Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irexit Freedom Party

• Registered Users Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭Nate--IRL--

LOL

That is all.

Nate

• Registered Users Posts: 37,295 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

They seem to want Ireland to have no option but to rejoin the UK. What a shower of c***s!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 37,041 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Mod: We already have a thread in Politics so I have moved this.

We sat again for an hour and a half discussing maps and figures and always getting back to that most damnable creation of the perverted ingenuity of man - the County of Tyrone.

H. H. Asquith

• Registered Users Posts: 36,078 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Who is funding them? If you get an answer to that I bet the answer will clearly indicate they have no true interest in Ireland or its interests.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭Dr Brown

These lads will definitely be getting my vote.

The men of 1916 did not die so that Ireland could be ruled by the EU.

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    Who is funding them? If you get an answer to that I bet the answer will clearly indicate they have no true interest in Ireland or its interests.

How do you know they even have funding ?

You don't need much funding to start a party.

Other parties have been set up in Ireland from people who had little or no money.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,749 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    who is funding them? indirectly the us/EU is, their previous conference was funded by the EU party EFDD Herman Kelly is the spokesperson for https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Europe_of_Freedom_and_Direct_Democracy https://www.facebook.com/events/157396868222390/

• Registered Users Posts: 2,240 ✭✭✭MayoSalmon

Nobody will pass any heed on them..the Irish love the EU whether they want to admit to it or not.

• Registered Users Posts: 36,078 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Dr Brown wrote: »

Nor did they die to thether themselves to Britain's ultimate folly.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 37,041 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Why do people come out with nonsense like this? Do you have to repeat it so many times to ensure that you keep believing it. The EU does not rule Ireland.

The one positive thing about Brexit is that it's the best pro-EU argument that's ever been made.

We sat again for an hour and a half discussing maps and figures and always getting back to that most damnable creation of the perverted ingenuity of man - the County of Tyrone.

H. H. Asquith

• Registered Users Posts: 10,668 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

So the EU is ruling so it would not matter what party would be in government as everything happening can't be Fina Gaels fault it's all the EU

The one positive thing about Brexit is that it's the best pro-EU argument that's ever been made.

How? If anything it shows exactly how protectionist and full of beauracarcy the EU is.

Like falling down a well and literally no way out..cesspit of a yoke gone way way past it's mandate.

MayoSalmon wrote: »
    How? If anything it shows exactly how protectionist and full of beauracarcy the EU is.

Like falling down a well and literally no way out..cesspit of a yoke gone way way past it's mandate.

How on earth does it show that, exactly? The second half of your post is just meaningless soundbytes. By all means, add specifics if you know of any.

H. H. Asquith

How on earth does it show that, exactly? The second half of your post is just meaningless soundbytes. By all means, add specifics if you know of any.

The onus is on you to prove your argument that the Brexit negotiations are somehow showing the great worth of the EU.

The EU does not rule Ireland.

What are you talking about ?

We can't even pass a budget without EU approval.

They also control our interest rates because we locked into the Euro currency which is run for the benefit of Germany.

https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2011/nov/18/ireland-budget-germany-leak

What are you talking about ?

We can't even pass a budget without EU approval.

They also control our interest rates because we locked into the Euro currency which is run for the benefit of Germany.

https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2011/nov/18/ireland-budget-germany-leak

Not remotely the same as ruling a country. Ireland is free to leave the Euro.

H. H. Asquith

Not remotely the same as ruling a country. Ireland is free to leave the Euro.

If you control the budget/money then you control the country.

Also we can't even have our own Immigration policy because of the EU.

The Lisbon treaty specifically mentions “burden-sharing” in terms of "refugee" policy.

A country that can not control its borders is not a country.

http://www.immigrationcontrol.org/lisbon.html

• Registered Users Posts: 23,776 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

The Lisbon treaty specifically mentions “burden-sharing” in terms of "refugee" policy.

Thats one vote for Ireland's version of Golden Dawn so. You will never be convinced of your own nonsense so i wont even try.

I'm happy enough however that despite some bumps in the road, the vast majority of Irish people know and support the fact that our EEC / EC / EU membership has been single biggest factor in turning Ireland from the stagnating social and economic basket case it was by 1970 into one of the richest, most modern, open, progressive, influential, educated, flexible, diverse exemplar of a small nation anywhere in the World. Of course we have problems that need solving, no nation is ever complete, but the societal solutions are ours to debate and decide, within the EU principles we adopted.

I look forward to the Irexit Freedom Party getting more air-time. If their spokespeople are every time going to made as much of a twonk as Hermann Kelly was the other night, it'll be great entertainment.

Utter nonsense. Ireland signed up to both.

H. H. Asquith

Utter nonsense. Ireland signed up to both.

Yes and we signed away our freedom.

The men of 1916 are turning in the graves.

Larbre34 wrote: »
    Thats one vote for Ireland's version of Golden Dawn so. You will never be convinced of your own nonsense so i wont even try.

I'm happy enough however that despite some bumps in the road, the vast majority of Irish people know and support the fact that our EEC / EC / EU membership has been single biggest factor in turning Ireland from the stagnating social and economic basket case it was by 1970 into one of the richest, most modern, open, progressive, influential, educated, flexible, diverse exemplar of a small nation anywhere in the World. Of course we have problems that need solving, no nation is ever complete, but the societal solutions are ours to debate and decide, within the EU principles we adopted.

I look forward to the Irexit Freedom Party getting more air-time. If their spokespeople are every time going to made as much of a twonk as Hermann Kelly was the other night, it'll be great entertainment.

You should check your history Ireland was actually booming in the 1960s before we even joined the EU.

But if Ireland had joined the EU in 1960s the Europhiles would have claimed the growth of the economy was because of the EU.

I also look forward to the Irexit party getting air-time because they will blow many of the pro EU arguments out of the water.

Like the claim the EU "gave us money" when in reality they took far more money from us in terms of our fishing industry then they ever gave us.

But Irish politicians we never talk about this because they want to get on the EU gravy train just like Pádraig Flynn and others.

The only reason the Irish love the EU so much is because of the pro EU Propaganda that is pumped through the Irish media and the "education" system. When I was in school we use to have a class called "civics" which was nothing but EU Propaganda.

Hermann Kelly tried to blow the Pro EU arguments out of the water on 'Tonight' during the week and he was made to look a bloody fool and a fascist. Even Ming Flanagan dismantled him.

Fishing? Imagine an Ireland that never entered the EEC, having to spend billions on fishery protection ships from the fleets of EU countries coming to our waters to clean up. The CFP isnt ideal but the overfished stocks must be protected and a common set of rules in the Region is the way to do that.

You mention it in isolation of course to suit your agenda, but what about Agriculture - Irish produce has the springboard of strong EU quality guarantees to become among the highest regarded in the World. And IT and Pharma and Innovation and Hospitality and Aircraft Leasing and BioTech... You know the high value stuff that actually employs people?

The common market has revolutionised Ireland. Your 1960s boom was nothing more than state agencies burning cash and some people in Stillorgan buying mini-skirts. Proof? It was a house of cards, killed by the first sniff of an oil crisis. Ireland would be in the toilet without the EU, but you already knew that.

Larbre34 wrote: »
    Hermann Kelly tried to blow the Pro EU arguments out of the water on 'Tonight' during the week and he was made to look a bloody fool and a fascist. Even Ming Flanagan dismantled him.

Fishing? Imagine an Ireland that never entered the EEC, having to spend billions on fishery protection ships from the fleets of EU countries coming to our waters to clean up. The CFP isnt ideal but the overfished stocks must be protected and a common set of rules in the Region is the way to do that.

You mention it in isolation of course to suit your agenda, but what about Agriculture - Irish produce has the springboard of strong EU quality guarantees to become among the highest regarded in the World. And IT and Pharma and Innovation and Hospitality and Aircraft Leasing and BioTech... You know the high value stuff that actually employs people?

The common market has revolutionised Ireland. Your 1960s boom was nothing more than state agencies burning cash and some people in Stillorgan buying mini-skirts. Proof? It was a house of cards, killed by the first sniff of an oil crisis. Ireland would be in the toilet without the EU, but you already knew that.

The main reason the industries you mention are in Ireland is because of our low corporation tax not the EU.

As for the economy we had several down turns since the 1960s even though we part of the EU. The fact of the matter is that the country was booming in the 1960s without the help of the EU.

To say that Ireland would be in the toilet without the EU is laughable in the extreme. We would of got out of the recession far quicker if the EU hadn't forced us to pay off the banking debt.

Just ask the people of Greece how the EU has helped them over the past 10 years they literally are in the toilet.

You need to decide on your chickens and eggs dear boy. We wouldn't have had the prosperity to the level that predicated the scale of the recession in the first place. Yes, cheap money due to euro membership was a big part of the puzzle, but the banking regulation, or lack of it, and the fiscal mess was all home grown.

The EU had to be harsh on Ireland as not to reward poor governance just as they had to be harsh on Greece for the same reason. Yes, Greece shouldnt have been admitted to the Euro in the first place, but their rampant corruption and mis-appropriation had to be tackled for the sake of future generations too.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 38,745 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

What freedoms have we signed away?
    Why are they turning in their graves? Because we are part of a large union that works for all members equally?
    Did they spin around when we were run by the church and one of the most backward countries in Europe?

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 38,745 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

The main reason the industries you mention are in Ireland is because of our low corporation tax not the EU.
    Other countries have relatively similar effective corp tax rates.
    We have the attraction of having a well educated population of native English speakers who jave close ties with both America and Europe.
    But none of that obviously counts.
    As for the economy we had several down turns since the 1960s even though we part of the EU. The fact of the matter is that the country was booming in the 1960s without the help of the EU.
    As for Ireland booming in the 60s: no we weren't! There was some growth but nothing in comparison to after we joined the EU.
    Rural Ireland in the 60s was a complete craphole.
    To say that Ireland would be in the toilet without the EU is laughable in the extreme. We would of got out of the recession far quicker if the EU hadn't forced us to pay off the banking debt.
    We were in the toilet before the EU with very conservative economic policies. The aid from the EU along with being compelled to adhere to modern policies helped us out of the toilet to the point that were not a progressive multicultural nation.
    Just ask the people of Greece how the EU has helped them over the past 10 years they literally are in the toilet.
    Check your sources. Greece dug a massive hole for themselves through reckless economic policies. They had a choice when the crap hit the fan: take loans from Europe and follow economic prudence or leave the EU. They made the choice and are now on the road to recovery. If it was so bad their socialist government wouldnt have stucknwith the big bad EU but that doesnt follow your bulls**t narrative!

Soundbytes tend to make for abysmal economic arguments. But then, we knew that before Brexit added to the sheer mountain of proof.

H. H. Asquith

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,102 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

I doubt the 'men' of 1916 would support anything about this gang.

as a "patriotic party" it is "pro-nationalist and supportive of stable families for procreation".

Alarm bells right there.

spurious wrote: »
    I doubt the 'men' of 1916 would support anything about this gang.

as a "patriotic party" it is "pro-nationalist and supportive of stable families for procreation".

Alarm bells right there.

That's just common sense the family unit is the building block of any nation.

What freedoms have we signed away?

Immigration policy and monetary policy just to name two.

Why are they turning in their graves?
    Because we gave away our sovereignty to the EU. What do you think 1916 was all about ?

Because we are part of a large union that works for all members equally?
    So the EU works equally well for Ireland as it does for Germany ?

Did they spin around when we were run by the church and one of the most backward countries in Europe?
    The church hasn't had serious influence in Ireland for decades.

Politically Correct Liberalism is the new religion of modern Ireland.