Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Boards GS 1st Outing - Portmarnock Links - 22nd February 2020 - 11am

• Registered Users Posts: 20,740 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Was out for 12 today a "warm up" :D

Suppose most here play a bit of winter golf , but just in case. I'll post what I wore. YOu could get away with a little less but not much.

Had 4 layers on top

underamour
    normal golf top
    fleece type
    and then rain gear to break wind

2 layers on legs
    trouser and rain gear legging.

On head
    2 hats - unusual , but can make a difference on a real hardcore day (a thin one, and normal one).

Socks - proper thick winter socks. If you don't , wear two thin pairs. Trust me.

I had hand warmers - only used a small bit

Other tips lads do

A flask is always a pleasure , but a bit awkward
    Some type of cream on face - are actual creams , but basically a moisturizers
    Keep moving
    Some guys wear lined or long johns. (raingear will do if stuck)
    Right and left hand normal golf glove
    Chocolate.

Possibility of a bit of rain , 10m/s and 6 degrees.

Hopefully all that increases or drops a little.

Anyway - just a few basic tips , will be a great day.

I just posted how i dressed today :D
    I also had a bra a jocks on.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,055 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

In Portmarnock? Ohh, dunno i about that. Should be a 5 shot penalty for getting to play it so soon to the big day :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭Golfgraffix

wZkGx7h
    Was looking at last years thread & think GolfGraffix won the event with 39 points. Not sure which tees were used that day?

Yep it was the whites. Some good golf. Started with a double and ended with a triple.

Kiith wrote: »
    In Portmarnock? Ohh, dunno i about that. Should be a 5 shot penalty for getting to play it so soon to the big day :pac:

No wouldn't do that.

• Registered Users Posts: 264 ✭✭doublecross

wZkGx7h

Yep it was the whites. Some good golf. Started with a double and ended with a triple.

That triple on 18 was spectacular. Full Sergio in the bunker

• Registered Users Posts: 292 ✭✭princess poppy

We’ll be grand, getting better already

• Registered Users Posts: 8,434 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

Iang87 wrote: »
    Quick Handicap related question. My gui handicap is active at 18 after being inactive for 8 months (the golf didn't improve anyway) so will i be off that on Saturday or will i be off 14?

Hi Iang87. If you have an active GUI handicap, you will start in the society off that level

Just spoke with the head Greenkeeper, course will be open. Expect very gusty conditions, up to 70kph. Greens were not cut today and won’t be tomorrow, so it will be as tough as it gets there but playable. In fact it will be enjoyable, good test.

We will be off greens, so a good bit shorter. Looks like a South Westerly so it will help on some of the tougher holes

• Registered Users Posts: 8,434 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

Just spoke with the head Greenkeeper, course will be open. Expect very gusty conditions, up to 70kph. Greens were not cut today and won’t be tomorrow, so it will be as tough as it gets there but playable. In fact it will be enjoyable, good test.

We will be off greens, so a good bit shorter. Looks like a South Westerly so it will help on some of the tougher holes

Great news GolfGraffix re the course being open...not so much the gusts though :o

Looking forwards to the test. Sounds like its set up for some of our Winter League Links specialists

• Registered Users Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭willabur

sounds great - there is nothing like links in the wind

Great news GolfGraffix re the course being open...not so much the gusts though :o

Looking forwards to the test. Sounds like its set up for some of our Winter League Links specialists

Would have to agree - changing a good bit of swing , so won't be at much myself.

By the way - after looking at weather 27 points a good score.

Would have to agree - changing a good bit of swing , so won't be at much myself.

I’m going with 32 points win

• Registered Users Posts: 264 ✭✭doublecross

A good score, but still think you'll need something around 40 pts for the win

• Registered Users Posts: 15,824 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

A good score, but still think you'll need something around 40 pts for the win

with the weather like this anyone who shoots anywhere near 40 points tomorrow will be having a serious handicap review

• Registered Users Posts: 2,856 ✭✭✭The Big Easy

Looking forward to tomorrow now! Have not touched the clubs since Dooks!!!!

Best of luck for the year ahead Space, a fitting captain to follow in Benny's esteemed footsteps. And I'll be doing my best to be early, having read back through the thread, sorry for causing all your bad play Benny! :D

In all seriousness, appreciate the effort that goes into it from everyone, and timekeeping is one of my growth areas for this year ;) Will definitely be early enough tomorrow to sample the chipping area, have not seen it in two previous visits, eek!

Thanks again J, for helping get us out on such a fabulous course. Small bit of sunshine and we'll be away!

Seve OB wrote: »
    with the weather like this anyone who shoots anywhere near 40 points tomorrow will be having a serious handicap review

Anybody shooting 40 tomorrow will be bundled into the boot of a car and buried in a shallow grave somewhere in the mountains

• Registered Users Posts: 349 ✭✭Break80

Anybody shooting 40 tomorrow will be bundled into the boot of a car and buried in a shallow grave somewhere in the mountains

Along with the handicap secretary

• Registered Users Posts: 8 timgolfer

Good luck everyone tomorrow, can’t wait to get the sticks out! I’m not used to these Lynks courses on a good day! So should be fun!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,856 ✭✭✭The Big Easy

Suppose most here play a bit of winter golf , but just in case. I'll post what I wore. YOu could get away with a little less but not much.

Had 4 layers on top

underamour
    normal golf top
    fleece type
    and then rain gear to break wind

2 layers on legs
    trouser and rain gear legging.

On head
    2 hats - unusual , but can make a difference on a real hardcore day (a thin one, and normal one).

Socks - proper thick winter socks. If you don't , wear two thin pairs. Trust me.

I had hand warmers - only used a small bit

Other tips lads do

A flask is always a pleasure , but a bit awkward
    Some type of cream on face - are actual creams , but basically a moisturizers
    Keep moving
    Some guys wear lined or long johns. (raingear will do if stuck)
    Right and left hand normal golf glove
    Chocolate.

Possibility of a bit of rain , 10m/s and 6 degrees.

Hopefully all that increases or drops a little.

Anyway - just a few basic tips , will be a great day.

I just posted how i dressed today :D
    I also had a bra a jocks on.

Cheers for the heads up Fix, just checked the weather there! Will definitely be going for the long johns. Always love the idea of sipping on a hip flask during a winter's day of links golf.

in fairness you should fit in my boot .

• Registered Users Posts: 443 ✭✭a post punk

If I can double my score from last year I’ll have 34 points :)!!
    Just back from the range it was great practice for tomorrow hitting into that Gale......

• Registered Users Posts: 349 ✭✭Break80

Anyone else up at stupid o clock?

• Registered Users Posts: 592 ✭✭✭rickis tache

Best of luck lads.
    Would of loved to join ye today but..... Stupid kids...
    Will be on later looking forward to reading the reports and results.
    To space, best of luck with your year as captain. Enjoy it lads.

looks ok out there ?

Obviously very windy , but could have been way worse like yesterday evening.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,824 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

Just went out to drop kids to gymnastics . It’s quite nice out there. Not mad cold, and wind is gusty and not a complete gale

Edit...... well a kid. The other 2 had me up for a few hours last night while they were getting sick. Kinda tired now :(

• Registered Users Posts: 241 ✭✭Snackbox20

Wanted to thank Spacecoyote and commitee for a fantastic day's golf.
    Great to have met Tigerwood1, os_head, and golf head65 (well done on your 2 BTW).
    Brilliant to meet everyone and looking forward to the next outing at the curragh.
    Should have taken driver out on the first 😔😊😊

Thanks to Golfgaffix , Space and the committee for great day out. What a great golf course.

In the end the weather was ok - very high wind speeds as expected, but only one hole where it got a bit out of control with an ice cold heavy downpour. The 4 layers were needed for that 15 mins anyway :).

Fair play to everyone getting around - fantastic pace of play and some great scores in the 30s coming in. A Corballis man on top makes sense.

I was happy enough with my own game, almost in the 30s - except got a two shot penalty playing from the wrong marker - was admiring the airplanes trying to land in the wind and got distracted. Them looking down at us from above, saying are they "crazy to play golf".

Some great ball striking in our group from BigChap , but was a day nothing happened on the greens for the 4 of us (Scubapro and Alanm). At times you were almost blown off the stance of the putt and the ball broke with the wind if you didn't commit.

Thanks for picking the green tees, good call - would have been hard work any further back at all.

Back to course, fantastic variety of holes , shapes, lengths - the rough is not too high , so there wasn't much ball searching.

Hopefully catch a few more outings this year. A great start to the year , thanks again.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,055 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

Really enjoyed the round today, bar that 20 minute stretch where the sky opened up. Absolutley freezing for a while. Dried out nicely in the end though. Enjoyed my time with jarriet, Brian Rossite and willabur. Willabur shot 34 points, which i believe was winning when i had to leave. I played well enough, with 32 points. That wind was a killer on some holes, especially the par 3's. Had to aim 50 yards off center, and it still went wide.

I did miss the ball on my drive at the 10th though...which was hilariously bad.

Thanks to spacecoyote and the committee for arranging everything.

Brilliant day. Really enjoyed that round even if I was questioning life choices while that rain was beating down. Organisation was top notch lads, thanks to all involved. Great playing partners also, the 4+ hours flew by

Kiith wrote: »
    Really enjoyed the round today, bar that 20 minute stretch where the sky opened up. Absolutley freezing for a while. Dried out nicely in the end though. Enjoyed my time with jarriet, Brian Rossite and willabur. Willabur shot 34 points, which i believe was winning when i had to leave. I played well enough, with 32 points. That wind was a killer on some holes, especially the par 3's. Had to aim 50 yards off center, and it still went wide.

I did miss the ball on my drive at the 10th though...which was hilariously bad.

Thanks to spacecoyote and the committee for arranging everything.

You came third in the end kiith - could have easily won it today had you avoided one or two of those scratches. For an 18 handicapper you really can stripe that driver 👌👌