Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Insufferable beer snobs.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,846 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Question for Guinness drinkers.

What does Guinness taste like?

Arghus wrote: »
    The people who go on about beer snobs are far more numerous and far more annoying then the actually small amount of genuine beer snobs.

I've met one lad in my life who was a complete beer snob. One. I've met about fifty blowhards going on about beer snobs.

It only takes one. The effects can be profound though.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,223 ✭✭✭Sam Quentin

Yaaaaa can't bate a dayyycent pint of GUINNESS..... With a big dassssh of BLACKCURRANT ohhhhh yeaaaah.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,734 ✭✭✭saabsaab

Yaaaaa can't bate a dayyycent pint of GUINNESS..... With a big dassssh of BLACKCURRANT ohhhhh yeaaaah.

Long ago someone tried to convert me to Guinness by lacing it with blackcurrant. They failed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

Zebra3 wrote: »

It's actually pretty light and bland when you consider that people think it is a very heavy drink. It has a slightly bitter taste (from dark malts) and a little twang, I think they let some of the wort (water and steeped malt) sour a little bit and add it at the end.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

saabsaab wrote: »
    That sounds very sharp. Why cut the ground from under some poor young wan or lad doing their best?

You are probably correct, the sharp words should be saved for the management... who are encouraging them to be selling product instead of just serving what people ask for, what they like and are keen to enjoy.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭Feisar

Beer is an acquired taste, so you might as well acquire a taste for cheap beer.

You either stole that off me or we’ve the same taste in books!

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 7,186 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

It only takes one. The effects can be profound though.

The beer snob R number. It only takes one to put dozens off their pint.

Feisar wrote: »
    You either stole that off me or we’ve the same taste in books!

"Quote" Snob :pac:

Zebra3 wrote: »

Creamy, burnt coffee and roast malt kinda taste. It's generally not advised to go into long, detailed descriptions of a pint. It is what it is.

You can acknowledge a good pint but don't overdo it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,314 ✭✭✭paw patrol

gotta say i love trying the local brew when away
    even if it's piss it's part of the fun

• Registered Users Posts: 10,520 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Sky King wrote: »
    You should head up north for your hols - lots of harp still in the pubs up there.

Now would be a good time to go, they’re all “down here” at the minute.

Was in the zoo there last week. The place was “crawling” with them. All screeching and shouting after wee Malachy, Ultan, Sammy and Alfie.

The tide is turning…

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭Ultima Thule

It's likely that particular craft was an unsuitable pair with oysters, especially pre washed with Guinness.
    You've got to get the pairing spot on. Depending on atmospheric pressure too. Perhaps it was a mild day which interfered with the je ne sais wha of the bottle

As to what does Guinness tastes like - It depends.

Any Guinness drinkers I know say it changes from place to place and even pub to pub! They claim that one pub serves a 'bad' pint and another a good one!

How can this be?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

I was down West over the weekend for a few days holiday, and visited a pub on the Friday night as it has a good reputation for seafood.

No ordering at the bar these days, so some dork with a ginger beard and a load of tattoos came down to take our order. I asked for a dozen oysters to start, and a pint of Guinness. 'We have an excellent selections of stouts and porters in the bottle, as well as our own house stout if you'd prefer that instead', he said upon hearing my order.

'No you're grand, dude', I answered back.

'I can bring down a sample if you like. It's much more flavoursome than Guinness'.

'Grand so', I said, 'but make sure the Guinness is a decent pint as I'm rasping here with the thirst'.

Down comes my pint of Guinness, and I horse it into me like it's my last. Eventually a sample of their own house stout arrives down with my oysters. It tastes like bovril, cabbage water, and what I'd imagine a fungal toe infection tastes like. Disgusting.

Why do beer snobs always want to push their overpriced muck on punters? Like there's a few craft beers I like, especially that Galway Hooker stuff, but I'll try them in my own good time. This is the second time something like this has happened to me in the past year, and I'm wondering why beer snobs just can't get over the idea that the majority of people want the beer they want?

The Guinness was lovely btw, and I polished off 8 of them within the time we were allowed stay in the pub.
    Don't forget ginger people have feelings too. #gingerlivesmatter.
    All jokes aside they're probably under pressure to push certain products and probably went a bit overboard.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,013 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

Any Guinness drinkers I know say it changes from place to place and even pub to pub! They claim that one pub serves a 'bad' pint and another a good one!

How can this be?

It's an odd one and it can sound like complete BS to non drinkers but historically there would be a big variance from place to place. That's lessening all the time, and it's hard to find a bad one now. Dublin used to be a lot more consistent than elsewhere but rural places have caught up.

If it's any warmer than the required temp, it tends to be muck. You get away with it being colder than normal, although it dampens the taste a bit. The 2 part pour is a marketing myth and complete bollocks, but so ingrained now you cant be a publican who doesn't. The tilt does matter to a degree but same with every beer

Young males are drinking it more than ever before also. Have heard it put down to a number of factors but the better consistency and an overall image change away from fat elders on stools are the main ones

• Registered Users Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper

Reminds me of the one time and the only time many years ago a barmaid suggested a dash of blackcurrant in my pint of Guinness. It was turning into a Mrs. Doyle scenario when eventually she said if I didn’t like it she’d get me a fresh pint.

One gulp and ‘twas disgusting, even a fresh pint did nothing to get rid of the aftertaste :(

:D:D
    Fair play to her

How can this be?

I absolutely hate this, this fucking bull around Guinness - entirely invented by their marketing team to get the auld lads to accept nitro stout. The old two cask porter was a fresh product that did require skill to pour, the modern stuff is pasteurised and any old fool can pour it.

Served to specification, Guinness tastes the same everywhere, it's a commercial quality controlled product. In a dirty pub that doesn't refrigerate, it will of course taste bad, but all beers will taste bad in a pub like that. Nightclubs would have been notorious for having keg rooms miles from the tap meaning that dozens of pints would be left sitting in lines all week - hence they were manky.

Hulk Hands wrote: »
    It's an odd one and it can sound like complete BS to non drinkers but historically there would be a big variance from place to place. That's lessening all the time, and it's hard to find a bad one now. Dublin used to be a lot more consistent than elsewhere but rural places have caught up.

If it's any warmer than the required temp, it tends to be muck. You get away with it being colder than normal, although it dampens the taste a bit. The 2 part pour is a marketing myth and complete bollocks, but so ingrained now you cant be a publican who doesn't. The tilt does matter to a degree but same with every beer

Young males are drinking it more than ever before also. Have heard it put down to a number of factors but the better consistency and an overall image change away from fat elders on stools are the main ones

I see what you did there! I am a beer/stout drinker and some harp but not Guinness unless I have no choice.

• Registered Users Posts: 37,712 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Have to love the colourful cans these come in and the story of how it came to be and all that waffle. Even some suggest what food to pair with the drink

I like 1 or 2 but would not stay all night on them,the % is the main thing and how tipsy i will get from paying a premium compared to the normal drinks. Drinking 10 pints of craft would not be pretty on you the next day

Craft bars just remind me of hipsters with tattoos and that trendy alternative way, no sports on the TVs, background music of the likes of the stuff you would hear at Electric Picnic and the food offerings are all trendy vegan/meat free. No talking loud etc.

In other words these bars are grand for 1/2, not a whole night you be bored out of the tits

How can this be?
    The best pint I've ever tasted is served in an unassuming little bar in a small Midlands town, and it's generally believed this is because the proprietor never cleans the taps. I don't know if this is true, although one of the people who told me this was his own son.

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Have to love the colourful cans these come in and the story of how it came to be and all that waffle. Even some suggest what food to pair with the drink

I like 1 or 2 but would not stay all night on them,the % is the main thing and how tipsy i will get from paying a premium compared to the normal drinks. Drinking 10 pints of craft would not be pretty on you the next day

Craft bars just remind me of hipsters with tattoos and that trendy alternative way, no sports on the TVs, background music of the likes of the stuff you would hear at Electric Picnic and the food offerings are all trendy vegan/meat free. No talking loud etc.

In other words these bars are grand for 1/2, not a whole night you be bored out of the tits

It's the people you are with that makes a session in the pub interesting. Modern bars with their TVs and loud music are designed to stifle conversation so you drink more.

If you get bored in a conversation bar it says more about the company you're keeping tbh.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

How can this be?

It’s true....the pour, the temperature, clean glasses, with no residue of anything..,... I know the best pubs for Guinness and some of the worst too. Best Guinness I’ve ever had... the Gravediggers Glasnevin, the temperature, consistency, head, it’s yummy.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,386 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

I'm sure the craft beers you got were nice but you were just against them. A new taste, just like Guinness can take a while to acquire.

Don't see any harm in the pub trying to push their own stuff , it's just called selling.

You sound like a bigger eejit for calling anyone "dude" imho.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭chrissb8

Guinness tastes like smooth darkness with just enough bitterness.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭ThewhiteJesus

Any craft beer drinker is a ***** imo, and I stay away from pubs that promote it, but each to their own

• Registered Users Posts: 33,572 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Love a Guinness myself.

But it tastes like water OP.

You've no taste, none zero. You like a pint of water and complain alot. About sums it up .

Me id drink my Guinness but I'd also like to try the other stuff without a big winge about it.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,939 ✭✭✭3DataModem

but make sure the Guinness is a decent pint

I also hate beer snobs

What's wrong with calling someone "dude"? The hipster type chap isn't exactly averse
    to using this American slang himself. Hardly derogatory when one is conversing to a bloke
    in the service industry, especially if he's young. If he called him "mate" or "friend" the OP
    would have suffered more "hounding" perhaps.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,146 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

Any craft beer drinker is a ***** imo, and I stay away from pubs that promote it,

And so you should. People with taste don't want to mingle with commoners, especially these days, god knows what they'd catch off you and your polyester leisurewear.