Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Paul Mescal reveals ...

• 27-07-2020 4:22pm
    Registered Users Posts: 8,264 ✭✭✭

...something new every few days.

https://www.rte.ie/entertainment/2020/0727/1155675-paul-mescals-reveals-nerves-after-normal-people/

I'm sick of seeing his face to be quite frank. I didn't even watch NP but at this rate I feel like I'm living a portion of my life as his.

Danial Day Lewis never got this much media attention and I'm sorry but from the clips I've seen I don't see any Oscar nominations coming any times soon.

He's no Brad Pitt either, I mean he might get a a degree of attention in Coppers but in the grand scheme of things - slightly above average.

Fair play to him for his 'making it' an all, but jezz, we'll be reading how often he goes to the bathroom per day if this level of media attention doesn't abate.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,904 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

AllForIt wrote: »
    ...something new every few days.

https://www.rte.ie/entertainment/2020/0727/1155675-paul-mescals-reveals-nerves-after-normal-people/

I'm sick of seeing his face to be quite frank. I didn't even watch NP but at this rate I feel like I'm living a portion of my life as his.

Danial Day Lewis never got this much media attention and I'm sorry but from the clips I've seen I don't see any Oscar nominations coming any times soon.

He's no Brad Pitt either, I mean he might get a a degree of attention in Coppers but in the grand scheme of things - slightly above average.

Fair play to him for his 'making it' an all, but jezz, we'll be reading how often he goes to the bathroom per day if this level of media attention doesn't abate.

I liked Normal People and I just wouldn't click on any of that stuff. I can't imagine being cross about it though.

I see an odd headline on RTE news but nobody has tried to make me click on it. Fair play to the actors if they can get clicks from people like yourself, OP.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,982 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

Irish begrudgery.

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users Posts: 30,140 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

It aired on TV when there wasn't much else going on.
    No Love Island, no films, music,etc really been released.
    So, it was one of these things that was going to attract a bit of attetion.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭McGinniesta

was there loads of diddies in it?

A few!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,781 ✭✭✭KungPao

A few!

That chick from Total Recall was in it? I’m a fan of her work.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,777 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

The guy has a new show to plug.

It's not his fault the RTE 'journalist' went with that headline.
    Probably cos Normal People aired on RTE and this new show is on VM1.

I think a lot of articles about Daniel Day Lewis back in the day had headlines about his Irish roots, when I'm sure he'd have rather talked about how he learned to fire a musket for his role in Last of the Mohicans.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users Posts: 258 ✭✭ClydeTallyBump

At least he is an 'actor'. I'd rather see his face everywhere than some influencer or reality tv person.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

One pair, but only about 2/3 the size of my moobs, if that does it for you.

:o I need to cut back on the snacks.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

He's no Brad Pitt either

Would you say he's a.....

....normal person?

• Registered Users Posts: 84,788 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

He'll get the rides for his sausage :p

• Registered Users Posts: 12,982 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

At least he is an 'actor'. I'd rather see his face everywhere than some influencer or reality tv person.

A fine damn good actor.
    A welcome break from interviews with Love Islands wannabes.

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users Posts: 23,776 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

I've known him since he was baby as I know his Mam since we too were babies and although I'm biased I'd say ye haven't seen 20% of his talent yet.

Lovely lad too, as down to earth as they come, good company, very self deprecating and very charming. I'm delighted to see things going so well for him tbh.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,200 ✭✭✭TheDavester

A fine damn good actor.
    A welcome break from interviews with Love Islands wannabes.

or press releases/articles on Amy Huberman caught going for a slash in Dundrum Shopping Centre or Vogue Williams opinions on Quantum Physics

• Registered Users Posts: 15,278 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Also RTÉ hyped the bejasus out of it for weeks on end

• Registered Users Posts: 5,890 ✭✭✭Bullocks

He revealed his mickey anyhow fair play to him

• Registered Users Posts: 15,278 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Yes. He got the flute out

On that, In spar a few weeks ago I overheard a formerly well known and longstanding ac-tor (rough magic /abbey and various small roles in likes or fair city and crime line reconstructions) refer to him in a snobby d4 voice as “one step above Pornhub for god sake”

I think there’s a lot of jealousy and bitchiness in the Irish acting scene

• Registered Users Posts: 8,264 ✭✭✭AllForIt

Larbre34 wrote: »
    I've known him since he was baby as I know his Mam since we too were babies and although I'm biased I'd say ye haven't seen 20% of his talent yet.

Lovely lad too, as down to earth as they come, good company, very self deprecating and very charming. I'm delighted to see things going so well for him tbh.

We all know him as well as you do now :pac:

odyssey06 wrote: »
    The guy has a new show to plug.

It's not his fault the RTE 'journalist' went with that headline.
    Probably cos Normal People aired on RTE and this new show is on VM1.

I think a lot of articles about Daniel Day Lewis back in the day had headlines about his Irish roots, when I'm sure he'd have rather talked about how he learned to fire a musket for his role in Last of the Mohicans.

I should have explicitly said it was the media I was having a go at, I just thought that was obvs. I did say fair play to him for making it to be fair.

And i'm sure he is, and has, a lovely lad.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,776 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

We all know him as well as you do now :pac:

Well indeed. That was a weird night.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

I think he’s a sound enough old fella but he would definitely need to watch for the over exposure.

OP acting is hardly a stable career, who knows how long this wave will last for him? You're hardly saying he should be turning down publicity interviews? Just let him enjoy it.

As someone else said, which is a good point, at least acting is a trade. He's not some unemployable content creator lying to people about paid advertisements.

As for Normal People, it was a good programme alright but the soundtrack was mg favourite part. Very moody and contemplative, whoever was responsible for that did a brilliant job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭.anon.

Also RTÉ hyped the bejasus out of it for weeks on end

One of the few shows that (in no small part due to RTE having nothing to do with its production) deserved the hype.

• Registered Users Posts: 84,788 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

He just scored an Emmy nomination for Normal People

• Registered Users Posts: 28,386 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

In fairness it's not the reason it got so much attention.

It was because of the quality of the show and its popularity,

Now nominated for deserved Emmys.

.anon. wrote: »
    One of the few shows that (in no small part due to RTE having nothing to do with its production) deserved the hype.

RTE only advertised it here and is not responsible for the show's worldwide success.

murpho999 wrote: »

oh god, I timed this thread really badly.

Yes but don't get how you say you're sick of him but look up articles about them and post here.

murpho999 wrote: »
    In fairness it's not the reason it got so much attention.

It was because if the quality of the show and its popularity,

It was a good enough program.

if we had a series of Love Island this year he'd be mentioned very little on Instrgram and other social media sites now in my opinion now.
    Whilst the program would still get nominated for awards.
    So, I'll stick to my opinion.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

It's PC gone mad... or it might be cultural marxism.. I don't like it anyway.