Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Minecraft

• 03-05-2010 3:15pm
    Registered Users Posts: 458 ✭✭

Any of you gentlemen play Minecraft?
    It's an Block-based indie construction rpg, currently in alpha, being developed by a swede called Notch. It has a large online community and can be played offline in survival mode as well. It cost's only 9€ for the full version, which gives you access to the latest version of InDev, which has many features that regular survival mode doesn't. I seriously recommend checking it out: http://minecraft.net

• Registered Users Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭Amalgam

I love the blocky feel of it. Reminds me of the first Dungeon Keeper game from Bullfrog.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,496 ✭✭✭quarryman

bump!

just started playing this and loving it. absolute pure sandbox.

• Registered Users Posts: 998 ✭✭✭zekiel

I haven't downloaded the game, but just checked out the stats..! wow.. copied from site: In the last 24 hours, 12876 people registered, and 4613 people bought the game.

The guy is a single developer just making this game, he must be in high heaven at the moment with sales like that. fair play to him!

Just finished a 4 hour stint there. Amazing game.

If your stats are right, he's made €46000 in the last 24 hours so!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,409 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

ya its a great little game id definitely recommend it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

What exactly do you do in it?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭oeb

MUSSOLINI wrote: »
    What exactly do you do in it?

You dig, and you build.

Think of it as a giant lego set or something. With monsters.

Notch had his account frozen recently because paypal were suspicious of the amount of money flowing in. Apparently there was more than 600,000 euro in there. Definitely not bad for a guy hacking away by himself.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭Da Bounca

Can't wait to get this game.

This video made me laugh:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

My son asked could he get the game and after reviewing it we got it for him.
    He plays a lot of gary's mod but now prefers this.
    I've had a go myself and it's a enjoyable game, the graphics are on par with Hexen and the first of the Daggerfall games.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,480 ✭✭✭✭Varik

I can't get the fire to stay, it flashes for a moment then stops (online).

From the site:

Minecraft got way too popular for this humble server. I've had to disable everything fancy to even get it to run. It went down on Saturday, September 18.
    It will probably go back to normal on Tuesday, September 21. I hope.

If your launcher is giving you download errors, please update the launcher by downloading the latest version from this page.

The following things do not work at the moment:
    Registering an account
    Purchasing the game
    User verification for online servers
    Sounds and music for new players
    The following does work:
    Actually playing the game
    Player skins
    Until this all gets sorted out, I'm officially calling a "free-to-play weekend", or however long this will take to fix. You will need to have a paid account to play it later on when this gets fixed though.
    If you want to keep track of the latest developments, please follow my blog. I also post stuff on my twitter, but there's a lot of nonsense there as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,480 ✭✭✭✭Varik

1015419613_NYok6-L.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Fecking Gabe, my son has been happily playing minecraft for the last 3 weeks and now this.
    The cheek, how dare they popularise a homebrew game to the extent this happens :P

Just got it there, and I am lost :( I am running around stabbing cubes of muck.

Anyone play this on a server online?

Just got it there, and I am lost :( I am running around stabbing cubes of muck.

Anyone play this on a server online?

I generally just play survival single player, but if someone had the bandwidth a boards server might be a nice idea *hint* *hint*

oeb wrote: »
    I generally just play survival single player, but if someone had the bandwidth a boards server might be a nice idea *hint* *hint*
    I am still confused about what to actually do, I have made a hut thing... what now? lol And how do I tell what material certain blocks are?

Its pure sandbox so that part is up to you :)

Check the minecraft wiki for info on ore types and crafting. http://minecraftwiki.net/wiki/Crafting

• Registered Users Posts: 3,410 ✭✭✭oceanclub

Finally got enough iron together to get my first rail line and minecart together...whhhhheeeeeee:

P.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,410 ✭✭✭oceanclub

I found some of the tutorial videos on Youtube a great help, such as X's adventures and also this guy's:

P.

• Registered Users Posts: 458 ✭✭hacx

Speaking of videos, here's one of mine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,346 ✭✭✭Rev Hellfire

I so lurve this game.
    I agree someone should setup a server :p

I so lurve this game.
    I agree someone should setup a server :p

+1. A server would be great.

Anyone find that a game that looks so basic plays so poor?

Anyone running this on linux btw? It runs fine on my laptop (Windows 7) but is laggy as hell on my linux box. I have tried the solution offered on the site, but I get errors about classes not being found etc.

Runs fine for me under both, I'm using the sun/oracle jvm.

Jaysus, he's making $250,000 a day.

edit: correction, $350,000 a day!

for those who don't have sound ie. new users this may be of assistance.

http://www.minecraftforum.net/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=38263

• Registered Users Posts: 816 ✭✭✭Cryos

quarryman wrote: »
    +1. A server would be great.

Anyone find that a game that looks so basic plays so poor?

Sure will look at setting one up..

Enjoy :)

Monsters are off, but can be turned on if people want

Must say I like the monsters...

turned on ;)