Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Are you taking part in any LGBTQ events for pride month?

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

Yep and it absolutely kills you doesn't it? You're sitting there hammering those keys, seething with impotent rage.

Class.

He probably thinks a gay fella will wave his willy around in his face or try to shift him.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

No because I live in the sticks and am crazy busy and my chap works weekends at the moment while the kid has a myriad of birthdays to go to. Otherwise yes, those parades and festivities are usually fab and I believe it's for an important cause.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Yes, for the month all my porn searches will include the word 'lesbians' - no matter what mood I'm in!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Ill go to the parade , nice buzz in the city on the day.

But a whole month of events? I cant say Ive ever noticed many events ongoing around Dublin relating to pride in the month run up to the parade, other than some commercial advertisements. Guess I havnt really looked around for it though

• Registered Users Posts: 13,505 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Might watch the graeme Norton show one of the Fridays or failing that a repeat on tv3

Is that enough?

• Registered Users, Subscribers Posts: 47,268 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

A Pride network for LGBTQ staff is being launched where I work this month. I'm not gay, but I'll go to the launch because I feel it's important that my colleagues who are know that they have the support of the non-LGBTQ majority in the company. I hope there's plenty of others who feel the same, although I know there are bound to be some who are not particularly comfortable with "the gays".

• Site Banned Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Balanadan

Woke Hogan wrote: »
    Yes it was. You're not the tough, hard man you think you are.

No it wasn't.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Gonna give myself the finger whilst having a ****. Does that count?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭Tom Mann Centuria

Not a fan of overt flamboyance, straight, gay or other, so I avoid carnivals and parades like the Plague.

Oh well, give me an easy life and a peaceful death.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,126 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ten of Swords

62198472_10157046976943001_823002930339643392_n.jpg?_nc_cat=1&_nc_ht=scontent.fdub1-2.fna&oh=a7f5ef1804e4371ad702907ff70d4847&oe=5D88C69E

People really have some fanciful notions about how much 2 sets of rainbow decals cost. The twitter comments about these 2 Garda cars frankly reminds me why pride is still necessary :D

• Registered Users Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

The parade hold little interest for me; being neither gay man nor a straight woman looking for an excuse to be boho.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭Feisar

Yep and it absolutely kills you doesn't it? You're sitting there hammering those keys, seething with impotent rage.

Class.

And your sitting there with yer petty superiority complex.

And I'm sitting here not really caring either way.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 16,246 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Wouldn't know much about it so had a google to see what it's about, some of the fellas could do with putting on some pants and covering up a bit.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,319 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Feisar wrote: »
    And your sitting there with yer petty superiority complex.

And I'm sitting here not really caring either way.

And I'm sitting down here,
    But hey you cant see me, kinda invisible...
    You dont sense my stay,
    Not really hiding, not like a shadow,
    Just thought I would join you for one day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

Got an email from HR about it in work on Friday. CEO & his crew are going to be mixing with a selection of the minions for social media photos on the 28th. I'm
    a contractor, so I'm puzzled what this has to do with me. If they want to pay me to stand and smile for a few photos, I'll do it but I can't see it happening.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,907 ✭✭✭Stephen15

It's a left wing virtue signalling agenda being shoved down our throats. I don't have a problem with the acts of homosexuality as such but I don't think people need to be showing it off as if "look at me I'm gay isn't it great" when the vast majority don't care it should be tolerated not embraced. I also find it ironic a lot of the people that support pride also support mass Islamic immigration which supports throwing gays off buildings.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭Feisar

Stephen15 wrote: »
    It's a left wing virtue signalling agenda being shoved down our throats. I don't have a problem with the acts of homosexuality as such but I don't think people need to be showing it off as if "look at me I'm gay isn't it great" when the vast majority don't care it should be tolerated not embraced. I also find it ironic a lot of the people that support pride also support mass Islamic immigration which supports throwing gays off buildings.

In fairness homosexuality was a crime for a long time. It’s obvious the pendulum would swing the other way.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Well I'm not gay, and the gay people I know are largely either online or abroad, i.e. I would interact with them on a personal level once every couple of years, at best.

So taking part in something "for pride" would seem to be a very blatant exercise in bandwagoning for me. I am not aware of any gay people that would appreciate my personal support.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,065 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Woke Hogan wrote: »
    Snide passive aggressive remarks like that aren't very masculine, so you're already halfway there.
    This is funny on a few levels.

No on the events on my part. Parades and such aren't my thing anyway. "Woke" parades even less so. The Gay men and women I know aren't the more vocal and flamboyant type, so I'd be surprised if they attend any. Maybe as part of a night out. Though would naturally broadly support the whole thing.

Dunno what the hell this addition of the Q bit is all about either. Always smelled of radical politics more than anything and LGBT covers it anyway. Then again those most wedded to identity politics bloody love adding even more and ever more daft identities to the mix to make themselves ever more "unique". Meh.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,065 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

seamus wrote: »
    So taking part in something "for pride" would seem to be a very blatant exercise in bandwagoning for me. I am not aware of any gay people that would appreciate my personal support.
    Annnd we're back to agreeing again S. :D I do know a couple of those on the bandwagon of such things(and others), though to be fair I'd say for the vast majority of them it's more a social circle thing than anything political or look at meeeee!

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 430 ✭✭average hero

Straight white male here.

Not specifically doing anything for it and I don't like big public gatherings like Paddy's Day or anything so that's not my gig anyway. I am a passively tolerant bloke with friends from all over the spectrum so I don't feel the need to 'prove' any tolerance. If there is a 5-a-side or other sponsored event for it I may take part alright.

I wonder how parts of the LGBTQI+ community feel about corporate sponsors co-opting the pride movement for their corporate ends.Is it positive or cynical? Anyways - best of luck to those who it affects.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,102 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

the world has moved past you. deal with it.

Nope hate crowds, not gay and anyone we do know who is aren't going either.

Anyone who is going to the parade etc hope ye have a good time and fcuk the begrudgers

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 12,557 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

This is a big milestone for gay pride this year as it marks the 50th anniversary of the Stonewall riots in New York, when the modern LGBT rights movement was born.

In June 1969, the patrons of the Stonewall Inn, mourning the death of Judy Garland, resisted the routine police raids and harassment and rioted for 3 days and nights. The event caught worldwide media attention and the following year, 1970, the first gay pride march was held in New York.

During the 1970s pride events spread throughout the Western world and Dublin has its first pride march in 1983 in reaction to the verdict of the trial of the killers of Declan Flynn, a gay man who was murdered in Fairview Park.

Personally, I’ll be out of the country for the Dublin pride march and party (it’s a big piss up anyway which I avoid) but I’ve marched in Pride events before and it’s important to mark Pride to show how far we have come, to remember where we came from, out of the shadows and our closets, and to show solidarity with LGBT people in intolerant and oppressive regimes around the world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 693 ✭✭✭The Satanist

No, I've no interest in the subject or the events. I generally dislike being around groups of people.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,102 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

JupiterKid wrote: »
    This is a big milestone for gay pride this year as it marks the 50th anniversary of the Stonewall riots in New York, there the modern LGBT rights movement was born.

In June 1969, the patrons of the Stonewall Inn, mourning the death of Judy Garland, resisted the routine police harassment and rioted for 3 days and nights. The event caught worldwide media attention and the following year, 1970, the first gay pride march was held in New York.

During the 1970s pride events spread throughout the Western world and Dublin has its first pride march in 1983 in reaction to the verdict of the trial of the killers of Declan Flynn, a gay man who was murdered in Fairview Park.

Personally, I’ll be out of the country for the Dublin pride march and party (it’s a bid piss up anyway which I avoid) but I’ve marched in Pride events before and it’s important to mark Pride to show how far we have come, to remember where we came from, out of the shadows and our closets, and to show solidarity with LGBT people in intolerant and oppressive regimes around the world.
    Dont forget the drag queens.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Politics Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 81,310 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

biko wrote: »
    I wasn't planning to, but if I''m around when a party happens, then sure why not.

i was going to say no but i'm changing my answer to this one

acts of homosexuality as such, brilliant

• Registered Users Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Not gay and I don't know any gays, so no.

You more than likely do.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

I really don't.

You mustn't know many people so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,907 ✭✭✭Stephen15

the world has moved past you. deal with it.

The LGBTQWEYHJSHGKDKLMNIY+%@%#!^&$*÷^#?(×^÷* is a globalist agenda. I think Ireland would be even more progressive if we did our thing and rejected these agendas which strive to take away anything unique or induvidual plenty of countries haven't bowed down to this nonsense and you wouldn't call them backward.