Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would you buy a Superyacht?

• 23-07-2020 11:53pm
    Registered Users Posts: 6,176 ✭✭✭

If you picked up the 49.5 million or made it big as a YouTuber(tm) or you sold your cloud-based startup to Jeff Bezos for a few 100m, would you be tempted?

It's in vogue these days to pretend you're bothered about the fact that they burn a fair drop o'daysul but after you park your Tesla Model whatever at the airport and hop on a plane nobody really has a clue where you're gone and if you're cruising around the med or some other place in a superyacht they won't know.

Just from looking at Marinetraffic I get the impression a lot of superyacht owners just go around in circles on in med and hang around the usual party haunts and posh spots. Was watching a documentary a while back about some English dood who already had a yacht that was quite super and he was commissioning a brand new one for about 50 mil because he felt he was growing out of the old one. This kind of craic wouldn't really interest me but I wouldn't mind a smaller boat with plenty of range for visiting places in the absolute backarse of nowhere.

Tis crazy the amount of money you can spend on these yokes if you want. An entire euromillions jackpot just for one boat if you want plus all the running costs

Does the superyacht lifestyle appeal to you? 65 votes

Yes
    84% 55 votes
    No
    15% 10 votes

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8 Obese Man

If you picked up the 49.5 million or made it big as a YouTuber(tm) or you sold your cloud-based startup to Jeff Bezos for a few 100m, would you be tempted?

The lot. Super yacht. Coke. Hookers.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,596 ✭✭✭Feisar

Nah, I genuinely wouldn't have the interest in it.

Edit - I'm lucky my dream commercial items are really very achievable.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 80,988 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

They cost so much money initially, you then have to factor in a running cost of circa 10% of the initial cost per year to run them. Would be far cheaper to rent one for the few weeks a year you would use them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭CBear1993

You’d wonder does dan bilzerian ever get bad days. Sick of the drugs, endless prozzies and high roller life.

Can’t be all it looks like over social media. Had heard he came from a rich family.

I'd just buy a regular yacht. I'd call it something classy for sure, like 'Dirty Oar' or 'How Nauti'. Then I'd make everyone call me Captain, or Admiral or something, even my own family. They'd get sick of me after a while, but they'd have to feel sorry for me because of my fake wooden leg and years spent guarding the lake.

• Registered Users Posts: 43 KissMeArse

Nope, I wouldn't even buy a normal small boat if I had the money. A fella I used to work with who had a boat once told me having a boat was like standing under a cold shower slipping $50 notes down the drain

M

Most of the superyachts are registered in Cayman Islands (George Town) through various tax loopholes, you will have to look very hard to find any registered in the home country of any rich 'owner'.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,029 ✭✭✭Rhys Essien

There was two of them in Cork harbour last summer, one called ‘Air’ worth €100m and the other was ‘Le Grand Bleu’ worth €150m. You’d have to be in the Billionaire club to keep them running.

Something small for around €5m would do me.:D

• Registered Users Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭afatbollix

You have two good days when you have a boat

The day you bought it

And

The day you sell it

• Registered Users Posts: 6,176 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

afatbollix wrote: »
    You have two good days when you have a boat

The day you bought it

And

The day you sell it

You saying all the mad alcohol fuelled sex parties in between are no good? :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,245 ✭✭✭Gretas Gonna Get Ya!

I read recently, that the winner of the Jamaican lottery wanted to hide their identity (good idea in a country as violent as Jamaica tbh), so they decided to collect their winnings dressed as Darth Vader! :D

How many people own a full Darth Vader costume? :P

I'd like to think I'd be a bit smarter than that guy... so no Darth Vader costumes and no yachts either. I'll go under the radar and avoid drawing attention to my new found wealth. (So yeah I'll buy a submarine rather than a yacht!:pac:)

• Registered Users Posts: 11,131 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Some really nice boats for 500k and under, and you wouldn't need crew to man it.

Or you could charter a 4 bedroom super yacht for 50k a day fully crewed, so a week would be like 350k

Much cheaper than buying one and paying Harbour fees, staff salaries, maintance fees, insurance etc

• Registered Users Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Eggs For Dinner

Nice 2 berth speedboat for coastal use would do me nicely. Hug the coast, pull in to a random harbour, go ashore for a feed and some pints, then watch the stars from the deck before bed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Gruffalux

Yachts are the least attractive of ostentatious items. I was in a place a few years ago where loads of fancy yachts berth and as I walked along checking them out I was "meh", "blech", "nah", "uh uh", absolutely zero to covet in the big uncomfortable plastic lumps.

I would certainly consider it but a private jet would be more of a priority. Imagine not having to deal with the peasantry of commercial travel, airport queues, security, booking in advance etc.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,047 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

They cost so much money initially, you then have to factor in a running cost of circa 10% of the initial cost per year to run them. Would be far cheaper to rent one for the few weeks a year you would use them.
    This. Or as one billionaire's advice went: Remember the three F's. If it flies, floats or f*uks, rent, never buy.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,765 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Have two of them, bored of them now, thinking of just going back to the kayak

• Registered Users Posts: 9,018 ✭✭✭Ficheall

Got chatting in an airport to a girl who was a maid on one of those superyachts, it sounded pretty awful - hard work, eff all time above deck, having to deal with the clients and their guests and families, months away from loved ones etc. She said the money was good, but 🀷*♂️

That kind of superyacht lifestyle would not be for me.

Give me a nice narrowboat any day. Would probably not object to having the very attractive maid, granted.

Edit: Ah, emojis don't work.. Fine, it's the guy shrugging his shoulders.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,174 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Couldn't be arsed. I'd get a nice little 30-footer and berth it in Kinsale. I'd have taken one in Lower Aghada as well, but since Rosie's closed permanently there's no point.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,174 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

I'd just buy a regular yacht. I'd call it something classy for sure, like 'Dirty Oar' or 'How Nauti'. Then I'd make everyone call me Captain, or Admiral or something, even my own family. They'd get sick of me after a while, but they'd have to feel sorry for me because of my fake wooden leg and years spent guarding the lake.

Tidy. You should incorporate some Captain Ahab-esque "Belay there, Starbuck! Hast thee seen the White Whale?!?" kind of thing as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 40 doggerland

I once did some carpentry work on a superyacht. The rich woman owner was a complete tyrant though and I walked off. Later on though, she fell Overboard and lost her memory. I had a bit of fun and convinced her that we were married. What started as a joke became real and we got married. The kids were glad to go from rags to riches. True story.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Feisar wrote: »
    Nah, I genuinely wouldn't have the interest in it.

Edit - I'm lucky my dream commercial items are really very achievable.

You play drums too man?

M

doggerland wrote: »
    I once did some carpentry work on a superyacht. The rich woman owner was a complete tyrant though and I walked off. Later on though, she fell Overboard and lost her memory. I had a bit of fun and convinced her that we were married. What started as a joke became real and we got married. The kids were glad to go from rags to riches. True story.

Did you use oak instead of cedar?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,176 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

I would certainly consider it but a private jet would be more of a priority. Imagine not having to deal with the peasantry of commercial travel, airport queues, security, booking in advance etc.

Unless you have your own airport or you only fly to very small airports you still need to queue and put up with security. Think you still need to book in advance to some extent with a private jet, create a flight plan and all that good stuff.

I'd have a private jet over a private yacht.

I think I'd be wary of even being a guest on a super yacht because of the implication.

• Registered Users Posts: 194 ✭✭DM_2092

Even if I were a Bajillionaire, I'd never ever buy a yacht. I'm more in favor of renting a boat and going out on a lake.

Rent a 5* hotel room though? You Betcha!

• Registered Users Posts: 13,846 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Frankie Boyle explained why people buy these yachts.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,992 ✭✭✭joeguevara

I was always told ‘if it flies, floats or fcucks, it’s always cheaper to rent.’

Nope. I know exactly the old run down place I would buy and repair. It's complete with it's own nuclear bunker and everything.

I wouldn't be interested in this enough to justify it, maybe something small to dive off but that's it.

I don't even get the great advantage in owning your own Learjet. They actually don't strike me as that great.

Unless you have your own airport or you only fly to very small airports you still need to queue and put up with security. Think you still need to book in advance to some extent with a private jet, create a flight plan and all that good stuff.

They have their own VIP entry. They don't stand with us peasants