Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tefl in South Korea

• Registered Users Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭squeakyduck

Does everyone apply for EPIK through a recruiter? Or can you just do it by yourself?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

Hey guys,

Heading to Seoul in about 2 weeks.

Who did ye fly with? Etihad seem to be the cheapest but their luggage allowance is only 23kg.

What weight did ye carry over for a year? And how much was your ticket?

Also, anyone stay in a dorm for orientation with Epik? What sort of accommodation is it? Decent?

Thanks.

Ps To those of you who are working in public schools,

1. When in summer and winter is vacation?
    2. When in summer and winter does desk-warming take place and for how long?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭cloneslad

kraggy wrote: »
    Hey guys,

Heading to Seoul in about 2 weeks.

Who did ye fly with? Etihad seem to be the cheapest but their luggage allowance is only 23kg.

What weight did ye carry over for a year?

Also, anyone stay in a dorm for orientation with Epik? What sort of accommodation is it? Decent?

Thanks.

I flew with Emirates, with stopovers in London and Dubai. They give you 30kg (the 1st leg of the flight is with Aer lingus and they honour the 30kg allowance, providing you don't book the flights seperately through each website or something like that ..I booked on expedia so it was the one ticket).

You can also take a carry on suitcase and a laptop bag, so you could easily bring over 40-45kg, depending what you squeeze into your hand luggage.

Don't bring over too much stuff, you won't need dvds or anything like that. I'd limit the amount of books I'd bring too as you'll be able to get more than enough of them in seoul.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 shanem152

I am applying for my position through i to i,

I have heard that Korea is great as it has surfing in the summer and skiing in the winter, this is what i want.

I love skiing and have tried surfin a few times and want to improve.

Can anyone tell me how true this is , and how easy it is to go surfing/skiing in South Korea?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 trickydave

Bit of a strange one.

But Im going to SK in July and I am just wondering about the community, socially, I have heard that its quite good but my question is this;

I come from a small town in Limerick, and two other people have gone to South Korea from this town, theyre nice guys and all, but I dont want to go to SK just to hang out with these guys,

theyre in Busan, probably where Ill end up, so im wondering how small is the community, the population is like 3 million ,but I imagine the TEFL network is a lot smaller and would we be constantly bumping in to each other?

Should I change my chosen city to enrich my 'new' experience and truly have something or just go to Busan, as I hear its great , has the beach n all, and do i have anything to consider at all?

[some very poor english was used in this post. Maybe I should reconsider the whole idea :P]

shanem152 wrote: »
    I am applying for my position through i to i,

I have heard that Korea is great as it has surfing in the summer and skiing in the winter, this is what i want.

I love skiing and have tried surfin a few times and want to improve.

Can anyone tell me how true this is , and how easy it is to go surfing/skiing in South Korea?

you can do both, but neither of them are great.

I don't know anyone who goes surfing, my island didn't get good enoughwaves for it as Japan shelters it for the most part. Windsurfing is popular enough, as is sailing. If you are close to the beach, then you'll find enough water based activities to keep you going.

As for skiing, it's more of a case of dodging people while going down the mountain than it is actually skiing. The ski resorts get majorly packed during ski season (as do the beaches in beach season).

trickydave wrote: »
    Bit of a strange one.

But Im going to SK in July and I am just wondering about the community, socially, I have heard that its quite good but my question is this;

I come from a small town in Limerick, and two other people have gone to South Korea from this town, theyre nice guys and all, but I dont want to go to SK just to hang out with these guys,

theyre in Busan, probably where Ill end up, so im wondering how small is the community, the population is like 3 million ,but I imagine the TEFL network is a lot smaller and would we be constantly bumping in to each other?

Should I change my chosen city to enrich my 'new' experience and truly have something or just go to Busan, as I hear its great , has the beach n all, and do i have anything to consider at all?

[some very poor english was used in this post. Maybe I should reconsider the whole idea :P]

It's big enough to avoid them. There are thousands of ESL teachers in Busan, though there are only a few areas in which they tend to go out in, there are lots of pubs in each area to choose from. I'm sure if you go to the wolfhound in Haeundae (irish bar) you will run into them a bit though.

Don't change your city because ou don't want to socialise with people from back home. I come from a town of about 2,000 people in
    Monaghan, and I am able to avoid people I don't want to socialise with when I'm home. An acknowledging hello, how are you, you enjoying it? 5 minute chat here and there will be enough to keep them sweet, keep you in the loop should anything fun happen that they may be able to get you in on while also allowing you to make new friends.

cloneslad wrote: »
    you can do both, but neither of them are great.

I don't know anyone who goes surfing, my island didn't get good enoughwaves for it as Japan shelters it for the most part. Windsurfing is popular enough, as is sailing. If you are close to the beach, then you'll find enough water based activities to keep you going.

As for skiing, it's more of a case of dodging people while going down the mountain than it is actually skiing. The ski resorts get majorly packed during ski season (as do the beaches in beach season).

Thats disappointing to hear, but a great insight!

Skiing is probably as expensive an endeavor as it is over here so , i mgiht only get to try that once!

Cheers buddy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 trickydave

It's big enough to avoid them. There are thousands of ESL teachers in Busan, though there are only a few areas in which they tend to go out in, there are lots of pubs in each area to choose from. I'm sure if you go to the wolfhound in Haeundae (irish bar) you will run into them a bit though.

Don't change your city because ou don't want to socialise with people from back home. I come from a town of about 2,000 people in
    Monaghan, and I am able to avoid people I don't want to socialise with when I'm home. An acknowledging hello, how are you, you enjoying it? 5 minute chat here and there will be enough to keep them sweet, keep you in the loop should anything fun happen that they may be able to get you in on while also allowing you to make new friends.

That is the perfect answer I was looking for.

Yeah I guess I was just worried Id get stuck in a rut with people i dont even choose to hang out with at home, but when you put it like that it does seem easy.

Thanks cloneslad!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 ibbie

So long story short-

I got offered a really great teaching position in a University got all docs sorted and sent to them, got visa number, went to the embassy on Tues then when I got home emailed the professor to say that my visa will be back on Mon but of course they wanted me there this weekend so basically the job is gone and I cancelled the visa.

Now I read on Daves that I will have to wait 90 days before I can apply for a new E2. I rang the embassy to confirm this but they were so rude and basically said that the visa department in the Korean embassy can't answer that question!!!??

Anyone have any other ideas or can confirm that I will have to wait the 90 days. I was going to apply for epik now, do you think that if I do have to wait 90 days that it will affect my application?

Thats disappointing to hear, but a great insight!

Skiing is probably as expensive an endeavor as it is over here so , i mgiht only get to try that once!

Cheers buddy

It can be expensive but you can also get good day trip deals.

for example, I was able to get a bus to and from my bus station (which I live across the road from...it also picked up people at different locations around the island) brought to the ski resort in Muju (just over 2 hours away), got my snowboard and boots, a day's ski pass and a return bus home for 80,000won (about €50) It would have been slightly cheaper to do the trip but ski instead of snowboard.

However, if you just wanted to go by yourself for the weekend it can get expensive. Ski passes are 65,000 for the day time another 60,000 or so for night time skiing, then you'd have to pay 10-20,000 for boots and skis/board, pay for accomodation, food and transport.

ibbie wrote: »
    So long story short-

I got offered a really great teaching position in a University got all docs sorted and sent to them, got visa number, went to the embassy on Tues then when I got home emailed the professor to say that my visa will be back on Mon but of course they wanted me there this weekend so basically the job is gone and I cancelled the visa.

Now I read on Daves that I will have to wait 90 days before I can apply for a new E2. I rang the embassy to confirm this but they were so rude and basically said that the visa department in the Korean embassy can't answer that question!!!??

Anyone have any other ideas or can confirm that I will have to wait the 90 days. I was going to apply for epik now, do you think that if I do have to wait 90 days that it will affect my application?

first of all, it wasn't a really great position if they weren't willing to wait an extra 2-3 days for you. If that's how they start out then you don't want to work there full time.

As for your predicament, did you try cancelling the visa when you called the embassy? You could have asked them not to make it for you.

If you have it, then you have it and you must wait until its worth expires. I think you have 90 days to activate the visa and if you don't then it's void. So you'll have to ride out the 90 days.

You could, (in theory) travel to korea, activate the visa, then cancel it by leaving, but as far as I know you must submit your alien registration card to cancel it, and you won't have one as you don't have a job.

If you want to apply for the bulk EPIK hiring period then you'll be fine as they don't hire until August and your 90days will be up by then.

You will also have to get all your documents together again and get them all stamped by the relevant offices, unless your potential university employers can in someway get them all back to you, but that's doubtful as I'd imagine immigration has them now.

As for your predicament, did you try cancelling the visa when you called the embassy? You could have asked them not to make it for you.

If you have it, then you have it and you must wait until its worth expires. I think you have 90 days to activate the visa and if you don't then it's void. So you'll have to ride out the 90 days.

I rang on Wed to cancel it and I just pick up my passport today, but I can't get a straight answer from any Korean embassy official in person or on the phone. I think I might ring the DFA and see if they can find out for sure as I obviously don't want to go through the whole process and cost again for nothing.

I was told on Daves that if you have a visa confirmation number you will have to wait 90 days (till it expires) before you can apply for a new one (same is true if you already applied for and received a visa).

ibbie wrote: »
    I rang on Wed to cancel it and I just pick up my passport today, but I can't get a straight answer from any Korean embassy official in person or on the phone. I think I might ring the DFA and see if they can find out for sure as I obviously don't want to go through the whole process and cost again for nothing.

You will have to incur the cost of gathering all your documents and getting them stamped again, you'll also have to incur the cost of sending them to Korea. It's an expensive process when the job fails to materialise. It's not often something like this happens. Usually you get let down before it's come this far and you don't have to pay for it financially.

Keep the chin up and get back out applying. Perhaps use a recruiter that way, they'll be sure you have a job before going through the process because they'll want their commission. (though I don't think even they could have seen this happening with the uni).

One of the other posters here, Kraggy, just got an EPIK position. they are still hiring, so there is every opportunity that you could be out in Korea in a few weeks. Just get your stuff together as soon as possible so you can be ready to send it over when a job comes along.

Just went on to daves to check who replied to you and it was Ttompatz. He used to work in the foreign help centre so he knows what he's talking about. I guess you'll have to wait the 90 days out.

But I'd still question it to the relevant offices to confirm it. There's no harm in trying.

however if it was Ttompatz who told you that then he's most likely right and I'm wrong[/B]

Yeah it was him, guess I 'll have to wait:(
    Still tho how could the embassy not be able to answer that - so unhelpful:confused:

Thanks for the advice tho

for example, I was able to get a bus to and from my bus station (which I live across the road from...it also picked up people at different locations around the island) brought to the ski resort in Muju (just over 2 hours away), got my snowboard and boots, a day's ski pass and a return bus home for 80,000won (about €50) It would have been slightly cheaper to do the trip but ski instead of snowboard.

However, if you just wanted to go by yourself for the weekend it can get expensive. Ski passes are 65,000 for the day time another 60,000 or so for night time skiing, then you'd have to pay 10-20,000 for boots and skis/board, pay for accomodation, food and transport.

FIFTY EURO for a full day of skiing? that is sweet , and that includes all the gear and a bus to and from, that is great value!

• Registered Users Posts: 54 ✭✭Twixaroo

Hi there.. Lookin for some advice. I'm in the final year of my degree and very much interested in travelling to South Korea to do the TEFL as have heard good things about it and want to travel anyway. Should I do one of the TEFL courses before I travel? How does the actual teaching work? As in I don't speak any Korean, how do I explain myself to the students? How long does it take for the visa to come through? I should have my exam results around the start of July, would I need to apply straight away if I wished to head off in September say? What would one be looking at as regards pay roughly? Is there any particular areas to avoid when looking at jobs? What's the best way to go about finding a job, if you know of someone out there would you be better off trying to go through them or through a recruiter?

Lots of questions I know, sorry! If anyone could help me out I would be very grateful. Thanks!

Twixaroo wrote: »
    Hi there.. Lookin for some advice.
    I'm guessing you haven't done any research when you've asked all those questions. Most have been answered in this thread (though it's quite long now). I'll help you anyway
    I'm in the final year of my degree and very much interested in travelling to South Korea to do the TEFL as have heard good things about it and want to travel anyway. Should I do one of the TEFL courses before I travel?

It depends if you feel you need to do one or not. If you're going to a public school then it will improve your pay level, if you are going to a private school it MAY help your chances of finding a job.

It can help out with grammar you may have forgotten or never knew existed (this will happen quite regularly when you start teaching), it will also give you an idea of how to teach English as a second / foreign language.

As an aside, you won't get to do a lot of travel to other countries during your contract, so if you think you are coming to Korea to teach a few hours during the week but fly away to Thailand / Vietnam / Indonesia etc at the weekend or on the vast amount of holidays you'll receive as a teacher then you might want to think again. You work in Korea and get very few holidays, if you're in a private school (hagwon) you will be lucky to get 2 weeks off a year and even luckier if they are spaced out at a week at a time. Public schools generally get about 21 days vacation a year, these can be taken during the school's vacation time (jan-feb and July -Aug) with prior consent of the principal
    How does the actual teaching work? s in I don't speak any Korean, how do I explain myself to the students?

I get asked this a lot, and all I can say is "in English". You build up their vocabulary so that they are able to communicate with you. It's not as hard as you think it will be. However, if you are honestly lost by how to do it then I'd suggest doing a good TEFL or CELTA course to help you through it.

Though speaking in Korean to the kids is not recommended by most schools, knowing the Korean name of a piece of vocabulary you are teaching or a grammar point (verb, idiom, adjective etc) can make explaining it much quicker. Then you can get them to give you examples of the grammar point of a synonmym of the word you've just taught them to ensure they understand.
    How long does it take for the visa to come through?

Once you have been accepted for a job and have all your documents gathered, it takes about 2 days to send them to Korea, 1 week to get your visa number. Arrange an interview with the embassy in Ireland (they only interview 2 days a week) then it takes 5 working days to get the visa back from them.

If you don't know what documents you need, then that's a whole other question, but again, I'll answer it.

Degree scroll (Only a photcopy is needed and accepted since September 2010) this must be notarised by a commissioner of oathes and apostilled by the dept of foreign affairs.

Garda background check - This takes about 1-2 weeks to get. You only want the free check to say you haven't committed any crimes, you do not want the one that requires you to pay 6-7 euro for to apply to Thurles that states you can work with kids.

Health form (signed by you) - this can be downloaded from the internet

Passport photos - this doesn't need explaining

A copy of the information page of your passport

Transcripts of your results for every year in University - Since Sept 2010 these are no longer required by immigration to obtain a visa, however, some schools are still requesting them. When they were complusory to get a visa, they had to be placed in a sealed envelope with the stamp of your college / university placed over the seal.

When you get to korea you'll have to do a medical check and drugs test. If you have HIV / Hepatitis B (i think it's B) then you will not be allowed to teach. If you fail the drugs test, you will not be allowed to teach. You will also be asked to leave the country on your own expense.
    I should have my exam results around the start of July, would I need to apply straight away if I wished to head off in September say?

you need your degree scroll. If you don't have that then I think you can get a letter from the university saying you have passed the course etc etc, but these can be a pain to obtain. If you are in an I.T. and are doing an add on honours degree (to an original bachelors degree) then you can use the ordinary bachelors degree to get a job.

Have all your documents ready to go before you start applying for joba, or at least be in the process of getting them, Koreans hire when they want someone yesterday, so they don't want to wait for you to get your documents which will mean 1 month for them to get a teacher.
    What would one be looking at as regards pay roughly?

Depends on your qualifications, public / private school, the location of the school, the hours you teach, how generous the school feels, what you can haggle.

In general, for someone like you who will only be holding a degree, no TEFL, CELTA, no masters, no experience then a public school job will offer you in the region of 1.8 million per month as you will be on the lowest rung of the ladder (if you can get on the ladder at all).

Private schools (hagwons) pay more than public schools but you have the potential risk of having a crap boss, being overworked, not gettin paid on time or at all and then getting fired towards the end of your contract to avoid paying your airfare home and severance (this doesn't happen often, but it does occur). Hagwons will pay anywhere between 2.0-2.4 million for someone with your qualifications, though to be honest if you get offered anything more than 2.2 you'll be doing well.

Is there any particular areas to avoid when looking at jobs?

That all depends on you, if you like cities, avoid the country and vice-versa. You generally won't be applying to an area, rather to a recruiter so they will try place you somewhere and it's up for you to decide (through research) whether or not you want to go there.
    What's the best way to go about finding a job, if you know of someone out there would you be better off trying to go through them or through a recruiter?

Does the person you know have any jobs they can get you? If they do, and the job is good, then use them. If the person you know has no contacts, no potential jobs etc then they are of no use to you. Most people use recruiters as it's recruiters who advertise most jobs online, but some apply directly to ads that have been placed by schools.

Look on Daves esl's jobs pages. / Craigslist and anywhere else jobs are advertised to find one.

I think you could honestly do with looking more into this and deciding if it's really what you want. It's good to ask questions and get them answered, and most of us in here are only to happy to do it, but most of your questions could have been answered with an hour or two of reading through this thread / daves esl or to make it easier, through a google search to bring up the page of this thread or a thread on daves esl that would answer your questions.

I think most of the basic questions you need answering have now been answered, so if you have anymore questions, feel free to ask.

FIFTY EURO for a full day of skiing? that is sweet , and that includes all the gear and a bus to and from, that is great value!

It doesn't include clothing, though you can rent that there and you can pick up some ski pants in any of the small markets for about 10,000 won.

Thanks cloneslad really appreciate you taking the time to answer these questions. I have done a fair bit of research, have met with the college career guidance. I know it won't be possible to do any real travel when teaching there, I meant that it is a place I would like to visit at some point so why not now. :) I know of a few friends of friends kind of if you get me over there so hoping they might be able to help me out with finding some work. I think from what you said I might be as well off doing some kind of course to brush up on the grammar and the likes. Is there any course in particular you think would be well suited for me? I don't really plan on doing this as a full time career just maybe for 4 or 5 years, in different locations hopefully, if that makes any difference to the type of course I should be considering?

Thanks again for all your help, you're a star! ;)

you can't go too far wrong with a CELTA. It's a proper recognised course than runs over the course of a month or so. It's quite demanding in both time and effort. It is also mosre expensive than just doing a TEFL course, but if you plan on teaching ESL for 4-5 years it will more than pay for itself, in fact it will pay for itself in less than 1 year in a Korean public school with the pay rise you'd get from it.

If you are only considering doing an online TEFL course, I'd advise you not to bother wasting your money. Instead, just head to your local library and borrow some grammar books or ESL books. If you have no good library near you, you could just find some resources online and teach yourself.

Using online resources also helps you when you are teaching. I find it helps me explain harder grammatical points and topics in a much easier way than if I just tried to do it without reading up on it first.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,438 ✭✭✭livinginkorea

Jayus Cloneslad you are on fire tonight! :D Slow weekend I guess?

Pi$$ing it down in Vietnam, I'm in a quiet beach area so I've nothing else to be at. I was supposed to be relaxing on a beach until Tuesday but I'm leaving tomorrow because it's supposed to be raining all week.

I'm as white as when I left, if it carries on like this, I'm gonna skip the Taj Mahal and find a hotel in India with a pool on the roof. :p

• Registered Users Posts: 5,438 ✭✭✭livinginkorea

Grand for some! :D

you can't go too far wrong with a CELTA. It's a proper recognised course than runs over the course of a month or so. It's quite demanding in both time and effort. It is also mosre expensive than just doing a TEFL course, but if you plan on teaching ESL for 4-5 years it will more than pay for itself, in fact it will pay for itself in less than 1 year in a Korean public school with the pay rise you'd get from it.

If you are only considering doing an online TEFL course, I'd advise you not to bother wasting your money. Instead, just head to your local library and borrow some grammar books or ESL books. If you have no good library near you, you could just find some resources online and teach yourself.

Using online resources also helps you when you are teaching. I find it helps me explain harder grammatical points and topics in a much easier way than if I just tried to do it without reading up on it first.

Thanks a mill Cloneslad, much appreciated! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 66 ✭✭catweasel10

Hey,

brilliant thread...I'm hoping to head out to SK in the next few months, and have been put off a bit by the postings on Dave's, so it's really good to hear some positive reports! Just hoping that someone could clarify a few things for me, please? I'm from the South, but I live in NI, and my degree's from here. I assume I'll have to get it notarised here, but can i get it apostillated in Dublin? Also, does anyone know what kind of check I need to get from the PSNI, and where this can be apostillated? Will I need a Garda check too? This is probably a stupid question, but can I have my interview in Dublin, or will I have to go to London for it?

Cheers!

Hey,

brilliant thread...I'm hoping to head out to SK in the next few months, and have been put off a bit by the postings on Dave's, so it's really good to hear some positive reports! Just hoping that someone could clarify a few things for me, please? I'm from the South, but I live in NI, and my degree's from here. I assume I'll have to get it notarised here, but can i get it apostillated in Dublin? Also, does anyone know what kind of check I need to get from the PSNI, and where this can be apostillated? Will I need a Garda check too? This is probably a stupid question, but can I have my interview in Dublin, or will I have to go to London for it?

Cheers!

you will be able to get everything done in Dublin, you have an Irish passport and are an Irish citizen. My friend only had a great britian and N. Ireland passport but he was able to get all his documents and things like that done in Dublin, as it's still the Embassy of the island.

As for the PSNI check, it might be easier to just get the Gardaí check. If you've only lived in N. Ireland for a few years at college, just give the gardaí your home address, if it's still in their jurisdicyion, they'll sort it for you. I did my masters in Belfast but I didn't bother getting a PSNI check.

• Registered Users Posts: 54 ✭✭Undercover Brother

Hey,

Cheers!

Whatever you do, don't get a PSNI check. As Cloneslad has said you will probably be able to get just Garda check anyway as you're from the south but even if you had always lived in the north the PSNI check is useless. I'm from the north, and I got the PSNI check only to then be told that is irrelevant, the only criminal check accepted for Britain and N.I is from a company called Disclosure Scotland as it is a nationwide check.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 560 ✭✭✭virmilitaris

Lads I'm not been smart but it's available for much much cheaper if you plan it right.

First thing I'll say is avoid 'English' travel agents / tour operators / ski trip etc planners like the plague. They are robbing you blind make no mistake about it.

Second thing I'll say is get a Korean to do it / help you do it (unless you speak the lingo of course). The basic price for 5-6 hours snowboarding + renting the gear should not be more than 60 - 70,00 and that's without any of the discounts readily available.

Third thing I'll say is get on to some of the Korean e-commerce sites such as GMarket. They always have coupons available for everything which will take anything from 20 to 40% off the basic price. I've never paid more than 40,000 to go snowboarding and thats for everything.

And lastly if you have a Korean mate or you can get it yourself, get a point card. Just by using a particular kind of credit card you can get up to 40% off.