Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

' I don't do Valentines'

• Registered Users Posts: 1,024 ✭✭✭Comer1

The only positive purpose that Valentines Day servers is to determine how high maintenance your new girlfriend is.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭ThewhiteJesus

A Taxi man once told me he calls it st Vaselines day as it’s the only day of the year the wife takes it in the swiss !!

I tend to avoid any Callander event that tells me when or how I should be expressing my affections - or thinking about my loved ones. So do not do Valentines at all either - and tend often not to do terribly much for Birthdays either. And we do not do Santa Claus with our children.

Randomly through the year however I will do gifts and other tokens of affection. Usually when it means something to me - or them - at the time.

I find this tends to be appreciated more. Shows you actually mean it and are thinking of the person in question. Rather than some calendar pop up on your phone making you do it.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,948 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

I’ll do something small. Card €2, small pack of fancy chocolates €4, bottle of wine €8. She’s home late tomorrow so I’ll clean the house and make it relaxing and I’d cook dinner anyway so I’ll make one she likes so she can get something hot inside her when she gets in ... and have her dinner

All in for €14 and the house clean and dinner cooked. It’s not a big deal but I know she’ll appreciate it.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭Feisar

Apache are going heart shaped pizza's so, yea....

First they came for the socialists...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭nkl12xtw5goz70

I'll be getting her a card, flowers, chocolates, and a gift. She always gets me something too. I think most people in relationships who get nothing whatsoever for Valentine's day end up secretly disappointed. "I don't do Valentine's day" is often a cover for being cheap or not giving a toss.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭Feisar

I'll be getting her a card, flowers, chocolates, and a gift. She always gets me something too. I think most people in relationships who get nothing whatsoever for Valentine's day end up secretly disappointed. "I don't do Valentine's day" is often a cover for being cheap or not giving a toss.

I'm inclined to agree, having said that I spent a right few bob on an Xmas present and her birthday is coming up so it'll be a card and a steak at home.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭SusanC10

Married 15 years. We keep it fairly low key. Dinner for 2 at home. Feed the Kids early and ship them off to bed.
    Husband cooking this year. Probably Steak as he does a good one. Have a decent Red lined up to match.
    We do cards, no flowers, no gifts. Did Dinner out once a million years ago - never again!

• Registered Users Posts: 16,551 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

A few days ago my wife told me she'd be getting something for me, and then said 'Did you hear that? JUST LETTING YOU KNOW.'

I have been warned. There shall be no repeat of last year's unpleasantness.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,948 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

SusanC10 wrote: »
    Did Dinner out once a million years ago - never again!

I worked in restaurants in the past a d I can guarantee you're getting food that designed to be mass produced, a worse service with bigger mark up and in a more busy restaurant. In short, it's the worst day to eat out.

We'll go for a meal out next week or the week after - whenever suits. But no way I'd go out on valentines or the weekend after if the 14th falls during the week.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

Female here and also not into it, and never was.
    For my first valentines with my ex he pulled out all the stops, he had flowers delivered to my work, got me a beautiful bracelet and perfume and booked us a surprise night away to a hotel with a dinner reservation for a lovely restaurant.

He hadn't believe me when I said I wasn't bothered because his ex used to say things like that and then go postal if there wasn't a big fuss made. Poor lad put himself under such pressure for nothing. I mean, I appreciated the gestures but there was really no need.

Every other subsequent year we got a chinese takeaway and a bottle of wine and watched a movie at home. Far more enjoyable and way less pressure.

• Registered Users Posts: 899 ✭✭✭Tazium

I enjoy picking a card and writing little things in it for my wife. I do it because I like too, and I don't restrict it to Valentines day either. As a kid I used to receive the occasional card, most were just funny types but I remember getting a genuine one and being totally chuffed with myself. A little loving message written by hand can make a big impact.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,656 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

deise08 wrote: »
    So do ye fine people of AH do Valentines or do I just get bogeys?

You get bogeys :(

The whole “I don’t do...” misses the point. In a relationship it’s not about what you don’t do, it’s about doing things that you know mean something to the other person, or people, whichever :D

I’ll send a few cards and plush toys and whatever, it’s just a bit of fun. I understand why some people are dead set against the idea in principle, but it’s easy to tell the difference between them and someone who’s just a tightarse :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

Is it not just a day for kids? I don't understand adults even thinking about it.
    Big hookey load of bolox of a day but I still get the head taken off me if I don't get something :(
    I've been told that I am doing this year and that I have to buy flowers.
    Ah lads don't put up with that shyte. :(

Don't do it and never have.

However, I do the stuff associated with it, apart from the cards obviously, regularly through out the year and so does she. Better to be spontaneous but that's just my opinion.

Wait till you get told about "Galentine's Day"
    Ah yes, heard of that the other day.

It's for single women who act all feisty and "I don't need no man because I'm a strong independent woman" but who are actually freaked to bits about it and need to come up with something on 14th February to make themselves feel better.

• Registered Users Posts: 219 ✭✭MiliMe

We'll do cards. That's about it. We usually get a single get a rose for our daughter.
    Had one dinner out for Valentines and had the worst meal stuck sitting beside my boss and his wife.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

I don’t do it either nor does my wife but if I don’t get her a card and flowers I’m in trouble.

All holidays are a load of bull but life is hard enough

Christmas / Easter / valentines Jesus just enjoy yourself and celebrate doesn’t have expensive it’s the thought that counts

• Registered Users Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

deise08 wrote: »
    Nothing now :-D:-D
    He didn't do Christmas either cos we were newly dating. I did.

He’s just a miserable tight arse. Dump him before he makes you even more miserable. No doubt the cünt doesn’t birthdays either.

How insecure would a woman have to be to force her man to comply with Valentine's.

• Registered Users Posts: 20 fatboy69

Dont do anything either as it is a superficial day focused on material things.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

Does anyone find getting cards for your children abit odd?

I worked with a lovely guy years ago, but at valentines he'd mention he'd get a card for his wife and daughter. The daughter was a young teenager at the time. I've long since left so no idea if he still does it. I thought it was abit strange.

I would never have expected a card off my dad.

It’s always been done so I just do it. I know it’s great these days to scoff at everything but I leave all that yawn aside as it makes the Mrs happy, which is top of the list.

He’s just a miserable tight arse. Dump him before he makes you even more miserable. No doubt the cünt doesn’t birthdays either.

He probably does when it’s his.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,423 ✭✭✭Harleen Quinzel

Always get the kids a card each and put them through the letterbox before they wake up.

We don’t do anything high pressure for ourselves, usually just cards.
    This year I’ve bought him a game for his switch, not your typical hearts and flowers, but it’s something he actually wants.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,423 ✭✭✭Harleen Quinzel

Does anyone find getting cards for your children abit odd?

I worked with a lovely guy years ago, but at valentines he'd mention he'd get a card for his wife and daughter. The daughter was a young teenager at the time. I've long since left so no idea if he still does it. I thought it was abit strange.

I would never have expected a card off my dad.

I always get them a card and bake little cupcakes.
    Always makes them smile.

• Registered Users Posts: 88 ✭✭Maggie Benson

There's Christmas, Valentines, St. Patrick's day, Easter, Mother's Day, Father's Day, Halloween plus all the birthdays. One thing after another...

• Registered Users Posts: 4,799 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

I do empty the dishwasher that day.
    Might even make herself a mugeen of tea if I’m passing by the kettle.

It’s always been done so I just do it. I know it’s great these days to scoff at everything but I leave all that yawn aside as it makes the Mrs happy, which is top of the list.
    Well that's genuine and really sweet. Yeah I could never not give my parents presents on mother's day and father's day, even if those are days cooked up by Hallmark.

The cynicism though about V day is the way people can feel forced to comply with it - as experienced by some guys here.