Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Where is the Best Burger in Dublin?

• Registered Users Posts: 17,651 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Counters in Dundrum are lovely if you can get a seat.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭showpony1

nicest burger I had was Shake Shack in airport layover in the US, hopefully comes to Dublin.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,634 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Bunsen is deffinitely the best, counter is great due to the options of making your own which I enjoy.

I can't stand anywhere that just stacks stupid amounts of ingredients on a ridiculously thick beef pattie that is then impossible to fit in your mouth

• Registered Users Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭Feisar

worded wrote: »
    Is it not a burger made at home your self made from the finest meat you can buy at your local butcher ?

Burger meat needs to be fatty, a lean mince burger isn't ideal at all. Also one needs to grind the meat at home as it has a completely different texture to shop/factory ground mince.

By the by I cut up and ground an Angus rib eye from Aldi, the fancy ones in the black packs. OMG it was awesome!

Now on to toppings, I ain't a purist:

Lettuce
    Tomato
    Cheese
    Caramelized Onion
    Scallion
    Gherkin
    Chopped Black Olives
    Butter - to one of the buns

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 4,325 ✭✭✭Bandana boy

Feisar wrote: »
    Burger meat needs to be fatty, a lean mince burger isn't ideal at all. Also one needs to grind the meat at home as it has a completely different texture to shop/factory ground mince.

By the by I cut up and ground an Angus rib eye from Aldi, the fancy ones in the black packs. OMG it was awesome!

Lettuce
    Tomato
    Cheese
    Caramelized Onion
    Scallion
    Gherkin
    Chopped Black Olives

Black olives
    Butter on a burger bun

• Registered Users Posts: 9,761 ✭✭✭Effects

showpony1 wrote: »
    nicest burger I had was Shake Shack in airport layover in the US.

What part of Dublin is that airport in?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭Mrcaramelchoc

showpony1 wrote: »
    nicest burger I had was Shake Shack in airport layover in the US, hopefully comes to Dublin.

Yea i love to get on a plane of a weekday and go get a burger.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭Feisar

Black olives
    Butter on a burger bun

I know but try it!

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

I could do with a hot beef injection right now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Bunsen. Not even close.

However I haven't been to a good few places mentioned.

I heard Token do nice burgers

• Registered Users Posts: 1,340 ✭✭✭conor222

Bunsen are very good,
    tried chilli shack the other day and it was incredible

I will investigate further, for science

• Registered Users Posts: 851 ✭✭✭Simon201

Greyfox wrote: »
    You wouldn't go to Ricks sober thou, tgis is a good shout but I'd also go with Bunsen

Oh jesus I would! It's just I'm only in town when I'm on the sauce.

But just on Chilli Shack again if anyone from there is reading please please have vinegar available for ya lovely chips!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Hector Bellend

Wowburger is a tasty burger

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭riemann

Bunsen is grand but seriously overrated.

Nothing can compare to some eye of the loin you witness the butcher mince before making your own burgers at home.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭Pintman Paddy Losty

Can't beat a Good Al's cooked at home on the grill with some raw onion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

Feisar wrote: »

Lettuce
    Tomato
    Cheese
    Caramelized Onion
    Scallion
    Gherkin
    Chopped Black Olives

Do you add anything to the meat?
    Normally I add some chopped onion and garlic, I did an experiment with adobo (chipotle peppers in a smoky sauce) mixed through it for some extra spiciness. It turned out good.

The meat and bun in Bunsen are the best. only annoying thing about Bunsen is the wait system where you have to come back when they text you - it's always in the middle of a pint when they text you - guaranteed :)
    Wow is decent and you don't have to go away and come back so handier but the burger is better in Bunsen imo.
    Five guys haven't been - not going to a shopping centre just to have an over-priced burger.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

glasso wrote: »
    The meat and bun in Bunsen are the best. only annoying thing about Bunsen is the wait system where you have to come back when they text you - it's always in the middle of a pint when they text you - guaranteed :)
    Wow is decent and you don't have to go away and come back so handier but the burger is better in Bunsen imo.
    Five guys haven't been - not going to a shopping centre just to have an over-priced burger.

I found Five Guys to be extremely overpriced and overrated. And the one in Dundrum has a really weird soulless atmosphere - like the entire place in general.

The 5oz freshly cooked in Supermacs is fairly decent as well. Puts the Big Mac or the Whopper in the penny place in comparison - microwaved jobs.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭Pintman Paddy Losty

I found Five Guys to be extremely overpriced and overrated. And the one in Dundrum has a really weird soulless atmosphere - like the entire place in general.

The 5oz freshly cooked in Supermacs is fairly decent as well. Puts the Big Mac or the Whopper in the penny place in comparison - microwaved jobs.

Pat McDonagh has hit on something special with the 5oz. Its an a very tasty burger and that was always the weakest part of his produce. Combine that withe a taco fries and you are on to a serious winner.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

I could do with a hot beef injection right now

John Hughes fans tittered at that I bet :P

• Registered Users Posts: 1,096 ✭✭✭Roger Mellie Man on the Telly

Burger King Whopper with cheese.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Pat McDonagh has hit on something special with the 5oz. Its an a very tasty burger and that was always the weakest part of his produce. Combine that withe a taco fries and you are on to a serious winner.

Very erudite observation, Paddy. Supermacs were known for their snackbox, and other chicken based offerings. Had expanded into the pizza game as well. But the burger offering was always the weak point of the portfolio. A MightyMac was acceptable, but didn't encourage the heavily drunk punter at 3am to make a beeline into Pat's fast food emporium.

The 5oz changed the game in the fight against the international conglomerates. Sure, it's 75 cents more expensive, but there's some love going into that burger. I tend to combine it with a garlic and cheese chips, as opposed to the taco fries. Personal preference. The garlic if fine is you've a 'sure thing' going on at home, but don't be thinking you'll be chatting up a bird outside the door with the expectation that you'll both be frantically hailing a taxi 10 minutes later, bent over with desire for a night of top class 'bonking'.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,079 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

I heard this, made me sad. Went to check to see the new abomination of a once delicious burger as I had not been there for nearly 6 or so months. Maybe more.

Tasted as good as ever! (This was only about a month ago). I could notice no major difference.

I heard they got a new chef, if they did the old chef trained the new one in his ways.

Your lucky you missed there burgers when menu changed jesus they where a mess haha.

The two main chefs left in there now are a million times better and more experienced then the original fella. If they where actually allowed make what they wanted there would be some amazing food coming out that place better then any burger!

Sure the original fella was more interested in promoting himself and his pushing his ego then anything. Was much better environment when he left.

The thing about these burger places is once you get meat your happy with everything else is generally the same. End of the day everyone is copying each other anyway!

• Registered Users Posts: 19,609 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Ricks an old favourite, love Bunsen & Wow too. Ate in 5 Guys a few days back and while it was nice it wasnt 15 quid nice. The burger and chips in Tomahawk steakhouse next door to the Clarence Hotel is the same money and better tasting whilst being in much better surroundings. Anyway at the end of the day for burgers in Dublin I reckon Chilli Shack comes out top. That said I havent eaten in Bunsen in over a year because its always too packed. Im up to five stamps on my loyalty card in Chilli Shack now and I am not one for loyalty cards, the Shack being the exception.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,067 ✭✭✭MarkY91

Muahahaha wrote: »
    Ricks an old favourite, love Bunsen & Wow too. Ate in 5 Guys a few days back and while it was nice it wasnt 15 quid nice. The burger and chips in Tomahawk steakhouse next door to the Clarence Hotel is the same money and better tasting whilst being in much better surroundings. Anyway at the end of the day for burgers in Dublin I reckon Chilli Shack comes out top. That said I havent eaten in Bunsen in over a year because its always too packed. Im up to five stamps on my loyalty card in Chilli Shack now and I am not one for loyalty cards, the Shack being the exception.

I'm up to 5 stamps in my 3rd stamp card in chili shack :D it's simply amazing! The chips are lovely too and their XXX sauce tops it all off at being my favourite burger meal. We're having a chili shack tonight! Surely only a matter of time until they open a branch closer to the city centre? They'll make a fortune.

A favourite closer to town is wow burger.

Had Bunsen burger once, I had to ask myself wtf the fuss was about. And I see the crowds when I go past it. Imagine waiting for ages for a fecking burger and chips and having to ensure a jam packed restaurant...I'd much rather a little space.

I had a burger meal in Wings in O'Connell Street recently, the meat falls apart and has no taste..

• Registered Users Posts: 28,386 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Does anybody on this thread know what Bunsen Burger is like?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,965 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

murpho999 wrote: »
    no

• Registered Users Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

Bunsen is the gold standard - it's absolutely perfect, it blows the competition away so thoroughly that in my opinion it's closer to the best burger in Europe than the best burger in Ireland.

Failing that, Wowburger is probably second best. Five Guys is also very tasty in fairness - a bit expensive, but tasty.

I'm not a huge fan of the likes of GBK and that - too many options, and the burgers they serve tend to emphasize pure size and a million toppings over quality ingredients and actual taste. There's no point in a burger you can't even fit into your mouth - or one dripping in BBQ sauce or with a black pudding crowbarred in to make it more Oirish for the tourists.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

murpho999 wrote: »

Yep, we go to the restaurant in Temple bar as a treat. Burgers are excellent, as per my post earlier. Well worth a visit.