Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

General MMA Chat/News mk3 - **No Spoilers Use Event Threads**

• Registered Users Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭pablohoney87

Brain damage? drugs? or maybe both. Its hard to tell but whatever it is I hope he gets himself sorted.

Hard to say. I think nick is similar to the likes of Mike Tyson. Clearly has an undiagnosed high debilitating social anxiety and communication disorder which led to him not only being exploited in the business but has impacted his mental health heavily throughout his career.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,733 ✭✭✭ASOT

Nick has been flat out in Vegas the last year or two. I posted a video of him that a mutual friend took In a hotel room out of the head with nun Chuck's haha fair play to him all the same.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,363 ✭✭✭The White Feather

• Registered Users Posts: 2,649 ✭✭✭Whelo79

There a great segment on the Eurobash podcast this week with Tom King on it. He talks about Team KF and their decision to leave SBG etc. Well worth a listen.

• Registered Users Posts: 217 ✭✭bono_v

• Registered Users Posts: 3,116 ✭✭✭dashoonage

Lads/Ladies

does anyone know if 245 will be PPV on BT sports ?

Thinking if it isnt of getting the 1 day pass on NOWtv to watch it

• Registered Users Posts: 304 ✭✭ElBastardo1

dashoonage wrote: »
    Lads/Ladies

does anyone know if 245 will be PPV on BT sports ?

Thinking if it isnt of getting the 1 day pass on NOWtv to watch it

Haven't heard it being on BT Sports Box Office, and i'd be surprised if it was.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,604 ✭✭✭dave1982

• Registered Users Posts: 19,145 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

How can you not love Artem?

• Registered Users Posts: 29,438 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

dave1982 wrote: »

Speaking of Jason, he pummeled 2 guys who confronted him coming out of the jacks.
    Edit: happened over a year a go. His friend posted again to hype the fight.

https://twitter.com/Maclifeofficial/status/1194651815968681984?s=19

• Registered Users Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭Beersmith

Seems pretty quiet regarding announced UFC 2020 events. Will they have a big reveal sometime soon does anyone think?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,919 ✭✭✭simongurnick

Not sure what thread this sbould be, but the russian hammer fights jason knight again in bkfc tomorrow night

• Registered Users Posts: 4,422 ✭✭✭The Rooster

Not sure what thread this sbould be, but the russian hammer fights jason knight again in bkfc tomorrow night
    On TV anywhere?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,642 ✭✭✭Nigzcurran

On TV anywhere?

Tis on my iptv

• Registered Users Posts: 4,604 ✭✭✭dave1982

Lol crazy horse is fighting.. Looper

• Registered Users Posts: 1,535 ✭✭✭Mehaffey1

Ben Askren officially announces his retirement from MMA and says talks with his doctors points him in the direction of needing a hip replacement. Had never heard of these issues before but a sad final chapter to a great fighter and even better entertainer as of lately.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,323 ✭✭✭Homelander

His UFC run wasn't as bad as people make out. Entertaining as hell scraps against Lawler and Maia, and he was totally viable in both despite the adversity, and the Masvidal thing was one of those rare, fluke things that just happen. Glad he made it to UFC, really enjoyed it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,588 ✭✭✭derfderf

I hope he doesn't disappear completely, I think he's hilarious.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,489 ✭✭✭VW 1

Made to be an outspoken pundit. Think he has a great character, and would have loved to see him have a run at the UFC 4-5 years ago.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,649 ✭✭✭Whelo79

There's an event being held in Cork early next year called Fight-Con and Askren is listed as one of the guest speakers at it. Wonderboy is one of the guests too. Could be something decent to go to.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,363 ✭✭✭The White Feather

Whelo79 wrote: »
    There's an event being held in Cork early next year called Fight-Con and Askren is listed as one of the guest speakers at it. Wonderboy is one of the guests too. Could be something decent to go to.

Never knew anything about it until you said it. Thanks for that!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,235 ✭✭✭Esse85

Anyone read the Michael Bisping autobiography?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

Esse85 wrote: »

Yea i got it a few weeks ago and it was a very good read overall.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,840 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Whelo79 wrote: »

A bunch of dreamers behind it, we'll see how it turns out. Alot of promises and money been spent. Think they have went too big for the 1st one.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,798 ✭✭✭✭mailburner

Esse85 wrote: »

I got the audiobook, very good and it would make you appreciate
    the man ever more.

I'd probably go with the book if you prefer that option, the lad doing the
    audio I found very annoying every time he put on an american accent for dana especially.

so what are the best mma books out there?

Griffin, leben, hardy, bisping are the ones I've read so far.
    For me bisping and leben's were the best.

gsp worth a read?

Hooligan will probably be next for me.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,405 ✭✭✭weemcd

mailburner wrote: »
    so what are the best mma books out there?

Griffin, leben, hardy, bisping are the ones I've read so far.
    For me bisping and leben's were the best.

gsp worth a read?

Hooligan will probably be next for me.

Mark Hunt is one of the best I've read so far.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,795 ✭✭✭dulux99

Griffin's first book is brilliant. I've read that three times, much different to the others.

I read Paddy's and it's grand to be honest, no more no less. Chuck Liddells is totally forgettable, I forgot I even read it.

If you want to read a brilliant book about a combat sports athlete I'd recommend Andy Lee's book.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,235 ✭✭✭Esse85

mailburner wrote: »
    I got the audiobook, very good and it would make you appreciate
    the man ever more.

I'd probably go with the book if you prefer that option, the lad doing the
    audio I found very annoying every time he put on an american accent for dana especially.

Rented it from the library, will start it this weekend. I always prefer a book, let's my mind wonder!

weemcd wrote: »
    Mark Hunt is one of the best I've read so far.

read that also, pretty sure there's no other one I've forgotten.

great book also