Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Now ye're talking - to Christmas FM!

• Company Representative Posts: 80 Verified rep ChristmasFM: Ronan

Faith wrote: »
    How much would we need to pay to make "Christmas Shoes" disappear from the rotation forever more?

Make us an offer... Needs to be more than the entire season of donations to Temple Street asking for it. :D

Mint Sauce wrote: »
    What would have to be the minimum amount rasied, to remove Mariah Carey 'All I Want For Xmas' from the Play List?

Ah here, See its not possible to keep everyone happy. Next it will be all mentions of Religious holidays.

Its-Not-Going-to-Happen-Mean-Girls.gif

Why do you play so much shyte Christmas music? "Grandma got run over by a reindeer" etc. There are so many beautiful traditional carols that are available. Why not pop some of these into your playlists instead of the bubblegum tunes you churn out?

Try Christmas FM Classical, might be more your bag.

Why do we play patsy and Elmo, because its awesome and kids love it.

Bob Harris wrote: »
    Ronan is off-air it seems.

Sorry about that. Day Job.

CheerLouth wrote: »
    Is there any song (other than Christmas Shoes :P) that you really dislike and cringe when someone requests it?

We get asked for hard rock Christmas songs on Christmas FM Ireland a lot, its clearly not the style we play. And do hard rockers really listed to Christmas Music?
    CheerLouth wrote: »
    How do you decide who does the Christmas Day shows?

Initially we didn't have Christmas day live, we got complaints here on Boards.ie and other places (text donations complaining etc) about it. I see that a lot in my life people complaining about things that they themselves wouldn't do but expect others to.

The first year it was just me and Walter that volunteered. To be honest the management didn't even ask the volunteers because Christmas day is so special, its a big ask. However you guys (the listeners) were so generous with donations that it made it worthwhile.

Now days i've a toddler and 15 coming to dinner at my house so I don't think i'll be on air Christmas Day but we have no shortage of volunteers. They do shorter shows, 1 to 2 hours. They are busy shows so the people at the top of the tree then choose based on experience and talent. Christmas Fm really does have the best team.

Ronan for president! :pac:

I haven't even done dragons den yet.

Ok keep the questions coming and I'll be back when i can to answer.

Remember we are live on the FM dial from 1pm tomorrow. Less than 22 hours to go.

https://christmasfm.com/christmas-fm-returns-to-the-airwaves-for-2018/

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,316 ✭✭✭nthclare

I love Christmas FM
    Especially on a Saturday morning, driving from Kinvara to Kilfenora Via the Burren Perfumery.
    I was off sick a few years ago and I had to make that journey frequently with my neck in a brace.
    It made the journey more entertaining,as it was foggy and frosty those evenings... really Christmassy.

I've no questions only to say I love Christmas FM

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,935 ✭✭✭TallGlass

Can I do a show?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,166 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

Sir, I want to buy these shoes for my mama, please?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭donkeykong5

Will you be playing red empires charity single for the homeless ?

TallGlass wrote: »
    Can I do a show?

Depends, If you work in Radio and have lots of on air experience then that helps and get in touch for next year.

If you haven't Adrian Nolan teaches a Radio training course and uses our Studio which could be a nice Xmas present to someone. We've picked up some presenters who've done that course.

https://christmasfm.com/training/

Never heard of it, maybe they should enter it into our Coca Cola Christmas Fm song competition. That would give it the most Airplay if its good enough.

Sounds like a great and important cause, but for us we will only be focusing in on our Charity Partner Temple Street Hospital this year.

https://christmasfm.com/songcontest/

Sir, I want to buy these shoes for my mama, please?

The cashier says son there's not enough here

Never heard of it, maybe they should enter it into our Coca Cola Christmas Fm song competition. That would give it the most Airplay if its good enough.

Sounds like a great and important cause, but for us we will only be focusing in on our Charity Partner Temple Street Hospital this year.

https://christmasfm.com/songcontest/
    That's funny because you played it last year. ?.

Erm if you say so, but i'd guess it probably was another presenter. Thats definitely not Friday Night party music that I try to play on my show I'm afraid.

• Registered Users Posts: 372 ✭✭Belfunk

Will Lisa Hannigan - The Christmas Waltz be on the playlist this year?

Looking forward to launch ðŸ‘

Belfunk wrote: »
    Will Lisa Hannigan - The Christmas Waltz be on the playlist this year?

Looking forward to launch ðŸ‘

I'm not sure to be honest, it was there last year and the guys in charge of playlists are still tweaking this years list.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,198 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

I know this wont be popular, but could you end Christmas Fm New Years day instead of the 27th Dec, for me and many others Christmas goes until the New Year.

SCOOP 64 wrote: »
    I know this wont be popular, but could you end Christmas Fm New Years day instead of the 27th Dec, for me and many others Christmas goes until the New Year.

Could be a bit difficult to ask the staff to give up their new years eve as well so that they have a clear head for the final day. For the Volunteers that work the 30 days in a row without a break, i think the few days off is an absolute must. Remember they have to go back to their real make a living jobs straight after Christmas.

Christmas FM will still be on the app, just no live DJs and no FM license as the license period is strict.

Also while some are keen to hear Christmas FM, many need to "find" us and add us to their presets by wandering on the dial for a song they like so being on early helps us get the audience and hence the donations.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,430 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

Not a question but just to say I love Christmas FM, have it tuned in all year round waiting for it to come back on and wait to hear my favourite Christmas song (which I discovered from your station) Donde Esta Santa Claus. Will be listening and donating again this year. Thanks Christmas FM!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,795 ✭✭✭dulux99

Did Mariah Carey end up getting yer man that time for Christmas like she was asking for?

dulux99 wrote: »
    Did Mariah Carey end up getting yer man that time for Christmas like she was asking for?

She did...

mariah-carey-got-face-swapped-with-e28098halloween_s-michael-myers-it_s-now-the-scariest-meme-of-2018-ftr.jpg?w=620&zoom=2

• Registered Users Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Peig Sayers

Try Christmas FM Classical, might be more your bag.

You're grand thanks, I'm a loyal Lyric FM listener ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 8,242 ✭✭✭AllForIt

Yeah we have a great solution for this... its the off button. We don't force anyone to listen and if helping out Temple Street and delivering a little bit of magic is consumerism then sign me up.

I see your point of view, Christmas FM, Christmas music or Christmas itself isn't for everyone. Personally I choose to buy into halloween, Christmas when we are lucky enough to have it ChristMarch. Happiness is a choice, choose your own bliss.

You know what. After I realized that yours is a charity organization I pm'd a mod to delete my comment. But given your response I regret that.

There is no OFF BUTTON when it comes to xmas.

Just today on the news I heard a report that went 'xmas is a hard and stressful time for some ppl'. It's a reality that families don't get on and at xmas they are forced to be together, serving to bring out tensions between families, not alleviate them. How on earth has it come to pass that the lovely xmas is hard on ppl? That doesn't make any sense whatsoever if one really believes in the MAGIC.

It has come to pass because xmas is forced down ppl's throats such that if one has no interest in it one is considered an odd ball. Thats how pernicious xmas has become.

All xmas does for ppl who are less well off or don't have the most loving stable relationships is to remind them what they don't have, some kind of idyllic life that is unattainable in their personal existance.

I'm all for charity, but not on the back of xmas commercialism.

You station may be a charitable organization but I'd argue if you were really charitable you's raise funds some other way that doesn't market xmas as if it were magic, cause it isn't.

AllForIt wrote: »
    Yeah we have a great solution for this... its the off button. We don't force anyone to listen and if helping out Temple Street and delivering a little bit of magic is consumerism then sign me up.

I see your point of view, Christmas FM, Christmas music or Christmas itself isn't for everyone. Personally I choose to buy into halloween, Christmas when we are lucky enough to have it ChristMarch. Happiness is a choice, choose your own bliss.

You know what. After I realized that yours is a charity organization I pm'd a mod to delete my comment. But given your response I regret that.

Just today on the news I heard a report that went 'xmas is a hard and stressful time for some ppl'. It's a reality that families don't get on and at xmas they are forced to be together, serving to bring out tensions between families, not alleviate them. How on earth has it come to pass that the lovely xmas is hard on ppl? That doesn't make any sense whatsoever if one really believes in the MAGIC.

It has come to pass because xmas is forced down ppl's throats such that if one has no interest in it one is considered an odd ball. Thats how pernicious xmas has become.

All xmas does for ppl who are less well off or don't have the most loving stable relationships is to remind them what they don't have, some kind of idyllic life that is unattainable in their personal existance.

You station may be a charitable organization but I'd argue if you were really charitable you's raise funds some other way that doesn't market xmas as if it were magic, cause it isn't.
    So why won't they play red empire charity single all proceeds are going to the homeless.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭god's toy

Quite clearly you rate 'Bob and Doug Sing 12 Days of Christmas' as a D rated song, As I almost never hear it, this is shocking and deserves to an A rated xmas song the world over !!!
    OK some say it should be Z rated but NOT me! No, I think it's up there with the bag of Cats screaming Carey's All I want for Xmas! It's A rated and should be played on the Hour every Hour!!! eh?

• Registered Users, Subscribers Posts: 47,247 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

AllForIt wrote: »

Whatever your issues are with Christmas, the one thing that's clear is that neither Ronan nor the other people who freely give their time to Christmas FM are responsible, so maybe it's best if you don't post in this thread any more. Thanks.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Jude13

So why won't they play red empire charity single all proceeds are going to the homeless.

Where has he said they won't play it? It's supporting one charity, all charities are noble however this station is about one.

5 Mins till we go live.