Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Stories that should get a book/movie deal

• 18-10-2019 12:46pm
    Registered Users Posts: 719 ✭✭✭

First of all, apologies about the lame thread title. I couldn't come up with anything better.

Did anything happen in your family or close circle that you think is so epic that it would deserve a book or a movie made about it?

I'll start with a story about my grandfather.

Him and my grandma got married quite young and had three kids together, one of them being my dad. He was something of a computer genius and had an incredible brain for anything science and technology related. He was one of the first people in the country to own a PC and did a few interviews about it. He was also extremely charismatic and could chat up pretty much any girl he ever wanted.

When my dad was about six years old, granddad left his family for a young nurse, whom he eventually married. She was a bit of a jealous bi*ch and wouldn't allow granddad to see his kids, so he only managed to visit them a few times a year in secret. Of course their relationship suffered by this. My grandma never married again and raised her three kids on her own, which was pretty admirable in a communist occupied country in the 70's.

Anyway, fast forward to the 90's. Me and my two brothers are already in the world, and my granddad decided to put his foot down and told the wife that he wants to have a relationship with his grandkids and that he will see us whenever he wants. It took my dad and my granddad a few years to find a way to each other, but they managed eventually. We'd even go to visit him at his apartment whit the wife being there, although she never said anything but "hello" to us and spent the entire visit sitting in the corner, giving us the death glare.

When I was 12, my granddad was riding a bike and got hit by a car. He died on the scene, but they brought him back. He had a surgery, spent a few weeks in the hospital, and went back to his cheery self.

When I was 13, he was riding a bike again. He wasn't paying attention, crashed into a car that stopped in front of him, flew off his bike to the other lane where he got hit by a car. He died in the ambulance, but they brought him back. Had a surgery, spent a few weeks in the hospital, you know how it goes.

When I was 15, he went on holidays to Corsica (at least I think it was Corsica, could be wrong here). He went for a morning walk and noticed one of those plastic white garden chairs floating in the sea. Immediately he pictured himself sitting in this chair on the beach. Of course he decided to climb down the cliff and get it. Unfortunately for him, the tide was coming in, a wave got him and threw him on a cliff, knocking him unconscious. Someone saw him when he was climbing down and they called the coast guard on him. Thanks to this, help was available right there when this happened. They pulled him out of the water, not breathing, no pulse, his head covered in blood. Don't panic though, because they brought him back. As if you thought this man could actually ever die. CPR, a few stitches on his head, cracked rib, two days in the hospital, all good.

When I was 18, his wife found him unconscious on the floor in the bedroom. Being a nurse, she knew what to do, so again he received an immediate professional assistance and was looked after until the ambulance arrived. I suppose that none of you will be surprised when I tell you that he died on the way to the hospital. And you will be even less surprised when I tell you that they brought him back. He had a major surgery as they found out that he has an internal bleeding in his abdomen. There was also an issue with his blood, but I can't remember what it was exactly, but he was taking medication for it for the rest of his life.

Shortly after this he left his wife for his mistress. At this time, he was already in his early 70's. She was 42. Not bad. They didn't move in together though, I'm not sure why. He was accepted into a sort of assisted living facility. It still gave him a lot of freedom, the only form of assistance he was getting there was someone checking on him once a day for a few minutes to see if he's ok.

I only visited him there twice. He was in a city quite far from where we lived, so I'd go there when my dad drove over. I remember the apartment. It was tiny. Just a couch that would unfold into a bed, his kitchen consisted of a small cooker and a kettle. There was only one window, and there was a computer desk by that window. A small coffee table in the centre of the room. He was happy there. I remember him saying that he should have gone to live by himself ages ago, that he's finally free.

In October 2010, shortly after I moved to Ireland, my dad called me and said that granddad had died. This didn't really phase me at first. "Again? How long was he dead for this time," I asked. The silence on my dad's side made me realize that nobody brought him back this time. He was gone. The people who were checking on him daily knocked on his door one afternoon, and when there was no answer, they opened the door. They found him dead in front of the computer.

Only months later I found out that he went out as the legend he was - heart attack while sitting by his computer with his pants down, watching dirty videos.

When my dad was clearing the apartment, he went through granddad's computer to see if there's anything worth keeping, maybe old photos, documents, etc. He found photos alright. Photos of girls in their 20's, posing for him naked on the couch in that tiny studio apartment! That's right, this old guy in his late 70's never lost an ounce of that charisma and still, even at this age, managed to convince nearly three dozen of different young girls to go to his tiny apartment and pose naked for him. Nearly three dozen girls in about 3.5 years that he lived there.

Then, while clearing out a garage he was renting, we found a bunch of old cameras, radios, TV sets, computers, etc. He was collecting this stuff, taking it apart, and then putting it back together. Behind all this clutter, we found some very heavy containers. When my dad saw them, his eyes went wide. It was lead containers used for storing radioactive material.

I'm not allowed to talk about any of this, it's our family secret. I'm sharing it with you guys here, because nobody in my family speaks English, so they're never going to find out. Don't rat me out, ok?

Here's to you, granddad, you bloody legend.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Not that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭nkl12xtw5goz70

Sorry, OP, but I couldn't make it halfway through your post. I don't see Hollywood execs fighting to get their hands on the script.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭Stevieluvsye

Sorry, OP, but I couldn't make it halfway through your post. I don't see Hollywood execs fighting to get their hands on the script.

Hollywood? TG4 wouldn't even touch that ****e

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭MarioLuigi

I think your story just gave me cancer.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 20,644 CMod ✭✭✭✭amdublin

I think your premise makes for what could be a good thread/discussion here on boards. And hopefully we will see some good stories posted!

Your story was quite boring and imo would/could never be a film.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,421 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

Angela's Ashes

• Registered Users Posts: 10,288 ✭✭✭✭branie2

Maybe the Fox network in America

• Registered Users Posts: 719 ✭✭✭Gwen Cooper

I wonder if it's such a good story in my head because I'm not allowed to talk about it. And I thought that Boardsies will enjoy hearing the story of my slutty grandfather who couldn't die. Oh well. Anyway, anyone has a funny story that would make millions in the box office?

branie2 wrote: »
    Maybe the Fox network in America

I would never consent to that :D

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

John Wick teams up with Rambo and invades Russia.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,560 ✭✭✭Mehaffey1

ToddyDoody wrote: »
    Angela's Ashes

Again?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,375 ✭✭✭KevRossi

Feeky Magee dropping the hand on his grinds teacher would be one great sexual thriller.

• Registered Users Posts: 712 ✭✭✭Mean Laqueefa

A modern ''Home Alone'' staring mr_fegelien

• Registered Users Posts: 4,421 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

Mehaffey1 wrote: »
    Again?

Could do.

Diana's story is another one that needs to be re-done.

I wonder if it's such a good story in my head because I'm not allowed to talk about it.

Er...
    That's right, this old guy in his late 70's never lost an ounce of that charisma and still, even at this age, managed to convince nearly three dozen of different young girls to go to his tiny apartment and pose naked for him. Nearly three dozen girls in about 3.5 years that he lived there.

It might seem like a "good story" in your head, but it reads more like a tale of rampant sexual exploitation of young women — and that's even assuming that they were all over 18. If not, you have a child pornographer in your family tree.

Trust me, they were all in their 20's.

How do you know?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 12,557 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

The Dalkey "House of Horrors" case. I think there was a book by one of the survivors of the abuse but there needs to be a more objective account of the events, how and why they they were allowed to happen and why nothing was done by the authorities at the time.

The Garda McCabe scandal - unearthed rotten corruption and ineptitude in the Gardai and the Dept of Justice.

The ongoing scandal of the judiciary and the legal sector and how and why the criminal justice system is a rotten money making racket with its own golden circle.

The connection between the political system, TDs and Councillors, landlords, and the ongoing housing crisis and just who is benefiting from the extortionate rents charged in the private rented sector and why vulture funds (REITs) are given extremely generous tax incentives and loopholes to make staggering profits. Also the spate of "student" accommodation being built - who really benefits and why?

And lots more...

• Registered Users Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

How do you know?

She was one of them.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,354 ✭✭✭corner of hells

A modern ''Home Alone'' staring mr_fegelien

Some of us could probably get bit parts in that film , we seem to feature so much in his life .

How do you know?

He had it documented.

Omackeral wrote: »
    She was one of them.

I wasn't his type ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 8,810 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

I used to work with a guy who's life I have been tempted to try my hand at writing an Alan Partridge style comedy ...

I'll post some stuff some day, it's just too hard to articulate sometimes...

• Registered Users Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭NeinNeinNein

Carry on Brexit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

MarioLuigi wrote: »
    I think your story just gave me cancer.
    amdublin wrote: »
    Your story was quite boring and imo would/could never be a film.
    There was tons of interesting, bizarre stuff in relation to the guy, and she put a lot of effort into writing it. Why do ye have to be so miserable and rude. Oh yeah, to look cool. Of course you could make it through the full post, Permabear. Not her fault you're too lazy to read it.
    Er...

Oh ffs. Po-faced shyte.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

How do you know?
    Why are you so adamant that they could have been underage? Is it not fathomable for them to be in their 20s? (Mr married to an early 20 something, if you're actually Lucille Tasteless Quiz).

• Registered Users Posts: 13,695 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Shantaram might make a good film, or TV series. I'd love a modern version of George Orwell's Animal Farm to be made too with the tech they have now, I think so far there was only a cartoon of it made many moons ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

Julie Yip Williams

Born blind in Vietnam in the ‘70s, her parents brought her to a witchdoctor to see if anything could be done about the blindness. The witchdoctor advised them to kill her. Her grandmother rescued her from that fate. She emigrated to the US with her family as a child where her sight was partially restored by a surgeon. She went to Harvard Law School and became an accomplished lawyer, married and had two children. Then she was diagnosed with advanced bowel cancer in her late 30s and wrote an accomplished blog about her experiences before dying in her early 40s.

Suitable for Families , PG : Made by Brown Bag Studios. The lTale of 2 Toys: one received by a poor family, and the other by a rich family.

The rich family toy meets some fair tale villanous ending. The poor family toy, gets a sumptuous retirement and is treasured by its now rich owner.

15's : The greatest ever boards RE REG. Saddled with exams, this fella takes his stress out by online trolling on boards, with interestig names.

18's strictly: The story of the boardsie persona, personified.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,277 ✭✭✭Your Face

Hopefully not something topical.