Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Where are all the tall guys in Ireland

• Registered Users Posts: 681 ✭✭✭TheDenialTwist

I've had enough of being attacked at a personal level.

Guys with their hate and their video clips of short girls and saying it's just like me etc is just totally ludicrous, judgemental and not acceptable.

The OP was threatened FFS.

This is crazy behaviour and I for one will not tolerate it any further.

The mods banned those posters yesterday as they were highly abusive and threatening.

I'm taking a well earned hiatus for now.

If the OP wants to continue with her thread, I will return. If not I will respect that.

Thanks again to the really nice tall guys who contributed.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,745 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

No probs, hun xxx

• Registered Users Posts: 10,519 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

I, personally, think you need to stick to the more “metropolitan” areas, D. Specifically, Dublin and Cork. But really only Dublin, unless you don’t mind the “accent” that can sound like a turkey arguing with a seagull.

I’d steer well clear of the men of Galway, both east and west. Out west they are a dark, “shifty”, people. Always hocking at each other in their native “tongue”.

Then in the east of the county they tend to be either “wildmen” with fiery eyes and even fierier nose hair or else thin, scrawny “things” you’d easily mistake for a coat stand.

Moving further east, across the midlands, you get “squat” lads, most of them burdened with enormous, bulbous, heads. Again, best avoided.

No, stick to Dublin, D. That’s where you’ll find the good ones. Maybe check out some of the rugby clubs if you’re looking for tall, burly, “handsome” men. Yes, I am secure enough in my sexuality to “acknowledge” another man’s handsomeness.

I’d steer clear of the basketball scene. The guys may be tall but they tend to be “scrawny” and overly tall, if you know what I mean. Gangly and lanky. Not a good “look”.

Good luck with your “search” but, here’s something old Nana Spiceland, god be good to her, used to say and is worth remembering, we’re all the same size lying down.

Again, good luck.

The tide is turning…

Homelander wrote: »
    Ah come on, at least try and make it believable.

Try and make what believable?

Ask the mods who had to ban those posters yesterday.

Telling someone to kill themselves or that they'll kill them. You think that's okay? Well I don't.

Goodbye

The vitriol was just unbelievable, intolerable and downright bullying and threatening towards both the OP and I.

You're posting to AH... grow a thicker skin.. AH has never been a "safe space" (And I genuinely hope it never becomes one. Kinda defeats the purpose of the forum)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,061 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

JupiterKid wrote: »
    I’m 6’1” in height OP and....erm...rather well endowed. ;)

I’m also gay. :D
    A Spanish woman still using the imperial system, ie feet and inches? Yeah, right. :rolleyes:
    Nevermind, I'll take the bait. I'm a strapping 188 cm tall, built like a garden shed, 90% of my record collection is made up of bands with four angry men dressed in black clothes, unfortunately (for you OP) I'm a bit gay.
    Seamai wrote: »
    I'm 6'3" and from Cork, I used not feel particularly tall but in the last few years I've begun to notice that a lot of guys a generation younger than me (I'm 55) seem quite short.

BTW, Also gay and happily partnered

I knew it!! It's the Gays ruining it for everyone. Again. :D:D

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,250 ✭✭✭Seamai

Maybe it's because at 6'3" and the tallest in all my various circles but when I do come into contact with someone taller than me, I feel slightly threatened and tend to stand back from the person.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭Hoop66

I'm 6'3", living in the Dublin area. But I suspect I'm a bit old for you...well for just about anybody.

Wibbs wrote: »
    I knew it!! It's the Gays ruining it for everyone. Again. :D:D

But you haven't seen me, I might be ugly as sin ðŸ˜

• Registered Users Posts: 1,016 ✭✭✭Ultrflat

JupiterKid wrote: »
    I’m 6’1” in height OP and....erm...rather well endowed. ;)

I’m also gay. :D

My sister is 5’10” and went out with shorter guys for years. Her current partner (a Dutchman) is 6’2”

well there's coffee on my screen and on my keyboard :pac:

Ultrflat wrote: »
    well there's coffee on my screen and on my keyboard :pac:

Thank your lucky stars it wasn't a lap top😱

• Registered Users Posts: 336 ✭✭SwordofLight

Guys with their hate and their video clips of short girls and saying it's just like me etc is just totally ludicrous, judgemental and not acceptable.

The mods banned those posters yesterday as they were highly abusive and threatening.

If the OP wants to continue with her thread, I will return. If not I will respect that.

Sorry, but if you think it's ok to openly discriminate against other types of men through posts like this, then would you also think it is ok for a man to open a thread like 'where are all the women under size 10?'.

Like it or not, in our modern day society, a lot of people want equality but won't accept the inherent differences in our species - i.e. what we are attracted to and how that makes us discriminate.

How would you feel if I were to write at the end of a post 'Thanks to all the skinny women that contributed.' I think you'd be judging me and telling me I'm some sort of fattist.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,179 ✭✭✭Mango Joe

Ok Jesus. Some of us girls who are tall like me would like to feel short. Why are some of ye so sad some of us want tall guys ! Yes everyone likes the daddy kink in bed but has nothing to do with that.

Is this a given now? Is this really that commonplace? I can't really understand it - Can someone give me an explanation as to why its sexy and fun rather than creepy and incestuous?

* Not being judgemental or 'kink shaming', just curious/looking for enlightenment & firmly believe that consenting adults should relax and have fun with whatever they like once everyone is safe and happy.

Sorry, but if you think it's ok to openly discriminate against other types of men through posts like this, then would you also think it is ok for a man to open a thread like 'where are all the women under size 10?'.

Like it or not, in our modern day society, a lot of people want equality but won't accept the inherent differences in our species - i.e. what we are attracted to and how that makes us discriminate.

How would you feel if I were to write at the end of a post 'Thanks to all the skinny women that contributed.' I think you'd be judging me and telling me I'm some sort of fattist.

No, I'd be saying, you are most welcome.

Seriously? I'd suggest looking at the YouTube clip posted by One Eyed Jack. It's absolutely illogical.

Huge difference between discrimination and who one is attracted to.

I'm short and some tall guys won't date me because of that. So what? Am I to be offended because I'm short? No. I'm happy being short and it's perfectly fine that I am more attracted to tall guys.

There's plenty of tall guys whom I have been in relationships with.

Some guys like curvy girls, others like flat chested, so on and so forth. I could go on, but what's the point? That's not discrimination, that's a personal preference, it's whom someone is attracted to.

Oh and how would you feel if someone was to message you and to post openly on a thread telling you to kill yourself? You think that's okay?

I doubt the OP does.

Time to begin my hiatus.

KevRossi wrote: »
    What's the total obsession with 'tall men'.

Was using Plenty of Fish for a while and the amount of women who wanted a tall man was mental. I'm 5'9", which is bang on average for my age and year of birth, but was shot down so often by women of all heights, just because I wasn't tall enough.

I mean if you put up 'looking for a woman with big tits' on that site you'd be kicked off it pronto.

Lived in Germany for years and height was never an issue.

I've noticed that too, I'm 6.1. (The classic) If your not taller than me and older than me don't message me.

Truthfully as some one taller than most of them, I don't feel motivated to want to even message them.

{EDIT}Reading the Denial twists post does make me see some understanding in the thought process behind why we like certain types.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,310 ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

I'm disappointed to see one Kildare man and some gay men thwarting the LOL dolls quest for tall men.

I still recommend B&Q. Perhaps the tall men could keep an eye out for a short woman with great melons, and a tall woman with great melons - some to be enhanced to greater greatness?

• Registered Users Posts: 27,003 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Would you ever get down from your average sized horse.

I still recommend B&Q. Perhaps the tall men could keep an eye out for a short woman with great melons, and a tall woman with great melons - some to be enhanced to greater greatness?

Been doing this for years and I'm not particularly tall.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭Feisar

Mango Joe wrote: »
    Is this a given now? Is this really that commonplace? I can't really understand it - Can someone give me an explanation as to why its sexy and fun rather than creepy and incestuous?

* Not being judgemental or 'kink shaming', just curious/looking for enlightenment & firmly believe that consenting adults should relax and have fun with whatever they like once everyone is safe and happy.

I only came across it once (pun not intended) just before I hung up my boots and retired. She was considerably younger than me and really big into the whole Daddy thing.

First they came for the socialists...

I suppose you do have to try harder.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,519 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

How are your melons though, D?

The tide is turning…

• Registered Users Posts: 12,356 ✭✭✭✭mariaalice

I knew this man who was about 6.2 and he had been in a long term relationship with a woman who was 6ft tall, anyway he half in jest use to say he should save himself for tall woman as they found it much more difficult to meet a man.

I think he might have been on to something.

MY niece has a very funny photo from her debs she is with her two friends and their dates. At first, all I couldn't see why it didn't look right but then my niece point out that her 6ft tall friend was bending down so she would not be taller than her date in the photo and was able to do this because her long dress was covering her legs.

How are your melons though, D?

I was flat for years, E. I've noticed as the years go by, I'm beginning to grow a pair, so to speak. I wouldn't be able to tell you a cup size or anything but going by my own metric (meh, nice or massive), I would have to say, meh.

Yeah but too big has a bad effect to i like meh to nice. me self there going retain pertness :D.

Truthfully there just boobs I'm more legs and a nice back kinda guy :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,136 ✭✭✭sonofenoch

I'm 8'4" ....google me

Ultrflat wrote: »
    Yeah but too big has a bad effect to i like meh to nice. me self there going retain pertness :D.

Truthfully there just boobs I'm more legs and a nice back kinda guy :D

If we could all follow Ultrflat's example and use my measuring system from here on please. Just makes things easier.

I get the legs but the nice back? Please elaborate, U. I'm a fan of all sorts and sizes, boobs that is, but sometimes you just want to bury your head (cranium or otherwise) in a couple of massive pillows.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,001 ✭✭✭JoChervil

alexv wrote: »
    I think the official term is: Daddy syndrome.

So going for a short one would be a Mummy syndrome then...

I, personally, think you need to stick to the more “metropolitan” areas, D. Specifically, Dublin and Cork. But really only Dublin, unless you don’t mind the “accent” that can sound like a turkey arguing with a seagull.

I’d steer well clear of the men of Galway, both east and west. Out west they are a dark, “shifty”, people. Always hocking at each other in their native “tongue”.

Then in the east of the county they tend to be either “wildmen” with fiery eyes and even fierier nose hair or else thin, scrawny “things” you’d easily mistake for a coat stand.

Moving further east, across the midlands, you get “squat” lads, most of them burdened with enormous, bulbous, heads. Again, best avoided.

No, stick to Dublin, D. That’s where you’ll find the good ones. Maybe check out some of the rugby clubs if you’re looking for tall, burly, “handsome” men. Yes, I am secure enough in my sexuality to “acknowledge” another man’s handsomeness.

I’d steer clear of the basketball scene. The guys may be tall but they tend to be “scrawny” and overly tall, if you know what I mean. Gangly and lanky. Not a good “look”.

Good luck with your “search” but, here’s something old Nana Spiceland, god be good to her, used to say and is worth remembering, we’re all the same size lying down.

Again, good luck.

Wow, a great post amongst all the drivel to bring me out of my brief hiatus. Reading your post made me laugh, which you probably know by now a lot of these posters don't like to do on threads. Everything must be so serious all the time.

I was told grow a thick skin, yet all the short guys on here seems to be offended. That's just a double standard. Why don't ye toughen up?

Now this is more like it, a man helping in the search for tall guys. And you're doing so with great humour and keeping it light. A real refreshing post indeed.

Instead the rest are all throwing about the term 'discrimination' and don't seem to realise the difference between discrimination and preference to whom one is attracted to.

And I can imagine they are counting up their 'thanks' for validation. Can't believe so many short guys are offended by this thread. And all patting each other on the back :rolleyes:

I didn't start the thread but I relate as I like tall men. And because I like tall men I'm somehow discriminating! This beggars belief and logic.

Just like some guys on here like big boobs (personally I call mine melons and now I see a lot of posters utilising the term in their posts when previously they didn't). Oh, and then I got lambasted for going on about my melons.

I just can't win eh!

That brought out the conspiracy theory that just because I say I'm a short girl, I'm not fat and I've ample sized melons that I must be a short and fat man! Haha. Does anyone see how ridiculous this is???? Just because I'm happy with my height and how I look, people think I must shut up and be modest?

No, if you've got it flaunt it and I will. A guy posted that he's well endowed. I didn't see the hoards of short guys saying to him 'oh well, you must be a woman'.

There is nothing wrong with being attracted to a tall man or a short man. A bald man or a man with a full head of hair. The point in this thread is that the OP is tall and was thinking she would like someone taller as her partner.

I, in complete contrast to the OP am 5'2" and I am attracted to tall men. So, I'm looking to date a tall guy also, as that's my personal preference. Is that discrimination? No. Any logic would concur that this is just preference/personal taste. My previous partner is just over 6'1".

Everyone is different in what they want in a potential partner. Short, tall, skinny, fat, big boobs, small boobs, big cocks, small cocks and so on and so forth.

That's not discrimination.

Anyway, I think the entire point of this thread has been completely sabotaged by people who think that if someone is looking to date a tall man, then that's grounds for discrimination. It's not.

If some guy started a thread 'where are all the tall women ' why would I go on that thread when I'm 5'2", what would be the point? And anyone would be entitled to start that thread if they wished. It's just personal taste after all.

Don't make it into something it's not.

Thanks for this post, keep them coming, you're on a roll.

Wow, a great post amongst all the drivel. Reading your post made me laugh, which you probably know by now a lot of these posters don't k

"Lol"

If we could all follow Ultrflat's example and use my measuring system from here on please. Just makes things easier.

I get the legs but the nice back? Please elaborate, U. I'm a fan of all sorts and sizes, boobs that is, but sometimes you just want to bury your head (cranium or otherwise) in a couple of massive pillows.

Forget it I'm weird, :pac::o... Its not a fetish tho its just a pretty UN appreciated aspect of any person body. For example: some women like big for arms. I like women with hot backs :pac:

I love to motor boat too, but would always go for nice sized boobies.