Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's the most alcohol you ever drank in one sitting?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,861 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

In my slightly younger days there have been many regular weekends of drinking and debauchery (not as much any more). I'm not sure which one was the most though: Easter Sunday last year for the whole evening sinking pints (bizarrely not much of a hangover), at a good friends house starting off on cans of Guinness at the kitchen table working our way to the spirits (there was an almighty hangover from that!), a night out in Castlepollard where I got too generous with brandy and port for myself until I passed out circa 3am (hold the excitement) or when I had just turned 18 a few weeks prior I got absolutely crooked and ended up puking into someones handbag (not my proudest moment :o)

Probably more I genuinely can't remember :o

• Registered Users Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭Bigbagofcans

Can't remember, it's been that many.

I can remember recently how much I drank at a wedding I was at:

3 glasses of prosecco
    2 glasses of wine
    5 G&Ts
    4 shots

• Registered Users Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭Foweva Awone

Probably 4-5 bottles of wine, back when I used to be a full-time alcoholic. Amazed I still have a liver.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

In total, about 500 ml of vodka at a festival over the course of a day, but I wasnt that drunk because it was over 12 hours or so

• Registered Users Posts: 6,048 ✭✭✭Truckermal

I did something very similar one day in Scraggs about a year later. Have never been as sick.

Those were the days!

We must have been in College together so as I had some hangovers after Scraggs and the Foundry...:p

• Registered Users Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Ragnar Lothbrok

Mocha Joe wrote: »
    Is 90% of this thread lies?

I really don't think so. As another poster put it, there seems to be more regret and sorrow than bravado.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Ragnar Lothbrok

Over the course of a long weekend a Canadian fella drank 90 cans of Budweiser in a local pub in the town where I come from. I know it sounds bull but this was witnessed by plenty of people and the barman was by no means a bull**iter.
    He was big bloke and he downed 30 cans a day for 3 days and he was drinking cans of it because the pub didn't have Budweiser on tap so the barman kept a count on what yer man was drinking.

Was it Big Bill Werbeniuk :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭orourkeda1977

Was it Big Bill Werbeniuk :D

Or Bill Wanktheplank as my granny used to call him.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,246 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Lol at the people giving precise figures. "I had exactly 15 pints and so much more of spirits." Made up nonsense, nobody can exactly keep count after a certain point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 418 ✭✭Duane Dibbley

Arghus wrote: »
    Lol at the people giving precise figures. "I had exactly 15 pints and so much more of spirits." Made up nonsense, nobody can exactly keep count after a certain point.

You cant keep count. Doesn't mean others cant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭orourkeda1977

I used to enjoy a few friendly beverages back in the day.

I've done quite a few 10-12 pint sessions but that was my limit. Anything after that was running the risk of doing somthing really embarrassing.

I'm badly overweight and have started to try to lose some weight. Yesterday I found out that if you drink One pint of Guinness, it will take the equivalent of a 70 minute walk to burn off the calories.

I use to drink 10 * 70 = 700 minutes to burn off one evenings drinking. Savagery

• Registered Users Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭DelBoy Trotter

Agreed. It is incredibly rare that I forget a night out/part of a night regardless of the amount of alcohol consumed

• Registered Users Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭farmchoice

my greatest all day session was a solid 25 pints of Guinness, over 14 hours.
    it was the height of mt drinking prowess, i was 30 in good shape, i had 13 years experience behind me, it just happened organically, a full day with my best friends trawling the best pubs Dublin had to offer, no hassle just great craic.

in the years after that age started to catch up with me and while i could still put it away that was the high point.

my other standout moment happened when i was 20. i was working in a pub in London, on my last night we were having a good session after hours. I'd has a right skinful probably only 7/8 pints but i was tired I'd been working all day.
    as a going away present the staff bought me a ''dirty pint'' a pint glass full of different brands of whiskey ( i was a whiskey drinker at the time) they handed to me without telling me what it was assuming i would think it was just a pint of larger. the idea was i'd have a big swig and get a shock and choke on it and then they would make me drink it ( a few of them picked on me a small bit, but most were sound, it was a tough place to work and live, most of us lived in the pub).
    anyway as soon as it was handed to me i figured out what was going on but i thought **** it I'm not going to lose face and be made a dick of. so as nonchalantly as i could i lifted it up and sank it down in one.

i knew i was probably in a fair amount of trouble and that i didn't have long before it hit me. so i stayed where i was for a couple of minutes talking then got up said my good nights and headed for my room. i had literally only closed the door when i passed out and simply fell face forward onto the floor.
    i came to the next morning, i was a very lucky boy i didn't die that night.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭The Enbalmer

Arghus wrote: »

Well if you bought 20 cans and a bottle of spirits and woke up the next day and they were gone it's safe to assume you drank them.

If i have 50 quid in my pocket and a pint is a fiver,when i run out of money i know i've drank ten pints. Take out 2 50s and drink that at a fiver a pint it's 20 pints.

Bottle of whiskey by the bed..drink it and you've drank a bottle of whiskey.

its really not difficult

I used to enjoy a few friendly beverages back in the day.

I've done quite a few 10-12 pint sessions but that was my limit. Anything after that was running the risk of doing somthing really embarrassing.

I'm badly overweight and have started to try to lose some weight. Yesterday I found out that if you drink One pint of Guinness, it will take the equivalent of a 70 minute walk to burn off the calories.

I use to drink 10 * 70 = 700 minutes to burn off one evenings drinking. Savagery

That's why some people hit a sweaty Copper's dancefloor for hours to burn off those calorific pints :D

Fair play to you for starting your weight loss journey. Best of luck.

Ah would you stop, you're spouting nonsense.

There's people on here saying they had exactly 15 or 20 or 26 - just to use examples. No doubt these people had a lot to drink at the times and, sure, they may well have had that much when it's all totted up but it's all guesstimation after a certain point of being plastered.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10 Charlenesully

Approximately 3 gallons of Guinness. Had to renovate the en-suite after it.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,638 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Probably Patrick's Day a few years back when I sunk 978 pints of porter. Ring on me like an old fashioned electric cooker the next day, etc etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

Do you actually expect me to remember every single drink I've had in one session? I'm not Stephen Hawking.

All I know is that by day three a few hours' sleep was in order.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭The Enbalmer

OneArt wrote: »
    Do you actually expect me to remember every single drink I've had in one session? I'm not Stephen Hawking.

Always getting paralytic he was.

Well if you bought 20 cans and a bottle of spirits and woke up the next day and they were gone it's safe to assume you drank them.

If i have 50 quid in my pocket and a pint is a fiver,when i run out of money i know i've drank ten pints. Take out 2 50s and drink that at a fiver a pint it's 20 pints.

Bottle of whiskey by the bed..drink it and you've drank a bottle of whiskey.

its really not difficult

It's easy to do the maths when you buy twenty cans and there's none left, but it's a different kettle of fish if you are out drinking with other people over the course of a long day, in different pubs, through rounds, people dissapearing, reappearing etc, etc. It's usually not such an exact process of deduction.

As for the argument that if pints cost a fiver, therefore if I have no change from a fifty it stands to reason that I have drunk ten, well I can't argue with that logic. But usually drunkeness has a way of warping all logic, especially when it comes to money. Very few pubs have such a wonderful and precise pricing for pints, usually it's something a little bit over or under. If you're buying rounds too it all gets a bit complicated. I can keep a gimlet eye on my spending up to a point on a night on the beer, but, if it's a big one, the next day I find endless small change and crumpled never to be looked at receipts warring for space in my pockets and me left with only a rough guess, at best, about how much I actually coughed up. And as for how much I actually drank...

• Registered Users Posts: 13,576 ✭✭✭✭josip

16 pints on a pub crawl.
    At the end of which I met the wonderful girl who would later become my wife.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭victor8600

Exactly 500 ml of vodka (at 40%) in ~1 hour. Did not pass out and have the vivid memory of having to literally crawl out of the bed to a waste bin to throw up couple of hours later.

josip wrote: »
    16 pints on a pub crawl.
    At the end of which I met the wonderful girl who would later become my wife.

Alcohol can bring people together in many wonderful ways :)

"Alcohol - because no great story ever started with someone eating a salad"

• Registered Users Posts: 6,587 ✭✭✭Feisar

Alcohol can bring people together in many wonderful ways :)

"Alcohol - because no great story ever started with someone eating a salad"

Obligatory "username fits" post.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

If you can remember how much you drank, it probably wasn't that much. I stayed up drinking for three nights once. And I slept the hangover off; those were the days.

Feisar wrote: »
    Obligatory "username fits" post.

I have a reputation to uphold.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Mocha Joe wrote: »
    Is 90% of this thread lies?

I would say embellishment and/or plain old mis-remembering in definitely a lot of cases...a lot of them are definitely not true, or else boards has some of the most hardened wino's the world over!

Personally the most I've ever drank was probably the time I drank a 1L of Captain Morgans, it was over a 12 hour period but I wasn't right for several days afterwards, the hangover was horrific.

Easy to measure how much you're had in that context, or if drinking cans at home, hard when out in the pub drinking pints though. Last weekend I was at a funeral and there was around 12/13 pints had that day. Doubt I've ever had much more than that in one session.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭raze_them_all_

I would say embellishment and/or plain old mis-remembering in definitely a lot of cases...a lot of them are definitely not true, or else boards has some of the most hardened wino's the world over!

Personally the most I've ever drank was probably the time I drank a 1L of Captain Morgans, it was over a 12 hour period but I wasn't right for several days afterwards, the hangover was horrific.

Easy to measure how much you're had in that context, or if drinking cans at home, hard when out in the pub drinking pints though. Last weekend I was at a funeral and there was around 12/13 pints had that day. Doubt I've ever had much more than that in one session.
    Body weight and frequency of drinking have a lot to play

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,015 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

Crock Rock wrote: »
    I'm not a well built man, I'm 171 cm and 70ish kg.

Over the course of a 15 hour session (mixture of drinking at home and in a pub) I had:

6 cans of Guinness.
    5 pints of Beamish.
    3 bottles of Guinness.
    3 pints of Murphys Stout.

I was stocious and in bits the next day.

You?

Sitting? Lightweight ;)