Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x

Formerly O2 Ireland Representatives

N/A
Response Time
N/A
Response Rate

We're online:

Monday - Friday: 9.00am - 10.00pm
Saturday - Sunday: 10.30am - 7.00pm

4G bands

14.03.2015 14:32 #1
Registered User
Is there any info on what bands will be used for 4G when it becomes available in June.
The original licence was for the 800, 900, 1800mhz frequencies.
Three uses 1800 and the other networks use 800 & 1800.
What frequencies will o2 use? Will the 900 frequency be used?
Have to buy a new phone and need to make sure my next handset will be compatible with the 4G network
14.03.2015 15:39 #2
Originally posted by theShire
Is there any info on what bands will be used for 4G when it becomes available in June.
The original licence was for the 800, 900, 1800mhz frequencies.
Three uses 1800 and the other networks use 800 & 1800.
What frequencies will o2 use? Will the 900 frequency be used?
Have to buy a new phone and need to make sure my next handset will be compatible with the 4G network

Hi theShire,

O2 has now become Three. I'll check out the bands that will be used for 4G and let you know as soon as I've an update.
18.03.2015 18:03 #3
Registered User
Originally posted by Three: Lisa
Hi theShire,

O2 has now become Three. I'll check out the bands that will be used for 4G and let you know as soon as I've an update.


Any update?
18.03.2015 18:08 #4
Answer is on Google 
1 thank
18.03.2015 18:41 #5
Registered User
Originally posted by theShire
Is there any info on what bands will be used for 4G when it becomes available in June.
The original licence was for the 800, 900, 1800mhz frequencies.
Three uses 1800 and the other networks use 800 & 1800.
What frequencies will o2 use? Will the 900 frequency be used?
Have to buy a new phone and need to make sure my next handset will be compatible with the 4G network

You've answered your own question. O2 is gone it's now 3 and 3 use 1800 for 4G and 900(limited to rural areas)/2100 for 3G
18.03.2015 19:33 #6
Registered User
Originally posted by Walkman
You've answered your own question. O2 is gone it's now 3 and 3 use 1800 for 4G and 900(limited to rural areas)/2100 for 3G


To be fair then if O2 is gone and we're all now part of Three then why do former O2 customers have to wait until June for 4G? I live in an area with 4G available on Three but not on O2.

Until both networks have fully merged then you can't argue that they're the same single network.
18.03.2015 19:36 #7
Registered User
Originally posted by hallo dare
Answer is on Google 

I can't find a definitive answer so that's why I posted here.
18.03.2015 20:02 #8
Originally posted by theShire
Originally posted by hallo dare
Answer is on Google 

I can't find a definitive answer so that's why I posted here.

I'll have an update on this tomorrow theShire.

Thanks,
Lisa.
1 thank
20.03.2015 18:57 #9
Registered User
Still no answer.

If the info ever does become available(before June) it may be worth making it a sticky as I'm sure I'm not the only one who would like the info
20.03.2015 19:09 #10
20.03.2015 19:56 #11
Registered User
Originally posted by aphex™
This is what each network are entitled to http://www.siliconrepu...reveals-4g-auction-r


Yes, that's the info I've already found.
Currently Three only use 1800mhz but will they use the 900mhz band they were allocated in the future?
And will they use the 800mhz band that was originally allocated to O2 - I assume Three acquired the licenses for O2s bands as part of their purchase?
21.03.2015 11:45 #12
Sorry we haven't any further information as yet. We will post back as soon as we have an update.
23.03.2015 11:09 #13
Registered User
Hi just wondering had O2 a 4G network in place and not switched on before the takeover or will every O2 customer be using the current 3 network?? If its the latter nobody will have any sort of decent data speeds..
23.03.2015 13:30 #14
Originally posted by Truckermal
Hi just wondering had O2 a 4G network in place and not switched on before the takeover or will every O2 customer be using the current 3 network?? If its the latter nobody will have any sort of decent data speeds..

Hi,




Thanks for getting in touch.

Thanks for your query. We’re excited that our superfast 4G network will be available to all former O2 customers in areas where it is currently available. We will then continue to grow our 4G footprint throughout the country.
23.03.2015 13:54 #15
Registered User
Originally posted by Three: Lisa
Originally posted by Truckermal
Hi just wondering had O2 a 4G network in place and not switched on before the takeover or will every O2 customer be using the current 3 network?? If its the latter nobody will have any sort of decent data speeds..

Hi,

Thanks for getting in touch.

Thanks for your query. We’re excited that our superfast 4G network will be available to all former O2 customers in areas where it is currently available. We will then continue to grow our 4G footprint throughout the country.


Thanks,
Lisa.

Erm that didn't answer the question. .
1 thank
Reply to thread
Bold
Italic
Underline
Strikethrough
Align left
Center
Align right
Bullet list
Insert an image
Insert an emoticon
Insert a YouTube video
Remove Formatting
View source
Please Log In or Sign Up to join the discussion