Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Heads up! modern day Reenactors in trouble??

• 22-01-2020 12:21am
    Registered Users Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭

It seems the EU gun ban is kicking in already with the modern day re enactors here who have converted blank firing former full auto firearms.

One of my spies informs me that some lads who are into re enactment have been refused their liscenses for such guns as they are definately now a no no under the EU directive,because of their full auto function,and have been interviewed by their respective Supers/cheifs on this.
    Can anyone confirm this?

I hate to engage in "Shaden Freude" but I did see this one coming too here in Ireland.I'll expect the paintballers and the movie/TV armourers along soon too with the same complaint,and proably the airsofters in awhile .:(:(:(

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users Posts: 435 ✭✭Brontosaurus

I wonder how many crimes were ever committed with blank-firing firearms reconverted into firearms....

They better get on to banning commonly available materials, lathes, drill presses, milling machines and 3d printers while they're at it.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Er...Charlie Hebdo,and the Paris massacres... Shoddily deacted Czech and Serb rifles that had been converted illegally to live fire again. A whole slew of reacted Deacts in the UK,and even here in Ireland
    Not that the EU gets a free pass on this.They had changed the legislation seven years before either atrocities,but sat on it until this happened.We are now paying the consequences of this.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users Posts: 4,772 ✭✭✭meathstevie

Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    Er...Charlie Hebdo,and the Paris massacres... Shoddily deacted Czech and Serb rifles that had been converted illegally to live fire again. A whole slew of reacted Deacts in the UK,and even here in Ireland
    Not that the EU gets a free pass on this.They had changed the legislation seven years before either atrocities,but sat on it until this happened.We are now paying the consequences of this.

Grizzly I think you’re firmly drifting into the realms of criminal arms trafficking there. As per usual it’s been illegal since Jaysus was a boy but nothing much was really done about it until the **** hit the fan in a spectacular way.

As per usual the politicians drafted a pile of bad knee jerk legislation that affects the law abiding more than anyone else while what was needed was resourcing law enforcement to use existing legislation.

They SAT on it for seven years in Brussells MS! And in a cynical move that Dermot Aherne himself would have been proud of that Swedish GREEN Socialist Cecila Malestrom,having been told by the EU shooters and gun owners 12 months before to FO right quick with her proposed gun and LEAD ban.Pulled out this POS and started adding to it, not even before the bodies were cold or buried.:mad::mad::mad:
    Yes it is ilegal to reconvert,and its illegal to traffic arms.But in this case the facts are against us!Deacts have been reacted and were used in Paris,the UK and here in Ireland too.And now we are paying the price for criminal misuse...Again!:mad:

Ah I see, was under the impression they got the real things from the Balkans.

Would be entirely reasonable to require deacts to have permanently blocked barrels, thought most did anyway.

Ah I see, was under the impression they got the real things from the Balkans.

Would be entirely reasonable to require deacts to have permanently blocked barrels, thought most did anyway.

They do as well,and from Kaliningrad and now from Turkey and Algeria,with blank firing pistols that are specifically desigened to be easily converted to fire live ammo.:(Simple fact is,criminals will use anything that goes Bang! They arent' brand shoppers... Is it cheap,does it throw lead downrange?Is it clean and disposable? Thats all they want to know.
    Yes the do require to be permantly pinned and bocked by welding up the chamber and drilling 7 holes of no less than 1/3rd the bore dia in the barrel. The CZ guns didnt.lAl they had done was the chamber and the barrel to be pinned at the time.About 10 mins to re activate in a workshop.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,772 ✭✭✭meathstevie

Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    They SAT on it for seven years in Brussells MS! And in a cynical move that Dermot Aherne himself would have been proud of that Swedish GREEN Socialist Cecila Malestrom,having been told by the EU shooters and gun owners 12 months before to FO right quick with her proposed gun and LEAD ban.Pulled out this POS and started adding to it, not even before the bodies were cold or buried.:mad::mad::mad:
    Yes it is ilegal to reconvert,and its illegal to traffic arms.But in this case the facts are against us!Deacts have been reacted and were used in Paris,the UK and here in Ireland too.And now we are paying the price for criminal misuse...Again!:mad:

I think it’s called agenda driven opportunism. Abusing an act of terror to further an agenda that has very little to do with making life hard on terrorists and other criminals.

If there was any intention of making life hard on terrorists there wouldn’t be any European government jets flying out to repatriate ISIS scum.

I think it’s called agenda driven opportunism. Abusing an act of terror to further an agenda that has very little to do with making life hard on terrorists and other criminals.

If there was any intention of making life hard on terrorists there wouldn’t be any European government jets flying out to repatriate ISIS scum.

A lack of firearms doesn't seem to have stopped trucks, knives and bombs either.

Exactly... The Daesh warned their followers on their online monthly Jihad magazines:eek [Very well put together they are too I might add] that using firearms in the future,post Paris attacks might pose a threat to Jihadis trying to aquire them from undercover sting operations put up by the infidels police and Govts,and so to use or think up other means to slaughter infidels...Which they did ,and have done,and will do.:mad: WE of course,get it in the neck...For "public saftey" of course.