Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

DCM 2018 - Mentored Novice Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 2,204 ✭✭✭a148pro

Everyone have a great day tomorrow, superb weather for it, it is such a rewarding experience I can't wait to watch it, so jealous of you guys getting to do it

Remember slow slow slow, if you want to do a fast marathon do another one, this one is your FIRST marathon and you want to enjoy that

• Registered Users Posts: 3,504 ✭✭✭Damo 2k9

Best of luck to everybody running tomorrow!! You can never run your first marathon again, so embrace it all tomorrow. It's an unforgettable day, the atmosphere is unexplainable until you experience it! You'll know what I mean when you breach castleknock, the noise..

Happy running, yous will all fly it considering the mentors ye had ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 RUARIDHT10

Long time follower of the thread, first time poster, I’d be remiss if I didn’t extend my sincere thanks to all the mentors and others for their outstanding advice and guidance, it’s been an immense help during the training - my only regret is not having posted sooner!!

Best of luck to everyone tomorrow! :)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,584 CMod ✭✭✭✭Steve

Very best of luck to you all tomorrow!!

Might even make an appearance in the designated pub afterwards to congratulate you ... ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 11 MickOB94

Best of luck to everyone tomorrow! The support from the mentors and other posters has been incredible, and as strange as it is to hear myself say this, it has me feeling almost optimistic about tomorrow :P

After feeling the buzz in the RDS this morning, I've decided to leave the earphones in the car and soak up the entire atmosphere tomorrow. I've got my makeshift pace band in the form of a flash card, which will be in my pocket and checked every mile or two to make sure I'm on track! :D

I'm afraid of breaking the table with times and bib numbers, so if anyone could add me to it, it would be much appreciated! My bib number is 19107, and my target time is 4:45:00

Hope tomorrow goes well for everyone!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭Baby75

Best of luck to each and every one of you tomorrow :) enjoy the journey and maybe see some of you in the pub after

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,053 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Good luck to all tomorrow. Been in your position before, you should all be asleep by now!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,584 CMod ✭✭✭✭Steve

Fixed the table and added latest users.
    Bib No.|Username|Target Time|Actual Time
    11799|Mr. Guappa|03:59:59|
    5524|coogy|03:40:00|
    17857|Helenasca|04:40:00|
    9724|roosterman71|03:50:00|
    17251|kittyclaws|04:50:00|
    2167|sann|03:40:00|
    |Summerflower|04:29:59|
    |Chippyrun|04:30:00|
    18515|Themadhouse|04:29:59|
    14084|Aoifemcc19|04:45:00|
    19107|MickOB94|04:45:00|
    |Chabsey|03:15:00|
    |imknackered|03:28:00|
    |tbukela|03:38:00|
    |Naked Lepper|04:15:00|
    9584|yido1882|03:59:00|
    |cullenswood|03:29:59|
    8176|ReeReeG|03:49:30|
    |Bucketybuck|03:59:99|
    |Pilot1087|04:40:00|
    |Strawberry Swan|04:30:00|
    12563|Applegirl26|04:40:00|
    |aloooof|04:25:00|
    |hedgehoggy|03:43:30|
    14086|Misky|04:45:00|
    8060|Alorra|03:40:00|
    11654|Dealerz2.0|04:15:00|
    10516|Buzwaldo |04:10:00|
    |AdrianII |03:59:59|
    |Comic Book Guy |03:26:00|
    |The man in red and black |03:45:00|
    |Rossi7 |03:54:59|
    7312 |eyrie |03:57:30|
    |Clibee|04:40:00|
    |downtheroad|03:30:00|
    |Corbally|04:00:00|
    |blueberrypie |04:40:00|
    |Hobbyjogger |03:49:59|
    |Effibear |04:50:00|
    10809|juke|04:50:00|
    |bluestone |04:25:00|
    16260| Corcaigh07 |04:29:59|
    11521| Julie2tubz |04:25:00|
    12008| ryaner777|04:00:00|

• Registered Users Posts: 1,754 ✭✭✭ReeReeG

Couldn't get on to boards all day for some reason, but wanted to also thank ariana, skyblue46 and kellygirl for their advice, patience and wisdom on this thread as well as my log (and several others!) not just since the summer but since I joined up to boards!
    On my little run today, I was thinking how much knowledge of the course I have gained despite never having ran DCM before. It's a unique source of info here and it's been truly great to be part of it.

Best of luck to my fellow novices and of course to the mentors and all other contributors here, it's gonna be a good day.

And technically this isn't past curfew due to the hour change!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 10,414 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Good luck all. Do yourself justice, be confident and run well.

• Registered Users Posts: 183 ✭✭Strawberry Swan

A big thank you to our 3 mentors Ariana, Kellygirl and Skyblue. And also to the many other posters who offered advice along the way, esp to Raycun. Even though I've done one marathon before years ago it has been a real learning curve, both with all the advice given here and knowledge I've looked up myself. There was hardly a day went by I wasnt reading up on something running related. My life will feel empty after tomorrow :O But this thread has been invaluable for how to pace Dcm course specifically and that's something that would be hard to find info about elsewhere.

It's been fun too and many a chuckle was had.

Best of luck fellow novices 2018. We're already awesome no matter what time we do.

• Registered Users Posts: 183 ✭✭Strawberry Swan

2167|sann|03:40:00|
    16144|Strawberry Swan|04:30:00|

• Registered Users Posts: 4,412 ✭✭✭Lazare

It's here!!

The very best of luck this morning guys, you're the best prepared first timers on that course.

Enjoy every last second.

• Registered Users Posts: 952 ✭✭✭Themadhouse

Good luck to everyone today.
    Thanks everyone for their support. See you at the other end!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,237 ✭✭✭corcaigh07

Good luck to everyone today.
    Thanks everyone for their support. See you at the other end!

You too Madhouse, everyone on this thread is behind you today and thanks for sharing earlier this week.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,289 ✭✭✭ariana`

Wohoo it's here!!

Have a super day one and all - enjoy every second!!! Remember this is a hobby, enjoy it, smile, high 5 the kids, take it all in and savour it - you will look back on this day fondly for a long time to come!!

Start Smart and have the best day!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,020 ✭✭✭Kellygirl

Good morning all! Have a great day. Weather looking pretty ideal for us.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭chabsey

Anyone got any plans today?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,338 ✭✭✭eyrie

chabsey wrote: »
    I was thinking about painting my toenails in a bit. You? :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭Naked Lepper

anyone else a bag of nerves

• Registered Users Posts: 485 ✭✭Applegirl26

I was thinking of going for a little run in town....

• Registered Users Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Singer

Pretty sure 26.2@MP is on the boards plan today :D

• Registered Users Posts: 4,412 ✭✭✭Lazare

Singer wrote: »
    Pretty sure 26.2@MP is on the boards plan today :D

Ha, that's what I titled my Strava last year.

• Registered Users Posts: 337 ✭✭sann

2167|sann|03:40:00|3:37:44|

• Registered Users Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭chabsey

2167|sann|03:40:00|3:37:44|
    |Chabsey|03:15:00|3:15:50|

• Registered Users Posts: 6,237 ✭✭✭corcaigh07

Couldn’t make it to McGrattan’s, I was in ribbons and a bit lost!

Could barely walk afterwards but coming around now, got in just before 4:30, delighted!

• Registered Users Posts: 535 ✭✭✭racersedge

All went a pearshapee for myself. Everything was good my grand and I was bang on my strategy. Hit 32K and suddenly the lower inside of my tighs - just a little above the knee. Who knows what they are called. Anyway, they started to seize up. Never in all of training have I had an issue with them. Had to slow and then walk to try to sort it out. At that, having to stop did take the wind out of the sails a little. Kept it moving and going and tried to motor on but the issue kept returning as I tried to keep up to pace. Just tested a little to ensure a final push to the line.

Bittersweet. I hate stopping. It annoys me. However I was into the unknown. An issue I never had decided to throw a curveball. Couldn’t see that coming up. I finished it in 4:11. I finished it. That’s the main thing. I actually got emotional on that final fling. Stifled back the tears. Didn’t expect that.

Felt frigid after. Was walking like a mummy through the finish area. Met my wife and sister and came home with them. Did have a little scare on the Luas. Crowded as heck. I was standing. Felt unwell. Was about to hop did when I went over for a brief second. Admittedly, felt better after! Home now and in a bath of Epsom salts.

While I’m disappointed about that last 10K, I am incredibly proud to have made the finish. Will I ever do one again? At the moment I have zero appetite to do so. Few lessons to be learned for sure. But for now, I’m content. An incredible achievement to just commit and finish the thing. Bucket list item checked off.

Well done to all! was nice to meet the mentors afterwards - and huge thanks to them!!! congrats to all that completed it!

• Registered Users Posts: 706 ✭✭✭DJB

racersedge wrote: »
    All went a pearshapee for myself. Everything was good my grand and I was bang on my strategy. Hit 32K and suddenly the lower inside of my tighs - just a little above the knee. Who knows what they are called. Anyway, they started to seize up. Never in all of training have I had an issue with them. Had to slow and then walk to try to sort it out. At that, having to stop did take the wind out of the sails a little. Kept it moving and going and tried to motor on but the issue kept returning as I tried to keep up to pace. Just tested a little to ensure a final push to the line.

Bittersweet. I hate stopping. It annoys me. However I was into the unknown. An issue I never had decided to throw a curveball. Couldn’t see that coming up. I finished it in 4:11. I finished it. That’s the main thing. I actually got emotional on that final fling. Stifled back the tears. Didn’t expect that.

Felt frigid after. Was walking like a mummy through the finish area. Met my wife and sister and came home with them. Did have a little scare on the Luas. Crowded as heck. I was standing. Felt unwell. Was about to hop did when I went over for a brief second. Admittedly, felt better after! Home now and in a bath of Epsom salts.

While I’m disappointed about that last 10K, I am incredibly proud to have made the finish. Will I ever do one again? At the moment I have zero appetite to do so. Few lessons to be learned for sure. But for now, I’m content. An incredible achievement to just commit and finish the thing. Bucket list item checked off.

Very respectable time in fairness. Last 10k is tough. Nothing like that last 1km. Don’t know where I got the strength to sprint it. Loved it but it was tough.

Well done to all. Super achievement. Now, will you go again next year?

• Registered Users Posts: 623 ✭✭✭smeal

So I ran my first Marathon today and have mixed emotions.

I didn’t want to completely focus on time but based on my training I had been confident I would make a 4.30 on the basis I ran Longwood in 3.20 and still had plenty in the tank after. Anyways the past two LSRS (a 13 mile and a 10 mile) I found very tough and felt lethargic towards the end. I think I may have been battling off a cold and have been taking as much vitamins as possible. I’ve also been battling with bursitis in my hip for a while too but it certainly hasn’t been too sore for me to ever have to stop running.

I was buzzing after Longwood and my running bud and I chatted and laughed the whole way through that! By mile 3 today I was struggling to chat and run at the same time. I just felt like I couldn’t catch my breath at all and this continued until Phoenix Park. I started to feel a bit more energy in the legs on the downhill after Castleknock and ran comfortably until just before 13 miles when bang, all my energy just left my body and my hip began to burn. I started to walk at times but when I took off again my legs felt they were seizing.

Coming up to Terenure I just burst into tears.. it was a mixture of the emotional calls from the supporters and the pain in my hip which was now going down towards my knee. I think I was only 16 miles at that point and knowing I had 10 mile to go just got to me. Thankfully, a God send of a lady came up with orange slices and I helped myself to two which perked me up to go on.

Honestly time stopped between 16 and mile 25. I was still starting and stopping, hobbling and then stopping again.. a build up of lactic acid in my mouth was starting to make me refluxy and sick. My boyfriend and his family were at mile 22 and he said I was white as a sheet.

I honestly thought about giving up by Merrion Road and just walking the last 1.5 miles to the finish but the crowds and the support lifted me. My last mile was my fastest mile, I suppose not many can say that! I came over the line at 5:02.

After a few hours of reflecting I’m annoyed at myself for being annoyed! It was just not my day. It happens. I put it down to my body being exhausted combined with failure to treat my hip properly.. the only medicine is unfortunately rest and that was something I just didn’t have time to do. 26.2 miles is 26.2 miles no matter the time and we all put a hell of a lot of work in to get to that finish line one way or another!

I don’t think I’ll sign up for a marathon any time soon. I am looking forward to improving my times at shorter distances and learning a bit more about marathons. Well done to all today! Such an amazing achievement. And sorry for the long post!