Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Family of seven sleep in Garda station Mod note post one

• Site Banned Posts: 272 ✭✭Loves_lorries

I'd still consider myself to lean left on most issues but this isn't an issue of left or right, its about cop on and personal responsibility. The government shouldn't have to deal with this nonsense (our original topic I mean) in an ideal world.

Housing is another thing altogether, we can't keep up with an ever increasing population so of course prices are going to rise whether its the rental market or the sales market. There are housing problems all over the world because of over population but no politician wants to touch that issue. They might as well paint a swastika on their forehead if they did.

If you lean left in Ireland, your natural home is fine Gael.

Every other party is proper left or hard left or looney left, that's how socialist Ireland is.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

I truly don't know how I'll vote come the next General Election.

I would have always been towards Labour/FG but can't endorse the current system. I got excited to see the Social Dems when they appeared on the scene. After Ruth Coppinger's appearance on Prime Time last night (calling for people to break and enter other people's properties and squat), they won't be getting a vote from me.

I mean who does it leave??! (FF and SF were never in any danger of getting my vote!!)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,031 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

It's a hard one

I voted Independent last time but now the plonker has joined FG this time

No way he's getting my vote now

• Registered Users Posts: 5,745 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

Oh yeah I'd be considered super liberal in America.

But when I was younger i was an idiot. :o

You're luck you got over it, pretty sure I'm still an idiot ;)
    Would a government really pump all this money into social housing during their term . Its the taxpayer that would have to fund it by paying a huge amount of tax . People would leave ireland to work. Less money from tax. More increases . More people leave . Less people choose to work . More demand for social housing.

Cant wait

That's why I had to laugh at the news last night when Eoghan and his buddies were on a balcony looking out over all the sites they are promising to build houses on. Only they can save us now.

Than the expert in the studio basically rubbished the whole plan. Not in any nasty way but simply by explaining how wrong it all was. Classic Ireland.

KrustyUCC wrote: »
    It's a hard one

I voted Independent last time but now the plonker has joined FG this time

No way he's getting my vote now

I voted independent once too but what's the point? They either get absorbed by the parties you didn't want to vote for or they can get absolutely nothing done by staying independent.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,837 ✭✭✭Sweet.Science

You're luck you got over it, pretty sure I'm still an idiot ;)

That's why I had to laugh at the news last night when Eoghan and his buddies were on a balcony looking out over all the sites they are promising to build houses on. Only they can save us now.

Than the expert in the studio basically rubbished the whole plan. Not in any nasty way but simply by explaining how wrong it all was. Classic Ireland.

Its all spin for votes . Remember that government mortgage plan that was rolled out 6 months ago ... Wonder what happened to that . It was drivel but people believed it

Oh definitely. Any scheme they have tried to put in place has only raised housing prices.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

Its all spin for votes . Remember that government mortgage plan that was rolled out 6 months ago ... Wonder what happened to that . It was drivel but people believed it

There is a thread here in boards and many have got a mortgage through that scheme.

You are talking drivel.

• Site Banned Posts: 272 ✭✭Loves_lorries

I truly don't know how I'll vote come the next General Election.

I would have always been towards Labour/FG but can't endorse the current system. I got excited to see the Social Dems when they appeared on the scene. After Ruth Coppinger's appearance on Prime Time last night (calling for people to break and enter other people's properties and squat), they won't be getting a vote from me.

I mean who does it leave??! (FF and SF were never in any danger of getting my vote!!)

Ruth coppinger isn't a social Democrats member.
    . The social Democrats are nothing more than a home for disillusioned Labour Party voters. They are wooly Liberals who offer nothing to the Irish middle class.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 886 ✭✭✭NasserShammaz

Loathsome man. That Lidl tweet was a disgrace. Worse again were the swarm of gimps who rushed to like it (No doubt mostly middle class dwellers of nice crime-free areas who will never have to endure anti social behaviour).

Christ on a rope is that still on telly I bet he's making a ****in documentary or something now he's run out of characters to play

mynamejeff wrote: »
    Damn those settled people objecting to being robbed and brutalized by gangs of travellers roaming the country side with impunity conscious or consequence.
    Actually, I'm talking about things like openly sniggering at travellers, using group epithets towards them like 'knacker', and refusing to employ them on the basis of their ethnicity.

Like i said, both travellers and the settled community need to change their ways -- travellers have a lot to change, too.

As for not knowing any travellers, I don't think i need to prove myself to some randomer on a bulletin board.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,758 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

Actually, I'm talking about things like openly sniggering at travellers, using group epithets towards them like 'knacker', and refusing to employ them on the basis of their ethnicity.

Like i said, both travellers and the settled community need to change their ways -- travellers have a lot to change, too.

As for not knowing any travellers, I don't think i need to prove myself to some randomer on a bulletin board.

I'll change my opinion when travellers change their behaviour.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 670 ✭✭✭sightband

refusing to employ them on the basis of their ethnicity.

does this really happen though? do many of them actually seek employment? I've never come across a paye working traveller. they aren't all being refused employment, they just don't look for work i suspect. if one came to me looking for work with the right qualifications, experience, attitude and well presented...would i give them a chance? no f*cking way ;)

it's mainly stuff like being refused entry to pubs, because they destroy them and also being asked to leave shops, because they rob them blind.

Actually, I'm talking about things like openly sniggering at travellers

100% do not know anyone who would dare do this for fear of getting the sh*t kicked out of them. I wouldn't even call the women out on their blackface tanning regimes for the same reason.

I do agree change is needed on both sides but they live in Ireland so should be subject to the same laws as the rest of us.

sightband wrote: »
    does this really happen though? do many of them actually seek employment? I've never come across a paye working traveller.

Have seen this once in my life.

it's mainly stuff like being refused entry to pubs, because they destroy them and also being asked to leave shops, because they rob them blind.

Have seen both many times.

I voted independent once too but what's the point? They either get absorbed by the parties you didn't want to vote for or they can get absolutely nothing done by staying independent.

True

I absolutely believe in voting though so i needed somebody to vote for

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 670 ✭✭✭sightband

A family member is from Moate, Westmeath. Good number of pikeys around those parts. When one of them dies and there’s a funeral, all five pubs in the town close for the day. They know the loss of earnings for a day versus the risk of either having the place thrashed or having to pay compo for refusing them is a no brainer.

That situation is repeated up and down the country

Some would claim that's racism

Nope just prior experience

Publicans are in a crap situation. Let travellers in and risk having your place trashed and losing your regulars. Don't let them in and possibly be breaking the law.

I worked in a pub that began to serve travellers. That lasted all of two weeks. The owner wasn't so keen on serving them after they wrecked the gaff.

Yet the next bunch in would get compo if refused service

Damned if you do damned if you don't

A family member is from Moate, Westmeath. Good number of pikeys around those parts. When one of them dies and there’s a funeral, all five pubs in the town close for the day. They know the loss of earnings for a day versus the risk of either having the place thrashed or having to pay compo for refusing them is a no brainer.

One kind publican in my town used to let his regulars in the back door while making sure the shutters out the front were shut tight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭xi5yvm0owc1s2b

...refusing to employ them on the basis of their ethnicity.

Plenty of employers will readily hire other ethnic and racial minorities, but will have reservations about employing travellers. Why? Not because of their ethnicity, but because of the documented prevalence of violence and criminality in the traveller community.

Also, if you cross one traveller, you can have the entire local traveller community coming after you. If a shop owner hires young Mary McDonagh to work in his business, and later discovers that she's been helping herself to the contents of the till, he probably faces intimidation and threats of violence from the entire local Quinn-McDonagh-Nevin connection if he has to fire her. He has legitimate reason to fear for his personal safety and for his business premises. Logical conclusion: Don't take the risk. Don't hire Mary McDonagh in the first place.

It's all very well for academics to sit in their ivory towers and write papers about discrimination and ethnicity and the plight of the poor travellers. Any business owner in Ireland knows it's far more complicated than that.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

sure

long as you dont expect people to believe your made up BS and fantasy stories :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

Actually, I'm talking about things like openly sniggering at travellers, using group epithets towards them like 'knacker', and refusing to employ them on the basis of their ethnicity
    It is not just because of their ethnicity - and well you know it.

uio.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭BBFAN

What has any of this got to do with the thread?

It is not just because of their ethnicity - and well you know it.
    It can be, though.

People on this thread have openly admitted they wouldn't hire travellers (assuming for one moment they might actually be in a position to do so).

Obviously, there are HUGE problems with anti-social behaviour within the travelling community: petty crime, serious crime, domestic violence, even drug-dealing.

But to think that they are all like this, and to fail to draw a connection between these problems and a widespread refusal to employ a traveller, is pretty myopic.

The same people complaining that travellers tend to be unemployed are the very same people who declare they'd never give a traveller a job, regardless.

It's still not because of ethnicity in and of itself - it's exactly what you mentioned: the disproportionate amount of violence, crime etc. Absolutely, not all travellers partake in same, but the risk is higher. That's what it's about - risk minimisation. Something all who hire staff need to be profoundly aware of, when it comes to anything or anyone. With travellers too, there is the additional risk of family ties even if the individual is ok.

Maybe if the person doing the hiring knows them and their family, what you say should apply.

Yes I already made the point there's no point complaining about travellers being unemployed while also understanding why they wouldn't be hired. But it's the problems in their community that are the cause of this, not mean settled people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭xi5yvm0owc1s2b

But to think that they are all like this, and to fail to draw a connection between these problems and a widespread refusal to employ a traveller, is pretty myopic.

The problem laid out on this thread is that Margaret Cash left school at 12, got married at 15, got pregnant at 16, and is a welfare-dependent mother of seven children by age 28.

Even if she wanted to work, her options are obviously limited by her lack of formal education, her borderline illiteracy, and her criminal record.

The best she could do would be to get a minimum wage job -- but then who would mind the children while she's working? The oldest is just 11. The childcare costs would far outweigh the income from employment.

She's stuck in a poverty trap created by her own traveller culture. No child should have been taken out of school at 12 and married off at 15. That's just wrong.

Complain about discrimination and ethnicity all you want, but Margaret Cash's situation arose because of traditions of early school leaving and early marriage found throughout traveller culture. Following those traditions has put her in the position she's in.