Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Covid Unemplyment Payment for Part-Time Farmers

• 01-04-2020 12:11pm
    Registered Users Posts: 198 ✭✭

Has anyone got insight into the following...

If you are laid off from a full time job for a number of weeks but are still operating as a part time self employed farmer - then can you claim the €350/week payment from welfare?

Thanks.

• Registered Users Posts: 820 ✭✭✭Sugarbowl

In that situation here. Applied but have heard nothing back.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,088 ✭✭✭aaakev

From what iv heard yes you can. There is a big thread with loads of info in the covid 19 forum

Any Suckler/Part time farmers receive a payment today if ye lost ye’re main job?

• Registered Users Posts: 43,024 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Farm needs to "cease trading"

You will get the 350.00 but when it's all over Revenue will be looking back with a fine toothed comb

Wouldn't bother if you have any means to keep going

• Registered Users Posts: 1,275 ✭✭✭august12

You will get the 350.00 but when it's all over Revenue will be looking back with a fine toothed comb

What is the definition of 'cease trading', if a farmer unfortunately had a restricted herd and just got the all clear in the last few days and now marts are closed, would one be able to claim this payment on grounds of no income stream.
    Forgot to add, full time farming.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,384 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Why would they be any different to another PAYE worker that’s lost their job? Lots of part time farmers in jobs that would have been hit hard by this. They deserve the same support as anyone else if paying PAYE, PRSI and USC

Didn’t get the payment in the first run so I’m guessing it’s the farm that has me withheld from it.

My wage is now gone and a few suckie cows are only costing me money! Can’t make sense of it!

Sugarbowl wrote: »
    Didn’t get the payment in the first run so I’m guessing it’s the farm that has me withheld from it.

My wage is now gone and a few suckie cows are only costing me money! Can’t make sense of it!
    That makes no sense, so someone with two jobs wouldn't get it if they lost one job, I understood anyone who had lost a job was entitled to this,

• Registered Users Posts: 2,542 ✭✭✭Cavanjack

august12 wrote: »
    That makes no sense, so someone with two jobs wouldn't get it if they lost one job, I understood anyone who had lost a job was entitled to this,

Also are self employed people who have lost jobs not getting something too?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Still waters

I think this virus business will open a lot of farmers eyes, take away an off farm job and lads will see what's really out of farming and how much of their own money they're putting into it to keep things ticking over, if you're supplementing your farm from your other job you need to have a long look at what's important, if its for the love of it keep a few dry bullocks for the interest, otherwise lads would be better off selling the stock and working their 5 days with no hassle

• Registered Users Posts: 554 ✭✭✭Butcher Boy

A lad said to me the other day that you would want a good job to stay farming now, and do you know what he was not too far wrong.

• Registered Users Posts: 99 ✭✭dunlopwellies

If you are not eligible for the covid payment you should apply for job seekers benefit of you have now lost your primary income. You may well be eligible for that.

• Registered Users Posts: 845 ✭✭✭duffysfarm

Yes, self.employed are getting the €350. The only thing that i can see is that the business has tonhave ceased trading. Thats easy for lets say a hairdresser thats closed but for a farmer that cant buy cattle and has limited market to sell, have they ceased to trade? To me it looks as if this wont apply to farmers unless the clarify what cease to trade is and if it could include a reduction in business

Cavanjack wrote: »
    Also are self employed people who have lost jobs not getting something too?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,539 ✭✭✭20silkcut

Any Suckler/Part time farmers receive a payment today if ye lost ye’re main job?

I received €350 on Tuesday. The farm didn’t stop me getting it. Although they probably felt sorry for me with what I’m getting from the farm.
    Still though between payments and cattle sales the farm brings in nearly twice the revenue that the job brings in, but the profit at the end is wafer thin. And in actual fact for 2018 I got a €60 cheque back from revenue.
    That was the year I sold cattle at the back end for less than I bought them at the front end.

I checked up on my application today, they have no record of it even though I applied over 2 weeks ago. Sent in one online earlier. Fingers crossed this time!

• Registered Users Posts: 198 ✭✭Earnshaw

20silkcut wrote: »
    I received €350 on Tuesday. The farm didn’t stop me getting it. Although they probably felt sorry for me with what I’m getting from the farm.
    Still though between payments and cattle sales the farm brings in nearly twice the revenue that the job brings in, but the profit at the end is wafer thin. And in actual fact for 2018 I got a €60 cheque back from revenue.
    That was the year I sold cattle at the back end for less than I bought them at the front end.

Ya but aren't the depreciation of your capital assets accounted for. As well as expenses like Diesel that you're probably also using outside of the farming activities.

Haven't applied yet either - however from what I'm hearing part-time farmers who are laid off temporarily can get that €350/week C-PUP.

• Registered Users Posts: 845 ✭✭✭duffysfarm

folks - i dont necessarily think that if you apply for it and you get a payment that means that you qualify. I wouldnt be surprised if due to the volume of applications they are paying everyone who has completed the application correctly and they will ask questions later.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,922 ✭✭✭alps

https://www.ifa.ie/covid19/

Click on the Full Details Here Tab and all details about this payment are explained.

Just on that also...one of our girls in college does part time work, and is laid off from that, she's also got the payment..

• Registered Users Posts: 18,468 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

alps wrote: »
    https://www.ifa.ie/covid19/

Click on the Full Details Here Tab and all details about this payment are explained.

Just on that also...one of our girls in college does part time work, and is laid off from that, she's also got the payment..

My daughter is just couple of months too young even with two years stamps paid.

The payment is NOT available to farmers who have lost an off farm job due to COVID..

A farmer must cease trading as well on the farm due to COVID...

This is a blatant oversight and misunderstanding of the value and necessity of the off farm income to many many farmers..

Hopefully this will be sorted next week..

• Registered Users Posts: 2,539 ✭✭✭20silkcut

Earnshaw wrote: »
    Ya but aren't the depreciation of your capital assets accounted for. As well as expenses like Diesel that you're probably also using outside of the farming activities.

Haven't applied yet either - however from what I'm hearing part-time farmers who are laid off temporarily can get that €350/week C-PUP.

The only assets I have are machinery. The capital allowances are long since swallowed up on them. The total value of machinery I own is under 20 grand. Tractor , topper, trailer, fertiliser spreader. I don’t own the farm I’m renting it from my mother.
    A sizeable chunk of farm income is gone on rental payments.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,468 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

The payment is NOT available to farmers who have lost an off farm job due to COVID..

This is a blatant oversight and misunderstanding of the value and necessity of the off farm income to many many farmers..

This is contrary to everything I’ve seen elsewhere.

_Brian wrote: »
    This is contrary to everything I’ve seen elsewhere.

Appreciate any links or info Brian..

Theres a link further up the page.

Girl working in a New York bar, was left off work just after Patrick's Day, returned a week ago, still in isolation, applied for COVID €350 payment and received it this week..

• Registered Users Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Still waters

Girl working in a New York bar, was left off work just after Patrick's Day, returned a week ago, still in isolation, applied for COVID €350 payment and received it this week..

Whats your point

• Registered Users Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭the hedgeman

Dont you get 2 weeks covid 19 isolation payment if you have to go into self isolation and she would have to go into isolation coming in from a foreign country as that seems to be part of the emergency laws now

• Registered Users Posts: 2,137 ✭✭✭Dinzee Conlee

Dont you get 2 weeks covid 19 isolation payment if you have to go into self isolation and she would have to go into isolation coming in from a foreign country as that seems to be part of the emergency laws now

I would have thought it only applies to people who would be working (In iteland) only for covid19?
    If someone lost their job abroad and came home, I don’t think it should apply...

Heard of a few cases all right where people are claiming it and it doesn’t sound right that they should...

I think they can’t be too strict with the checks now, as it would slow it down too much...
    But I hope they go after the people who shouldn’t be getting it after, and hit them with a nice fine for their trouble... but, I dunno if that’ll happen...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭the hedgeman

I would have thought it only applies to people who would be working (In iteland) only for covid19?
    If someone lost their job abroad and came home, I don’t think it should apply...

Heard of a few cases all right where people are claiming it and it doesn’t sound right that they should...

I think they can’t be too strict with the checks now, as it would slow it down too much...
    But I hope they go after the people who shouldn’t be getting it after, and hit them with a nice fine for their trouble... but, I dunno if that’ll happen...

If she is a irish citizen and has to isolate for a minimun of 2 weeks,you would not mind paying the €350 per week,but just for them 2 weeks only.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,359 ✭✭✭tractorporn

I'd love to know where you have found that info. I've applied for the payment and to quote the great Fr Ted Crilly the money is resting in my account. My hours have been halved in work and I need every penny and it wont be there if they come looking for it back!