Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Competition - Win a free 5 page website completed in 60 minutes from Omniserve.ie

• 25-08-2008 9:49am
    Registered Users Posts: 4,897 ✭✭✭

Omniserve.ie have given us a competition for a business website closing this Friday 29th August.

Details below:

We are offering 1 free website to Boards readers of this forum. To win this website on this coming Friday (29th August) we will select the best slogan posted to this thread that starts with

“Irish small businesses need a website now more than ever because …………”

The free website includes:

1. Domain registration of an extension of your choice.
    2. Hosting of your email and website.
    3. Distillation of your requirements and any unique content you want to
    provide using our intelligent "Collecting Your Input" online form.
    4. Organising of your content into a format for the site build.
    5. Basic optimization of your site focusing on your name, business you
    are in and geographical location.
    5. An online meeting with one of our staff where you are taken through the
    build of your site and trained in how to make changes and use the CM4all
    control panel to do this.
    6. Shown how to use features such as blogs that can get you more business
    (here's an example of a client making good use of this to get more gigs for
    their band: http://www.blackwaterband.ie/5930.html ).
    7. Free entry of your new site in our blog which, thanks to being indexed
    every couple of minutes by Google, ensures that your business name and
    primary product area appears in Google organic results very quickly. This
    free post also includes a link to your site and we have tracked
    that click throughs to completed websites from our blog have occurred within minutes of
    the post being indexed.

If anyone else wants ot sponsor a competition please read this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 Omniserve

Thanks Vexorg.

Due to the difficult economic times and the changing way people search for new services(ie via Google rather than traditional methods) small businesses need every help they can get in getting new business from the web. Our objective is to try and get as many small Irish businesses as possible live on the web in the shortest possible time.

We are offering 2 free websites for the best reply to the slogan, one for readers of the Entrepreneurial & Business Management forum and one for readers of the Web Development & Design forum.

I am happy to answer any questions relevant to our competition or the new Omniserve offering.

Regards Eoin

• Registered Users Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭Stab*City

“Small businesses need a website these days because it helps small businesses create big business”

just said id get the ball rolling!!

• Registered Users Posts: 849 ✭✭✭Cr8or

“Irish small businesses need a website now more than ever because of snake oil salesmen (like someone we know).”

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 yeshi

We claim to know SEO because our clients are clueless.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭stevire

Irish small businesses need a website now more than ever because procrastination never pays!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,434 ✭✭✭jhegarty

Irish small businesses need a website now more than ever because a crappy template website should double their business*

*may not be true

• Registered Users Posts: 3,594 ✭✭✭forbairt

6. Shown how to use features such as blogs that can get you more business
    (here's an example of a client making good use of this to get more gigs for
    their band: http://www.blackwaterband.ie/5930.html ).

I like what ye are doing here

61972.png

Shows that the band want people to really think they've created the website themselves :) and that they haven't sold out and used a professional agency / freelancer / student / friend to design the site for them

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

A true example of -- you pay for what you get.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Smcgie

Irish small businesses need a website now more than ever because, as the stone age needed the wheel, as the youth of today need social networking as and as Eastern Europeans need Lidi, without it! … Your on your on in this country". :p

Ps I am in the middle of getting a website designed by the slowest company on earth! – Please release me from this immortal torture. :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 MyClondalkin

Omniserve wrote: »
    Thanks Vexorg.

Due to the difficult economic times and the changing way people search for new services(ie via Google rather than traditional methods) small businesses need every help they can get in getting new business from the web. Our objective is to try and get as many small Irish businesses as possible live on the web in the shortest possible time.

We are offering 2 free websites for the best reply to the slogan, one for readers of the Entrepreneurial & Business Management forum and one for readers of the Web Development & Design forum.

I am happy to answer any questions relevant to our competition or the new Omniserve offering.

Regards Eoin

Hi, your slogan assuming thats what your after, does it have to read "Irish small businesses need a website now more than ever because"?

..or is this to be an opening paragraph or something else ?

Which words do you wish to stress, Irish, small businesses, website etc.. any more ?

• Registered Users Posts: 36 igora

Irish small businesses need a website now more than ever because.... to stay ahead the web is read.

Irish small businesses need a website now more than ever because .....to survive business must go live.

Irish small businesses need a website now more than ever because ...for 24 hours of every day your business will trade the electronic way..

Irish small businesses need a website now more than ever because ....Its fast, its efficient and so worth while and its a great appraisal of your profile.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 confidential

Irish small businesses need a website now more than ever because.....if you want to grow the world needs to know.

Irish small businesses need a website now more than ever because.....the tiger is gone but we must move on.

Irish small businesses need a website now more than ever because.....the business is there if you really care.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭oeb

Irish small businesses need a website now more than ever because I said so and I'm bigger than you.

• Registered Users Posts: 476 ✭✭Pablo

Irish small businesses need a website now more than ever because with over 108,000. registered .IEs and growing at 2,000 a month you are certainly missing out on something big.

Irish small businesses need a website now more than ever because nobody uses the yellowpages any more.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

Well you're not paying for anything in this case are ya?
    Omniserve were good enough to run a Competition for Boardsies and all it gets is begrudging comments from people who coincidently have Web Design links in their Sigs.

I'm not talking about the competition, if there giving away free webdesign then hey - its free. And there contributing to the board (well, free promotion :p). But paying for that type of design, well I suppose if you need something cheap and cheerful..

As for the competition itself, bare in mind that this is not the only company to have run a competition with Boards in the past ;)

But ya, iv gone off the point at hand in this topic. Best of luck to all who enter the competition. Ill throw in a quicky for the craic..

"Irish small businesses need a website now more than ever because eCommerce is the future of business - without a web presence, your company is not reaching its full potential."

"Irish small businesses need a website now more than ever because times have changed - eCommerce is the future for a successful business."

"Irish small businesses need a website now more than ever because an internet presence is key to a successful business"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 273 ✭✭philtaylor

Vexorg wrote: »
    Omniserve.ie have given us a competition for a business website closing this Friday 29th August.

Details below:

If anyone else wants ot sponsor a competition please read this

Irish small businesses need a website now more than ever because you would be DAFT.ie not to!

Is this what the new commercially oriented boards will be like. Pimping out forums for a few hundred quid so daft.ie can justify an investment.

Also I would like to bring it to the attention of the owners of the comp that there website claim is false. That sample website is not first for that search key. its on the first page but half way down it. False Advertising.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,262 ✭✭✭di11on

“Small businesses need a website these days because if you're not online you'll be benign”

“Small businesses need a website these days because without one, you're out of sight”

“Small businesses need a website these days because an online presence delivers real world benefits”

• Registered Users Posts: 4,897 ✭✭✭Vexorg

philtaylor wrote: »

Pimping out forums for a few hundred quid so daft.ie can justify an investment.

Can you explain this?

philtaylor wrote: »
    Is this what the new commercially oriented boards will be like. Pimping out forums for a few hundred quid so daft.ie can justify an investment.

Was done before Daft invested, I don't see much of a problem with it myself. Though I don't see how it benefits the owners - it benefits probably the client and the end user more.
    Also I would like to bring it to the attention of the owners of the comp that there website claim is false. That sample website is not first for that search key. its on the first page but half way down it. False Advertising.

Meh, im sure it was correct at time of print.

di11on wrote: »
    “Small businesses need a website these days because if you're not online you'll be benign”

“Small businesses need a website these days because without one, you're out of sight”

“Small businesses need a website these days because an online presence delivers real world benefits”

There pretty good, but I don't get the first one?

Some excellent suggestions so far, thanks everyone. One I was toying with was ... "because without one your business doesn't exist as far as Google is concerned" (a bit long winded though, maybe "Your business is invisible to Google").

Re Google: Seeing as a lot of people in the Irish internet community were interested in how this worked we put up an information page here on it:

http://omniserve.digiweb.ie/testimonials.html Just click on the "How It Works" button under the Google image on the right hand side.

Regards Eoin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 MyClondalkin

Irish small businesses need a website now more than ever because, Internet surfers cant find you, fact!
    Irish small businesses need a website now more than ever because, websites provide a cost-effective way of communicating, your products and services 24/7.
    Irish small businesses need a website now more than ever because, the Internet is larger then TV & Radio combined.
    Irish small businesses need a website now more than ever because, search giants like Google can work with you... or your competitors.

EDIT: added 2 more

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 confidential

Irish small businesses need a website now more than ever because "Google.ie the place to see"

Irish small businesses need a website now more than ever because "from noodle to poodle its listed on google"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Omniserve wrote: »
    Some excellent suggestions so far, thanks everyone. One I was toying with was ... "because without one your business doesn't exist as far as Google is concerned" (a bit long winded though, maybe "Your business is invisible to Google").

Re Google: Seeing as a lot of people in the Irish internet community were interested in how this worked we put up an information page here on it:

http://omniserve.digiweb.ie/testimonials.html Just click on the "How It Works" button under the Google image on the right hand side.

Regards Eoin

So by including a link from a site that's popular with Google, you speed up the inclusion ranking process ?

Sounds like something everyone with a profile page of completed projects would do anyway, no ?

Fair play if you can sell it as something more than that!

• Registered Users Posts: 569 ✭✭✭failsafe

Irish small businesses need a website now more than ever because your customers are waiting for one

Irish small businesses need a website now more than ever because the modern customer expects nothing less

Irish small businesses need a website now more than ever because even if its all Google or Yahoo to you......it will grow your business whether old or new.

Irish small businesses need a website now more than ever because whether its dial up you use or broadband.. a website will help business expand.

Irish small businesses need a website now more than ever because ...there is now new global online sales but its still upto you if your business fails.

We will be closing the competition at 12 noon tomorrow and announcing the winner later that day.

Good luck everyone!

Eoin

• Registered Users Posts: 118 ✭✭blazesoftware

Here my go

Irish small businesses need a website now more than ever because Omniserve get you there without pulling out all your hair.

Irish small businesses need a website now more than ever because business is bleak so your up s**ts creek, So dont be a mule and act like a fool and get your site up today.

Irish small businesses need a website now more than ever because the incredible Wizard of Oz lost his business because, due to up-to-date science, To most of his clients, He wasn't the Wizard he woz.

Irish small businesses need a website now more than ever because if your not in you can't win.

Irish small businesses need a website now more than ever because 'where do you want to be tomorrow?'

Irish small businesses need a website now more than ever because your job is our business

Irish small businesses need a website now more than ever because your website success is our business

Irish small businesses need a website now more than ever because it's reality.

Irish small businesses need a website now more than ever because.. if your professional in what you do a online site is a must for you.

Irish small businesses need a website now more than ever because ...what once was an option has now become a neccessity.

Irish small businesses need a website now more than ever because.... if you don't look good we don't look good