Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Do Mean people ever actually spend it ? ?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,323 ✭✭✭JustAThought

volono wrote: »
    No, it had nothing to do with it. They weren't going around like tramps asking for lawnmowers or anything else off of anyone. I couldn't care less what this man did with his money, he wouldn't pay for his household waste or spend 2/300 on a lawnmower and you think its justified. I know what I would of said to him about it!!!

that’s probably why he borrowed only from his friends!!! who didn’t mind!!!! Maybe he left them a few mil to compensate for the years of chat and craic!! Lucky them!!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

Some people just don't enjoy spending money. I don't. I'm not saving up for anything, I just don't like wasting money. In fact, it annoys me to buy something I don't need.

I was in Dublin last week to go to my workplace, when I realised I forgot to bring a charger. I was quoted something like €20 in the phone shop, no way. I'd rather have no phone for the day, which I didn't have. Similarly, I'd rather buy clothes in a second hand shop than new, where possible. I mend my own jumpers. It's not that spending is unaffordable, it's nothing to do with expecting a downturn, it's just irritating to waste money.

You didn't pick your money up off the ground, you got up early to go to work and probably did a good job to earn it. I'm not sure if any of the above is "stingy", I think it's more to do with having respect for money (without being obsessed by it).

I respect your position, and to a certain extent agree with you. But what's the endgame? That's what I never get. You'll die, with all this money because you were frugal - not wasting any.

You going to leave it all to someone who'll drink it, put it on a horse, or even just buy stupid sh!t?

• Registered Users Posts: 462 ✭✭Ish66

What do you mean?
    If you could be buried with your cash would you choose that ? Otherwise whats the point ?

• Registered Users Posts: 217 ✭✭volono

I'm not sure what type of metric you use for friends, one annoying me for decades to use my lawnmower every week certainly isn't one of them. His actions over money negatively affected him and way worse, others.

• Registered Users Posts: 715 ✭✭✭Stihl waters

The wife gives me an odd jovial dig about being mean but the truth is I don't ever need to spend money, about 8 euros a day on food and a small mortgage and enough to keep the jeep going and I would struggle to spend money after that, I could go days without spending money for the simple reason I don't need to, I don't think that makes me mean as such
    I work on a cash rich environment and that's saved away in a hiding place and the bank account is healthy enough but I can't think of anything I need outside of the necessary on a daily basis, I suppose as you get older it's hard to break the habit of a lifetime and start spending money on yourself freely

they get group medical scheme, paid private pool and healthclub purpose built for them in the city centre, cut price bills and lots of other perks. No wonder my LX is so high. I don’t begrudge the elderly the lunch & social outlet thou. The rest annoys me - especially given their pensions and jobs for life.

An no - thats not ‘mean’ - thats reckless spending of MY hard earned taxes for privileges and luxuries for other well paid and protected pensioned state employees.

It's gas just how little people know yet how ready they are to spread misinformation based on their incomplete understanding.

They get a contributory group healthcare scheme (MPF) and can join the hospital saturday fund at their own cost, get a slightly reduced rate for their electricity (think of it like any other staff discount scheme in the country) and they have a sports and social club which comes at a not inconsiderable cost to the ESB's staff members through their subscriptions and fees. It was also paid for by the staff for the most part, not by taxpayers through public funding. It's a great facility. Just like many other staff funded facilities around the country.

As for 'jobs for life', LOL. Yeah right. Not any more they're not. And the pension is contributory also and that's been hammered many times in the past 15 years just like any other contributory pension funds.

Begrudgery, plain and simple.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,323 ✭✭✭JustAThought

volono wrote: »
    I'm not sure what type of metric you use for friends, one annoying me for decades to use my lawnmower every week certainly isn't one of them. His actions over money negatively affected him and way worse, others.

Ah you never know what the arrangement was. I borrow your lawnmover & we have the chat because you don’t get out much and don’t have a car and the next week I leave it back with 20 Woodbines or a naggin of whisky attached & we natter again until the next month.

I take my neighbours recycling to the recycling centre every 4 months or so and they cook me a decent meal and drop it down with a bottle of wine. Everybody wins. No big deal. I don’t do it for the street - just the people I like and am social with. And I don’t include you for money - but might oblige you if you ask nicely and have a decent attitude. Win win. Its called sharing & being a good neighbour & lots of us were brought up this way. To help others and be nice & not stick your head in the air in the three
    meters from door to car and ignore everyone until you back inside again at 7pm in time for tea. There is more to life than that. Hopefully.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

WhomadeGod wrote: »
    Life is for living.

Its certainly more prelevant in Ireland being tight and saving money.

I never cane across it in England as much or France people live in the moment more and take the good times and bad times as they come.

In Ireland there seems to be such a fear of the bad times they forget to enjoy the good times.

I've seen just as bad in England. Loads of poverty over there down generations (often Irish migrants back in the day) and the obsession with acquiring as much money as possible due to a poor upbringing in a fiscal sense and then spending fook all of it later in life.

As mentioned earlier, most people who grew up extremely poor tend to not suddenly change their ways once they start making a decent wage.

Sky King wrote: »
    I respect your position, and to a certain extent agree with you. But what's the endgame? That's what I never get. You'll die, with all this money because you were frugal - not wasting any.

You going to leave it all to someone who'll drink it, put it on a horse, or even just buy stupid sh!t?
    That's their choice. It doesn't bother me.

There is no endgame. Spending money gives some people absolutely no pleasure. In fact, for some people, it aggravates us in the same way it would aggravate you to spend your time on a pointless exercise, like watching paint dry.

Your question is a bit like asking someone well, you have all this time on your hands, 80 years or more, why not watch paint dry? Because it's boring AF and nothing worthwhile comes from it, is the sensible answer!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭Feisar

JayZeus wrote: »
    Begged and annoyed? I laugh at how some folks don't realise how common it would have been for one neighbour to own the lawnmower, another the clippers/fork/rake, another the wheelbarrow and shovel etc etc down through the years. Where I grew up in Dublin, doing the gardening didn't happen without getting bits and pieces from neighbours. There were the 'blow ins' who had no idea of the arrangements, decades old, who probably looked down their noses on oul' Paddy next door knocking in to Joe to get the hedge clippers, or Joe going to Jack to get the wheelbarrow, or Jack asking young Alan to come in and cut the grass for him as his leg was sore. It was how it worked, in every 'working class' part of Dublin's suburbs. To the casual or ignorant observer, it looks like begging/blagging/annoying, but to the folks who were doing it they just called this being neighbours. The wilful ignorance of so many is hilarious. Clueless, so ye are.

Down the country here, my Dad and his friends are the same. “You’ve a lawn mower, I’ve a strimmer, are you heading to foot turf, I’ll give you a hand.” If a lad heard you were laying a few blocks he might appear with a crusty half bag of cement.’.
    Don’t start me on trailers, ownership seems to be a transient thing.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 511 ✭✭✭B2021M

Oh ffs you're really trying to turn this into a dole bashing thread, do you lot ever think about anything else?

No i was just trying to explain the mindset is all..thats how things were.

• Registered Users Posts: 217 ✭✭volono

I know a couple of my neighbours well but Xmas and their kids milestones aside, it's almost always a Hi and bye. We respect each others privacy. Maybe it's more prevalent in smaller communities, towns etc around Ireland. Everyone knows everyone else through the church, school gaa etc etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 828 ✭✭✭2lazytogetup

The wife gives me an odd jovial dig about being mean but the truth is I don't ever need to spend money, about 8 euros a day on food and a small mortgage and enough to keep the jeep going and I would struggle to spend money after that, I could go days without spending money for the simple reason I don't need to, I don't think that makes me mean as such
    I work on a cash rich environment and that's saved away in a hiding place and the bank account is healthy enough but I can't think of anything I need outside of the necessary on a daily basis, I suppose as you get older it's hard to break the habit of a lifetime and start spending money on yourself freely

id be the same. i feel there is a consumerism pushed upon us. and not just direct advertising. TV is full of programs about doing up the garden, the house, buying new clothes. there is definately an agenda there.

and all this buying is such waste.

• Registered Users Posts: 474 ✭✭Figel Narage

Ish66 wrote: »
    If you could be buried with your cash would you choose that ? Otherwise whats the point ?

Okay I see what you mean. I wouldn't want to be buried with money. I'll hand over any funds I have to family when I die. I live a simple life that doesn't require a lot of spending but if my income outpaces my level of expenditure forever and I do have excess funds when I die I'll do that. I enjoy things that are free and always have, just how I am, I don't smoke, drink or do drugs because I don't like those things.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,270 ✭✭✭BrianD3

If "down where the chimneys are" means Poolbeg power station, I read a few years ago that the average pay of workers there was about 150k. Also, around the same time, there was a power station in the midlands which had ceased operating and staff were still getting paid (6 figures IIRC) to do nothing while negotiations with unions went on for a considerable period of time.

I think the ESB also had very good pension scheme although that may not be the case for newer entrants.

All very well being frugal and I'm in favur of it - but wastng time dropping bits of your home rubbish into public bins while getting the taxpayer to pay for its disposal is taking it too far IMO

• Registered Users Posts: 8,837 ✭✭✭pgj2015

Feisar wrote: »
    Down the country here, my Dad and his friends are the same. “You’ve a lawn mower, I’ve a strimmer, are you heading to foot turf, I’ll give you a hand.” If a lad heard you were laying a few blocks he might appear with a crusty half bag of cement.’.
    Don’t start me on trailers, ownership seems to be a transient thing.

Great way to end up with your property being broken. I know a man who borrowed a chainsaw off a neighbour, dogged the chainsaw and left it back broke, the woman said if you ever want it again let me know. yer man says ah no I wouldnt bother with that yoke, its not the best.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭Mimon

WhomadeGod wrote: »
    Life is for living.

Its certainly more prelevant in Ireland being tight and saving money.

I never cane across it in England as much or France people live in the moment more and take the good times and bad times as they come.

In Ireland there seems to be such a fear of the bad times they forget to enjoy the good times.

Sister and her English husband living over there are very frugal. They plan their shopping and expenditure down to the tee. Have list that will feed them for the week and will never buy anything not on it. Fair enough, maybe they have a tight budget. I couldn't live with so little spontaneity though.

Where it borders into meanness maybe is that I always send my niece and nephew toys/books etc for their birthday but not once have they sent something to my children. Wouldn't expect much but even a token gesture of something small would be appreciated.

Okay I see what you mean. I wouldn't want to be buried with money. I'll hand over any funds I have to family when I die. I live a simple life that doesn't require a lot of spending but if my income outpaces my level of expenditure forever and I do have excess funds when I die I'll do that. I enjoy things that are free and always have, just how I am, I don't smoke, drink or do drugs because I don't like those things.

Did you ever try them?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭Mimon

My extended family on both sides for the most part would be the opposite of mean. All from Cavan :pac:) You would have to fight with them at weddings etc to buy them a drink as they would insist on buying everyone in sight one.

A couple of cousins had a free bar at their weddings.

Most uncles and aunts were very generous when going to visit as a kid etc.:) 20 pounds into the paw was handing a kid 100 euros now :D

• Registered Users Posts: 12,356 ✭✭✭✭mariaalice

Genuinely mean people have mental health issues or money can represent security to them something they never had a child, frugal is not mean, and it's a lot about how you were brought up.

I come from a background where for example it was buying a good quality topcoat but expecting it to last years, save for something before you buy it, invest in the farm, etc so of course, to a certain extent, I am like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 374 ✭✭Swindled

pgj2015 wrote: »
    Did you ever try them?

Why do they have to ? Some people are not into polluting their system and mental health with toxins and frivolous half witted activities, they are very happy and content without them.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 5,760 Mod ✭✭✭✭irish_goat

I used to work in a bank and the amount of elderly people with 6 figure sums languishing in their bank accounts is crazy. Worse still you would see their children paying off mortgages and living paycheque to paycheque.

Swindled wrote: »
    Why do they have to ? Some people are not into polluting their system and mental health with toxins and frivolous half witted activities, they are very happy and content without them.

well how do they know they mightn't be even happier blowing off steam in Ibiza off their head on pills? or having a few drinks in town on the pull? taking magic mushrooms and pondering what life is really all about? etc

irish_goat wrote: »
    I used to work in a bank and the amount of elderly people with 6 figure sums languishing in their bank accounts is crazy. Worse still you would see their children paying off mortgages and living paycheque to paycheque.

Was it any of your business, I thought bank accounts where supposed to be confidential, and how do you know they didn't leave money to them or give them money at a later date ?

well how do they know they mightn't be even happier blowing off steam in Ibiza off their head on pills? or having a few drinks in town on the pull? taking magic mushrooms and pondering what life is really all about? etc

Sounds tragic tbh, of all the things you could occupy your time with / do in life, but hey it's your money, and should be able to do as you please with it.

• Registered Users Posts: 474 ✭✭Figel Narage

Did you ever try them?

Drinking for a very brief period and smoking once, drugs I've never done and don't plan on doing ever due to family addiction and mental health history, but I have no problem with people that like all 3. No judgement on my side, they just aren't for me.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 5,760 Mod ✭✭✭✭irish_goat

Was it any of your business, I thought bank accounts where supposed to be confidential, and how do you know they didn't leave money to them or give them money at a later date ?

My job involved looking into suspected money laundering offences, financial abuse etc. So yes, I was supposed to be looking at their accounts. I'm sure they probably did leave the money to their children, but the children would have already spent thousands on mortgage interest by then.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,143 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Well, the chap wasn't married. Of course he couldn't spend his money: you need a wife to do that for you! :p

Sounds tragic tbh, of all the things you could occupy your time with / do in life.

Tragic, having a night out on the town, having a few drinks and meeting a good looking blonde? Thats the kind of nights I had plenty of when in my 20's, don't regret any of them.

irish_goat wrote: »
    My job involved looking into suspected money laundering offences, financial abuse etc. So yes, I was supposed to be looking at their accounts. I'm sure they probably did leave the money to their children, but the children would have already spent thousands on mortgage interest by then.

I expect to pay my own way in life / mortgage, I don't expect my parents to.