Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Biggest scandal in your workplace (Mod Note in OP)

• Registered Users Posts: 182 ✭✭Mucky_Tackies

Long time back, I was a chugger (charity mugger/one of those people trying to flog direct debits for charity). Didnt last long at all as didnt buy in to it at all. There was a guy there who every day was hitting top sales numbers/ringing the bell. Was being championed by the managers and even giving talks to the whole group about what worked for him best. He was actually a grand lad, down to earth and good sense of humour from what I call. He was also an ex guard and said he left as he just couldnt deal with the corruption and needed a career change.

Anyway, I left not long into it and bumped into a guy who was there when I was but had also left. Turns out the ex-copper had basically been making up names and credit card details and lobbing them in. By the time, these were submitted to Concern and whatever their processes were, the commission had been paid out. Straight out fraud. Guards were brought in to the office. Wasnt just one or two snuck in each day either, was serious numbers supposedly. Not sure how he thought it was sustainable and not likely to come back on him. Turns out he was also booted from the guards for robbing.

Can find nothing about it online. Would imagine the charity and the 3rd party sales group may have preferred to keep it off radar.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭Stevieluvsye

CrankyHaus wrote: »
    One clown managed to get rid of paid optional overtime for the whole company. He was always signing himself in as working all Saturday, a true Stakhanovite in hours without the results to match. After years of this and some suspicions Management checked CCTV which showed him walking in to his desk to turn on his PC and then walking out to take golf clubs out of the boot of his car and hailing a taxi to the links. Coming back hours later he'd just log off and stroll out. He'd been doing this every saturday for years. Company kept it secret, stopped him from getting any further promotions and just removed paid optional overtime for everyone.

One of the big betting chains had a full company christmas party where the founder would be at a random table to show his man-of-the-people credentials. This seriously rough one allocated the seat next to him showed up while off her biscuit on yokes and drink and just acted like a disgrace all night. He took it surprisingly well and her "career" continued undamaged.

Has to be Jonny Boyle

• Registered Users Posts: 17,414 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

cjmc wrote: »
    Working in a pub and the rumour was a member of staff was riding the manageress now and again.
    I had to defend her honour as I was usually the last one there. And I didn't see anything :)

That’s because your face was buried in her tits.

evil_seed wrote: »
    I worked in one of the big 4, where there was headline news of a top 10 list of the hot chicks in the office being circulated via email. Names of top brass on the email chain. Was still talked about years later. Nothing of note in my new office

**** that happened in my office.
    Top 4 as in US international company? :)

• Registered Users Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

Blazer wrote: »
    **** that happened in my office.
    Top 4 as in US international company? :)

Big 4 accounting firm I'd guess.

Yep that’s right. I was just in the middle of editing my post.
    I remember that , company in Dublin wasn’t it?
    Back in the early 2000’s I seem to remember. It even got my company down in the south :)
    In fairness there was some crackin dolls in it.

Sleepy wrote: »
    I've seen that one a few times!

almost always the mouthy one with a chip on their shoulder tbh

• Registered Users Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭King of Kings

Worked for an insurance company perhaps 15years ago...fella there had a gambling problem but was able to fleece some pension funds of money - over 100k.
    He was eventually caught cos he had a plan to win back what he owed and replace the missing money and took a further75k .
    Company were afraid of their reputation and repaid the pensions without saying a word.
    He was allowed resign and was given a reference.

Ended up moving to one of the so called pillar banks .

• Registered Users Posts: 7,201 ✭✭✭facehugger99

Someone took a dump in the work shower.

Had to be closed for 2-days and a deep disinfection carried out.

This is a white-collar workplace BTW where nearly everyone has a 3rd Level Qualification.

The phantom sh;tter was never identified and may still work here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Squall Leonhart

A man I worked with had a day booked off work. The day he was off we saw on RTE a man with the same name from same place was jailed for distribution of child pornography. It was him alright. He had thought he was going to get a slap on the wrist and he'd just come back to work the next day with nobody any the wiser.

Horrible.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,810 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

oh so many.

someone defrauded the company out of tens of thousands in OT he didnt work. He was not sacked. Why? because that would have highlighted the incompetence and total lack of oversight by his bosses.

public sector ?

• Registered Users Posts: 143 ✭✭BillyBird

Blazer wrote: »
    Yep that’s right. I was just in the middle of editing my post.
    I remember that , company in Dublin wasn’t it?
    Back in the early 2000’s I seem to remember. It even got my company down in the south :)
    In fairness there was some crackin dolls in it.

2010 no?
    Hardly a big secret, it made world news.

• Registered Users Posts: 410 ✭✭AlphabetCards

Stovepipe wrote: »
    In the former State airline, quite a few of the loaders and caterers have been busted for stealing high value goods from the aircraft trolleys, either at the catering building or from the trollies. More than a few have been busted for stealing and keeping found objects, such as passenger phones and laptops. Others were busted for stealing from baggage in the hold. Apart from that, the well known person smuggling affair.

I was let go by the same airline for reporting similar, whilst working as an aircraft cleaner. Lads used to go nuts every time I handed money/goods into lost and found.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,060 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

Woman(married) ran away with supervisor(single) about 8-10 years her junior. Her husband arrived to the workplace in a bit of a state and ran straight into a glass door, carted off in an ambulance. Never heard how the run away couple fared out afterwards.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,419 ✭✭✭antix80

Don't have any but during my moms teaching days, almost all the foreign white teachers teaching Maths and English in Tanzania had fake degrees, the college just assumed cause they spoke English and where white they were qualified. Many students failed until they were asked to leave.

I know a chap who is a qualified primary school teacher. He wanted a job in "one of those countries" (Asia/Africa/Middle East) and bought a Masters in English online from a diploma mill. So it still goes on.

Biggest scandal I saw in a job was a large company I worked in that had to pay commissions to small businesses internationally. They simply stopped issuing commissions cheques saying they moved to EFT and they stopped posting statements. Most of these agents had no way to contact the company and even if they did, they rarely got a reply.

I don't even think all this incompetence was planned. It probably saved a hundred thousand max in commission but at the expense of long-term revenue.

• Registered Users Posts: 491 ✭✭B_ecke_r

was before my time in the company but a lad was arreseted for child images on his work computer

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 5,760 Mod ✭✭✭✭irish_goat

Someone took a dump in the work shower.

Had to be closed for 2-days and a deep disinfection carried out.

This is a white-collar workplace BTW where nearly everyone has a 3rd Level Qualification.

The phantom sh;tter was never identified and may still work here.

We had one in our office. Someone was ****ting on the floor and on the walls. Cleaners complained twice and management called a meeting basically telling whoever it was "to get help". Everyone suspected the office weirdo who had dodgy personal hygiene, loved to scratch herself in front of people and would pick her hair and eat it. She failed to submit security documents during her probabtion so was turfed out and the toilets have been unsoiled since.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭El Tarangu

Right after I finished school, I worked briefly in telesales. There was a lady that worked there who announced one day that she was going off travelling for a 3 months, and was gone the next day.

(It was a kind of fly-by-night operation with people starting and leaving all the time, so this didn't arouse much comment.)

Someone then saw in the paper the following week that she had been sentenced to 3 months in prison for credit card fraud; part of her job at this place was taking down people's financial information...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭magic_murph

Working in an office, small IT company.
    One of the girls from my teams comes back to her desk disgusted.
    Turns out, one of the other girls, had gone to the bathroom to give her lady garden a bit of a trim - not shaved, waxed or anything neat - but cut, with what we could only assume as office scissors.
    The cuttings were just left all over the cubicle floor for all too see.

At the time only 4 females worked in the office – 3 brown / brunette haired and one jet black. You can guess what colour the cuttings were.
    Very Random. Must have been some important last minute booty call she got

irish_goat wrote: »
    We had one in our office. Someone was ****ting on the floor and on the walls. Cleaners complained twice and management called a meeting basically telling whoever it was "to get help". Everyone suspected the office weirdo who had dodgy personal hygiene, loved to scratch herself in front of people and would pick her hair and eat it. She failed to submit security documents during her probabtion so was turfed out and the toilets have been unsoiled since.

It is never the obvious suspect.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭Stevieluvsye

Women are scruffy fcukers.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 5,760 Mod ✭✭✭✭irish_goat

It is never the obvious suspect.

Nah, it was defs her. Other things she did; she would come out for after work drinks but sit reading a book instead of talking to anyone. The book in question was a collection of angry letters e.g. a letter from an abuse victim to a priest and a letter from an environmentalist to a oil company CEO. Someone asked her why she wasn't drinking and she said she was waiting on one of the lads to buy her a pint. This despite her being a massive feminist and also a lesbian...She eventally gave up and bought a pint. Same night, she whipped out a pack of sliced salami and Dairylea cheese and had herself a budget charcuterie board right there in the pub.

• Registered Users Posts: 443 ✭✭DaeryssaOne

It's funny that I've worked in two places already referenced in earlier posts and was working in each place during the time of its scandal....nothing to do with me though! :eek:

Worked in a place where a HR person created a fake employee so was getting two paychecks for themself each month...on finding out the firm couldn't face the embarrassment given the service they provide themselves so the person was quietly assisted off the grounds and no more was heard about it...

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

public sector ?
    a raging semi (state)

irish_goat wrote: »
    Same night, she whipped out a pack of sliced salami and Dairylea cheese and had herself a budget charcuterie board right there in the pub.

Not gonna lie, that there is genius.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,802 ✭✭✭enricoh

A mate of mines oul boy was in the cops.
    His oul boy kept plaguing him to admit he smoked weed, be man enough to admit it etc etc.
    Worn down by him he admitted he did- to which his oul boy responds by pulling a couple of 9 bars out of the attic n asks him to shift them selling to his mates! Which he did!
    An inspirational father figure!

• Registered Users Posts: 220 ✭✭mlem123

Not mine, but a friend I worked with used to work in a Tech company in the Shtates, and the morning after a work party she walked into the toilet and here were lines of Coke on the cistern/counter and the guy had been using his own ID card to cut it and got so wasted he left it there along with his credit card.. he was fired :P

• Registered Users Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭El Tarangu

mlem123 wrote: »
    Not mine, but a friend I worked with used to work in a Tech company in the Shtates, and the morning after a work party she walked into the toilet and here were lines of Coke on the cistern/counter and the guy had been using his own ID card to cut it and got so wasted he left it there along with his credit card.. he was fired :P

A real team-player (and indeed one interested in making economies) would have snorted the evidence and handed the cards back to the colleague...

• Registered Users Posts: 4,076 ✭✭✭gman2k

Worked in retail for a while, a few good incidents
    One security guard at a staff party followed a female coworker into the jacks and stuck a camera under the door whilst she was in having a wizz. He didn't lose his job but I don't think his Mrs was happy.
    Another store a chap came in one day and slashed a coworker with a Stanley blade over love rivalries.
    Another store a security guard caught robbing from the cash office, had been at it for years, would only target the cash pods of girls on the checkouts who he knew were single mums & tight for cash so suspicion would always lie on them for these shorts.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,698 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Woman(married) ran away with supervisor(single) about 8-10 years her junior. Her husband arrived to the workplace in a bit of a state and ran straight into a glass door, carted off in an ambulance. Never heard how the run away couple fared out afterwards.

Old Gill?