I thank you from the bottom of my heart for my fabulous children they are the best of what we were and always will be .

Oh and guess what I am happier now then I ever was and a better mum and all round person .I wear what i like now go where i want to i laugh now loud and long without seeing you from the corner of my eye sneering like you use to .

I see you now for what you are a sad and embittered individual and i can forgive you .

I have taken all the hurt and bitterness I felt put it in a box and buried in the garden .

So good luck with your life i genuinely wish the best for you . i wish you love and light and peace.

You said no one else would want me that i wasnt good enough for anyone else well guess what? there are plenty that do and guess what else ? I dont care i am happy on my own just shooting the breeze and breathing the air .

Its great to be alive without you FREE !

No regrets and when you try and put my down now i just smile bullet proof now ha !

love me

• Registered Users Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭squeakyduck

Dear Ed,

The best thing I ever did was stop working with you. You are an absolute sexist pig and you deserve to have someone kick you in the arse enough times for you to finally realise that. Two failed relationships is a clear picture of the horrible person you have become and always are. Don't give me the crap about having problems with women, we can move to managerial if we want! WOMEN HAVE LIFE PROSPECTS TOO! You're just mad that you have to listen to the same ****te all day everyday!

I'm so glad I moved my work because of you and the close relationship with the area manager. You're company is shiite, your lies are shiite. You knew you pissed me off by trying to tell lies to get me fired because you knew that the customers talked to me about how much of a dicck you are, and texting me to try and guilt trip me because I dropped you as a friend off facebook? Smooth move Ed, did I get to you.

Enjoy life stuck in a bookies,

SqueakyDuck

PS: I sincerely believe you have Napoleon Syndrome. Don't get pissed because I'm taller than you.

Dear former best friend ,

I rang you in May to tell you my wife was pregnant with twins and we spoke every week until July when I rang to tell you that one of the twins would die the day she was being born .

Why haven't you rang me since , why haven't you called in to see us ?

I got a brief e-mail to say you were busy and couldn't make a show we'd booked before the bad news . Why didn't you ask how we were ?

All I want from you is 3 words ... How are things ? It would take 2 mins to send that text .

My wife is carrying twin girls , we have them named , we have godparents chosen , we've chosen a casket , we've picked a grave , we've chosen prayers , we've chosen music , we've bought baby clothes and cried and cried as each job was scratched off the list . She'll be born just before Christmas and it looks like she'll be buried on Christmas Eve .

You'd know all this if you'd only bother to ask .

You're a selfish prick .

• Registered Users Posts: 489 ✭✭perri winkles

To my nearest and dearest,

Im sorry I have such an awful temper. I know I have one, I know I go into rage blackout mode and I know I take it out on you, even though you are the ones trying to talk to me about it. I need to control my temper I just don't know how :(

Dear Dad,

I wish we could get on better, We are too alike in too many ways, I wish we didn't clash over everything.... Although I also wish you didnt annoy me on purpose (you admitted to it!) :rolleyes::mad:
    We BOTH need to control out temper more. We both lose the head and say things we dont mean, we also take it out on mum which isn't fair either. You do need to mellow out a bit more though. I'll try too...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 837 ✭✭✭Beetlebum

I rang you in May to tell you my wife was pregnant with twins and we spoke every week until July when I rang to tell you that one of the twins would die the day she was being born .

I got a brief e-mail to say you were busy and couldn't make a show we'd booked before the bad news . Why didn't you ask how we were ?

All I want from you is 3 words ... How are things ? It would take 2 mins to send that text .

My wife is carrying twin girls , we have them named , we have godparents chosen , we've chosen a casket , we've picked a grave , we've chosen prayers , we've chosen music , we've bought baby clothes and cried and cried as each job was scratched off the list . She'll be born just before Christmas and it looks like she'll be buried on Christmas Eve .

You're a selfish prick .

That made me tingle. I am so sorry this is happening to you and your wife. Heart breaking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 837 ✭✭✭Beetlebum

Dear Mom,

Just because I don’t visit your grave or ever look at photographs of you, don’t think that
    means I don’t love you and miss you. I wanted you to stop drinking so badly because I could see
    It was slowly killing you but deep down I knew you were gone too far.

I hope you’re at peace now and I hope you know how much I will always love you.

Dear K,

You are pure evil and I hate your very core. You punched me, cheated on me, lied to me, made up
    Rumours about me, told me you ‘Hoped I got Aids’ and also suggested I kill myself.

I stood by your side for 8 long years always jumping to your defence when my friends and family warned me you were bad news.

You ended it with me after I confronted you about cheating on me and you then spat in my face.
    Even typing that fills me with shame. Shame that I stuck with such a weak, evil, disgusting sociopath for so long. I wasn’t confident enough to leave you even after you beat me up.

I’m a strong girl now though and happy to be rid of you. If there is any justice in the world you’ll
    Get what you deserve.

I honestly wouldn’t care if you died a long painful death, actually that’s not true. I would care.
    I’d be delighted. I’d go straight to the pub and celebrate.

I f*cking hate you and will till the day I die. I hope you rot in h*ll. I almost lost my mind and contemplated suicide because of you.

You were never worth it.

Phew...that felt really good:)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,633 ✭✭✭Feeona

I didn't understand that you were a person who could make mistakes. I didn't understand that you didn't know everything. I never asked you how you and my father met (and I didn't ask him either :rolleyes:). I never asked you what it's like to be pregnant and give birth. I never asked you why you didn't go mad with seven children at your feet :o.

I never got the chance to know you as a person-you were always just Ma!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,016 ✭✭✭Blush_01

DJ,

You're an a$$hole, but unfortunately you're somehow my yardstick, and despite how it ended you'll always mean a lot to me. There, I've said it. You'd love to see that in writing, I'd never live it down.

Hope the defrosted woman is making you happy and has become literate. It's always a challenge to socialise a neanderthal. (Red wine suits you!)

Blush

to kevin

you are an absolute psychopath. unfortunately i did not realise that until i had spent a year of my life with you. in that time, you were obsessive, controlling, jealous, possessive, threatening, deceitful, manipulative. yet you were clever also - so clever that i did not see any of the above happening, you did it so insidiously. you left me isolated from my family and friends, you left my self-esteem in tatters, you left me unable to sleep. i actually thought it was normal for you to insist i left the bathroom door open all the time, to read my emails and diary, to look at my payslips, to read my texts, to insist i put my phone on to speaker phone if anyone rang me. typing this now, i know it will seem unbelievable to anyone else reading, but thats how clever adn maipulative you were, you made it all seem reasonable. thanks to a good friend of mine, i finally saw the light, and i dumped you. you could not bear to be dumped, to not be the one in control, so you threatened me with suicide unless i took you back. bad move on your part, as it made the final few scales fall from my eyes. three years on, you still crop up in my life from time to time, clearly unable/unwilling to accept that i have moved on.

well, FCUK YOU. you mean nothing to me now. i dont care if you live or die.

to my parents -

i let ye down once in my life. other than that i was/am a model daughter.

dont make me pay for that mistake for the rest of my life.

to tony

you could have had the common courtesy to answer the one question i asked. but clearly you're not half the man you portray yourself to be.

to my friends

ye stuck with me thru thick and thin, and truly i would not be here without ye. there are not enough words to convey my gratitude.

to martin,

i never understood the sentiment of the song "2 out of three aint bad" til i met you.......... that describes us so well. what more can i say

• Registered Users Posts: 874 ✭✭✭Max001

Its awful what we can do to each other and do to ourselves. Its inspiring reading how many of you've overcome adversity or are in the process of doing so. The most difficult thing I ever did was to struggle through five painful years of psychotherapy. It was worth it though, because among other things, I was able to tell my father for the first time at age 44yrs, that I loved him and meant it.
    One of the things I learnt in psychotherapy was that others can't really argue with your feelings. If you tell someone you hate them, thats theirs to deal with as they see fit and you don't need to be responsible for that, only for yourself. OP, it was an inspired idea to start this thead and I thank you. Its reminded me of things I need to do. What I've read here has moved me deeply. I've only recently started to mend the relationships I broke many years ago, but each time one is re-established it lifts my heart in a way I can't describe. If its possible, each of you will say what you've said here to the person that you want to hear it, when the time is right for you. I would urge you to do so. When we resolve an issue, we can accept it and then put it down, rather than carry it with us. I know only too well, its easier said than done, but then isn't it the case that the best things in life aren't easily got. Thank you all so much for sharing and I hope everyone finds the closure and peace they're seeking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

You're a selfish prick .

I'm really sorry to hear what your going through.

Some people just aren't able to deal with these sort of things and something awful like this can let you know who your friends are.

My brother died last year and it was really an eye-opener to see who rallied round with fantastic support, and on the other side, the people who cross the road rather than have to speak to you. I have learned a lot from it.

I wish you all the best with getting through this.

• Registered Users Posts: 94 ✭✭AEH1984

Dear M,

I hate the way you are constantly trying to put me down or getting one up on me, I hate the way you threaten me with never seeing my daughter again if I introduce her to any new girlfriends, especially when it turns out your seeing somebody new, I hate the fact that I had to suggest going to court in order for you to let me spend some alone time with my own child. I know she'd never admit it but I know it broke my Mams heart that she had to make an appointment to see her own grandchild
    How you always suggest I'm off swanning around with my new girlfriend when I cant drop my plans for you, I can only put this down to your fears, you know EVERYTHING I do is for my little girl, I work 110 hours a week to provide a life for her, I have never denied her anything nor have I denied you anything.
    We are better apart then together, I dont like the fact that our daughter comes from a broken home but despite you asking me to leave her life I will always be involved in her life, she is my life. I live for the days I see her smile as she runs into my arms.
    I'm not blameless in all this and I know that, but I cant listen to how much you hate me any longer, I can only hope you dont try to manipulate our daughter to have the same feelings towards me as you

Dear Mum,

I know you never meant to hurt me. All the things you said to me, was because you were afraid. I'm sorry I wasn't old enough to take care of you and save you from the pain. But I did try to help you every time he came at you. I put myself in the firing line so you wouldn't get hurt. I was just as scared as you. I called the guards every time. I drove you to hospital every time, and sat by you when you cried. I understand you took your frustrations out on me, and I'm sorry that I couldn't change the situation. I was only a child. I'm sorry that I left you as soon as I could. I know it hurts that I am on the other side of the world. But deep down I know you know its best for me. I wasnt the daughter you had hoped to have, but I try my best. You are a strong woman, and I am stronger because of what we went through.

Dear Dad,

I hate to see you sad. Your the most gentle soul and I have always been daddy's girl. I'll never understand the things you and mum have been through. I dont know how it feels to have a child turn on you. Im sorry you had to go through it as well. Im sorry mum said and did all those things, she was trying to handle it as best she could. Im sorry I wasnt there when you went into hospital the last time. I should have stopped him. I would have stopped him if I was there. But you told me to go as soon as I could, and I did. I remember your words when I drove you to hospital and we were waiting on the doctor. You gave me the courage to leave. I thank you for that. Everyone thinks Im just like you. I love that they think that. Please try to stop drinking and doing drugs. I'm trying, and its working. I know its hard to deal with all the things you have had too, but I am here, and I need you to be there!

Dear Brother,

I understand you were sick. I get that you couldnt control yourself. I dont even hate you for ruining my childhood. Ruining the relationship I had with my parents and denying me of a normal, healthy upbringing. I can forgive you for all the horrible memories I carry with me. I love that your getting help in prison. Im glad I get your letters and get a glimpse of the brother I used to know before it all started. I miss that brother. I dont know how it felt to be you. Everything you have done is unforgivable to most people. But I still love you. I feel sorry for you. And most of all I feel hopeful that you will change.

Dear Big Brother,

Im sorry about the things I said and did to you. You were my big brother and I expected you to help me get away from it all. I didnt realize you were young and needed to look after yourself and get away from it. I bet you didnt like leaving me. I know how it affected you too. Im sorry its still affecting you. You didn't have the opportunity to move as far away as me, and I know you've had to deal with alot more of it since I left. Just realize you cant fix them. They are broke. I'm proud of you and what you've become. Im proud of your wee family and know that you can find someone out there that will appreciate you for the man you are. Please dont through it all away. You are stronger then this.

Dear Husband,

Im sorry that I cause drama in your life. Im so used to dealing with things the way I was taught when I grew up. I dont know where I would be had I not met you. You took me away from that life. You showed me another way to live, and I am thankful for that every day. I still have a lot of things to deal with. I know its hard on you. I know I try and push you away and I do make you feel bad. Im sorry I do that. I was so young when I met you and needed an escape. Im still learning how to be in a proper adult relationship. You are too. I love you.

Dear Alcohol & Drugs,

F*@k you! You ruined my family. You lured me in by promising me an escape. When I realized you werent what I needed, you make it so hard to leave you. I've finally concurred one, and I will concur the other. Mark my words, I am better off without you, and one day I will not need you anymore! Stay away from my family as well!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭Kanoe

Dear x
    I just wanted to talk to you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

Dear Mom,

I know things have been really crazy this summer but I just want to say thank you for always visiting me in the hospital and for taking care of me during this summer of madness that feels more and more like a really trippy dream these days.
    I was too proud to show it somedays and others, I wept in fear but the past 6 months I was living n terror of my own brain and what would happen.
    Thanks for being there for me at every step. XX

Dear Family,

I'm an Athiest and have been for a while. Believe what you want but don't shove it down my throat. Deal? Deal.

Dear Dylan,

I can't believe I wasted 7 months of my life on a loser like you. Even so, I still feel pain when I think about you. You hurt me bad but it's all on you. I'll never get back the time I lost trying to help you get out of that bad living situation or when we actually worked well together in those rare moments of clarity when you were sober.
    I broke up with you because I couldn't bring myself to play second fiddle to alcohol, verbal abuse and time wasting.
    Your mother is a vapid eejit and so are you but you were my eejit once and though it hurts still a year on, I'm not quite over you.

I'm sorry for how things ended but I was angry and frustrated that day when I stormed out. I haven't seen you since but i hope wherever you are it's a good place.

PS: Can I have my Aliens quadrilodgy boxset back?:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 14,404 ✭✭✭✭Pembily

Dear Andrew

I wish I had spoken to you more before you left, I am sorry I let that pr!ck take up my time and that I didn't spend more time with you before you left us...

You are the most amazing person I know, you made me smile no matter what and made P see the world for what it's worth and made him cop on and you made me feel like one in a million, I get why you left, I have felt that pain and I am doing my best to get rid of it, you would want it that way, that was one of the things you admired in me - my happiness and I am getting it back all thanks to you :D:D:D:D I will visit you soon, I just want to be fully happy when I do :D I will always love you, yes I am mad at what you did but I will forgive you soon...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,660 ✭✭✭G86

To my little sister

I love you like a mother loves a child,
    a bond unknown
    to the one who brought you here.

I miss you like the day misses the night;
    the time where it can find it's rest
    and find the strength to shine again.

I fear you'll leave me here alone,
    without the one I taught to walk,
    along a road so full of cracks that we both fell.

I feel I'm losing you,
    through every covered crack,
    through every part of you that doesn't need me anymore.

I've loved you since forever;
    since I held your tiny fingers in my own
    and realised you were a part of me.

The lines are blurred, she's left her mark,
    but on you it's fading so fast I barely see it anymore.
    You're moving on, but without me.

I beg you, please wait, please turn around
    I'm here, don't go, don't leave me.
    I love you, I just need you...to still need me.

To my Aunty

You were the first person to show me what it felt to be loved. You showed be the way a mother should be, you showed be the way a family should be - and you gave me both. I'll never be able to repay you for that, for simply loving me, when those who should have had lost their way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭Kanoe

dear x...

lulz

knew you were watching. ;)

(and thanks xxx)

• Registered Users Posts: 10,658 ✭✭✭✭The Sweeper

Dear Mother-in-Law:

A picture is worth 1,000 words.

So here.

dysfunction.jpg&t=1

• Registered Users Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭squishykins

Dear Gerry,
    I'm sorry for not getting to know you as much as I should have before it was too late. Why'd you have to go, it wasn't your time to go. You were healthy, only 59. Why was there no warning. Why did I have to find you. Why did we have to switch off the machine. Why did you have to have a brain tumour. Why does the pain never end. So many whys.
    I miss you every day, you were the nicest most giving man I knew. You gave so much to the parish and expected nothing in return, even though you were only a car mechanic. You were the one who accepted my mum when she got pregnant with me too young, you were the one who made sure there was a roof over my head. You taught me how to ride a bike, how to drive a tractor, how to change a spark plug, you were the only one I could go to for a hug. Every day I came home from school you'd be standing there on the lane waiting for me. You were the most important man in my life for 15 years. I love you so much, and I'm proud to call you my granddad.
    I'll always be your little Jamie

• Registered Users Posts: 879 ✭✭✭Kablamo!

I've been there Kablamo. I understand every word of that.
    Hopefully one day your mum will see exactly what damage she's doing and will try get herself help. Until then all you can do is try stick with her through because one day she will turn around and appreciate it.

I still watch my mum and am petrified she'll have a bad day and give up on all she's done for herself but my mother is amazing and has gotten through a lot of stuff including her fathers death soon after treatment and her daughter having cancer and she did it with such strength that I can only admire her.

Keep smiling Kablamo and I really hope that one day you can say the same about your mother as I just have about mine :)

I will be honest, if she changes, that would be amazing. It would mean the world to me, because it would give her back a life. She deserves one I think.
    I cry, nearly every day because of her behaviour, BUT, and it really is a big but, she is my mammy. I love her just the way she is.
    It might be naive, but sometimes she's relatively sober, and she's my friend, and I love her so much I feel my heart might just burst.
    Alternatively, when she is drunk, I mind her and feel awfully protective. Sure, there is resentment, but, without her testing me as she has through my formative years, I would not be the person I am today.
    I am unemployed, and a college dropout. A lot of people consider me wrote off, but I know I have a good heart and that's worth more than any degree.

Kablamo! wrote: »
    I will be honest, if she changes, that would be amazing. It would mean the world to me, because it would give her back a life. She deserves one I think.
    I cry, nearly every day because of her behaviour, BUT, and it really is a big but, she is my mammy. I love her just the way she is.
    It might be naive, but sometimes she's relatively sober, and she's my friend, and I love her so much I feel my heart might just burst.
    Alternatively, when she is drunk, I mind her and feel awfully protective. Sure, there is resentment, but, without her testing me as she has through my formative years, I would not be the person I am today.
    I am unemployed, and a college dropout. A lot of people consider me wrote off, but I know I have a good heart and that's worth more than any degree.

Kablamo you have just described the relationship I had with my mother for years. If you ever want to talk PM me. I have been through it all