Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin Marathon 2010

• Registered Users Posts: 570 ✭✭✭slowsteady

4 stars (good)
    I didn't let the balloon go folks, the tie broke at about mile 12 and away to space it flew! It was gas to look back and see all the dismayed faces behind :D I quickly reassured them that we were still good to go.

Another blast pacing the 4 hour group. Truth be told I found it a little tougher today, legs a bit tired, but it was never in doubt. The desired and advised target for us was 3:59:30.

Result: 3:59:30 :D Hit the halfway mat in 1:59:59!! Job done!

It got a little hairy coming into the 25 mile mark as we were pulling along a huge posse. 2 of our 4 strong team flanked the road and pushed the crowds back to let the posse through (apologies to those supporters). I may have scared a few into a final sprint but it was brilliant to see that posse flooding through with the line in sight. There is some really great spirit in the DCM.

Some incredible results from our bordsies, it will take a week of dossing to get to it all. Well done all.
    Registered on the Boards this evening just to say a big thanks to all the pacers and especially the 4.00 guys.

Worst moment of the marathon was seeing that ballon take off on the Crumlin Road, if the second one went...so did I.

First marathon, finished 3.59.07, delighted. Thanks again lads.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭eliwallach

3 stars (average)
    Died over the last 6 miles (Berlin still in the legs?) - It was a long slow death march from Fosters Ave to the finish :o.
    Got in with 3:50 on the clock.
    Dublin marathon is never kind to me :(.

Positive - a 10min course PB, and a largely wonderful event

Big Negative - trying to get out from the Baggage collection area. The families & friends waiting to be reunited with runners had encroached so close up to the (small) exit that they (gormessly) created a back up of already tired marathon runners. The guy beside me started fvcking them all out of it. He was right.

Met Bernard Dunne at the start - his 1st marathon. I told him that his experience of pain would come in handy around UCD.

Met TFB before the start. Also met menopause & spaghetti menoscemo & chinguetti lining up behind the 3:30 pacers.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭Dodgykeeper

• Registered Users Posts: 878 ✭✭✭Caprica

4 stars (good)
    Got home in 2:59:06, had to work hard in the last few miles. The 3hr pace group passed me at the RDS so put my head on from there on in. Second sub 3 this year after Berlin, I still think Dublin is a tough course

It was an ideal day, a little bit nippy starting of but once you got moving it was fine. Got to half way in just over 89mins and brought it back in 90. As always the last 5 miles tough, dropped out to over 7min miling.

The support round the course was the best it has ever been, impressed with all the Spartans outside every Spar we passed.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭Clearlier

3 stars (average)
    Ran 3:24 having guesstimated a target of 3:25 so happy with that. A big thank you to the pacers. Even if I never actually ran with either of the groups I kept the 3:15 balloon in sight until about 15 miles which was very encouraging.

Thanks also to all of those who gave me advice on running by heart rate. I stuck pretty closely to the plan of 155 (77%MHR) to halfway, 160 (79%MHR) to a bit after the twenty mile mark and whatever I had left from there. It was particularly useful in the first half as I probably would have pushed a little harder if I hadn't got the HR target in mind. As it was I still went through the half just outside my PB.

I split 1:39, 1:45 which isn't too bad as I missed picking up two gels from a friend around Terenure and ran a bit short of energy (a big thanks to all those out there with jelly babies and jelly beans and even kit kats), they and the final gel that I was carrying got me going again after a rough patch between miles 18 and 21. Until I got the mother of all cramps just after the 25 mile marker that is. My left quad and hamstring went at the same time, stopped me dead and had me crying out not unlike my 11 week old son. Somebody shouted at me to try walking on it which seemed like the worst idea but I gave it a go and was gradually able to jog and then run again just in time for passing my wife and other son which was nice. Mind you Nassau street was one long cramp fest as both my legs decided that enough was enough. I remember seeing a video of the finish of the (Edinburgh?) marathon earlier this year where the leader cramped within a few hundred metres of the finish and was overtaken by second place who had been a good bit behind. Before today I had in my ignorance wondered why he hadn't just run through the crampredface.gif

This has been a great thread to be part of. I hope to be back again next year.

• Registered Users Posts: 20 justy

4 stars (good)
    my first marathon only decided to run a couple of weeks ago.the first 23 miles going great ,i really suffered for the next two miles got it going the last mile thanks to the support of the croud finished it in 3.07 over the moon bring on dcm 2011 .I will get sub 3 hrs just need more longs run. my longest run todate was one 20 miles and an 18 mile run thanks every one who shouted me home

• Registered Users Posts: 911 ✭✭✭heffsarmy

4 stars (good)
    dermCu wrote: »
    Heffsarmy - 2:35 with a 3 min neg split. That's just incredible. Well done that man.

Thanks Dermo. today was the easiset marathon I ever ran, really enjoyed it.

• Registered Users Posts: 334 ✭✭breakfast roll

well done to everybody who ran the race today :)

does anyone know which newspaper the results will be published in tomorrow?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭neilc

4 stars (good)
    Awesome day today everyone. Made the going out too fast mistake. I knew at the time it was a mistake but I just could't reign it in. Lack of experience I suppose. Anyway I kept the 3.30 pacers in my sights till around the 10 mile mark but wasn't too concerned as I really knew I should have gone with the 3.45 guys. Started to feel the pain at around 16 and really from around then decided to walk through the water stations. That was a good decision. Ray D'Arcy gave me a big boost with a big smile that kinda said he knew what I was going through at the top of that hill behind UCD. I kept looking ahead so as to avoid seeing the 3.45 guys but the game was up on that score around the UCD flyover. I ran with them till the Merrion Rd when I had to let them go, but let me tell you they were fantastic. Finished from there with 9.30ish miles cause I knew my main goal of sub 4 was achieved. Said hello to Oisin11178 after at the bag collection, nice guy.

DCM 2009 - chiptime 4:50:14
    DCM 2010 - chiptime 3:49:39
    Delighted

If anyone knows the boards username of the 3.45 ballon carrier I'd love to PM him. Didn't realise it out on the course earlier but we met earlier in the summer when his friend and my brother in law sadly passed away far too young.

Things I learned from today:
    1. Its true what they say, you can't bank time in the first half. Steady pacing much more sensible.
    2. Wasn't sure before about pace groups, now I'm totally sold. The encouragement the 3.45 guys gave for the time I was with them was awesome.
    3. Pint bottles of Bulmers go down well afterwards.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭neilc

4 stars (good)
    well done to everybody who ran the race today :)

does anyone know which newspaper the results will be published in tomorrow?

The Indo

• Registered Users Posts: 2,842 ✭✭✭Micilin Muc

slowsteady wrote: »
    Registered on the Boards this evening just to say a big thanks to all the pacers and especially the 4.00 guys.

Worst moment of the marathon was seeing that ballon take off on the Crumlin Road, if the second one went...so did I.

First marathon, finished 3.59.07, delighted. Thanks again lads.

I got a picture of that balloon!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭plodder

4 stars (good)
    Great day for me as well after a dodgy start. Was woken up an hour late and the early morning was very rushed. Just made it to the start on time. It seems all extremely well organised now, even better than two years ago when I ran it last. I was very worried about a calf/achilles problem that showed up only last week, and sure enough it bugged me for the whole race, but thankfully it never got any worse. Had planned for running 3:25, and ran the first half about 1 minute ahead of that pace, despite having to stop in the park for a pee. The lad in the "tiger" suit was along side me, and a bunch of other friendly folk for most of the first half. So, it was really enjoyable. Noticed a few deer in the park who wanted to get across the race route just like in the half mar. Was expecting them to leap like across but they backed off instead. The expected drag up Crumlin rd. was a positive pleasure with the sunshine and calm conditions.

Around mile 16, the breathing stepped up a notch and it started to get a bit harder (as expected). But, it was mile 20 and 21 where I lost a good bit of time, and it was clear 3:25 wasn't going to happen. So, the target at this stage was to get well under 3:30. The surprising thing is that even though the pace eased off a bit, I passed quite a significant number of people in the last 4 miles. So, even though my pacing was pretty bad, a lot of others were even worse than me. Crossed line at 3:27:30. So, beating 3:30 was the number one target and was over the moon to do that.

Thanks to the 3:15 pacers by the way. I tried to keep them in view as long as I could (which wasn't very long) I had a bit of a chuckle when I saw one of the balloons disappear in to the sky on O'Connell St...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,993 ✭✭✭✭recedite

Caprica wrote: »
    The support round the course was the best it has ever been, impressed with all the Spartans outside every Spar we passed.
    Spartans! So thats it, I was wondering WTF the Romans were doing hanging around street corners.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,834 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

hawkwing wrote: »
    RTE have more interest in "real sport" like Celebrity Bainisteoir or stuff like "Ireland's Greatest" it seems :o They should be shot with their own S**t

They're not the only ones. Today FM sports bulletins today lead with English soccer and a story about some poor soccer player who hurt his little knee 3 days ago. Meanwhile the biggest sporting event in terms of numbers participating of the year in the country was relegated to 3rd or 4th place, then again nothing will ever get in the way of that stations love-in with premiership soccer.

• Registered Users Posts: 182 ✭✭Burgman

I was a steward today for the first time. Time to pay my dues and glad I did it. I didn't mind the six hours standing at a junction. Well done to all runners. Commiserations to those who prepared well but blew it due to pace misjudgements and inexperience. The next one will be better.

My heart went out to Donothoponpop who went past in poor shape. I only knew him because his name was on his back. Hope he has recovered ok.

I found it hard to believe the number of poorly prepared participants. Baggy shorts, long baggy tracksuit bottoms, big bellies, big backsides. Looked to me that quite a few people decided to participate (note that I don't say "run") just before the entries closed and then started to prepare. They may have taken more than six hours but they suffered for longer and would surely benefit for a few months of training. It you are thinking about doing it next year: start training now - you will enjoy it so much more if you are not struggling before ten miles.

Things that happened near me: three different cars came to our junction with very sick people who needed a Garda escort to get through to St Luke's hospital. Another car with a woman in labour needed to get through to Holles Street. I hope all of them are doing ok tonight - I know they would feel better if they could feel the positive vibes going around.

And the guy who came to ask who he could complain to about the noise from the people who were putting down the traffic cones at 6.30am? Sounded as if they had a bit of a concert outside his house. Apparently they were shouting and roaring. As you do when the temperature is zero degrees and you have a short time to get the job done. Watch out DCM organisers. I hope these guys were quieter this evening and didn't disturb the guy's afternoon nap.

You wouldn't believe the number of taxis who came to closed junctions - big surprise to them that the roads were blocked due to a marathon. Apparently it was the 31st consecutive time this event has been held on the October Bank holiday.

So now I am the proud owner of a marathon jacket and cap. The crisps, Lilt and Twix are gone. But I enjoyed my day too. Must run it again some year.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,902 ✭✭✭Emer911

Hi All. Congrats to all the participants and organisers! I was a mere spectator so I hope I cheered some of ye up around the 20 mile mark... ;)

Congratulations to all who took part. Hope ye all got your targets, and if not... well there's always the next one (Barcelona? :rolleyes:)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,545 ✭✭✭chinguetti

2 stars (poor)
    Well as some of ye are aware, i got creamed by a van on Saturday morning (my fault) so didn't know what to expect this morning. Planned to go with the 3.30 group for as long as possible and lasted until mile 20 when the right leg started to cramp.

Couldn't move my right arm and this probably caused the cramp as had to do all my running with my legs as not much forward motion in my arms. Had to stop and do a stretch and a big thanks to the three young ladies who helped me onto the kerb to stretch.

Lady 1: Its a shame you have to drop out
    Me: What, ah no just having a stretch and i'll set off again in a minute. If this was any other occasion, i'ld ask you to massage my legs
    Lady 1, 2 and 3: laughter

Ran on at 9 minutes mile and Meno passed me at 22 pulling a train and kindly gave me some sweets which helped a good bit. Thanks boss. Finished in 3.38 and change and considering i am lucky not to be in a hositpal or worse, i'll take that and hope that one day i'll make 3.30. Both feets cut to pieces with blisters and nails hanging off which is the first time that i got a blister for months so i'm on the easy list for a while until the feet heal.

To the girl who tried to take the drink that a friend was handing to me at 16.5 mile, i have to say that i doubt that you have the same first name as me so shame on you for trying it.

Have to say that i thought the water stops were badly set up (couldn't see if there was water on both sides of the road and they weren't spread out far enough. The crush across the road at each stop was dangerous) and the mile signs were too low to be seen. Also think that they would need to start doing wave starts as the Dawson Street/O'Connell Street parts, amongst others, are way too tight for the crowd that are now doing the marathon. Saw a number of people lucky to remain unpright in the first few miles due to the crowd.

Fine job on the t-shirt though and great day for it. Thanks to all who handed out jellies, water, oranges, etc along the way.

Anyone else see John Treacy at Fosters Avenue? Managed to get a wave off him and 'keep it up' which was a nice boost when i was in a bad way.

Edit: Went to give the race a 4 out of 5 but hit 3 by mistake, so apologises about that

• Registered Users Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

4 stars (good)
    Aren't you supposed to be able to sleep like a baby the night after a marathon? I've been wide awake since 5:20! :mad:

But my race report pace report is up if anyone's interested in the usual long ramblings of an idiot.

http://rubbishrunner.blogspot.com/2010/10/almost-like-pro.html

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,364 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

4 stars (good)
    Aren't you supposed to be able to sleep like a baby the night after a marathon? I've been wide awake since 5:20! :mad:

But my race report pace report is up if anyone's interested in the usual long ramblings of an idiot.

http://rubbishrunner.blogspot.com/2010/10/almost-like-pro.html

I didn't sleep a wink. Wrecked now, sitting in a classroom for my work course is going to be great fun today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭Woddle

chinguetti wrote: »
    Edit: Went to give the race a 4 out of 5 but hit 3 by mistake, so apologises about that

Hi Matt, I changed that for you and well done.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

4 stars (good)
    recedite wrote: »
    Spartans! So thats it, I was wondering WTF the Romans were doing hanging around street corners.

Yeah, the first bunch of them I saw, I thought "oh look, people cheering in costume. That's kind of funny".
    The third or fourth time I saw them (not very quick on the uptake yesterday) I copped on.
    But they were in ROMAN costume, not SPARTAN.
    I'll have to write a letter of complaint.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,043 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

3 stars (average)
    Someone in Spar wasn't paying attention in history lessons. I suspect that the Spartan outfits would have been a bit drafty for them to wear.

Regardless of them getting their historical knowledge of armies wrong, they were appreciated.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,293 ✭✭✭coco0981

hi there. Did my 1st marathon yesterday and loved it bar the obvious pain that goes along with it. Thanks to the pacers although my heart did sink when the balloon drifted away at 12 miles. have to agree about water stops, bypassed 1st one and had to fight to get water at others. Also couldn't beleive how packed the field was from start to finish. But on the positive side the supporters were great and a real pick me up at several points.. Came in at 4.01 gun time, 3.58.59 chip time so do i get say that i ran a sub 4 marathon??

• Registered Users Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

4 stars (good)
    coco1981 wrote: »
    Came in at 4.01 gun time, 3.58.59 chip time so do i get say that i ran a sub 4 marathon??

Yes you can. It took you less than 4 hours to run the 26.2 miles between the start and the finish line. Congratulations!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,043 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

3 stars (average)
    Everybody is listed in todays Independant, and they show finish position and chip time.

So take the sub 4 time, your entitled to it.

• Registered Users Posts: 299 ✭✭itsalltrue

4 stars (good)
    Come home in 3:57:17 so delighted. Stayed with the sub 3:45 for 16 miles but hit the wall. Had some fruit and gels and was able to maintain a sub 10 minute pace for the last 10 miles.

It was my first marathon so delighted i have done it. Last night i was never doing one again but coming around to the idea this morning.

Well done to everyone who finished

• Registered Users Posts: 1,293 ✭✭✭coco0981

cheers lads, going to dine out on that sub 4 for a while so!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭Stupid_Private

5114730719_775b4202f7.jpg

5114733235_70796b562b.jpg

5115333772_ffdef63f97.jpg

5114774501_2e8dd73b4c.jpg

A few of my photos from around mile 25 yesterday. There's about 3,200 from various people on RacePix that are slowly but surely all getting tagged by bib numbers!

Dublin Marathon Photos 2010 on RacePix

• Registered Users Posts: 49 Wilbury

3 stars (average)
    Burgman wrote: »
    I was a steward today for the first time. Time to pay my dues and glad I did it. I didn't mind the six hours standing at a junction. Well done to all runners. Commiserations to those who prepared well but blew it due to pace misjudgements and inexperience. The next one will be better.

Quite simply, these volunteers who unselfishly gave up their bank holiday monday to make our day possible could not be thanked enough. Well done to all those stewards, first aiders, the people at the water stations for making it so enjoyable.
    The spectators (and spartans!) as usual, were great. Their friendliness, generosity and encouragement made the hard miles a lot more bearable.
    As for the pacers, they gave up their whole weekend between the Expo and the marathon. They must be fed up answering the same questions over and over again during those few days, but they smiled through it all! Even those who didn't run with a group would benefit from them knowing that some minute they were ready to pounce and pass you by, if you slackened.
    So a huge thank you to all of the above, for what was a well organised day.

• Registered Users Posts: 312 ✭✭grimbergen

4 stars (good)
    Anyone see any funny/crazy sights yesterday. Two that stood out for me were

- the guy running in his bare feet up Fosters Avenue
    - I passed a guy near UCD singing bon jovi's "you give love a bad name" at the top of his voice as he was running. Stopped for a stretch shortly after and lo and behold when I got to on pearse street there was the same lad singing the same song!! Whatever motivates you I suppose.