Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Buy house, don't pay mortgage, live rent-free for 9 years. MOD WARNING POST #268

• Registered Users Posts: 3,541 ✭✭✭dubrov

beauf wrote:
    Someone worked out that the house would get more than the debt that was bought from the bank. So they might have made money on it and the bank wrote off the difference.

Someone lost their shirt somewhere and we all know who picked up the tab

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,651 ✭✭✭✭beauf

If its the bank I'm sure they made it back many times over with something else.

Many people have gone bankrupt here or in a England, written off their debts and come back to start over.
    I don't get the faux horror at a debt being written off, or down. Theres been many high profile cases previously.

I am surprised that institutions can give out very risky high loans, repeatedly but don't get any criticism, or attention from regulatory bodies at their business practises. We seem to be ok with that.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭UsBus

https://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/former-miss-ireland-pamela-flood-and-her-husband-may-face-jail-for-failing-to-leave-900k-home-936574.html

Looks like this slippery couple have still not left the home they are refusing to pay for. I think we all know they will never be sent to jail for this. Maybe in other countries but not in a spineless country like Ireland where you can do what you want by tying the system up in knots.

It's a shame because it's exactly what the Irish property market needs. To show there are consequences if you don't pay back a mortgage you agreed to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,651 ✭✭✭✭beauf

Do the remaining debts and legal costs after the property is eventually sold, which we written off, now be back on the table?

• Registered Users Posts: 15,865 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

I wonder if they are entitled to Free Legal Aid. All that legal advice and representation must be costing a pretty penny if not.

I am sure there are many similar cases out there. Many.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 410 ✭✭Dog Man Star

"looney left"

Christ almighty.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,020 ✭✭✭Greentree_uk

This is so wrong and would only ever happen in Ireland

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,764 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

Well they may have not paid their mortgage but from reading that article, they have had no real income, his restaurant business is gone, she is not presenting any more and they have 4 kids to look after.

I'd say it was a case of the fund deciding the only way they will get anything out of this is to let them walk away. They might have bought the €1.2 million debt for 40% of its value and even after legal fees the fund could come out even the way the Irish property market is going.

That €800k house could be fixed up for another €100k and sold for €1million plus in a few months or early next year.

Whatever happens, the fund will come out on top and that couples credit rating will be shot to bits. Even with supposed €345k they could have saved from not paying a mortgage, it's unlikely they will be able to afford to buy anything in Dublin and getting a mortgage is out of the question after the publicity this has got.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,818 ✭✭✭jlm29

ToxicPaddy wrote: »
    it's unlikely they will be able to afford to buy anything in Dublin and getting a mortgage is out of the question after the publicity this has got.

They don’t need to live in Dublin if they have no jobs. The can move to Cavan or Donegal or somewhere else and live within their means. She can work in a shop and So can he, or whatever. The rest of us pay our way and don’t expect someone else to pick up the tab.

jlm29 wrote: »
    They don’t need to live in Dublin if they have no jobs. The can move to Cavan or Donegal or somewhere else and live within their means. She can work in a shop and So can he, or whatever. The rest of us pay our way and don’t expect someone else to pick up the tab.

They will qualify for HAP now, and can source their own property in the area of their choice in DCC area surely?

• Registered Users Posts: 834 ✭✭✭GGTrek

They will qualify for HAP now, and can source their own property in the area of their choice in DCC area surely?

Good luck with finding a crazy enough landlord in Dublin that is willing to rent to this couple who is the definition of arrears and overholding.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭Bigmac1euro

Oopsie doopsie dooo

https://jrnl.ie/4722772

I for one, hope they get banged up. They are criminals they have stolen 300+k come on like.

Operators like this family are the ones we know about and are named. There are many others out there doing exactly the same thing, but media won't bother to report on them because they are not "famous".

GGTrek wrote: »
    Good luck with finding a crazy enough landlord in Dublin that is willing to rent to this couple who is the definition of arrears and overholding.

True, but they might be put up in a hotel, and eventually be given social housing. 4 kids will help their cause I reckon.

Look, we don't know what will happen, but they have hard necks anyway. And they are not alone either.

• Registered Users Posts: 234 ✭✭seasidedub

"The rest of us pay our way and don’t expect someone else to pick up the tab"

Well, not exactly.......

Fairly large cohort in Ireland who live off the taxpayer and never had the slightest intention of working or contributing in any way. For example, people who have 7 kids, sleep in Garda Stations. To (not) name a few.......

That said, very curious as to how they are funding their legal battles. It costs a fortune to be represented- how are they paying?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,789 ✭✭✭slavetothegrind

seasidedub wrote: »
    "The rest of us pay our way and don’t expect someone else to pick up the tab"

Well, not exactly.......

Fairly large cohort in Ireland who live off the taxpayer and never had the slightest intention of working or contributing in any way. For example, people who have 7 kids, sleep in Garda Stations. To (not) name a few.......

That said, very curious as to how they are funding their legal battles. It costs a fortune to be represented- how are they paying?

indeed , good question as there is no chance of them winning fees paid for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

This is so wrong and would only ever happen in Ireland
    Why would it only happen in Ireland?

Hoboo wrote: »
    Exactly. The bank is more than happy with the the outcome, only ones that aren't are the outraged begrudgers.
    Yawn. It's perfectly reasonable for people who are struggling to pay the stupidly high rents to bristle at people not paying their mortgage at all.

Tacklebox wrote: »
    And if you're rubbing shoulders with celebs, attractive looking and have a lovely smile....

I know a few similar couples in Clare who are living it up and haven't paid any of their mortgages in years.

Still making money and going on holidays, new car's etc.

There's definitely something wrong somewhere.
    No way should they have gotten away with that.

I guarantee you, they'll get on with their lives and they'll not feel one bit of remorse, shame or guilt.

It's just another day for the middle classes, laughing at everyone else.

This will make that couple feel invincible now.

They'll be celebrating and cracking open the champers, and they'll land on their feet.....
    Ah gway with the having a go at middle-class folk.

It's the middle class and working class (some people seem to deem those who don't work, to be working class) who are the ones being screwed for doing everything right. It's those on either side who take the piss, and get away with it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 343 ✭✭Wtf ?

See my post from a few days ago, Exactly the type of moochers I was talking about
    https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057993657

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 343 ✭✭Wtf ?

ToxicPaddy wrote: »
    Well they may have not paid their mortgage but from reading that article, they have had no real income, his restaurant business is gone, she is not presenting any more and they have 4 kids to look after.

I am sure she presented and he was dishing up meals over the last 9 years ffs ! Load of bollix

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,642 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham

Mod Note

Wtf ?, please improve the standard of your posts if you wish to continue posting in A & P.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,003 ✭✭✭handlemaster

So they are no refusing to leave. And people wonder why mortgage rates are so high in this country.

• Registered Users Posts: 469 ✭✭rafatoni

NIMAN wrote: »
    It does appear to prove the theory that the more you owe the more leeway you are given.

These folk are allowed to walk away from over €1mill debt, yet if you owe €50,000 then they will chase you til its repaid.

If you owed the credit union or bank 3k they would chase you to the ends of the earth. These 2 should owe the 9 years or mortgage. They also should be looking at doing time for deliberately not paying. Its that simple.

• Registered Users Posts: 73,379 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Wow. Totally didn’t see that coming. Absolutely expected them to vacate as agreed.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,499 ✭✭✭runawaybishop

Werent they paying the interest off the mortgage for the 9 years?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭irishguy1983

Fairly confused with this one...Why haven’t they paid anything for 9 years? Any valid reason? Why has it been allowed go for 9 years?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭bri007

This story gets better by the day. Why they haven’t vacated the house is baffling considering the way they got off lightly from a financial perspective (no lasting debt).

One of my best mates bough in the height of the boom, had his own business but in downtown lost everything. Business and most importantly lost his house, he is back living with his parents and rebuilding his business slowly again. Problem is it’s all with his own money as the debt is still with him from the last business and house. The house was sold at a loss and the remainder of the balance debt stays with him so essentially he is paying for the house he doesn’t have.

These two have got away very lightly compared to other people who lost their homes yet the debt stays with them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭Sonny noggs

Fairly confused with this one...Why haven’t they paid anything for 9 years? Any valid reason? Why has it been allowed go for 9 years?

Sense of entitlement?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,691 ✭✭✭4ensic15

Why would they have paid anything? The house is in negative equity. When it is sold they will get nothing of what they paid into the house back. Why pay more into it?